IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

oohhh...leg cramps.. she says leg cramps could also be when the temperature gets more chilly in the middle of the night..thts y we are more prone to cramps when sleeping at night.. one of the preventive measure is to wear knee length socks to sleep...

Grumpus, thanks for letting me know. You know I didn't know this at all. Cos I see my sis and friends all not having child seats for one of their kids.

Panda, yes, i need to start buying very soon. Haven't bought a single thing! Think I'll go check out the OG sale today if I'm not too tired.

Baby, thanks for the update on the belt. I need to go get that too.

fruitree, do u hv the list of baby items to buy?? can get from most of the dept stores when u are there... they usually hv a comprehensive list tht u can use as a guide.. more organised tht way.

OG is crowded ...be careful.. must avoid the kiasu aunties

Oh, dept stores give out lists? Great. Will go ask them for it. One of my GFs also gave me her list. Just that i have to x3 for some things

And yes, my hubby will be there to protect me from the kiasu aunties. Heee...

Fruitree,

fyi http://www.spf.gov.sg/mic/2010/100726_trafadvisory_seats.htm
in sgp tp not so strict abt catching ppl without car seats but it's still illegal so if suay suay kenna stop by tp they can catch u for that offence too.

there was an aug 09 mummy who was hitching a ride in her dad's car and got stopped by tp, she explained to the tp that the car is not hers and hence no car seat for her bb. still, her dad kenna $120 fine plus 3 demerit pts.

grumpus, thanks for the info! i tink need to discuss w hb if we shld get the car seats earlier too..... maybe next month bb fair at expo, ask him to go n buy......

I plan to borrow 2 infant car seats from my bro-in-law and aunty. We'll only buy the car seats for after 3-4 months, not the infant car seat. We figured that in the 3 months after delivery, bbs won't be going out much so can be quite a waste of money to buy.

But at the same time, we thought the infant car seat is useful to transport bbs from hospital to house or to other ppls' house (act like a basket to carry them around in) so that's why we intend to borrow.

Panda - you have anyone that you can borrow the car seats from?

working wife, hmm.. no body to borrow from leh.. we were tinking of buying the combi corroco car seats.... more compact and light weight.. and easier to transfer betw cars too.... can accomodate up to a certain age too if i remember correctly.....i need smthing tht can last for abt 3 yrs.. then we will change to a bigger car... can upgrade to those bigger sized car seats...

Panda/working wife
Dont forget we will need to bring bbs to see pd and their immunisation injections.. So having car seats will be easier for us.. Esp with multiples cos if hb driving.. Then we can only carry one bb.. The other bb have no one to carry.. Unless u have family members who go with u..

I still prefer to use car seat cos its safer for the bbs.. U guys can buy those cheaper version.. I saw at baby hypermart.. I think abt $120... Cos these car seats that is suitable for nb.. Not suitable when bb grow bigger.. I think at most can only use till 2 yrs old.. Maybe even earlier if bb is bigger size..

Panda
When is yr cot arriving? U will ask them to setup for u right?

baby, my cots are coming early Oct ..suppose to be in Sept..bt hb din hv time to rearrange the furniture..so he called to postpone to Oct.. yes, will be getting them to assemble...so tht can air off the smell of the wood...

i m not so concern about nobody carrying since i hv my parents n mil w me... was initially more concerned about safety reasons..but most of my frens said they bought car seats when bb was a few mths older....

my other problem is space constraints in the car.. n my dad doesnt want 3 car seats in his car..hahahaaha...

i paid about $130 for the infant car seat cum carrier..also bought from hypermart.. at most can use up to 12 mths... dun tink can last beyond tht.....

recently there was a case at CARE.. twins mummy water bag burst at 32 weeks... babies cannot wait..wanna come out...

so i tink i better be prepared in case my little ones cannot wait..... *touch wood*....

next mth will get hb n mum to start all the baby stuff washing....

Pandaewife ur cot from baby kingdom is the bebe dream cot 6 in 1?
I just surf their website, the white one is $349...wonder is it same as urs?
Maybe weekend will go down to check out the cots.
Is this bed standard size? If i want to buy my own latex mattress not sure is it easy to match

any of you buying changing table for bb ? esp panda ... cos u have 3 bums to wipe & clean ... changing table seems more practical ... good for yr back too ...

I also thinking of a small sofa in the room to sit down ...

Everytime i see those ang-moh decoration of their bb rooms

Panda,
the combi corroco is a good choice if u hv space constraint. one of the mummies i know has 2 in her toyota vios and she still manage to squeeze in the space between the 2 seats.

JJ, i hv a mobile bath tub cum changing table... hand me down from one of my gf.. plus we will hv a single bed in bb room for mil to sleep.. can also sit down n change bb there....

have to be careful of yr back .. esp when u bending over the bed to change yr 3 precious ... I saw my fren bathing her newborn, she will have a container of lukewarm water at the side to wipe the bb. I see her hunch over the bed hence was thinking if changing table is better .. cos u def will be going back n forth to get the stuff .. unless u lay it all on the bed liao

she also will close windows to prevent any cold drafts

JJ, when bathing, it will be in our bathroom, and quite enclosed.. its a standing height bath tub... n after the bath, there is a changing pad tht closes over the tub... to dry and dress baby..so very convenient......

ur gf hunch when sitting down on a bed? if standing to change bb in cot ...i can understand if hunching..sitting down shld b alright...

grumpus, yeah..thts one of our top choice car seats.. will ask hb check out if there are good deals during the bb fair.......

I also thinking to get a small couch to put inside bb room.. More for me to breast feed..

Panda
Burst water bag at 32 weeks ah.. Make me fear leh.. I also v scare esp when its getting nearer.. I really hope i can tahan till at least 36 weeks.. Aim to go home with the bbs..
I better get all the things done soon... Must go get the remaining tins soon...

baby, chill ... coz nobody can predict when babies wanna come out n say hello to daddy n mummy...excessive worry not gd for us.

what we can do is to be prepared for the just in case

even doc also cannot explain why the water bag bust so early.. n this lady is also stay at home mtb..not working, everyday rest, eat n watch tv

Pandawife - Oh she don't sit on the bed ... she bend over it ... the bb will be at the foot of the bed then her essential surrounding the bb..

I see her do like that also feel backache for her

JJ, no wonder she has to bend over...

i bought a munchkin organiser to hang on the cot to put the essentials...so during nappy change, can just pull the cot near to the single bed...carry baby out.. n do everything sitting down.....

Baby, hv u seen the baby coy from isetan? I remember they were selling for $269. When I was at tangs sales,it was selling at $199. Brand : shears. Measurement :24 by 48 inches. One of the smallest cot available. I bought the white colour. Deliver in December.
Note : the price of $199 is for those foam mattress. Need to top up for latex. Also inclusive of bedding set etc etc. During tangs sales, I also got the 12% rebate. Quite worth it.

Just faith
I didnt know tangs sell bb items!
Shall go check it out... The price is on promo or its the 12% rebate price? How much u top up for the latex mattress?

Babyhopeful/Baby,

Yeap. We bought it at tangs. The sales only lasted a day for citibank/tangs members only. They have limited baby items. But I end up spending $400+ there for some avent products. 20% off + 12% rebates. Quite alot of savings. I have been looking around a few places, and concluded that $199 is the cheapest we saw so far. I can guarantee that it is the same baby cot from isetan (parkway). I believe the normal retail price is $199. Just that during tangs sales, we can get 12% rebate using citibank card.

I intend to keep the foam mattress and buy an additional latex mattress. I didnt buy from isetan as they do not have the sample in store. I have the supplier number. Supposed to visit their office to choose an additional set of beddings and latex mattress. but havent done anything about it.

I will call up tomorrow and check if the price is still at $199 and how much to top up to latex mattress. if price is still @ $199, i suggest u take a look there, since you are looking for small cot. it was really crowded that day. after i placed order, i quickly left the place.

FYI, the $199 bed cannot be converted to a toddlers' bed. We intend to get toddlers' bed when she grows older.

talking about water bag burst, my gf's sister is now 6 months preggy. she shopped whole day at tangs sales, two days day, her waterbag bursts and heavy bleeding. Lucky for her, baby was safe, she was hospitalised abt 4 to 5 days. Doctor total bedrest until deliver as she has low placenta now.

Pink D, usually for baby car seats, can only lasts for NB to 12 months. You should check out maxi cosi car seat. i find it very value for money. much better than those cheaper ones.

unfortunately, the one that my hubby like, costs around $399... i find it too costly, as we will be using for few months only. we havent come to an agreement on that.
usually for maxi car seat, it can be attached to the stroller for conveniently.

Singapoh,
that's cos yr big son is big....hehehhe
but then he should be able to use a booster already right? no need to buy another car seat.
my elder girl is small, her car seat can easily last her to 5 but she will hv to give up for mei mei before that.

Wa.. Never come in for a few days and u all talk so much liao..

Panda,
U go snap off ur hair arh? How short? I also intend to trim but not too short, Maybe snap off 2 inches and thats it. Now my hair is ard waist length. So maybe cut till ard my armpit there... You bought the $130 car seat from hypermart arh? Is it the china brand one and comes in orange colour de? I think that the one I intend to get too. Its for nb till ard 1 yo de right?

Oh, my hubby bought a combi stroller from isetan private sale the other day. Its $319 with 15% discount. Hai~ Told him dun buy le cos we still have our capella stroller which is still in very good condition. Then he say the combi one is lighter.. Anyway, its his $, cant stop him from buying too.

Oh, applying cream cannot be in circular motions arh? Wahaha! I have been doing it too wor...

good morning ladies...

tickles, check out my FB profile pic..hehehe.. snap off quite alot ...definitely more than 2 inches..

the car seat is not the orange one...the one i got is red n black in color.. i saw the orange one too...but coz our capella is red n black..so i wanted one of similar color combi..hehe...vain.. i tink the orange one is cheaper than $130.....

combi strollers are nice n lightweight.. ok lah..hehe..let ur hb sayang baby oso.. n will come in handy too when u hv ur number 3

seems like most of us apply cream in circular motions..me too lor! hahahaha.. and i hv habit of rubbing my tummy even when not applying cream ...hahahaha.. so now trying to kick tht habit..must do it correctly...keke....

Panda,
okok.. Shall look at it tonight. NOw orpit ban fb... sian~ Is the orange one cheaper than $130? Cos now gt sale is it? That time I went and they say its $130 leh... Red and black arh? Erm.. will be hot hot leh. If too much black..

Yalor.. he want to buy then let him lor. Anyway he's the one carrying and pushing it...

tickles..hahaha.. it never occured to me tht it will be hot leh! alamaks..hehehe.. but if buy the combi corroco ones will not hv this problem.. coz all in light colors......

tht time when i bought the seat, the orange one was cheaper...hmmmm...but tht was already a while ago.... u wait for oct bb fair lah... maybe can find smthing better

Did someone mention about getting the combi coccoro car seat?
I have one but somehow the angle of the head is rather straight so the neck will flop forward and downwards. we tried putting him inside but it looks uncomfortable so till now, i still hand carry him.

bakaholic, really? how old is ur boy now?

hmm.. actually the infant car sit oso has an angle.... its not fully flat reclined type..not sure if all infant car seats are suppose to b like tht.. the bb hypermart sales lady says all are the same...

ladies, i also bought the same pair of pants from ON.. agree w bakaholic tht its very comfortable... material is soft n stretchable...

My boy is 3wks+. We tried putting him in on the day of discharge but the angle was strange and i had to carry him in my arms.
I went to look at the car seats after that and most of them did have a similar angle as well. I guess it could be the norm. But do look harder before you decide to buy.
We are going to try again this sunday to put him in.

Bakaholic,
Do you think adding a head support will help? I was just wondering whether it's necessary to get a head support for my car seat as well. I haven't tested my car seat yet and wonder whether it's also inclined. My hubby said he'll be 'xintong' to let the babies sit on the car seats for the first few weeks so I guess we will carry the babies instead.

How are you coping with confinement? Coming to full month soon. Time flies..

Panda,
Haha! nvm lor. Anyway use till 1yo only. I know of this prob cos I bought 1 black one b4 and its super hot. Then my girl doesnt want to sit on it.

tickles..really alot of little little things to take note n prepare leh....... heeheh

yesterday i was sharing w angela, i never knew preparing for arrival of babies is so much work! LOL... she laughed and agreed with me...