IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi pandawife
can give me the link to the olive oil, wanna hv a look too. thks

soontobe
oh u used only twice? i tot baby can lie on the support so that u hv 2 hands free to handle. oh u mean baby cannot sit on it and lean baby forward to clean the back? tot it was useful for newborn when they are so fragile. let me discuss with hubby if we want it. will let u know again. thks

is anyone here getting those malay massage lady after delivery? i hear pple talking abt it. oh dear i like still got lots thg not buy/arrange yet.

Happyhippo, yes, u can let bb lie there while washin e front. But when u wash the bb's back, tt's e tough part ESP when bb's neck is still weak. Actually I think e support may b more suitable for bb w good neck support. But coz I'm already used to bathing my boy by supporting his neck n part of e body w my hand, I rather continue it this way

happyhippo

i already booked indonesian massage lady for pre-natal n post-natal massage.

her rates are 10 sessions $500. each session 1hr. for me, she is doing 1.5hrs, as i m her regular customer.

my edd in early jan 11.

working wife,
i did massage the last time after my c-sect. my massage lady said only need to wait abt 5 days then can start massage already but i waited for abt 2 wks before starting.
just make sure she knows that yrs is c-sect and she'll know how to adjust.

Working Wife,

my massage lady says can only do pre-natal massage from 7 months onwards. I am now almost 6 months preggy... so I think I can only start massage nx month.

Can... c-sect can also do massage. But according to her, must wait for 3 weeks, after wounds are healed, then start massage. For normal delivery, i think she mentioned 3 or 5 days.

When are you due? Cause she might be returning to Indonesia to attend her daughter's wedding in February 2011.

Hi Gan2973, I have already done the doppler scan. Its also ok. Thanks for the Camden contact. Managed to fix an appointment to see Dr Loh this wed. Thought of hearing his opinion on the report before deciding whether to go to Camden for 2nd opinion.

Hi soon-to-be, sorry didnt follow the thread closely. Are u expecting singleton or twins? You mentioned your boy was also considered high risk, may I know your result? Mine was 1:220. How did Camden rule out the possibility? What additional test was done? Sorry for so many questions

just bot the cot from Tangs and some homewear for bb 3 at $10. But will source for a better mattress coz the free foam mattress is abit soft. Tangs selling a latex mattress for $169, will check out baby kingdom etc.
Btw the saleslady said offer for the cot ends today.
Those who like mothercare stuff, metro paragon got 20% off at baby section.

Gan, what kind of bb homewear is it? Separate top and bottom? Do they have NB size? I need to get more NB clothes but I'm not supposed to go out now ;( I hope when I see Dr Loh next thur, he won't ask me to continue to bed rest.
Did you get the cot Just Faith recommended? I got mine delivered yesterday. I think it's a good buy. It's quite sturdy.

bing, the home wear is separate top and bottom...not much design but i tot price was reasonable. It states 0 to 6 mths...but i tot the size quite small for bbs older than 3 mths. So i bot to stock up. Mothercare got NB size...for bbs up to 4.5kg.

I bot the cot just faith recommend. 199 with free mattress and travel bed. but will find a better latex mattress coz i find the free mattress abit soft.
Also bot a 6 pieces bedding set for bb from aussino, today go 45% off. But the fitted sheet is bigger than the shears bed mattress size...will figure how to fit the bed later. =p

Gan,
So eventually a few of us bought the same cot from Tangs. I got the mattress from ikea which fits the cot nicely for $69. Quality quite gd. There's even spring mattress selling at $129.
I think mothercare NB size is still quite big for Asian NB babies. I bought clothes from mothercare for 3-6 mths but later realize that they are probably big enough for my babies to wear when they are 12 mths! Must get those for premies and tiny baby for my NB babies.
How's your blood pressure now? I hope it's stabilized and u don't have to take medicine.
Aussino also having sale on bb bedding set? The last time I went to the junction 8 aussino and they don't carry bb bedding stuff. So tempted to go and take a look but too bad I can't go out now..

Babyhopeful,
Yes, I got the shears cot from Tangs selling at 199. According to Gan, the offer ends today.

I think I'll get the Shears cot from OG this week before end of the month. The price I saw is $169 plus free mattress. Don't think I need the travel bed so don't think will get from Tangs.

Bing,
I bot the same cot too but not delivered yet. Could you do me a favour by measuring the size of the free mattress since urs is delivered? Juz wanna be sure of the size as i intend to buy another mattress of same size...

Happyhippo,
I attended the antenatal class and asked this experienced midwife about the bath tubs with contours and those baby bath support. She said it's not necessary to get all these things. It's a waste of money only. We just need a simple baby bath tub and the right technique to bathe babies.

Bing,
is it exactly 60 by 120 cm?
according to the supplier website, it is 24 by 48 inches...but the conversion is not exactly 60 by 120 cm...so i wannna confirm with you since u hv the mattress....

bing, kekeke yea a few of us, bbs will be sleeping in same type of cot. The aussino sale ends today, yes they sell 6 pieces of baby comforter set, includes fitted sheet, bumper, pillow, bolster etc. Sales end today but i think u better rest more at home as advised by dr loh. There will always be sales. Actually dr loh also asked me rest more for my low water level. Just that i really want to go out buy some stuff for my girl, so make a trip to town to shop for a while. Now laying on bed to rest. Did u check out the nb size at the hdb shops? I bot some pigeon brand NB size top and bottom too. Will check out the mattress at ikea, thanks!
During my antenatal class yesterday, the teacher said no need pillows, blankets for the bb for first 3 months. we can swaddle the bbs to keep them warm. So i guess for first 3 mths, we just need bed sheets for bbs.

My blood pressure using the home machine is ok..will emaill dr loh tomorrow and asked do i need to take the med. If he insist, i will take.

Happyhippo during my antenatal class at tmc, teacher also say can get normal bathtub and make sure the base is flat. I bot a bath thermometer though to check temp of the water. =) coz scared too hot for bb if i use my wrist to check temp

Gan
I also intend to get water thermometer... Where u get it?
I saw mrs wong one v cute.. In a flower shape..

How u find the tangs cot? Did u go chk out baby kingdom? U prefer tangs one? Cos i didnt got the chance to chk out tangs cot yet..

Working wife
The shears cot is at which og outlet? Is it at orchard outlet?

Today i went ikea to buy 3 drawers cupboard.. And some essentials..

Hi pink-destiny and gan,

My stool is a bit hard, but I do clear every day. But I did notice that the brown spotting will ccomes on and off during my bowel movement or walk for slightly longer distance, probably a bus stop distance...still worried, since doc also could not confirm the cause.

I am considering of taking another month of leave...hopefully can smoothly hit the 3rd tri, at least anything happens, baby till have some survival rate...

Am I worrying too much? But the sight of blood really freak me out.

Thanks!!!

baby i like the tangs cot compared to those i saw during taka fair. The size not as big, so nice for our bedroom. I have not been to bay kingdom yet coz we dun have a car yet, not convinent.
I bot the bath thermometer from mothercare, winnie the pooh, 3 indicators, less than 36, 37 to 38, more than 38. I will buying the swaddle blanket tmc parentcraft, coz find the material nice and not too thick.

Rose are u with dr loh? Better minimise walking if u have spotting.

mummies and mtbs, where will u bathe ur bbs, especially nbs? In ur bedroom or bathroom? I am thinking if i shld buy a changing table from ikea so that i can bathe my girl in the room....else in bathroom, must squat to bathe her?

Gan,

Must get thermometer to check the temperature ah? I never use that before. I just check with my elbow or fingers. Warmer if it's a cold day. So far my twins can take room temperature water too. I use tap water to wash their butts after pooping. No warm water.

Gan,

I bathe my twins standing up. Mine is a tub on a bath stand in my room. Next to it I put a chest drawer from Ikea and use the top as a changing station. Everything is within reach.

I find squatting down or on stool is difficult to wrap them in towel after bathing. Tried once and it was messy.

singapoh, i can take hot water quite well, scared i think temp is ok but too hot for my girl.
Where do u buy the bath stand? I also figured squating abit difficult...that's why thinking of buying a simple changing table from ikea and put bathtub on top to bathe bb. My hubby after attending the class yesterday is determined to bathe our girl from D1. =p

Gan,

Luke warm can liao. I bought mine from motherworks in Great world city. I saw in First few years in KKH before.

My Ikea chest drawer is still good. I bought in 07 and another one this year.

Hi ladies I did get a bath thermometer for my boy but in the end I only use it 2 times cos I find it unnecessary to measure the temp. Using hand to feel the water will do. No need to waste money. Unless u dun feel comfortable cos not sure of the temp just get those cheap ones.

Gan,
i bought a bath tub with stand from baby kingdom last time. saw some at kiddy palace at toa payoh too.
i used the stand for a few times and in the end just use the sitting on a stool on the floor method cos it makes clearing the bath water etc easier after the bath.

singapoh thanks!! Will check out the first few years at kkh when i go for my appt.

Twinstars, i bot the thermometer le at metro today coz no confidence. =p

Baby - yes in Orchard outlet. I will be going tomorrow after work to get it. Hope they still have. If not, then no choice, got to go over to Tangs to get it.

OG still has their sales so prob getting the sterilser, bottles etc from there too.

Grumpus,

I only fill up a small pail with water. Then bring the whole tub to the bathroom to wash. It has a pipe to drain out the water but I misplaced it.

Singapoh,
wahh the whole tub u can carry to the bath ah....i can't even if it's only filled with a small pail of water :p

Kitty, my boy is going to 4 mths old end of this month...healthy and active baby...8)

My fts results was 1:300++ due to the poor blood test result.

Camden will do a detailed scan for physical markers...likely will aso know the gender of ur bbies...

Can buy the bathtub w the stand from kiddy palace too...if i remember correctly, $80.......I bot from kiddy palace toa payoh

Glad that most of you have confirmed your baby cot.

Bing, I also bought the $69 mattress from Ikea. I think it is better than the F.O.C. foam mattress and I hope I can live with that.

Singapoh, I am also seeing Dr Loh this Thurs, after my Glucose test in the morning. But will be at Clinic D. Hope I dun have to wait too long. No time no go Clinic D liao.. hehe.

Gan, I have vanity top in two of our toilets. I intend to put the pail/tub on the vanity top and bathe her. Squatting down is not difficult. Getting up, will be loh... Moreover, I have glass shower screen in two toilets. I am afraid knocking into the shower screen when I hold her. I wish Ikea changing table is cheaper. I just find their price is too steep for their changing table.

Bing,

I bought a few infant clothes. But my mummy keep saying they are too big for my NB baby... So I was pressurized to get a dozen more clothes. So I end up at Whampoa again, bought more NB clothes - those tie in front. Top $1.90, bottom $1.50. I have been to the AMK shop at Blk 722, but find their prices abit more costly. If you intend to do quick shopping, just ask your hubby or send your hubby to AMK shop for those NB clothes. Otherwise, you may also want to check out OG. They also have smaller infant clothes. Price ranges from $3 to $5+. Some are entitled to 20% discount.

just faith where is this whampoa shop? U have the address coz i am staying very near whampoa now, can pop down to buy. They have infant tops with buttons instead of tie in front? Thks!

Gan, :D

Just faith,

I m not seeing Dr Loh this Thurs. Bringing my twins for immunization in PCC.

I didn't get ikea changing table coz I prefer furniture with doors. Not so messy looking. The chest table is just nice for my height to change babies.

Just faith,
Talking about the ikea mattress, I made a joke yesterday. I was asking my helper to remove the cover of the mattress to wash when I realized that the zipper doesn't come with the handle so you can't zip/ unzip. I thought the zipper was faulty and asked my dh to drive to ikea to change the mattress. Little did I expect that that was a safety feature to prevent the child from unzipping. The staff also told my dh that alot of people thought the zipper is faulty and brought back for replacement. What a big joke ;)

My mum it's ok for the babies to wear bigger clothes but I just found that those we bought are really too big for NB. Do you have the add of the shop at whampoa? I'll ask my dh to go and pick up a few pieces of NB clothes.

I'm also seeing Dr Loh this sat morning. My appointment is at 9am and will be doing a scan at ADC before that. I'll probably see u or Singapoh if your appointment is early.