IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Yck
mine was first fet medicated. Rebecca left in may got new mee see there
u so lucky got mum to help look after ur twins. Now I preparing myself for " octopus" mum after they arrive. Did u have c sect or natural birth ?

Singapoh
haha .. Wise choice. Ur understand ur mil very well. Ya send the more fussy twin hee ... Do u still give them fm at times ? If I can't cope have to give fm instead of bf

working wife
ya ya .. Same protocol. How are u ? Scan ... Questions?? Then ta ta ... I did try to write down the questions on my mobile but when in all forgot. Pai sei take out to read hee... Hm what should I ask the next visit ? Hee .. U plan to go for the childbirth class ?

Panda,

I won't separate the twins if I can take care of them myself but my body is telling me that I can't. I feel so exhausted everyday, can't function properly.

My 3 year old understands a lot of things now. I want to spend more time with him. I don't want him to get too close to maids if u know what I mean.

When yr babies are here and u take care of them on your own, u will know how tiring it is. Grab when ANYONE offer to help u! No time to be paiseh.

Singapoh, hmmm.. i tink i get wht u mean... coz now even waking up at night to pee is tiring me out.... if i imagine everytime i wake up to pee is to feed or attend to babies, it would be many times more tiring!

Nancy,

I only give 1 feed of FM a day. I give at last feed coz want them to zzz longer. Also won't have headache introducing FM when I wanna quit bf.

Panda,

U pee only take few seconds and can go back to dreamland. With 3 babies, by the time u finish feeding the last baby, it's time to feed again. Never ending. U need to feed newborns every 3 hours around the clock. Wake them up if needed for 1 month. Faintz~

Newborns drink very slow. Can be up to 1 hour.

Singapoh, yeah lor.. hahaha.. i tink i am on my way to becoming really a PANDA...hahaah.. dark eye circles getting worse... must go find sponsor for eye cream liao...hee.....

ask u smthing.. is it easier to bottle feed or latch on at night?? i was tinking if i can try n latch 2, n 1 of them mil help me bottle feed bm...coz she is staying the nights with me...

Panda,

U chose the right nick! Haha..

If u hv only 1 baby, latch on is easy coz no need to make milk, wash and sterilize bottles. 2 babies also not too bad but wz 3, I think better bottle feed 2 babies. I fed them both at the same time using football hold. As they grow bigger and older, they are heavier and wriggle a lot so I stopped this method.

I found another method to feed both at the same time. I lie down/cradle hold to bf 1 bb and bottle feed the other (bb lie on a adult cushion to a semi recline position) Trial and error. I am sure u will find yr own way.

1 more method is put 2 babies close to each other on a regular pillow, semi recline position. Use 1 hand to hold 2 bottles and u have the other hand free. Can use that to bottle feed the 3rd baby.

Pandawife - yeah, I was telling my hubby those at CARE so lucky, can pop in for scan anytime! hehehe... I also wait until neck so long for each visit.

Nancy - I signed up for the TMC pre-natal class which starts at Sept 11. Its at AMK hub. They have it at both Thomson Rd and AMK hub. If you hve the first born incentive card at TMC, then can get cheaper rate (I think its $220). Other than that, I haven't done much! No baby shopping yet and haven't decided on CL. I think I'll start looking into that after my 20 week scan.

What week are u now? DO you know the gender of your twins?

I always tell Dr Cheng about the symptoms I face... eg. abdominal pain, pulling feeling, spider veins on my breasts etc then ask him normal or not. Also ask him when should I feel my babies movement, is my tummy the right size where it should be, until when can I travel, do I need bed rest, can he check position of the placentas, length of my cervix... hehe, all this I read from internet then I bombard him. He's quite patient though.

working wife,

At least you have like questions to ask him. I machaim totally have a few or none at all.

I only asked bout d bbs' weight coz my friend told my bbs seems abit light for week 28 n by right twins will b born earlier. I wanted them to reach ard 2kg or more when I deliver. So Tues he told me d bbs' weight r of normal range. Im not sure if I rem correctly but he told d bbs' weight is equal to singleton ard tt time. So I'm sort of relieved coz my appetite was bad during these 30 weeks.

Singapoh
Hmm.. So definitely must have maid for my case hor.. Esp me as first time mum with twins.. Dont thk i can cope alone.. No choice but to accept a maid help... Yr maid a indo or phililpino?
Im clueless in getting a maid..

After hearing u say abt tiring.. Abit anxious.. Now bbs inside still can enjoy relaxation.. Once they are out.. Like no time for ourslvs and hb..

nancy,
is medicated fet involve jabs or oral pills? or both? can breifly describe the procedure. thks.

btw, your parents or in-laws are not offering to help babysit? if i remember correctly, you work from home right? so you will be a sahm? and yes, i really appreciate my mum. i always believe that parents and inlaw are the best person to take care of them cos they will really take care of them with love. but of cos no choice then bo bian lor.

mind is C-section. dr cheng usually will not recommend natural one unless one insisted i think. i requested, but he will somehow talk into c-section for twins. i was knocked out during the whole process.

Panda,
Seems like u will be super busy when the babies are out...

Baby,
I think if u really intend to employ a maid, gotta do it a few months b4 babies arrives so u can teach and train the maid first...

Despondent
Like that u save alot of $$ leh. Don't go out one. For me if I go out sure have to find something to buy, if not waste my time going out, coming home empty handed.

Singapoh
I cannot take it, so long no holiday. I go back to spore about every alternate year, other years go somewhere else. But spore still ok, cos spore every time have something new to see, like new shopping centre one after another, this year, got casino and resort etc.

Brought my #1 twice, on the plane back spore, 9 mths and 16 mths. At 16mths, it was a nightmare on the plane, cos I took my fren's advice to travel night flight, saying they will sleep through. But mine was the opposite, slept only for 1+ hr and then kept asking for her bed ! I had to entertain her throughout the flight as she did not want anyone else and wanted to walk around. This trip to Japan, I did not bring her, can say abit phobia...felt abit guilty but sometimes cannot think so much, want to enjoy my hols too.

grumpus, Singapoh
Regarding cot as white elephant. I had #1 sleeping in her own room since the day she was born, then at around 18 mths, automatic want to sleep with us in our room. Me and hb hopping mad, I thought I can use the cot as toddler bed till 4yrs, wishful thinking.

bubbybear,
haha at least u could tahan until 18 mths. i had my #1 sleep in her own room since born. at 8 mths she started making noise every 1hr, i walk over to the other room carry her until she go back to sleep then put her down, one hr later she eh eh eh again.

funny thing was if i just dump her on my bed she just went right back to sleep...faintz...

so that's how she ended up sleeping on our bed until 2. even now i only managed to move her to her own mattress but still sleeping in our room.

our room now have king size bed, super single bed and a bb cot.

Bubbybear, which part of Oz did u stay? Anyway, for Oz, got to travel a bit to shopping areas so subconsciously felt compelled to buy smth mah? Btw, who took care of your #1 while u go Japan? How is baby sitting arrangement like in Oz?

I'm going to Expo today! Go for what, I also dun know... :p Hope to get a new camera coz my Sony cybershot super lousy (not sharp and colour not nice one). But hor, haven't shortlist any even for viewing! So v likely will end up not buying anything!! Hahaha. Also, hope to go Robinsons sale to see if can get comfy bras that I can just pull down & bf... Hmm... Not sure if my back wld be able to take it though... Anyway, I felt more hardenings this morning after massaging my breasts. Heee...

Wah... Grumpus your room so big!!! Where to find such big rooms nowadays?? As for my room, I have difficulty even to squeeze in a cot/ playpen where I already have a king size bed... Lucky you!

Baby,

My maid is from Indon. She is leaving, claiming that her teenage dot ran away from home.

Today the CC principal told me that her teacher saw her seeing a man and behave intimately. She walked to another place with that man together with my son! I am so angry. How dare she do that? Let my son see them hanky panky or worse let the man touch my son? I am really sad.

Despondent, Oz is another country that is bb family! Need to bring minimum bbs' stuff! Coz formula milk, pampers, purée, bb food, etc, it's supermarkets hv so much variety.

My guy friend n his wife brought their 3 mths old bb there last year, self drive, to Melbourne n tasamnia. He even bought a cheap bath tub to shower his bb there.. Leave it in the car boot from plc to plc. When he came back, he left it behind! He told me tt is the best time to travel coz his bb is on complete BM! So no formula or warmer required. Feed on demand!

Singapoh
Ya lor i also v scare this kind of tins will happen.. Tats y dont like to hv a maid around.. But we have no choice le..
So u will be getting a new maid?
I will set my demands straight frm the start.. I wont let them go out.. No off day.. They can rest without doing work once a week and will compensate them with additional $$ but cannot go out.. I scare they will know guys outside.. But dont knw whether they will agree not.. Sigh.. Sometimes maid is trouble more than help:.. V sian..

I wonder whether can i cope without a maid.. Duno whether a part time helper doing hsewk can do not..

Singapoh, thanks for the tips! i will try them out when babies are out... need to see what works best with 3 of them i guess.... now still blur..heheh...

Tickles, yeah lor, i just told another patient at CARE that after the babies are out, i will hve no life liao... be their slave..hahaha....

Working wife, looking forward to catch up with u at the class next month!
today angela says my tummy big liao..growing very fast...:p

Panda,
haha! Its a happy prob.. They grow up very fast de... so very soon, u can relax liao...

Singapoh,
Wa.. Your maid terrible man.. Did u ask her?

baby,
is really going to be tough if u dun hv maid. u will need other forms of support like parents and in laws.

i only had a singleton and already totally give up on all housework. but some housework cannot give up like laundry. and it was really very tough, plus hard to settle my own meals when alone at home with bb, end up eat junk which is bad cos still breastfeeding.

my mum would come in twice a wk with her maid to help. my maid would do all the housework and my mum would help with my girl so i could get some rest.

hb and i r very against a maid so we find alternatives like getting my mum and his mum to come over to help but still not easy.
yrs will be x2 of that so u need to consider yr arrangements properly

Tickles, yeah... i tell myself i will cope with it when the babies arrive.... plus my parents n mil coming to help...

now i just focus on being happy so tht can have happy babies... hb ask me not to worry ...later bb come out will frown alot..hehehe..

Grumpus, hahahaha.. No wonder! So u sahm too?

Singapoh, felt upset too..!! How dare they, right? These are indeed worries of having a maid... I have also heard of maids using their camera hp to take pictures of their kids in their nude. I mean, some parents do that, but maids?? However, have also heard of good maids lah. A close gf of mine had a Filipino taking care of her 4 kids! All the best..

Tickles,

Of coz I didn't ask her. I dun wanna alert her unless I wanna send her off the same day.
I asked the principal to help take pix of them together. Maybe no chance to do so coz my son is having flu, staying home. Next Thurs new maid is coming.

Panda and all first time mummies,

Dun feel upset or feel that u are a bad mother when u dunno why yr babies are crying non stop. Babies cry coz they dunno how to tell us what they want.

Dun try to be a superwoman, wanna do everything yourself. Also babies are more important than keeping the house clean. Must lower yr expectation of yourself.

All the best!

Singapoh,
Icic.. So now she still dunno that she will be sent back soon too la? okok.. U're right.. Better not alert her, else later do something to the babies or start to pack and steal things... Anyway, she also say wanna go back too right?

Des,
yup am a SAHM. quit my job when #1 was 3 mths old.

Singapoh,
Excellent advise!!!
We should print that out on a big poster and stick around the house.

Hi ladies, after if we want to go back to our own gynae after a successful ivf, when do you girls go back? After 1st trimester with the ivf doc? And how do you girls tell the doc bout it?

I'm with KKIVF and am thinking of going back to my gynae at tmc. But nt sure when will be safe and how to tell the KK gynae...

hopefulmummy,
Ya, i think most of them say it after 1st tri can go back to own gynae le.. Its ok de.. No need to be paiseh.. They will understand de.. Just let them know and ask for the records so u can pass to your own gynae for follow up... KKH has lots of patients to handle too. They wont mind you gg back to your own doc, thats what i feel la..

Tickles- ic. Yah. I feel paiseh to tell the doc. Some more he's very nice. But the thing is I've never heard of anyone under him and he looks kind of young. Well, dh says young better cos he can follow me thru till when I'm older if I have some women prob later on in life. But I'm concerned he may not have enough experience. As compared to my gynae, he's much older with many yrs of experience. But downside is can't follow me thru. Such a dilema.

What to expect from dh after baby? NOTHING!

When u pek chek with bf in the initial stage, dh tells u "stop bf, I dun wanna see u suffer" (real meaning - stop complaining and give fm for goodness sake) keke..

Working wife
Wow u got so many questions !!! I also like skies machiam no questions. Just smile
Hee....Me week 21. Expecting 2 boys. U should be feeling babies kicking soon. At first feel like small bubbles bursting. The childbirth class starts 5/9 at thomson. Need to learn some exercises.

Skies
Ya, guess my only question we always have is " Babies okay?" Once we hear they are good, the rest of the questions forget liao. So what are ur babies wt now? After ur confinement, who help u look after the girls? U going back to work?

yck
Let me recall - first took the pills, jab lucrin to prepare for lining then ET. Funny feeling so stressed then now forgot the procedure
But much more relax than fresh cause only worry then was the eggies must thaw well
Also spent lesser $$$

I quit my job during my bad MS days. Plan to take care of them for 18 months and off to day care so can go back to work. Mothers are the best and mil do matter how if we dun click with them still appreciate they help. Do u have a maid to help mum? U still need to take care of them after u picked them up

Baby
We have the same concern. Afraid maid may give me more problems than helping. It's pure LUCK getting a good maid. Thinking of getting one after the confinement lady leaves. Imagine my house so used to only me and hubby becomes so crowded with CL, MIL, Mum and 2 babies
Btw who is ur gynae in Gleneagles?

hopeful mummy,
icic.. Its all up to you.. Haha! Experience or follow thru... But I guess if at KKH, if he got any problems/ uncertainties, he will def refer u to a more senior gynae also de... Cos there are also other experienced gynaes there too.

Singapoh,
no leh, my hb very pro bf one. when i was having a lot of probs latching bb he faithfully bring out my pump for me every 3 hrs to pump. after i finish pumping he will wash and sterilise the pump and store the milk.
when i weaned my girl off bm, she kept falling sick, hb still tell me to pump somemore and increase her bm again...faintz....

grumpus
That is one very big room u have ! When I move to my new house, only manage to get #1 to sleep in her own room for 2 days, thereafter crawl back into my bed !

Kids really know how to manipulate adults one. I ever tried when she fall asleep, carry her back to her own room, but come midnight, she will wake up. But if she sleep on my bed, she sleep throughout, really don't know what to say. Sigh..

Despondent
I live in Sydney. I had my parents to thank for while I go to Japan without #1. Don't think I can go anywhere without bringing her, if I got no one to look after. Over here, childcare arrangements will be childcare centre, nanny, ourselves or relatives. No luxury of having maid, their wages too high and hard to get permit also.

Hazel
Actually, exactly the opposite. Spore have more variety in terms of baby consumables. Like fm, only have 4,5 brands only. Diapers also not many brands and more ex than spore but usually thicker than those found in Spore. But its true, every stone's throwaway is a supermarket. So travelling within Oz, very convenient, just bring bare mimimum.

Wah... Grumpus, ur hubby so good...
I think mine will just sleep thru e nights. Kekeke

Ladies, as u know, I'm overdue. I have been having lots of ppl (aunties, colleagues & friends) asking me why overdue, how long overdue, whether I'm in hospital now and how come still dun give birth! Sigh.. I'm reaching that stage that I'm feeling not to answer their calls/SMS or emails. Anyway, admitting tmr liao. Think if that's rude of me? And when they see me later, what shd I tell them? Any advice?

des,
i had ppl start asking me frm 37wks onwards. i only delivered at 40wks1d.
most only ask whn they see me or exclaim "how come u still here". so i told them to ask my bb whn wanna come out.
whn i went for my last chk up, some even bet dat i will start ML after chk up

grumpus,
ur hb very good. mine only do dat whn he's awake. if he slp liao, he dun do for me le... i gotta put bb down & do the rest myself

Nancy,
im thinking of natural FET. anyway see how first. yes, own mum is always the best. easier to talk. and no, i and my mum household have no maid at all. all of us dont like the idea of having a stranger around and after hearing and reading horrible stories of maid, we are firm that we do not want maid.every morning will bring babies to my mum's place. evening knock off will pick them up.