IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

MK
prof may look stern but he's actually very mild one. can even joke. i think the most important thing is to feel at ease...dun mind his looks but just ask questions that u want, u're entitled to afterall

dun envy...ur time will come too. just have faith and hang on!

Thanks Curious and Mismoon for the advice and encouraging words.....

I do not know whether I can handle the IVF procedure......it seems really painful......emotionally, will be worse...

I kept wondering to myself that maybe, I am not fated to be a mother......the journey is long and tiring.....

Was wondering if anyone back out of IVF even before completing the process....coz side effects are really unbearable.....

MK,
Pls do not give up hope.
422368.gif
And pls stop saying negative words. U must think positve & be optimistic.
Now u haven't started treatment already say so much negative words....no no, pls...
nono.gif
Right now u need lots of emotional & mental support especially fr your love ones.

KKIVF make it compulsory for all IVF couples to go thro counselling. I wonder if you're told the same in pte hospital. I think counselling may help...

I'm sure you'll see rainbow soon!!
422369.gif

curious,
Good lor, now u can set ur mind at ease liao.
Doc Loh told me that he will advise me abt the antenatal pkg on wk 16 leh not wk 20.

Maybe these 2 nites din sleep well, so hvg headache now.

Missmoon,
I juz embark on my 2nd tri last week, so maybe will take sometime before MS will subside lor. My gynae din gave me anything for MS, only fish oil and folic acid for supplements.

MK, take things one step at a time. the nurses will brief u on the process and procedures, counsel u and also let u watch a short video wif info on IVF/ICSI. dun think negatively...cos it will affect body's balance. try to stay positive and don't wonder too much

the journey may be long and tiring, but hey, there's always light at the end of the tunnel. have faith!

blue rabbit
i understand having headaches is a common ailment for preggies. dun worry, it'll be over soon before u know it

Curious, I am now into 12 weeks and 4 days...don't think this is 2nd trimester yet...I think I still have a long way to go before my MS will go away...I do have some anti-nausea medicine but I try not to take until really cannot take it...

I think Dr Loh has TPS clinic on Fri afternoons now...maybe too many patients already so he has to increase the number of sessions.

MK, you need to have a very open mind before you start the IVF programme....must not be scared or worried, will affect your chances. I guess the counselling session at KKH does help me in preparing my mind for the programme. You need lots of support from your hubby and other family members. Don't rush into things and talk to more people before starting the programme.

Verona,
12 wks is considered 1st trimester already is it? Or must reach end of 12 wks? GP also gave me anti-nausea medicine but I nvr take it.

Thanks...I'm not planning to switch to TPS. If go TPS, I'll go Pte hospital. Now since Clinic D called me & made appt for my fetal screening, I juz proceed. If any point of time their service got problem again, then I think I'll change hospital. But I hope no need lor....

Blue rabbit,
Oh ya lor...briefed u on 16 wks then sign on 20 wks is it? I also not sure. Now u know what? I worry that Dr Loh so busy now...next time dunno hv time to deliver for me or not...really worried. For instance Dr Sheila Loh, everytime my checkup, I'll hear announcement fr the PA system that 'Dr Sheila Loh is being held up at the IVF centre or surgery, etc...' Aiyoh...so busy.

Missmoon, yep, that's what I thought...start of wk 14 is considered start of 2nd tri...

Tch, I totally agree with you. If it is not because I am expecting triplets, I will definitely go to private hospital. Even though I am seeing Dr Loh in TPS, the service is still not as good as private hospitals. The session with Dr Loh is really very rush and feel that he does not have time for me...unlike the private gynae that I saw previously, who will usually spend at least 20 min with me and explain many things...*sigh*...

curious,
If we sign up the premier pkg, I believe Doc Loh sure will deliver for us, otherwise, why do we pay so much?
I remember that during my ET, Doc Loh took so long to come, made me so miserable cos need to hv full bladder and I hv to hold my urine. I was so relieved when the nurse told me ok can go and pass urine liao

blue rabbit,
yah...i also gotta hold my urine for a long time when I did the IUI.

as for the premier pkg, thanks for the info...ya I know he'll sure to deliver for us if book premier pkg & see him at TPS. he told me if having multiples, he'll encourage to choose premier pkg. he said for my case, classic also can. so I intend to stay at clinic D & maybe used classic pkg - A1 ward. He said this one he'll deliver for me too. If I'm not wrong, the price difference bet classic & premier pkg is abt $1K. Do correct me if I'm wrong. If I want to switch to premier pkg, i wld rather go pte hospital already.

i'm juz not really satisfied with the attitude of the nurses. but doctor still ok. will see how it goes for my next few checkups. b4 I sign the pkg, I'll hv to decide to stay or switch to pte.

i went my scan yesterday and all went well. Baby measured 7mm and i could see the heartbeat pumping away on the screen. How amazing! Curious, can you add my info -
Nick: Mandy
EDD: 4 Jan 07
Transferred 3 embroyos at kkvif under Dr SF Loh
BHCG on D16: 518

ThankS!

morning everyone,
I'm beginning to get quite emotional lately...dunno is it becos of the hormones or work stress is getting into me.

morning!!
hi blue rabbit
i experienced that too occasionally...i think it could be both the hormones as well as work stress. try to relax...tell urself u and bb come first
it helped me a little. heee, sometimes taking the occasional day off helps too

it's getting v quiet here...hardly see any posting.

missmoon,
Ya, my hb also said that to me.

mandy,
R u hvg singleton?

since it's so quiet, i will just update my progress.

Visited Dr last Sat. I am now into 23weeks. Initially, I didn't put on too much have have put on 3kg within the last 3 weeks!!!!!! Scary. Have to start watching my diet.

Starting to feel slight pain on my pelvic which I guess is due to the pressure. And by mid-afternoon, I can feel my leg starts to swell. Dr Loh was quite right, he said I will start very tired and more uncomfortable by about 24weeks. And now it's happening. But worst thing is my son is having diarrhea and hubby works late, so I have to keep squatting to wash him every time he pass motion...quite taxing on the back and pelvic.

Babies are still boys...
and they are about 532g and 600g...Dr Loh is quite please that they are growing well.

Well, that's all I have to say.

How are the rest doing?

hi tch,
Ur progress sounds good leh, ur twin are doing fine.

Did u sign any pkg with KKH? Premier or classic?

I hv been watching my diet, scare will put on too much weight. So far so good, didn't put on too much. Maybe also becos appetite still no good, can't eat too much. I finished 1 pack of rice for my lunch and immediately feel like vomitting out everything.

Hi MTBs,

I'm back again after busy with work...good to see that everyone is fine..I just came back from Dr Loh's clinic and saw my 2 babies...so happy.

And Dr Loh was quite sure one of them is a ger.
Amazed he can tell at 12 weeks.
blue rabbit, did Dr Loh manage to see the sex of your baby?

Curious, can help me add my info :
Nick: Winter1
EDD: 29 Nov 06
NO. of babies : Twin
doctor : Dr SF Loh
Hospital : KKH
Transferred 3 embroyos
BHCG on D17: 3063

I'm new here. I was tested positive on 15 May 06 and am under Prof Wong @ NUH. Anyone here from NUH?

May I know the bhcg on D17, this D17 is it start from ER or ET? Anyone here suffer OHSS after result tested positive? My tummy is very bloated and feel a bit pain at chest or pulling feeling. Anyone experience that?

hi kiki
congratulations!

i had OHSS after testing positive...it was considered mild but i had difficulty sleeping on my back, and was really bloated and i had difficulty breathing too. i actually went to extract the fluid from the abdomen at my doc's advice. i also took egg whites for some relief but that was really just temporary.

hi blue rabbit
yes i having a singleton..have been feeling really tired in the evenings every day, no appetite too.

Hi winter1
That's so nice! Maybe you will have a "Long Feng Tai"! I thought usually will only know the sex in the second trimester?

Blue rabbit, yes I did take up the package at TPS but for singleton, I think it's not so worth. As for carrying twins, we will see Dr more often and hopefully use up all the 10 sessions.

Missmoon, I am still working. Will "tong" as long as I can.

Winter, ya, hope u hv long feng tai afterwhich you can close shope...hehe.

Winter1,
so fast can tell sexes already?? Ready envy u to hv twins. I still dunno boy or gal yet, may hv to wait for 1-2 more months.

mandy,
What u r experiencing now are normal, hv more rest.

curious,
R u alright? Hv not see u here for quite some time.

Hi missmoon,

so did your bloated tummy reduced later on, or it was continued till now?

My info:
Kick: kiki
EDD: Jan 07
doctor : Prof P C Wong
Hospital : NUH
Transferred 3 embroyos
BHCG on D14: 322

sorry tried to add the names in the table but didn't seem to work.

Over to you curious. Maybe you can explain again how to paste the table.

I typed "\table" and pasted the excel table, which turns out as text.

Let's try it again.

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No. of Babies</TD><TD>Doctor</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Day 17 bHCG</TD><TD>Embroys Transfered </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD>19-Jul-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Prof Chen</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD></TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tch</TD><TD>7-Sep-06</TD><TD>Twin Boys</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1488</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>verona</TD><TD>Nov 06</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3000</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>blue rabbit</TD><TD>16-Nov-06</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>478.3</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>winter1</TD><TD>29-Nov-06</TD><TD>Twin</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3063</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>curious</TD><TD>10-Dec-06</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>226.8</TD><TD>SO-IUI </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiki</TD><TD>Jan 07</TD><TD></TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>322</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Could you also input your age so that we could see if there is any co-relation bet age, no of eggs transfer and conception rate i.e. singleton, twin or triplets.Sorry, I do not know how to create table in the thread.

Thought this will be helpful as a guide for deciding how many embroys to transfer vis-a-vis age and number of babies one prepared to accept.

Sorry ladies,
I was on MC last Wed-Fri &amp; then on leave yesterday to rest at home. I had lower tummy pain last Wed. Emailed Dr Loh but I couldn't wait for him to reply. In the end, went TMC to see another gynae.

He said was ligament pull &amp; told me to rest at home. Initially I was very worried cos even I lie down whole afternoon, still pain. When bladder full, go pass urine, tummy even more pain. Touch the tummy skin was so tight. Luckily after the 2nd day, I felt better.

Today juz back office so quite busy. Sorry didn't help to update the table. Thanks TCH. I'll try to come in here to update when I'm less busy....

<center>
426428.gif
426429.gif
<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">IVF &amp; IUI MTBs</font></font>
426430.gif
426431.gif
</center>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff6000">NICK</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">No. of Babies</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Doctor</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Day 17 bHCG</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Embroys Transfered</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD>19/07/06</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Prof Chen</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD></TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tch</TD><TD>07/09/06</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Twin Boys</font></TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1488</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>verona</TD><TD>Nov-06</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3000</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>blue rabbit</TD><TD>16/11/06</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>478.3</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>winter1</TD><TD>29/11/06</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3063</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>curious</TD><TD>10/12/06</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>226.8</TD><TD>SO-IUI </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiki</TD><TD>Jan-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>322</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandy</TD><TD>04/01/07</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>518</TD><TD>3</td></tr></table>

hi curious
hope u're feeling much much better now
try not to walk abt too much then. did gynae say how ligament pulled?

blue rabbit, missmoon,
thanks! i'm feeling better already. gynae didn't mention how the ligament pulled. he told me maybe bcos the womb is expanding &amp; I could feel the stretch. that's why I couldn't sit/stand straight cos I felt the stretch &amp; pain at the lower tummy.

curious
ya, the pelvic area will feel this ache cos of the growing uterus. also, i went thru this stretch and pain at lower tummy, esp on the right side, cannot stand straight - during my first and very early 2nd tri. i was feeling bloated after meals especially. but it'll get better. i just avoided walking up and down the stairs...but need to walk a little to get some "exercise".

missmoon,
yes, yes, on the right side too!! And bloated after meals!! yesterday lunch, had laksa with my hubby. when reached home, vomitted all the laksa
i think i was too greedy cos I finished the whole bowl. :p

curious
heh, i think ur appetite improving? can finish whole bowl? at one time, i was so afraid that i'll puke, i avoided eating food wif coconut and milk stuff in it

now in my final tri, these stitch-like aches on the right side of the pelvic area is back...gynae said so long as no bleeding and it's not causing great discomfort, shld be ok. but u just monitor and see how often u get it?

missmoon,
ya...gynae also said to monitor &amp; see if the pain got worse, then must quickly see him. yes, in fact i can eat slightly more now. but hor...i think coconut stuff eg. laksa still cannot lor...but yesterday greedy lor. another thing...I've to chew slowly &amp; properly b4 I swallow my food. Otherwise will hv indigestion &amp; vomit again. So now I eat slowly, chew &amp; chew so long then swallow.

wow! time flies! now you're in your last tri. jia you!!! preparations all done? now GSS coming...lots of sale!!

curious
haha, ya lor, GSS starting, so u can also start soon. and there's a fair starting this weekend? at expo? can go and scout ard liao. haha, maybe avoid curry and coconut stuff for now...

ya lor, before u know it, u're about ready to pop liao. as for me, i've another 6 wks to go...already feel like a big round ball
i've prepared most of my stuff... inheriting some things fr frens and sister, so not too bad

Hi curious

Hope you are better now. better dun take curry or coconut milk sutff. My appetite is also no good, cant finish my usual portion every meal.

Hi missmoon
You must be very excited now! I am also very excited to buy baby stuff but told myself dun get carried away..prob do so in 3rd trimester. check with you, when u start using stretch mark cream? any brand to recommend? I've got a Mothercare voucher for $15 that i have to use before end May and at this point i really dun know what to buy. any suggestions?

hi mandy
apprehensive is more like it, haha...but ya, the excitement is building up
i think the best time to start buying baby stuff is ard middle of 2nd tri to early 3rd tri...cos by middle to late 3rd tri, get tired easily and very clumsy...walk a bit only get breathless.

i started using stretch mark cream at the start of 2nd tri. was told clarins and palmers good brand to use, so i'm alternating between these 2 brands. i've seen avent brand and some friends tell me avent is not too bad. there are so many out there in the market...dunno which one to choose hor.

Thanks Missmoon. i'll check these brands out. Dunno whether this is normal or not, but i feel very paranoid and cant stop worrying about the pregnancy..although everything is going well, and i am getting the MS symptons, my doc still advised that first trimester is very crucial and must take extra care. I am very anxious to get past the first trimester..can i ask you a silly qustion? When do u see a obvious bump on tummy?

mandy,
I'm into my 14 wk now and my tummy has grown rounder and more protruding. Ppl can tell that I'm pregnant, but hor this is a very awkward stage, cannot wear my old clothes, yet tummy not big enough to wear maternity too.

For all info,
the mothercare fair is from 31/5 till 4/6. I took leave on next fri to go so that I don't hv to squeeze with the wkend crowds.

thanks blue rabbit and congrats, you are now in the second trimester! Now i am wearing mostly dresses so it is not so tight fitting and i also feel kinda weird to shop at maternity shops.

looks like a lot of pple going to the fair. since u r going on fri, do let us know whether there are gd buys or not..

hi mandy
actually, i was pretty bloated ever since after ET. so i've always seen a bulge on the tummy haha. my guess is ard end of 1st tri to early 2nd tri that the bump starts showing cos i remember having to seriously shop for maternity stuff ard the start of 2nd tri, esp for pants. for tops, i could still wear old ones until middle of 2nd tri. ppl ard me only suspect i was preggie during my 2nd tri, confirmed their suspicisions only after late 2nd tri. so...not to worry. i'm not small size but was told my bump is small and compact (even until now)...so i guess it all depends on our body.

ya, 1st tri really very important...not only in terms of your movements but also food intake etc.
like u, i was also very anxious...but doc keeps close track and before u know it, over liao, and 2nd tri will be a breeze

blue_rabbit
2nd tri liao...another milestone over
in a few more weeks, can tell gender of precious bb. has anyone commented ur bump is sharp or rounded? hehe

hi kiki
ya, tummy went down in size after having the fluid drained
thank goodness. but during my 1st tri, i was feeling really bloated and stretched after meals...so i only enjoyed a short break from the bloating :p