IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh,
Wa.. Your girl wore new born diaper till 8 weeks old? So long? Mine I think I use for the 1st month and then I change to S size already. Maybe cos after using Pampers then I use the Drypers newborn that my cousins gave me. So I find it really small. Smaller than Pampers by quite a bit...

tickles, 1 pack of is for 1 bb ? so i need to buy 3 packs?

singapoh, i need to put the mat above the bedsheet ...coz i m using cloth nappies...if below bedsheet, i might be changing bedsheets as often as i change nappies..kekek....

Tickles,

My gal is still using Drypers brand. She is a twin ma so it's normal to be smaller. But my son is a little sumo. Chubby lo

grumpus, i m going thru the handmedown cloth nappies, some of them the material feels abit hard... is this normal? or tht means i shld get new ones??

Panda,

Try not to place any loose items on the bb cot coz it's a safety hazard. U can fold a cloth diaper and place below bb's bottom.

I place a nb pillow under the bedsheet too. No bolster, toys or blanket in the cot.

Panda
I also bout the pigeon rubber mat.. We can also use it for our confinement in case our af drip out..
I also bout two pigeon cotton waterproof for cots.. Cos its more airy.. The rubber one will be too hot for bbs.. The cotton one abit exp.. Its abt $22 each.. But since bb will sleep on it most of the time.. Better to get a cotton base one..

Panda,

drypers cutting is very small. disposables not so much dependent on bb lah, just up to u cos some are thicker and bulkier and some are not as absorbent so means got to change more often. then if u buy more premium brands, unlikely will hv probs. i dun mind spending a bit more for disposables cos only use at night and will last through the night.
my favourite is definitely pampers! mamypoko also not bad, slightly cheaper alternative.
if u're using cloth nappies during the day then u dun need to stock so much disposables cos only for night use. night time use the most 1-2 pc only.

also i didn't bother to buy NB size, i went straight to S size. errr, so far i never hear of hospital giving one pack when discharge, tot that's usually the pack they open for yr bb when born and whatever balance they just let u bring back.

Singapoh, ur son is a little sumo? Hahahahaha...

Hey, all our frens and relatives commented that Alvis looks like a 4 mth old bb leh.....

Singapoh,
Oh ya.. I forgot... Keke.. No wonder...

Pandawife,
Then maybe u should listen to Singapoh and get slightly more leh.. Cos yours is triplets, so size wise should be smaller too. My girl was a 3.21kg at birth, so that why I find the Drypers newborn diaper small and switch to Pampers S size after 1 month of using. But anyway, u can just get maybe 3 packets since hospital will also give u 3 packets, if not enug, then ask hubby to go and buy lor.. Save some space too ma. No need to stck up everything at home.

For cloth nappies, maybe after washing will become soft ba.. Or use baby laundry softener?

The protective cover for the mattress that the rest are talking abt is to protect the mattress de. The baby changing mat u talk abt is during diaper changing de. Its diff. Usually, some will put a thin layer of protective cover for the baby's mattress. The baby changing mat, after using will have to keep, cos it has a rubbery smell. Only bring out when u are doing diaper change.

Panda,
hmmmmm, maybe the nappies are stiff from washing and storing cos depends on what detergent was used. u try washing again and see if it's softens?

Tickles,
my girl was 1.86kg at birth but i still use pampers size S diapers cos i like airy airy...hahaha
and even i found the drypers cutting small

Stb,

Yeah wor. My son is about the same weight or heavier than your son right? My son is 5 days older than yours and birth weight was 2.745 kg.

Pandawife,
I did use leh. But of cos dun get those that are too heavy ones. Mine is my auntie make de. So not very heavy... Till now, my girl still hugs them to slp.

Panda,

Whatever loose item u wanna use on babies, u will hv to check on them regularly.

My gf place the beansprout Pillow on her bb, she kicked and it landed on her face. Lucky my gf saw it. After she told me that, I kept mine away.

grumpus,
Haha! u like loose loose type arh.. Keke! I make sure it fits well.. Else I feel will leak out.. Kiasu la me.. But I had so much newborn diapers cos my cousins who deliver 1-2m before me overestimate and gave me so much that I think I got maybe 2-3 packs. I didnt buy any newborn diaper, straight away buy S size de. But i think towards the start of 2nd month, I already start to find the new born diapers a bit tight and difficult to change liao. Keke~ So this time round, I told myself, I will try not buy too much new born, will get S size instead..

tickles, i asking my mil to make.. yeah.... u saw the fabrics on FB right? kekek.....

i m using cloth nappies..if dun wear the protective pants, once the nappy is wet, the bedsheet oso wet leh... unless i put a water proof mat on top of the bedsheet....hmmm.. oso dunno how this shld work...

baby, i will need cot mattress protector below the bedsheet...but also one on top...keke.. confusing hor....

the pigeon protector comes in 1 size? i forgot to check my cot mattress size before going to the fair..so i din buy tht day.

i will get those water proof sheets for my bed... dun tink i can use the rubber mat.. i turn n toss alot when i sleep..

Pandawife,
Then maybe just let the baby wear protective pants ba.. Then wont stain the bedsheet so easily, actually this I'm not too sure too. Cos the cloth diaper that I bought last time is from the shop call bum wear, so the cloth diaper is something like diapers like that. Can hold 2-3 rounds of urine and only need to change the inserts type, the outer layer is kinda water proof de. So I didnt have the leakage prob. But soon, I find it tiring and change to using disposables.. Me lazy mummy. I told hubby this time, I wanna try using bum wear again, then he tease me and say, i shall see, how long u can last with using that.. *Faint*

tickles, do u find the bum wear outer layer thick?? i m considering to buy a few of it for night wear...so totally do away with wearing disposable....

i look at the online sites..the outer layer seems to be thicker than the protective pants leh... new born protective pants quite thin...

grumpus, i just counted the nappies, i hv 110 pcs.. shld b enuff hor?

i will try the protective pants... now wondering how many of those i need..... bought 10pcs already.

Pandawife,
Protective pants def is thinner cos u cant wear it alone. Need to wear it with the cloth nappy ma. So add up, I feel its the same. The bum wear diaper I feel is good, cos really will absorb and the bum is dry de, cos the material acts like the disposable and absorbs the urine very fast, If only 1 time urine, u touch the inside, its still dry de.

That time when my girl has nappy rash, i used it the entire day for a few days, even the teachers at the infant care says it helps in reducing the nanny rash as compared to disposables..

I feel, if u really are into using cloth diapers, no harm getting a few pieces to try first. Maybe a set of 6. Then use tgt with the traditional nappies, if U find it good to use then buy more.. Cos its very ex, so just buy a few to try out.

Panda,
that's abt 35 pc per bb, should be ok bah. if really not enough u can still send hb out to buy more during confinement. dun stock up more already.

those protective pants are just a thin plastic right? dun think u will need that many cos u dun hv to change them everytime, and they dry very fast cos plastic dun absorb water.

ladies, thanks for all the advise!! i m trying to run thru my list... see wht else i need... tmr maybe go taka one more time to wrap up these small small items.....

Not sure if this has been discussed before. But I am planning to sign up for Antenatal Programme at KKH. Class starts on 24th Aug. Ends in October. Once a week, i think.

Just wondering izit too early to go for Antenantal class? I am going for detailed scan later. So, I should be 20weeks+ as of today.

Just Faith,
I think it should be ok.. Just go and sign up for it...

just faith for kkh antenatal class, shld start when we r 16 weeks based on the website....so go sign up. I am going for the class at tmc coz kkh for sat i can only start in mid sept and end 4th dec!

Update us on ur bb gendee ar!

Actually most hosp provide antenatal classes for free in the hosp we deliver?
Is it necessary to attend classes frm other hosp before delivery?
I heard hosp will teach u how to handle yr nb after u deliver.. Is it true? I duno whether glen e provide such service not..

no leh...baby..i m delivering at tmc..but stil hv to pay for the tmc classes.. but hv discount lah..if going to delivery there...

i dun tink its free.. how about those from KKH? are the classes free?

baby,
during yr stay at hospital, usually there will be some classes conducted which u can choose to go or not. but the classes are quite basic, just a bit abt bfing, bathing/changing bb etc.
unlike those u pay for and attend before delivery. those are quite detailed, spanning over several lessons and include things like breathing exercises during delivery etc.

pandawife
taka fair is selling pigeon disposable breast pads 60+12 pieces at $13.90.
any idea if its cheaper at AMK? actually which is the AMK shop, coz heard few of u talking abt it.

nancy
thks will lookout for the motherhood fair in oct.

tickle
okie ya will standby some disposable, esp for going out.

oh did anyone here buy the babyplus at taka fair? i read some mummies bought in other threads, wondering if it is really useful.

pandawife, the antenatal class at kk we have to pay too though delivering there, just that cheaper compared to if not delivering at kkh but joining the class.

Ohh ic..
Then i better go book tmc classes.. But i will only want to attend the lesson 4&5.. Its quite packed is it? Duno still have vacancy left not.. Hubby can attend with us? Can choose the instructor? Which one is good?

hi gals, thanks for the quick reply. actually, i came across this Antenatal class because supposedly there will be a class starting on 14th august at anchorvale cc (aka sengkang). Since i m staying in sengkang, i thought why not i join this class. then after i made the call to kkh, i was told that the class is fully booked and told me they will not be organizing classes outside kkh anymore (so i suspect the class at the cc was cancelled due to poor response, and not fully booked.) so i asked for earliest classes available since i am so free. they gave me 24th august. so i will go n make payment later. For those who might be interested, here are more details. not sure if the course contents are the same as TMC or other private hospital.

http://www.kkh.com.sg/EducationAndTraining/ClassesAndForums/Pages/Home.aspx

Guess i am the only one who havent made any purchase for my little one. though have done lota shopping and comparing prices and still waiting for handsdown.... think i should be able to make some purchases after today's detailed scan. yeap, will report in later. heheheeheheheh... i m really excited. i only had brunch at 130pm... cos too excited, cant eat.

by the way, just like to share with those gals staying in whampoa area, i came across a shop in whampoa that sells baby's clothes. those NB tops going for $1.50 to $1.90... really cheap. cant wait to buy a dozen back. whereas most places are selling the pigeon wipes for $10.50 or $10.90 for 3 packs, over there, its only $9.50.

okay, i should start to make my way to kk liao....

tickles
Went taka fair without any checklist on hand so since there and dun want to head home empty handed so bought the warmer and sterilizer bundle haha....

Warranty is for 2 years. I am not sure if i should buy the stroller and car seat now or after i deliver. For twins, i guess i need help going out. Btw what are breast pads for? to clean the breasts?

Baby
TMC classes hubby can attend. Mrs wong is good but she only teaches in amk hub. The other location is opp TMC. Call soon

just faith
Keep us posted after the scan

baby, hb can attend the class together. u faster go n book..coz mrs wong's class very popular. when i booked last week..sunday classes all full liao.. left a few slots for sat 7-9pm... unless u dun mind weekdays evening also 7-9pm.

they sell the course as a package... no discount if u choose to only attend some of the modules... bt i notice every class they teach exercises...so i will go.. its only 6 weeks..

Nancy,
Icic.. Ya.. Maybe u should buy stuff which have no warranty first, like strollers, car seats, milk bottles, cots, clothes, bibs, mittens, booties, bed sheets sets etc etc..

Breast pad is to prevent the breast milk from leaking out and wetting your top. Its something like santitary pad, only that u stick it to your bra..

pandawife
No i havent meet her. She is the one that wrote the 3 books given to us in the newborn club. When i was hospitalised the last time, the lady next to my bed was saying " Mrs Wong is good" but i will be attending the class opp TMC instead.

tickles
ya lor, no experience
Now i know what to get. I need to print out the checklist. Cant wait for the scan this friday. Maybe 2 boys maybe one boy one girl

Vi, thanks for e good suggestion on combi bb chair. After I told my dh abt ur post and Singapoh's comments, think he made up his mind not to buy e crib. But hor, I can't find e picture of how it looked like from Tai Sing's website leh, e website like got no catalogue...

nancy, i havent sign up for the new born club yet..plan to submit the form when i go see Dr Paul for detailed scan end of the month...also go parent craft to make payment for the pre natal classes.

remember to update us after ur scan this friday!

Nancy..
Haha! I was like u when I was a first time mom 2.5 years back. I bought the steriliser 6m before my EDD. Keke. Then, got 2 years warranty. But my steriliser broke down at 2 years 1 day. So no choice gotta buy new one. But the steriliser I only use like 1.5years only. Cos I buy early and warranty started early. So mad! For Avent steriliser, the guy told me that as long as its within the warranty and spoilt, they will replace with a new one for u. So good right? Cos the repair fees are super ex, so they just replace. Thats why I told hubby, for my current one, I better mark down the date and just send in and say faulty when the warranty is ending.. Keke!

Tickles
Haha..spoilt just after 2 yrs 1 day
maybe got inner timer hee.. oh advent got one for one replacement. Wise to mark down the date of warranty expiry!!

Pandawife
The 3 books are quite comprehensive and i guess that's what they will be teaching based on the books. U sign up first then bring the receipt when u go for scan got discount. The free gifts and bag quite bulky. Tell the counter lady u will collect them after all the scans and dr visit. She will put one side for u instead of carrying it around TMC