IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Thanks for the info on the stretchmark cream..seems like Clarins is quite highly touted..may try that..

Hi Blue Rabbit
I'm also going thru a lot of stress in my work, and comtemplated quitting as well.. but at the end of the day, i think i wont cos i'll be bored to death at home! Try and "tong" if possible, but tell yourself baby & health definitely more impt. I'm feeling so tired at work also.. backache if sit too long, and dunno why feel very cold in the office (maybe my body temp higher now).. I try not to stay too late nowadays cos i get very tired by evening time. I think your support from boss is quite impt..have u told him/her about your condition?

Hi mandy,
My boss is the first person who knows that I'm pregnant and she also told my colleagues not to stress me too much. But lately, she just has lots of comments/complaints about everything. I can't even stop thinking of work when I reach home everyday. My GP commented that my frequent headaches could be due to stress from work, which I totally agree.

Btw, ladies, when did u all start applying stretchmark cream on ur tummy area? I hvn't bought any yet and still using the body moisturiser that I'm using pre-pregnancy. Would it harm the bb?

blue rabbit
i had the same problem past few months. long hours and high stress level but i keep telling myself bb is more important, and always take a step back to calm myself whenever i feel stress level building up. tell urself nothing is more worth while than ur bb growing inside of u. hv u contemplated talking to ur lady boss?

i read that headaches is quite common in pregnancy esp in first and early second tris. but if urs is that frequent, then its definitely stress added on.

i started applying in my late 1st tri onwards...cos i couldn't stand the itch ard the tummy area. i read from other threads that some MTBs still using normal moisturiser on their tummies so shld be ok but perhaps u wanna consider switching now?

kiki, yes, skin tends to be more sensitive during pregnancy. for me, it was my tummy area due to stretching and my legs area, that became quite dry. i know of some MTBs who experienced itch on the face!

I am new to this thread, just been tested positive on Fri after 2wwks of long wait. Now another 2 more weeks of wait for the scan. Another set of worrry starts. I had one natural miscarriage last year and now i am paronoid with every single thing i do. I worried that my tummy will shrink, i worried how come i have discharge, i worried i have not enough protestronge etc etc. I even mistook my constipation bleeding and bleeding from the front...haizz..Think i am going crazy.

Thanks missmoon. When r u going on leave or r u going to work till u pop? So excited for u. U r the first one to deliver in this thread, we sure hv alot of things to ask u one

congrats Persistant, I was hoping that u, akandatang and summer would join us here very soon. Take care and don't be so paranoid abt everything. Take things one at a time and think positively.

blue rabbit
hope ur stress level will drop soon ya
i'm planning to clear a week's annual leave before the scheduled delivery date
that will bring me till last week of june cos i'm expecting to delivery @ ard wk 38 which is first wk of july. heh, anything, just ask
now, i'm just waiting for the big day to come.

persistent, blue rabbit is right. u hv to take things one step at a time. try not to worry too much, relax and stay positive. it's true that every step of the way there will be new worries but we hv to fight it all the way! we've all come a long way after all.

missmoon,
Did u buy any breast pump? I'm looking ard at the moment but can't quite make up my mind which one to buy. I saw from other threads that Avent and medela are good.

Btw, did u experience any nipple itch? I'm itching and funny thing is only the right side itch. Worse is I dunno what I can apply to ease the itch. Anyone experience this?

blue rabbit,
hmmm....i'm also thinking dunno to get breast pump or not. i scared this time same as my 1st time, engorged very bad. then in the end, nvr BF. i wonder if medela dual pump (electric) is good? i don't mind the noise.

blue rabbit, i kiasu, bought the avent one (electric one) during the taka bb fair. ya, the general consensus is that avent is good
dunno abt medela one cos i didn't read up abt it. the underside of the boobs itch but not nipples ley but i've heard some MTBs complain abt nipple itch though, so shld be common lah

curious,
Dual electric pump is very expensive leh. I'm thinking of buying the manual one to try out first

missmoon,
How much did u pay for the pump?

blue rabbit,
oh i tried manual one b4. hands very tiring. dual pump can save time.
imagine if u need 15 mins for each side, total will be 30 mins. if dual pump, 15 mins for both side. i haven't checked out the price yet. maybe when i see the price, I'll change my mind already, hee hee!!

my colleague, due next mth, bought Ameda dual pump on-line. she paid abt $200+ to 300. i shall ask her opinion after she started using it. but she told me it looks very big & comes w/o a bag.

blue rabbit
i bought mine at ard $149+ and it comes wif some freebies. maybe u can try to get 1 at the motherhood fair that opens tom?

hey blue rabbit
i heard that the avent manual pump one costs ard $80+ and it comes wif bottles. mine's only a single pump...dual one ex ley, so didn't get that one.

I feel that the avent manual pump is better than the Medala mini electric. Avent is less painful and more let down.

tch,
but then hor...will your hands feel tired using the manual pump. i still dunno which pump to buy. so may not rush to buy during the GSS. thks!

Just tested positive today. i had ICSI, 3 embryos transfered on 18 May. bhCG level today is 453. Supposed to test only this thur, but becos i itchy-handed, did a home preg test and discovered a BFP, so quickly rushed to the hospital to do a blood test and here i am now!

My next bhCG test will be on this friday. As for progesterone injection (wow, painful lor...), i have to take twice a week for the next 12 weeks...

persistent, u have me for company! Hope the rest of the gals in the 2ww and cycle buddies threads will join us soon as well!

congrats Chloe,
Now is a critical stage, so must eat well and hv plenty of rest.
How come u hv to take progesterone jabs for 12 wks?

missmoon/tch,
My SIL also said that Avent is good. They have a patented technology that stimulates milk flow. I'm also thinking of getting a manual one so in case I don't hv milk supply won't feel so 'sim tia'

hi Diveera

Thanks, will take good care of myself and baby.
So excited for the scan 2 weeks later.

blue_rabbit, my dr said the jab is to support my pregnancy. 2 jabs a week for 12 weeks = 24 jabs!!! 23 more to go!!! very painful leh... today buttock still pain... Looks like not all gynae practise giving progesterone jabs during pregnancy??

chloe
congrats!!
i had progesterone jabs until i was into wk 7 or 8. definitely the most painful of jabs i've ever experienced, worse than puregon jabs. nurses at the my doc's taught me to massage the area wif baby oil and use hot pad over it...it helped mine, didn't feel that painful and numb afterwards. i had the jabs daily some more.

guess it depends on the blood test results that gynae will order the progesterone jabs to stabilise pregnancy?

blue rabbit
heh...can check out at motherhood fair, if u're going? btw, my fren is selling a spare set that she's gott - brand new avent manual pump - if u're interested? let me know?

curious, my friend say it's very tiring but I find it out. The medela one is more painful and thus produce lesser milk. I know Avent has a new electric pump. Maybe you can try that. Not extremely expensive, I think.

I was prescribe with progesterone pills instead. But maybe because mine is frozen embyro transfers instead of fresh cycle. Have to take 3 times daily till week 12.

Chloe,
I was prescribed with some pills to stablise the pregnancy, no injections needed. Also taken until I passed my 1st tri.

missmoon,
I'll check out the Avent pumps at the fair this Fri. Will let u know if I want ur fren's spare set later.

tch,
I know that Avent electric dual pumps cost abt $699, too exp liao. Single one dunno how much? I saw from other MTBs threads that if we pump milk from 1 breast first, the other breast will leak!!??

i'm taking progesterone pills orally as well. So many pills to take everyday... But for the sake of baby, i will do it!

missmoon, taking the jab everyday must be very tough on u! u are so brave!

blue rabbit, sure no prob! i got the avent electric one at $149, single pump only. my colleague told me the other breast will leak, so all u hv to do is put a bottle beneath it, so dun go to waste. she said she felt like a milking cow when she was breastfeeding. haha.

chloe...haha, no choice ley...i dreaded the injections at that time and it was a huge relief when doc said no need liao!

Hi Chloe, how many pills are you taking daily? Dr only prescribe me the progesterone pills and folic acid.

Do you gals take multi vitamin? Is it necessary?

diveera
i was put on supplements from 2nd tri onwards - iron pills 3x a day (cos of my low haemoglobin level), fish oil and calcium. as for folic acid, after my 1st tri, doc say no need liao but i'm still taking it

Need your ladies opinions here...Does Cody sounds very kiddy? Like the name but afraid it may be weird when son reaches say 50yo...and it becomes too kiddy...:p

tch, Cody sounds quite grown up ley...no meh? i know of someone named Brody...which would sound quite weird @ 50 yo

just my personal view

hi chloe, my oso 2 jabs a week for 12 weeks, but after 3 weeks i have stopped, cos i m allergic to it and have rashes all over my body.

chloe, diveera,
congrats to both of u!!!!

tch,
thanks....avent electric is better than medela electric and less painful? ok i'll check out...

missmoon,
has anybody used avent electric b4? what's the comments hah? I also worried if I invest on the dual pump, scarly engorged badly again & can't BF, then pump will be wasted. thanks

blue rabbit
not quite prepared bag yet...hv started slowly putting things in but since gynae hasn't confirmed date, i taking my own sweet time. heee...ya man, i'm counting down by the day...still hv 3 more wks before i say sayonara to work and go on leave.

curious
my colleague's fren feedback is that it's really for convenience lo...she thought invest in one and can use to BF for at least a year but who knows, she couldn't and only managed to do so for 2 months...she said quite wasted lo. my colleague also told me single pump enough liao cos if the other side leak, just hold bottle beneath to let it drip, no waste also. i dunno how much more expensive it is compared to single pump though.

ask u ah, did u pack nursing bras for the hospital stay for ur first child?

curious, i agree with with missmoon on investing in expensive one. like my previous case, I didn't hv much supply and only BF for 10 weeks. So the manual one was good enough.

Actually, if you don't mind, you should borrow from someone first and once you know you will be BFing for long, you can then buy.

missmoon,
thanks... oh yes, i brought only 1 nursing bra during the hospital stay. cos during delivery, we are supposed to be 'braless'. then after delivery, cos will be lying down on bed most of the time & nvr get up, so nvr wear bra. 2nd day then wear. :p

tch,
thanks for your suggestion. i dare not borrow fr frens or colleague leh...cos I scared later I spoil their pump, hee hee.... sigh, if really managed to express milk, buy dual pump & BF for 3 mths still consider not worth it right?

maybe I'll ask TMC if they rent pumps. hopefully they do! then can rent fr them 1st. if really got milk & no problem expressing, then buy a pump.

in fact i really hope I can BF for long. but dunno whether can make it or not. cos I got cyst problem lah...last time kkh gynae suggested to BF for long term. cos no AF during BF, then will further delay regrowth of cyst.

curious, i think hospital will provide breast pump for duration of stay? no?

nursing bra: how u know wat size to buy huh? i was told 2 extremes - buy ur own size...then on the other hand...others tell me must buy bigger cos of engorgement. dilemma.

missmoon,
i think u can consult the sales person selling the nursing bra. u can buy your size. then bcos behind has a few hooks for adjustment. so shld be ok. but maybe dun buy too many 1st. if ok, then get your hubby to buy for you during your confinement.

i dunno if hospital provides foc or not. last time when i delivered my 1st 1 at GlenE, I was blur blur & didn't know how to ask for pump. did latch on several times but nvr pump & stimulate. so 3rd day discharge reached home in the afternoon became stone already! So I'm very scared this time.

curious, thanks for the tip. think i'll buy only after birth lah, since i think i'll most likely express out to feed bb.

hee, try not to think abt it lah, this time around, u're experienced liao, so shld be fine

missmoon,
aiyoh...i'm not experienced at all leh...everytime my mum helped. as for BF, it was a failure last time.

i think most important is to stimulate your breast immediately after giving birth. the 2-3 days in hospital is very impt. if bb can't latch on well, think better to use pump to stimulate. but hor...i dunno the interval for the next stimulation. dunno if pump too much nipple will sore or not. it's best u ask the hospital lactation consultant when you're there.

i went for my second bHCG test today. Got to know in the afternoon that my HCG level is 1643, DPO18. My first HCG was 453 on DPO15. More relieved now that the level has jumped more than twice.

Check with u all, my stools are very soft and watery lately. i run to the toilet to pass motion about 4-5 times a day. Is it normal?? Kind of unusual cos i thot most pple will have constipation due to an elevation in the progesterone level...

hi sisters

i'm glad to join you gals here. Need some tips from all of U on what to do now. I really have no idea
and feel quite lost. Dun know what can do, wat cannot do. Need to prepare myself for changes that
gonna take place. Have return to work for a week and it was quite tiring. Do you gals work during yr first few weeks?

Many thanks

curious
thanks for the BF tip. will definitely try to do that

chloe
that's great!
think u may hv to check wif gynae abt the bowel movement situation. for me, constipation was quite bad.

summer
dun worry
it will come naturally to u...just read up wat u can on it. for me, i took 2 months off work to stabilise pregnancy cos i super kiasu since this is my first bb