IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Twinstars/hazel/bing, thank you for ur well wishes. Sorry if I missed out any other ladies, a bit groggy now as hadn't been sleeping enough for 2 nights. :p

By e way, my baby is staying in SCU today as he looked v pale and discovered anaemic. Monitoring him. Hmmm.. Saw another baby there who was right opposite case of mine-face super red and I wonder why...

GAN, haha... Dun blame it on me for his bad mood arh... When he delivered my baby, he was happy and joking leh... Dr Marianne was e one who may have bad mood when seeing patients today coz she looked like she was half asleep when in delivery suite in wee hours this morning ... :p

Gan, yea I know what you are going through. Now I wonder if you have gone for detailed scan today, wud the sonographer have found out abt the insufficient fluid?. During my detailed scan the other day, dr loh did not scan again when I was in his room.

Please have a good rest this weekend. I know you can't wait for Wednesday to come earlier. Maybe u should check with him if he can see weekly or how he can follow up on yr case more closely. Chin up!

Hazel/gan

thanks for the clarifications on the tps timing. As I need to fast the night before, dun think I can see dr loh in tps for morning appts. Sigh....

Des, so when u will be discharged? What will they do with Jayden to help on the anemia? Will they still push him to u to bf?

Vi, if Jayden staying just one more night, I'll stay w him. Otherwise, seems like I'm allowed discharged tmr.

Doctor still ascertaining e cause. Worry is internal bleeding. If just due to pregnancy, shd be ok for him to build up through his diet. And cause of that, they want to supplement coz my milk not flowing..
aiyoh... Heart pain heart pain. He looked so small compared to others too though his weight was ok.

Gan, if gettin more info make u more nervous, then dun read! Tt's wat I did to maintain my positive mentality during my pregnancy. I learnt not to surf e Internet for information coz i know e more I know, e worrier I will b... I choose to pray n talk to my bb instead...

hi everyone! just want to let everyone know that although you dun see me post, i am a silent reader and supporter

our baby arrived in early august, and to carry my baby, to hear her cry is indeed a miracle

thank you everyone for your kind words and support
all of you have been a pillar of strength and sources of inspirations
whenever i am lost or tired, i sure log on and read

Just Faith,
my daughter was born at 1860gms, full term 37 wks

she had to stay in hospital for a wk until she reach 2kg. i pumped milk faithfully every 3 hrs and delivered to her in hospital twice a day.
when i brought her home after one wk, she was only 2.1kg.

Des, it's only 1 day of course no milk flow yet. But will they let u latch on Jayden every 3hrs? If not better borrow the pump ok.
How they going to check if it's not internal bleeding? Xray?
Keep on praying for him, I will too ;)

hubbyofwife, congrate... ;)

gan, don't worry too much. Rest more ok

Grumpus,

At least you still can BF her... My sister totally can't do anything. She quitted her job for the first two years and joined back the workforce after that.

All mummies are great!

Singapoh, Vi, thanks. Just now LC came. Wah... Squeezed my breasts pretty hard to get that ONE drop. That's to be brght to baby, ok? Unbelievable...

Alamak... LC left already then I have this question - she said e bottles for one time use, but can't I accumulate that one drop with e next few drops a couple of hours later? Faint...

Des,
usually the 1st few days is like tat one, i remember when i first started pumping, wat i pump out not even enough to cover the base of the bottle.
dun worry, the first few days output contains colostrum which helps build up yr bb immunity. just give watever u manage to pump out, dun care a bit or a lot.
not advisable to combine with watever u pump out a few hrs later cos otherwise u'll need to keep that one drop in the fridge leh, also ma fun right.

do u get to latch yr bb? if no, do continue to pump every 3 hrs to stimulate yr breasts

How, congraz!

DES, don't gv up.. If can latch, latch, otherwise pump pump pump. I even set alarm to pump every 3hrly when I went home without Alvis. First few days r like tt one... E flow may only come in fr day 5 onwards but may not b a lot to satisfy ur bb...so aso supplement w fm...

thanks everyone!

des, if there is one thing i learnt about bf, be patient and hang in there! for the first few days, my poor wife squeezed until the tears from her eyes are more than the colostrum. we even had to use syringe to collect the colostrum, but after a few days of sticking to it, there is regular milk
about 60-70 ml every 3 hours, and we supplement with fm

i must say that the lactation nurses in kkh are very patient with us. we were so pleasantly surprised when they called us after 2 weeks to check our progress on bf

Yes des, now only colostrum so if can latch on is the best.
I also did like stb, set alarm for pumping every 3hrs thru out the day n night. Even till now I still pump every 3-4 hrs. Latch 1-2 times a day.

Vi4n,
Maybe I should learn from you and pump every few hrs and bottle feed my babies. Probably just latch on 1-2 times everyday during the day time. Otherwise I'll spend the whole night laching the babies and don't get to sleep at all.

Stb,

Latch on 2 babies at night can be very tiring and stressful especially both wanna drink at the same time. U hv to choose yr favourite to bf first. Hehe.. Unless u know how bf 2 at the same time.

It was chaotic in the first few weeks coz need to wake them every 3 hrs to feed.

Stb, but if like Leanne after 1 breast she fall asleep n I still need to pump the other breast. ;)
anyway bing, if u can sleep in then yes u can do like me pump every 3 hrs n feed.
That time I arrange in a way that everytime after Leanne feed then I pump.

Dear all, thanks for your encouragement.
Eventually I didn't pump.. Use it to stimulate and open the ducts only. Once see one two drops this morning for 2nd feed, I went down to latch my baby. It gets better by the 3rd feed today - I can tell it coz baby no longer crys for more milk when I leave and he does look satisfied. =) However, felt a little guilty not latching him for every feeds eg. Visitors during e day, and for nights, nurses & dh advise that I rest (I guess coz I looked more like panda than pandawife now :p). I guess when I bring baby home, have to be like the rest of you, be more faithful.

By the way, just an update. My heart sank today when doctor said baby's blood count dropped further today.. I was so sad and wondered why esp when he looked better! Anyway, doctor tried to assure that it's not a significant drop and they will do yet another scan (this time by radiologist) to confirm there's no bleeding within the brain. Vi, they do this by ultrasound scan. They have decided not to do x ray anymore as they no longer suspect fracture as one of e cause (which they forgot to update us). Will know result only tmr evening or day after. Not sure if doctor will allow me to stay yet another day if it's e latter. STB/grumpus, before hospital receive your ebm, means baby will have to be cup fed on fm?

Ya bing, if u have others to feed the twin then nite time u can jus concentrate on pumping.

Singapoh, I didn't wake Leanne up to she slept thru 4-5 hrs le.
Now she can sleep from 10pm till 4am then feed then sleep till 8-9am.
Tonight 9.30 I put her to sleep on her own already ;)

Des, aiyo still another day to worry. If u insist on staying I think they should allow, tell them u wanna latch him on la.
Btw that time I will still continue latch on when got visitor. Let hubby entertained them. If they can wait good, if not then sorry lo. Giving my colostrum to baby is more important ;)
if visitor was my close friend i will jus let them see me feeding Leanne ha ha

Vi, hmmm... Maybe coz my baby's at another nursery where I have to go there to latch him on... That nursery does not allow visitors.. So if I go, no one attends to my visitors, v paiseh leh.

Des, he is jus 2 days old of course sleepy head unless u have a little monster like Leanne, even 2 days old when she want milk means she wants it NOW. Only when satisfied then will sleep ;)
now she is still like that ;)

kitty, hope everything ok with u

Des, your hubby not with u? No other family members?
My hubby practically 24hrs with me. By 11am my whole army will also be in my room till 10pm ha ha

Stb,
I heard from my gf who has a pair of 4-month old twins that latching on at night is very tough. For her case, she tried to feed them every 2hrs, and each baby took about 1hr to feed initially. So just imagine after you finish feeding the 2nd baby, it's time to feed the first baby again. She could hardly sleep at all at night and decided to give up breast feeding after 3months. The babies are on FM now. Maybe the situation will be different if there's only 1 baby to feed.

I really don't have any experience in this and will play by the ear when the time comes..

Vi4n,
I guess every baby is different. Some may fuss the whole night. (I'm one example according to my mum. I'm praying that my 2 babies won't be like me when I was a baby
) While some can go to sleep immediately after each feed. I think I can't really decide until the babies are out and my breast milk is established. Perhaps I need to supplement with FM at night.

Des,
It'll take a while to establish the FM so don't give up. Meanwhile make sure you have a balanced diet and enough rest so that it will help in increasing the milk supply. Actually I only know the theory behind but not the practical part so still learning from the sisters here..

Your baby is in good hands so don't worry too much, especially the doc had given you his assurance. Probably your baby is still in distress and will recover very soon.

Bing, yes do what u feel comfy when babies are out. Now can only plan but in actual time will be different.
Oh I give fm too at night only 1 feed because I don't want her cry to wake hubby. Ebm must warm it first.
It is better u get plenty of rest if possible n do what u can be it partial fm or what but if got milk flow then continue bf ok.
What I do is day time use ebm, if need to then latch. Nite 1 feed by fm so she will sleep longer also.
I only latch when necessary but I very diligently pump n pump. So the benefit of bm will still be given to baby n def save on fm. She only need 1 tin of 900gr per month ;)

I've started to develope tiny blisters on my fingers, palms and toes since yesterday and they are extremely itchy. Had not experienced this before. Did some reading and found out that itchness is not uncommon in 3rd trimester due to the hormonal changes. I can still bear with the itch but I'm just concerned that it will affect the babies. My appointment with Dr Loh is this Thur. Do you think I can wait until Thur and ask Dr Loh or should I see a doc tomorrow? Anyone has skin itch during pregnancy? Can share your experience?

Btw, not to boast but don't use Leanne as comparison. She is practically very easy to care. She can accept any brand teats, sleep a lot, no cry baby, can sleep on her own without any training done. So I really thank God for her.

I do believe that happy mommy happy baby n mommy can not be too nervous or worry fuss or the baby can feel your emotion too. I'm also pretty relax mom, until a bit too relax. Honestly my maid is more hygenic compare to me ha ha.
I also let go if anyone wanna help to feed or care for her, then I just pump lo.
I can go out whole day without her kind, in a way to prepare myself to go back to work too.

Bing, oh u hv twins...then u better heed mummy singapoh's advise. I only have my little alvis. He drinks v little in wee hours if he is sleeping. 1 breast enuff to satisfy him, so usually I'll only take 15 mins or less for wee hours feed.

By e way, I hv 1 fussy bb who needs to b carried to slp, most of e times, cannot really put down, put down will wake up n cry. He's only better recently after we hv started to train him to slp on his own...
Vi, I'm e lazy one. I only pump every 6 hrs nowadays coz initially plan to stop bf, now coz gog back to ofc, cannot pump 3hrly.

Bing, if u recall I had pupps during 3rd tri too. Went to see gp many times no cure. Finally showed to my gynae, she confirmed it is pupps n gave a wash n cream n within days cleared off. So my advice, change your appt date.
For me the itch was unbearable n I can only stay in Aircon room

Stb, I also drag my pumping to 4-5 hrs now but normallymy breasts will be screaming hard already so dayntime I will still pump 3-4 hrly.
Anyway I still plan to pump twice in office.
When u going back to work?
Time flies right? How is your new maid?

STB, has it been 3 mths since u delivered Alvis? Wow... Time flies! Now taking a stretch of 4 mths?

Vi, my hubby is w me in hospital, but thing is bb elsewhere. I felt it different from behind a curtain leh. If I'm already there, then I let guest wait.

Des,
if u're on tbf then the nurses will not bottle feed yr bb. so they'll either cup feed or syringe feed FM if yr ebm is not enough. my girl was syringe fed.

Grumpus, syringe fed? W fm or bm? Mine cup fed coz my bb needs milk to help in his condition & mummy cannot produce fast enough..
ouch! Bb just bit me!

Des, my girl was syringe fed with both fm and ebm. if there's enough ebm they'll feed her ebm, if not enough ebm then fm.
my girl also couldn't go hungry cos of her size, she had to be fed on the dot every 3 hrs.

the nurses told me cup and syringe fed is the same. just depends on which method the nurses themselves are comfortable with. as long as not bottle and teat can already

Just heard a nurse "scold" a baby, "cannot wait, is it... Aiyoh..". She's e same nurse who made me come down in vain this morning at 1.30am...

After failing to latch baby on a few feeds, do u find that ur baby dun know how to latch anymore? He bit me a few times now, while we both did it correctly e past 2 days leh...

Ladies- Can i check wif u gers, when did u ger stop your hormone support? I was told to stop since i am Wk11/D5 and start on my supplement during my visit on Sat. But yest nite and today, i got slight spotting again.