IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, Vi, ya, I think Alvis doesn't enjoy the frozen taste...I jus threw away my June frozen EBM...even when I latch on, he's also restless. He's the impatient and lazy one who doesn't want to work too hard for his milk..In the end, we are always "fighting" to get him latch on to drink more which always upset him, and then he will cry n cry....so dh and I had a discussion and decided not to be so insistent on breastfeeding though we appreciate the benefits of BM.

Singapoh, the 24 hrs is for thawed from frozen bm. If fresh ebm straight to fridge then 5-8days. I'm keeping up to 3 days normally. I jus finished all my frozen ebm.

Stb, ya lo if u have enough nursing top already n plan to stop why buy again ;)
in fact at home I dont bother to wear nursing top jus take it off.

Alvis is jus like Leanne too. I have to fight with her to latch on ha ha.. But she is getting better compare to first few weeks

The nursing bra seems to be a gd buy. I'm quite tempted to get a few now but not sure whether my size will continue to get bigger as my tummy is growing quite fast now.

Bbhp,
I'm 23 weeks now. I thought it's about time to get the maid now so that i can train her. I'm getting more and more clumsy now with the big tummy. Just in case we find her not suitable, there's still time for replacement. Afterall, taking care of 2 babies at a time is really not easy.

Zaza,
Sulaiman also passed my case to Liz to handle. However, I find them not very responsible and their attitude is 'bochap' kind. I arranged with sulaiman to go to his office for teleinterview with a few shortlisted candidates. The day before, I tried calling their Indonesian no. myself but couldn't get them, so I thought it'll be better to get sulaiman to arrange for interview with them and I just go to their office to interview them.
When I reached the office at the appointment time, sulaiman wasn't there though he told me he would be there. He passed the case to Liz but Liz went Bugis Junction instead. I had to wait for half an hr for Liz to come back. We couldn't reach any of the shortlisted candidates. It was obvious that they didn't arrange for the interview for me as promised. Liz told me that she'll try to contact them in the next few days but there's no reply from her so far.

Vi4n,
Your girl looks very adorable ;) and she really has alot of pretty clothes! Did you buy the clothes for her or they were gifts?
I can finally understand why u need so many cushions and bolsters during your sleep for the last few months now. I'm finding it very difficult to sleep with the tummy. Tried to sleep on my left side but it's not very comfortable with the tummy and I'll automatically switch to sleeping on my back again. I think I'm used to sleeping on my back and it's a more comfortable position though it's not very gd for blood circulation.

Bing, u wan Myanmar maid? My dh's boss highly recommended an agency which specialise in Myanmar maids...I'm waiting for mine to come on 28th after I've sent my filipino one back..

You can try Dot.One Consultants @ #B1-17 BT Timah Shopping Centre. The agency fee is a bit exp, ard $1k.....

Singapoh, Vi is right lar, a bit waste of money to buy more nursing tops since I plan to stop bf...furthermore I bot quite a few during my confinement period...but I jus itchy hand like to buy buy buy....hehehee

How does the pouch look like?

Vi, Alvis can latch on very well but lazy to do the hard work, which is y i have to "fight" to force him to continue to latch on....making it v tiring for both of us....

Morning all,

I had a bad stomach flu yest, had diaharrea for 8 times in the morning and only managed to see GP in the afternoon. Taken medication and today feeling much much better. Was worried if the bad diaharrea will affect my baby, as doc said it could either be food poisoning or stomach flu...

Anyone had bad diaharrea during their 1st tri?

Stb,

Normal top may cost more lei. Since now got sales $15 per top and dress, why not?

U can go to their website to view the pouch. It works like a sling but u dun have to adjust like the ring on the sling. U need to measure from yr shoulder to bum for a good fitting. Correct me if I am wrong ladies.

Wa.. so many days never come in liao and so many post too..

Gan: Congrats on your baby girl..

Panda: Congrats on seeing your little prince.. Maybe u might be right, the 2 shy ones might be girls..

I see all of u starting to get excited abt buying things liao..

PinkD: Wa.. Already thinking of names liao arh.. I like the name Kaylene too..Very girl..

Rose: Aiyo.. Better drink more warm water to flush the dirty stuff out k.. Think as long as u seen the doc and given med should be ok. But take soft food for now. But drink load of water...

I'm thinking of getting a new breast pump.. U girls gt any recommendations? Which one better? Medela or avent?

grumpus: I'm looking at electric one. Best if its quiet. My last medela one is damn noisy. But a bit faulty le.. I gt a avent manual pump but cos for my #1, I was too stresed up taking care of my girl that I cant produce enug milk to use the manual pump. Cant even pump out properly..

Tickles,
which medela one were u using? i used the medela swing which is very quiet but only single pump. the latest freestyle one is a double pump, and very quiet but damn ex. i used the medela manual pump for the 1st 2 mths. i find manual pump very good for building up supply. but must be very hardworking and consistently pump every 3 hrs.

tickles...the avent dual electruc one ...i find the price v steep...855 at retail...even w staff discount its 500+

my fren recommend me to buy ameda..she says quiet n light..esp if wanna use it at work.....price oso reasonable

Bing, I can say 90% of her clothings are bought by my elder sil. I only bought her home wear. ;)
she has even more clothings now after 1st month celebration n my trip to bb fox yesterday. Now we are on our way to united square to check out cotton on baby ;)

use pillow to support your back when sleeping side way then use thin pillow under your tummy. Use another pillow in between your legs. See if it help ;)
now u can still sleep facing up but later on u won't feel comfy already. U will feel the weight of tummy pressing you. Especially u are having twin.

Stb, Leanne latch ok too but will suckle suckle then shout. Then suckle again. She can hold to my breast n latch on her own now. So funny..

Ju, singapoh, I searched a lot of www, fresh ebm 3-8 says le depending on which www lo. Anyway the longest it will stay in fridge is 3 days n I always check before I give her. N my fridge very cold one if I put at the back can even turn iced.

grumpus: Actually I dunno which model of medela I'm using. Cos it was passed on to me by my fren whose son is already 6 years old le. So u can imagine how old my pump is. Its a single pump but very noisy. Got the grass cutting sound. So I'm thinking of getting a quiet one so I can pump in my room even in the middle of the night.

I dunno leh. When I use my avent manual pump, nothing much seems to come out. Whereas electric pump, I find the suction better.. This time round, I wanna give bf another try again. Hopefully I can do better than my last round where supply was quite terrible.

Think I just need a single pump, save more money ans cheaper too. Only thing is when I pump one side, the other side starts dripping too.

Panda: My fren recommend me to get from online spree leh. She gt hers ard $400, think is medela swing. She told me its comsidered cheap. I know dual one are retailing at $700plus $800.. Very ex.. I dun wanna invest so much in dual pumps cos my #1 pregnancy. My milk supply was quite bad.

My fren also use avent electric pump, single one.. Seems quite good lor. I rem its very quiet cos she pump at my place b4.. Plus she also bring out to pump too.

Vi4n: My fren told me that can get from this lady call Tan Leng Leng at the overseas spree there. But I have yet to take a look. Maybe u can go find her thread? But I think she only sell medela pumps.

tickles,
yup medela swing is the one i used. really not too bad. if u worried abt the other side leaking while pumping on one side, u can get breast shells to catch the drips then not a single drop is wasted

ameda is not bad too and much cheaper, but i find that it is not as heavy duty. my friend bought ameda and she was pumping very consistently every 2-3 hrs. within the first yr, the pump broke down abt 3 times liao. i saw the pump too and must say that the parts seem more flimsy compared to medela.

avent is good if u plan to use avent bottles cos avent bottles are wide neck so u can only use avent bottles to pump into.

for medela and ameda they are standard size bottle neck so what i did last time was invest in those cheap tollyjoy or no brand milk bottles and use them as storage bottles for all my ebm. the bottle can screw directly onto the pump, then when done just close and store. dun need to transfer here and there.

PinkD,
Wahaha..

grumpus: I just saw from the online seller that my fren recommend.

-Medela FREESTYLE BREASTPUMP -- Ard $475.04
-Pump In Style Advanced Breastpump – Backpack - SG$384.83
-Item number 57027 Pump In Style Advanced Breastpump – shoulder bag -- $399.60

The freestyle seems cheaper than retail which is selling at $700plus $800 right?

Erm.. quite tempted..

Actually I have quite a bit of the avent bm storage bottles, I always transfer the milk after I pump, cos that time I bought avent bottles, but my fren passed on her medela breast pump to me.

This time round, I dunno if I should continue using avent bottles. But my steriliser is def avent one..

I'm helping a friend for those interested in purchasing AVENT pump:

Quote: I can get Avent Duo (BPA free) at $480, US set with delivery & local adaptor. Less $20 for self-collection at Jurong West & 5% off for minimum 4 sets.

Please PM me if you are interested

Ju, I think Leanne is ok with it because I started also like that midway then start freezing now back to fridge again lo ;)

tickles, thanks will search her thread later

Vi4n,
I just got my medela PISA from this BP in the forum for $385. I got the contact from my friend who bought 2 medela pumps from this seller before. U can refer to the link below

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3696298.html

Your girl is very fortunate to have so many pretty clothes ;)
I guess all of u must dote on her alot.

Stb,
I don't mind getting a Myanmar maid. In fact one agency I spoke to yesterday told me to consider getting myanmar maid to look after 2 babies as they are generally more hardworking and can take hardship. Thanks for the contact. I'll try calling but 1k for agency fee is quite steep. So far other agencies are charging between 300-700 with insurance included.

tickles,
yes it's very tempting isn't it! the freestyle is retailing here abt $700-$800
but those u buy from BP is US set so u'll need an adapter.

errr, really up to u lor, but doesn't matter wat pump/bottles u use even though u hv an avent steriliser. the sterilisers are quite universal one.

grumpus:
Yalor.. very tempting leh... I gt adapter so should be ok.. Just that the set doesnt comes with local warranty. If anything spoilt, its either i ask seller help me send it back to repair/ I pay at the local service centre to repair. But its really cheap hor.. But strangely this seller dun carry medela swing.. Dunno how much also.

Bing,
Thanks! I saw le.. Erm.. still contemplating.. Dunno to get which one.. One is single and one is dual.. Maybe I discuss with hubby and see what he says.. Thou I feel single is good enug. But dual seems to save time and since can get it cheap, why not..

tickles,
last time i used single pump all the way and i really regret not investing in a double pump. just think about it, pumping time cut by half leh.
that extra 15 mins in the morning can do a lot of things :p
then when u start dropping pumps, it takes longer to drain the breasts so can save up to half hr!

i asked hubby this time should i invest in a double pump he say why not? time is money.
also cos can get cheaper lah. :p

Sunflower, i tried giving fresh EBM to Alvis, it's almost the same reaction...so it really pains both of us to see him struggling so much with the BM......I'm not stopping completely right now, jus going to slowly slowly do it along with the drop in my supply...

Vi, I also read that EBM if kept in fridge should be consumed within 48 hrs....

Bing, ya, 1K is steep but then the agency is highly recommended. I understand that if you wan those more trustworthy agency, usually they will charge more for the agency fee

Bbhp, my ungrateful maid went out of the house without telling anyone of us after being scolded by me for showing me black face...she has completely forgotten abt how nice we were to her and accused me of not letting her rest and showing black face. I was totally pissed off and asked her why dun she sleep in the master bedroom and I sleep in hers instead. I think she didn't expect that I was so pissed and insisted of sending her back to the agency. When she was at the agency, the agent was very fierce with her till I blur...I told the agent that we have never scolded her like that.....anyway, I'm so glad that she's gone...now waiting for a new one..DH and I said cannot be too nice to the new one outfront now....we will be a bit more harsh and slowly adjust according to her performance...sigh..it's complete madness at home now without someone helping to keep the house clean......

Bing, for Myanmar maid, 1 main concern I had was their expectation here as a domestic helper as my fren has shared her experience. I asked the agency abt it and they have assured me of their selections...so me keeping my fingers crossed!

Stb, just wondering if myanmar domestic helper will hv cleanliness issue? I think someone told me so but can't remember who though...

About the ebm storage, isn't it the fridge degree that's matter? My fridge is around 5 degree celcius. Super cold kind

wah stb, hopefully the new maid won't give u problem.
Now jus engage part timer first lo.

grumpus,
I dunno leh. Now not sure cos when I had my #1, my supply wasnt really good. imagine. I also didnt total bf leh. The supply was terrible but I still alt between bm and fm.. I finally gave up at the 4th month and I dun even need any medication to stop the supply. Neither did I experience engorgement. Thats why I'm a bit scared that if I invest in one, then no milk how?? Thou its cheaper but also still need $400plus leh..

tickles, i hv the same concern... dunno if will hv good supply of bf leh... so still tinking if shld get the avent dual or just get the ameda one... i hv 2 frens using ameda, n both gave good feedback...and if wait for those departmental store sales, probably can get it for less than $300....

Panda: I dunno le. Am now quite keen to get medela ones. seems like a lot of good reviews on it. What grumpus said is right, dual can save time also. Just that dunno gt supply or not. Hopefully with a CL this time, she can help me build up my supply.. Am thinking of getting from overseas spree cos cheaper too..

Departmental store sales can save so much meh?

tickles, yup...wait for their sales.. over national wkend shld hv. both my frens paid less than $300 for the ameda dual. check out either taka or robinsons.

thought of getting avent oso coz my sil already given me a box of avent storage bottles and also the milk bottles.. so easier ... of coz concern is the price... i need to tink about it somemore..hehe....

my only concern about getting overseas is the exchange process if the pump breaks down.... it could b quite inconvenient... rather get smthing with local warranty...

Panda: Ic.. Erm.. I never had friends who used ameda b4 leh. Mostly use medela and 1 using avent. Ameda seems quite cheap if gt the sale hor.. Anyway, no rush.. Still can look ard..

I feel, wont be so suay, breakdown so easily.. Choy Choy Choy.. Keke..

Oh, I have been feeling strong movements since this morn.. Baby very active today..