IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi curious, must take care.

mandy, missmoon, blue_rabbit, I lagi worst, my tummy is so bloated that i have to get maternity wear... last sunday rushed to taka to get some and borrow some bigger size office wear from my relative, in order not to let my colleague know.

now drinking ensure everyday.

missmoon, mandy,
thanks....i'll heed your advice to avoid curry & coconut stuff at the moment.

i don't find the expo motherhood fair fantastic. i had been there for the past few yrs but i didn't find any good deal. so i'm not going this yr.

kiki,
thanks...

blue rabbit,
spring maternity at Suntec is having sale last weekend. they set up a temporary stall at the ground floor open space. I think it's still on now & u may wan2 take a look.

last Sat I happened to go there & bought 1 maternity skirt & pants. Usual price were $59.90 & $65.90. I bought them at $29 each! Though my tummy is not very big now (only 12 wks) I can fit in nicely & no extra cloths. Cos the material is very stretchable & comfortable.

My hubby keeps asking why I still buy maternity clothes since I can wear my previous maternity clothes 4 yrs ago. But I told him those fashion out liao leh....hee hee!! Last time those maternity pants not so fitting one...very ugly leh. Maybe I'll juz keep & wear them during 3rd trimester, but not now.

Btw, I intend to change gynae to Dr Beh at Thomson. KKH nurse really disappoint me. Few days ago, a nurse from KKH called to ask me when's my EDD. I was shocked & told her why she wanted to know & the hopsital shld hv my record mah. She didn't answer me at all & kept asking for my EDD. When I told her that it's ard 7 Dec or 10 Dec, she was really sacarstic & laughed off saying that why I so special, hv 2 EDDs. Then she wanted me to confirm either 7 or 10 Dec. Wah lau! I told her how to confirm such things? EDD is juz an estimate. Even gynae said 7 or 10 Dec, I maybe late or early. In the end I told her ok lor...I confirm 10 Dec. Then she hung up. Till now, I still find her so weird.

curious,
My hb colleague said that we can stock up things like baby wipes cos need to use alot and its cheap to buy at the fair.
Did u ask the name of the nurse, then u can write in to complain.

missmoon,
no one commented on my tummy but ppl did tell me things like if I like savoury stuff, its a boy and if I like sweet stuff its a gal. Also if I always hv MS, then its a gal. Aiyo I also dunno how true these things are.

blue rabbit,
i know the name of the nurse, my fren also told me to complain but I dare not.

btw, i think all are myths. my 1st pregnancy, no MS at all & it's a gal leh.
some pple say if boy, the pregnant's face will be ugly & maybe pimples etc. but my colleague expecting a boy & due next mth. her complexion so nice. in my 1st pregnancy, my face looked very radiant & smooth too. no pimples at all.

hi kiki
haha, soon enough, they'll figure out themselves. dun worry, the bloatedness will subside.

hi curious
that particular nurse was so rude! EDD is just a guide wat...if she wanted to know for sure, she shld've checked your records. so strange!

blue_rabbit
ya lor, a lot of different versions how to see if girl or boy. - mild MS, tummy small and pointed and tummy was high up, not low, like savoury food and didn't have any cravings at all - indicated a boy but must be myths only lah cos i know some MTBs who hv gone thru exactly the opposite and expecting boy

missmoon,
ya lor...that nurse could hv checked my records! in fact I shld be the one calling & asking her when's my EDD & not the other way round.

wah cheam ah...pointed or round tummy. so missmoon, yours is pointed or round? i also dunno how to differentiate. to me all are round, haha!!

curious
ya lor, some more u r the paying patient ley, and have to go thru such customer service

haha, to me all same same lor...mine is pointed, that is, from behind cannot see that i'm preggie. haha. some describe round as flatter in the front and from behind can see the tummy protruding.

curious
haha, so far until 2nd tri, i've had durian twice...ppl tell me 3rd tri cannot eat liao cos heaty...scared baby come out got pimples. i ate it during early to middle of 2nd tri. then i was also advised to drink liang stuff toward the last few weeks, esp coconut water, so baby come out "clean". from 1st tri to 2nd tri, i avoided barley drink, green tea etc.

some say eat durian bb will grow bigger?

missmoon,

ya lor...some pple say eat durian bb will grow bigger. dunno truth or myth. for my 1st bb, i didn't drink coconut water at all. my bb came out "clean" leh...
delivery was easy too. i heard many pple drink coconut water in late tri, but if ask gynae, he'll say no scientific proof.

btw, my SIL's mum worse ah...when my nephew was born, my SIL's mum used beer & dunno what to bathe the bb!!! when my brother told me, I was so stunned to hear that. according to SIL's mum, by doing that, bb skin will be nice & soft. but hor...I don't believe in all these.

mandy,
for stretchmark cream, some gynae said it's juz moisturiser while some gynae encourage us to apply. i applied during my 1st pregnancy & I don't hv any stretchmark. i wonder if it's due to the cream.

i couldn't remember the brand name. but i remember i bought it at guardian pharmacy. the tube is white with a picture of a pregnant lady's big tummy. the pic is light blue.

btw, i'm not using this cream now, haha...cos i thot of using something natural. so i bought cocoa butter from Body Shop. but not very diligent in using. always very lazy to apply.

curious
haha, i guess there must be some truth, cos most mtbs say eating protein rich food bb will grow...

heh, u had it easy
good hor. hope it'll be the same for u this time too
eee, use beer to bathe? i also dun believe in this and i dun think i wanna try also. haha

missmoon,
oh thanks...i hope so too! wishing u a smooth & quick one too!!

btw, it's good that u are able to get some 'hand-me-downs' from frens or colleagues. cos bb outgrow very fast...can save some $$ on that. my 1st bb, my hubby very fussy. didn't want those old clothes fr frens & relatives. everything buy....spent so much $. i think my 2nd one can use those items & no need buy already, except milk bottles.

missmoon,
I also heard from ppl that drink coconut water in the few weeks before delivery hor, bb will come out clean and hv nice smooth scalp.

Does anyone knows whether can eat bird nest in 2nd tri? My MIL bought me alot and she said let her know when I can eat and she makes for me.

curious,
I heard that bb will grow better if wear those hands-me-down leh. I dun mind old stuff, anyway bb grows very fast one, no point spending so much $$.

blue rabbit
ya, best time to eat birds nest or those rich food in 2nd tri. that's wat ppl tell me. but not too much though...then 3rd tri, cannot bu anymore. i ate twice during 2nd tri and then stop liao. i even avoid taking chinese herbs throughout.

heard bb must wear some hand-me-downs so that they'll be guai guai...dunno true or not...but i still cannot resist lah, bought some new stuff for bb. i also heard dun let bb wear hospital-given clothing home? i guess it's just pantang talk

blue rabbit, missmoon,
ya i heard of that too. wow blue rabbit, your MIL so nice to u. my MIL ah...nvr irritates me, I already 'or mi tuo fuo'. my 1st pregnancy, she gave me nothing!

actually, i have been eating alot of bird's nest and tonic this round as compared to last time. missmoon, u sure cannot eat too much har? I alternate the different type every week.

Curious, I also had pain on the lower abdomen and right side too! strange. Dr also said due to ligament. And one of the weeks, the skin around my c-section wound and the right side of the c-section wound hurts so much like it's going to tear. Was so afraid but Dr check and said nothing wrong. After I started apply the Clarins oil, the tearing pain went away. Seems like Clarins is quite good. Before that, I was using a stretch mark oil from Mum Essential (shop besides TPS) but it didn't help in easing the pain.

Talking about excitment in getting stuff for new baby. I told myself I wouldn't need to buy any clothes for the boys as they hv lots of hand-me-downs from gor gor. But I have already bought 3-4 sets for each of the twins...I guess there is still excitment in every prenancy. And yes, I also bought new maternity clothes this round as well...Guess it's just excuses to shop....hehe...

tch
ya, when ppl ask how often i eat, i told them like twice in 2nd tri...they say ok...cos too much will be an overdose, no good? i'm not sure if there's any scientific proof though. wah, i'm sure ur bb boys will come out wif very good complexion

when i had that dull ache on the lower abdomen, usually on the right side, doc neh tell me ligament ley...it was through the detailed scan later @ wk 20 that they discovered i got low placenta and then gynae said that's prob why i felt the ache on the right side.

i also felt pulling sensation around the belly button, as if it's going to pop out...but it got better after keeping the entire tummy area well moisturised. i'm also using the clarins one, so it's really good

curious, I am definitely MUCH bigger!! My naval didn't even pop out last round but now it does...so you see the difference.

hmmm..i better ask Dr whether I have low placenta this checkup on fri.

Good morning everyone.
Hee... I hvn't start shopping for kid's stuff yet but my SIL did tell me don't buy too many, she has many bb clothes to pass on to me. But I think har, women being women, cannot resist shopping and buying one

Hmm... seems like many have aching at lower tummy? Is it normal? I tot pain is no good?

missmoon, tch,
How soon in ur 2nd tri that u realised ur appetite is coming back? I still don't hv much appetite leh, although I'm going into my 4th month soon. My hb worried that bb will not grow if I don't eat, but I really can't eat too much leh.

morning everyone!

tch, ur first pregnancy was ok...so unlikely to have that lah. in any case, i was told it's quite common to have that but it will move upwards as bb grow bigger. in my case, it didn't move that much at all. sigh.

blue rabbit, haha, sure cannot resist lah...i inherited quite a bit but i still bought some more. from reading books and the websites, it seems that it's quite common to have these aches so long as they're not causing great discomfort? aches due to stretching of the tummy, uternus etc.

it was gradual for me but i think it was ard the 5th month or so...it was my hb who told me i was starting to eat like i neh eat before. haha. dun worry, so long as ur meals are healthy, bb will surely be able to absorb the nutrients

blue rabbit, my appetite came back right after 1st Tri maybe about 13 weeks or so. But then I didn't really eat much more than pre-preggy cos I think there is not much space for my stomach.

Anyway, don't worry that the bbs will not grow. They will absorb whatever nutrients from the mum so it's the mum that will be lacking if you don't eat well. Not the bbs. I am fine with that.

Hi Ladies, just found this forum. I'm have 2 frozen embyros transfer in March. Praise the Lord! It is a success. I'm now 10 weeks due in 22 Dec. Did mine at KKH under Shelia Loh. However now gone back to my own gynae at Mt E.

I'm so happy & relief!! Went for oscar test at TMC yesterday. Everything turned out well. Gynae called me yesterday afternoon to inform me the good news. My bb has passed the test. I'm so happy!!!

missmoon,
thanks a lot! you & the ladies here hv been encouraging me all these while. i'm really thankful!
i can sleep very well last nite.

curious
you're most welcome
with this behind, you can now concentrate on eating and sleeping well

hi diveeera
welcome to this thread
it will always be a blessing that we don't take for granted, isn't it? so do you know if it's twins or singleton?

missmoon,
ya lor...can can concentrate on eating, hee hee!! now can eat slightly more already, but still dare not eat oily food. even fried rice also cannot cos I think it's rather oily.

Thanks missmoon, mine is a singleton. Did 3 scans todate, all shows baby is okie and growing well.

When r u due?

curious
hehe, ya, avoid oily food...these days, more conscious of health also hor

diveera
that's good to know
so long as bb healthy and growing well, less worry
i'm due early july - 6 more weeks to go!

missmoon,
yes, i'll bear that in mind...thank u!! btw, u engaged confinement lady to help?

4 yrs ago when i had my 1st child, my mum did for me. i moved to my parent's place to stay then. but she seemed very exhausted, cos she cooked for me & family, looked after bb & also did housework. no maid at all.

this time round, with my 4 yr old child, I believe my mum will be even more stressed. i thot of catering confinement food. then at least my mum doesn't hv to worry for me this time. but not sure if those caterer really uses good ingredients for confinement food? aiyoh.....maybe I hv to look ard in my 2nd tri.

curious,
glad to know that ur bb is ok. Now u can rest assured.

I saw from TV that nowadays the confinement food is quite good, they can customise for u one... like less ginger or less wine.

Something strange happened to me last evening. My right arm out of no reason started to hurt and during the night the pain intensified and spread across my shoulders and onto my left arm. The pain is so unbearble that I hv no choice but to take 2 paracetomol so that I can sleep. I went to see the GP and even he's puzzled too.

missmoon,
how do u feel now that ur bb is due very soon? Full of anticipation and excitment? Are you scare of labour?

curious,
can tell me a bit abt ur first labour? How did u know that u r suppose to go hospital alr?

blue rabbit,
thanks...juz now I surfed the net & checked out some caterers. wow...not cheap. only cater for confinement food for 1 mth, daily, price ant $1.3K.

gotta discuss with my husband & mum. cos i don't want my mum to be too tired. if she doesn't need to cook for me, really can cut down her marketing time & cooking time. she can juz cook simple dishes for my father & child.

maybe u email to Dr Loh & ask him? last wk I slept halfway in the middle of the nite, my right arm also pain. no strength to lift up at all. once i lifted my right arm, it wld juz dropped down. i also worried. but I continued to sleep. then next day woke up ok already. my hubby said maybe sometimes sleeping posture no good or the right arm maybe was pressed under the pillow or something...that's why pain.

curious,
I find that my body is not as strong as pre-pregnancy, like can easily get sick and here pain there pain.

hi hi curious
my mom doing my confinement for me but i recently employed an indo maid to help her out wif housework so she can care for me and bb (dun wan maid to touch bb lah :p),...i heard these days can cater confinement food, no? or perhaps u can consider part time help while ur mom concentrate on u?

blul rabbit, i think i experienced wat u had. it was a strange sensation and i felt it more like it was going to become a cramp, sort of like leg cramps that we get later in the trimesters? i think maybe better highlight this to ur gynae and see if he can figure out wat is wrong?

heh, blue rabbit, much as i am apprehensive, and even scared of labour pain, sad to say i won't be able to experience it, cos i will be going for c-sect on the advice of doc, cos of my placenta praevia condition. but definitely excited...have started to count down liao.

missmoon,
Oh...C-section very fast will be over... abt 15 mins. But recovery will take longer time lor. As long bb is healthy, I believe u will feel that it's worthwhile. R u going to BF?

blue rabbit,
maybe slowly your body will build up the strength again.
so not to worry, as long as u hv a balance meal.

missmoon,
oh i see.... as for BF, I'm also blur blur. Still need to ask ard those expert ladies. my 1st one didn't manage to feed. i think only fed her 1-2 days, cos terrible engorgement fr day 2, even though latch on. the pain was really unforgetable & it made me difficult in breathing & went KK A & E at nite. nurse helped to express left side, it softened & she expressed the right side. but the left side hardened at once!! even nurse also bo bian.

i'm very scared this time. so thot of engaging & mtg up with the lactation consultant b4 giving birth. to better understand the entire BF process.

blue rabbit, curious
yes, definitely wanna BF... free milk mah. hehe. but most likely express out then feed? heard horror stories abt cracked nipples, soreness and engorgement.

ya, i heard c-sect very fast over but more painful than natural birth and u're right...takes longer to recover from it. i was told postnatal massage can only take place after 2 weeks!

har...sounds scary ley! i've heard that applying cabbage on the engorgement will help, dunno if it's true?

time really does fly...we all pass each milestone and now we've reached this stage.

missmoon,
pls dun be too worried after reading my experience. i think mine was more extremem case. cabbage will help but my case quite jia lat already so cabbage also no help.

own opinion - i also prefer is possible, express n then feed. cos others can help u feed & u not so tired. bottle feed the bb also can hv bonding with him.

curious, dun worry, not affected by your experience. in fact, i must thank u for sharing your experiences cos then i know wat to expect. agree wif u, bottle feed also can bond wif bb

my job is getting more and more stressful. I really don't know shall I continue with it. Everyone in my workplace keeps telling me to stay happy, but how to when my boss keep adding on more stress on me! But if I quit, I really worried that we can't afford to pay the house mortgage, car and all the bb stuff. I hv been taking more sick leave in these 2 months than I had ever taken in a year.