IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Baby..yeah..only using during feeding time..the bibs i bought all velcro too..not tie knot kind. I prepared both hankies n bibs...if go out use bibs looks nicer. Heheh

Thanks Panda
I will check it out
I like one from gap that says " I love mummy" the other " I love daddy" Hee...Did u get mostly 3 months or mixture of 3 and 6 months?

Bing,

Yeah same thing. Kkh change their FM from time to time depending on the sponsor.

U dun hv to buy in advance. If yr bbs accept the fm given by kkh then continue with that. Use the free $100vouchers to buy the fm from kkh pharmacy. U need to sign up for the $488 package now.
Antenatal FAST Scheme

Our Antenatal FAST Scheme brings you greater convenience by allowing you to skip the payment and appointment-booking queue. It does so by deducting the cost of your visit from a SGD$488 deposit paid at the start. When the deposit runs out, patients will make payments using a pre-authorised GIRO or credit card. Your bill and your next scheduled appointment is mailed to you within seven working days. Available to all private obstetric patients, the Antenatal FAST scheme covers consultation, treatment and laboratory charges. The deposit can be paid via NETs, cash or credit card.

Apart from saving time in queues, you will receive a SGD$100 shopping voucher from our pharmacy upon your delivery, to celebrate the arrival of your little bundle of joy.

For more information on the scheme, please call +65 6394 3739 or visit our staff at the clinic counters.

Nancy,
I'm good. Just that can't walk/ stand to much otherwise the will exert alot of pressure on my pelvis and cause pain.Taking this opportunity to do alot of personal things at home. But I think I'll get a little bored after a few weeks since I can't go out.

I also bought a few carter rompers and dresses from the BP. The material is gd and they have nice designs. It's also quite cheap cos the retail price at taka is 20+ but you can get them for less than $10 including postage from BP.

Pandawife,
Do you find that there are not many GAP clothes for bb 6 months and below from the BP? That's that reason I didn't get any GAP clothes.

Singapoh,
It seems la little late for me to sign up for the antenatal FAST scheme at 32weeks now. I'll check with KK to see if they can refund me the balance or use the balance on delivery. Thanks for your advice.

Bing,

Agreed with singapoh. I'm also with fast since Apr. Intend to use the $100 voucher to buy either breast pump or thermometer at kkh pharmacy.

Really very fast don't need to q n pay for medicine at the pharmacy.

Happyhippo
Yes i heard of daytime cl.. They are mostly singaporeans..
So they do not stay over... They are like part time helpers..
How come u want daytime cl? I tot the tough part is the night time where u need to feed the bbs?
Daytime cl also not v cheap.. Esp when they are locals not msia...

Singapoh, mothercare material also very nice n soft...i dun go out that much..so ended up buying from BP more...

Bing, u r right.. GAP ones dun hv many tht are smaller sizes here. i hv some tht bil bought from US outlet store...so i bought bigger ones off BP..keke.. kiasu.. coz when their season change, the selection becomes limited....

happyhippo, i read from another thread that day CLs are more costly than stay over ones...because they need to factor in daily transport expenses.. mostly are from CL agencies.

Bing,

How many Nb size did u get? My gal can still wear Nb PJ tops from HDB store. She's 6.3 kg last week and 4 months old tmr. If u get too few u will hv to do laundry everyday.

babe79, pandawife
i'm thinking of not getting a maid. my mum will be handling the cooking. so tot just get some help for baby coz i hear that we will be really very tired and shd try to rest as much esp the first mth. so suddenly tot of this idea of getting some help for the daytime eg bath the baby. i heard its very hard to bath newborn. so not sure if i can handle coz they will be so fragile, i also abit scared. or maybe i shd just get a hourly cleaner, help clean house abit.

anyone know of good hourly cleaners or CL to recc? i'm still considering all these options, although sound like very late coz everyone already confirmed their CL, maid, etc :p

happyhippo, speaking from experience, i regretted not getting cl and asked my parents to help. Becos my mum claims it's piece of cake for her to handle baby. But when we got home, she can hardly carry him or worst can't bathe him cos she said he too soft. So imagine i have to help her since 2nd wk of discharge till now. And back then i was in pain cos of c-sect.

Happyhippo,

Can y mum bathe yr bb? Just need to make sure u support bb's neck. I think there are some bathing gadget like a bath net to hold bb.

I too was scared to bathe my 1st baby when CL left but his time I had to bathe my twins from 3 weeks onwards. It wasn't as scary as b4 =p

I know a few 1st time mothers who bathe their babies from day 1. Really must "kar kar" (brave)

Gan,

Can't remember if can offset delivery charges but if can't, u will get back the money.

Change Nb as in clothes or diapers?

Bakaholic,

My mum also like yr mum. She told me she dare not carry my twins coz they were tiny and fragile looking. I kind of "force" her to carry them. =p

My mum bathed my son for the first time recently. I didn't stand beside her to guide coz I didn't wanna add stress to her. She told me she kelam kabut. Ha..

singapoh changed nb clothes in 1 day.
Oh so if we dun finish the 488, they will return us the $? Ok maybe worth signing up coz got $100, i can use that to buy breast pump at pharmacy right?

Gan,

If u used up the $488, they will automatic charge to ur credit card . I don't think can use to offset delivery chargers. U can check with counter. I know the $100 voucher can only be use in the pharmacy. U better check wif them if they do refund. I sign up @ tps the registration counter there.

Gan,

It depends. If yr bb puke on her clothes then change. If not only twice a day. After morning bath and to PJ at night.

Definitely u won't rugi signing up for the $488. Vouchers can only be used in both KKH pharmacies.

Gan,

If u used up the $488, they will automatic charge to ur credit card . I don't think can use to offset delivery chargers. U can check with counter. I know the $100 voucher can only be use in the pharmacy. U better check wif them if they do refund. I sign up @ tps the registration counter there.

Singapoh,
Actually we don't have many NB size clothes. Most of them are either for 3-6months or 3 months. Furthermore, those from mothercare are bigger sizes. I was telling my dh that if our twins are born small, all the clothes will be too big for them. So we went to those HDB shops to get a few NB white vest recently. I think it's still not enough but I'll get my dh to buy more when they are born so that we can gauge their sizes.

Fashion spree, Singapoh,
The FAST scheme sounds good with the $100 voucher. I wanted to take up earlier but forgot about it later. Maybe I should go and sign up at my next appointment.

Just finish my checkup. Bb girl v petite..566g..the boys r 699g and 740g. Doc says all r well.. C me one mth later...I put on another 5kg..fainting

Hi Singapoh,
I tot NB bb dun hv to bathe so often until they r a few wks older?
Btw, do the NB bb wear PJ at nite or just normal clothes will do?

Bing,

Mothercare has premies and tiny babies size. My twins were too big for premies clothes. I think it's for up to 2.3 kg. My twins birth weight were 2.6 and 2.75 kg.

Babyhopeful,

I bathed them once a day and wipe them in the evening. Started to bathe them twice a day when they started sweating more. Think around 2 months plus 3 months.

If yr bb zzz in aircon room, let then wear those overall. Mine no aircon so they wear short sleeve PJ top and long PJ pants.

oic, Singapoh...Thanks for the advice...
I dun intend to let bb zzz in aircon room...
The PJ top and PJ pants seem quite big size for NB...where did u buy the NB PJ top and pants?
I bot overall suits but they seem to be quite warm to wear.

Bing,
my girl was preemie size, i let her wear those hdb nb size clothes until quite big. the 1st 2 mths, short sleeve shirt was like long sleeve for her and the shirt is like a dress for her. i just let her wear cos i swaddle her in a blanket so all wrapped up can't really tell also.

BabyHopeful,
overall suits only necessary if bb sleep aircon room. i used long sleeve PJ top for night time. didn't bother with pants until she was bigger cos 1st mth i still swaddle her so her legs are covered anyway. only later on when i stop swaddling then i used long pants.
got all my sleeping clothes from those hdb shop.

I went for my week 35 checkup yesterday. So far still ok. Gynea only check on d placenta but did not measure their weights. Not sure if it is his practise but since he said that they are well- nourished so won't ask too much.

Asked him bout if I can go for natural birth. He said I could but have to be mentally prepared coz have to push twice and usually complication will arise for d 2nd bb coz after d 1st came out, there will be more space for d 2nd bb to move ard so d head might turn up instead of down. I told him bout my concerns bout d recovery time. He said overall d recovery time for C- sect is slower but he had some patients whose recovery time for C- sect is faster than natural birth.. So which method should I choose? Natural or C- sect??

C- sect is of coz much easier and safer. But d recovery time is longer. But I would like to go through d natural birth process since we might prob stop at 2. Haiz... Anyway I guess if I choose to go for C- sect, I will b due in 2 weeks time if there is no complication.

Congrats Skies - you are nearly there! Well, I guess for the safety of the bbs, I would go with c-sec... but then each one of us have our own preference. I understand what you mean by wanting to experience the natural birth process. What does your gut tell you?

Panda - good to hear your 3 lil ones doing well. Weights seem good! I hope my bbs are growing well too... my appt is one week frm now. Neck sooo long from waiting d...

working wife,

I'm open to both options when I knew I have 2 bbs. I was telling my friend after I went through so much, I juz want d bbs to come out safe and sound. But part of me, I was thinking if other ladies like Singapoh can go through natural birth, why cant I?

I think I will decide by next Wed..

Babyhopeful,

I used my big son's preloved nb PJ from Kiddy Palace. Brand is max cool. More ex but material better than those I bought from HDB shop ($2.50 per piece)

The pants were too long. Look like those Chinese opera custume sleeves. Ha.. Get those without opening at the end of the pants so that u don't have to put on socks for them.

Skies,

Actually natural birth is safer and less complicated than c sec. The latter is a major operation.

My dot came out last and in breech position. I had confident in Dr Loh and myself 110%. The final decision is up to u. Choose something that u feel is the best for yourself. Jia you!

Skies,
I'm in the same situation as you too so I can understand your concern now. My doc said I can choose to have natural delivery but there's a risk of 2nd baby not being able to come out naturally and have to go for emergency C-section. So he'll have to put me in the op theatre even if I'm having natural delivery.

Both my mom and my dh want me to go for C-section straight away cos they don't want to expose me to the risk. But I hope to have natural birth.

Are your twins in favorable condition for C-section now? What's your gynae's advice? If your gynae thinks that C-section is safer for you, probably you should just go ahead with it. Afterall, we've been thru so much to conceive. It's important that we have a safe delivery for both babies and mother.

Panda
Good that all yr bbs are well!!
Did dr say how come yr bb girl weight is so much lower than the two boys?
My dr always say he do not want my two bbs weight to be wide of difference.. He hopes to see less than 20% difference in weight..
Or is it the two boys are growing too well? Haha..
Cos i thk abt 600g is normal..

Grumpus,
I thought those hdb NB size clothes are quite small and your gal can still wear for a few months? I was thinking the babies will be wrapped up in swaddle and staying at home most of the time for the first month so I bought NB vests w/o pants for them. Dh said we may receive NB clothes as gifts so better don't buy too much now since they will outgrow very fast.

Bing,
my girl was 1.86kg at birth....kekeke.....when i brought her home after one wk she was barely 2kg.
she can wear a few mths, but after 2 mths the shirt looks like a shirt on her lah, before that is like a dress. So she continue to wear as a shirt for another 1mth or so. so total her NB clothes last her 3 mths...haha
she had a GAP 0-3mths dress to wear for her one mth party. the dress is supposed to be knee length but when she wore it, it reached over the knee. the sleeves supposed to be short sleeve but on her it reached almost to her elbow.

baby, Dr Paul says he dun expect their weights to be the same.. the difference is ok.. not too big.. nothing he would worry about...

during FA scan, we already could tell girl is more petite..coz Dr Cheng measured their feet sizes..n hers is smaller than the two boys..:p

bing, i tink girl like me, scared of growing fat! hahahaha.. vain lah....

Panda
Haha... Girl girl wants to be slim and pretty..
Since dr paul says its alrite then no worries ya...

Yr next visit is one mth later? U will be 7 mths by then!
My next visit is 3 weeks later but my hubby not ard so i postpone the appt to 4 weeks later... I also abt 7 mths by then! Time really flies mann... Abit scare scare.. Hee

baby, yup.. my next visit is 28weeks liao..keke..

dr paul says "touchwood" in case of emergency betw 28-32 weeks..he will send me to KKH... after 32weeks.. babies will be good weight and big enuff liao. and as expected..keke.. today he asked me if i hv made my KKH appt! hahaha...

i asked him if i need wheelchair leh..he look at me and says no need! he ask me to carry on activities as per normal now... slow down only when reach 28weeks...

Skies
Glad to hear the babies are doing well
How come u didnt ask the babies weight? That's always my first question during the scan haha....Gan keong. So u are next to pop in this forum. Jia you

Natural or c sect the most important is that the delivery is without complications. I had a gf with singleton had a to a c sect after many hrs in labour. For some reason, the baby wont come out during the natural birth and baby heartbeat dropping fast and under stress.

Discuss with Dr cheng one more time and decide. Whichever method u choose, you will be meeting ur lovely girls soon. So exciting
Thought of their names already?

Bing,
My boy only wear top and disposable diapers only. Easier to change. He doesn't sleep in aircon room so i just on the ceiling fan and wrap his lower body with cloth diaper to keep him warm. I will only dress him in bodysuit when going out.

nancy,

Well, I tot he will measure but he did not. Since he said they are well- nourished so I juz leave it. If I rem correctly, he said that if I want to deliver them now, I could but it will be best to stay inside for another 2 weeks. So I guess their weight are reasonable.

My gf also went through c- sect coz of bb position. I tot since both heads are down, I could try for natural but then I dont have alot of confidence in myself to push 2 bbs out.

I think everyone is more excited than me.. Hahaha.. Of coz I'm excited but maybe I tend to think alot after they come out so I rather them to stay w me for 2- 3 weeks more..

Bing,

Don't think anyone would buy NB size for baby fullmonth. 1 month old is not newborn liao. I usually buy much bigger size as fullmonth gift.