IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Missmoon,
Thanks for the encouragement. Going through the IVF is tough enough. After getting pregnant, still got to suffer so much and worry about so many things...

Winter,
My stomach also seems to be keep stretching. When I am lying on my back, very uncomfortable, like the skin at my tummy is very very tight. Anyway, I have not been walking much and have been staying at home. Feel very breathless if do too much. You are lucky with no MS...I heard it depends on individuals....I am so sick with MS that I feel sooooo miserable!

Verona, no prob. we're here to support and share
wat u say is really true. one worry after another. it's a long and tough journey, but u know what? it's going to be worth it when u finally reach that end of the journey and start a new one
see the fruits of your hardwork and endurance - healthy babies

i know it's easier said than done but MS will eventually pass, stay positive

winter1, no MS is ok, i think. everyone will go thru different symptoms. i had very mild MS myself...try not to think too much abt the tests...hope you're feeling better from the flu bug already

Missmoon,
Thanks...I'm also very grateful for not having serious MS..and I also very 'pei fu" all of you who had bad MS...all of you very "wei da".
Ya will try not to think too much of the test..like what Verona said, there are so much things for us to worry..but we should be glad for having come to this stage no matter what..

Hi teddybaby

Sorry..not that i have forgotten about u, just that i cant remember whether this is your first attempt..

Hi verona
welcome to the thread and congrats on getting twins! Can i ask what was your bhcg level and what day u tested?

Winter1,
Pls don't worry, my 1st pregnancy no MS at all. But now I hv MS. So it is very normal.
Btw, I juz bought seaband & started wearing last nite. So far last nite never vomit. Keep my fingers crossed. Hope the seaband works for me.

hi mandy

hahaha! me being very sensitve ... after effects of the hormone jabs! =)

all MTBs

take care ... will sign off from this thread as I don't belong here yet ... hopefully soon eh?
Please pray for me.

Wish you all a smooth pregnancy and delivery!

Mandy, I am expecting triplets and my bhcg was about 3000 on D17.
Curious, where did you buy the seaband? I am desperate for anything to keep my MS away.

Does anyone feel that the heartbeat very fast? I have been suffering from breathlessness and very fast heartbeat since I got pregnant. I asked the doc and he said it is normal but I feel so uncomfortable.

I know I should feel thankful to have come so far...and when I see my babies on the ultrasound, I feel so amazed and for a moment, everything is worth it. But when I come back home, feel terrible again because of the MS!

Verona,
I bought it at Guardian Pharmacy at Raffles Place MRT. I checked with my gynae abt wearing seaband. He said it is good. But may work on some pple & not others. I juz want to try anything to keep MS away too...so I bought it & try. Really hope it works.

Btw, my heartbeat very fast sometimes too. I could be juz standing there & doing nothing & the heartbeat so fast & slightly breathless. I emailed my gynae & he said it's normal. If breathlessness really very bad, then must go A & E. Otherwise it's normal. He said cos during pregnancy, our heart will work extra hard to pump more blood. More blood circulation inside, thus we hv such feelings. But not everyone will experience that.

Verona
i experience fast heartbeat since late first tri, now that i'm in my 3rd tri, it's getting more pronounced. it's normal to feel heart beating fast but if it gets too uncomfy, then you shld tell ur gynae again? ur body is producing a larger volume of blood cos of bbs, esp since u're carrying multiples
so do try to stay positive and happy it'll also affect ur babies positively

Verona, wow, your bhcg is really high! sorry i bit blur, thought u are having twins.

I'm been feeling very feverish for the past week..body feel very warm and uncomfortable and also feel very tired... i'm usually fine in the day but it gets rather bad at night. can anyone advise if this is normal?

A journalist from Straits Times Lifestyle section have e-mailed us and would like to write a story for Mother's Day this Sunday about Moms and the different sacrifices they make for their children. One of the possibilities is to feature a Mom who went through IVF to conceive. Hence, if anyone who would like to share their experiences, please e-mail me your contacts at [email protected] and I'll forward it to the journalist.

I think this is a good way of sharing with others who have not joined our forum. Thank you.

Chin Leng.

mandy,
Hvg fever is not normal, it means ur body is fighting some virus, so better to see a Doc abt it.

Verona,
So you are the one that the nurse told me that there's another person with over 3000bhg..hahah have found you finally..Mine also over 3000..that's why nurse quite shocked over our high numbers.

Does someone knows how to do convert the data into a chart to list all the MTBs? It will be easier to track who is expecting when, what and which Dr. Maybe can include the embryos transferred and the bhg as well since these are the commonly asked questions.

Let me start first :
Nick : tch
EDD : 7 Sep 2006
No. of babies : Twin Boys
Doctor : Dr SF Loh at KKH
BHg on day17 : 1488
No. of embroys transferred :2

tch, good idea! unfortunately, i dunno how to convert data to chart or table here.
====
====
Nick: missmoon
EDD: 19 Jul 06 (going c-sect @ 38wks, ard 5 Jul)
No. of babies: 1 (gender: boy)
Doctor: Prof Christopher Chen @ Gleneagles
BHg on day17: (errr, gotta dig out info...cannot rem liao)
No. of embryos transferred: 3
====

I'm juz back fr my checkup. Saw my bb juz now at 10 wks plus. But ladies I'm so worried.

Dr Loh measured my bb's neck thickess & said it's a borderline case, it could be thick due to the membrane on the back of the neck now. But he said juz to play safe, told me to go for the Premier Fetal Screening - scan + blood test 2 wks later.

I'm very very worried, cos I'm 31 yrs old...but why like that?

curious
pls try not to worry at this stage. it's not indicative of anything, neither is it conclusive. i have heard on many many occasions that the results come back negative.

i was told that you can do a detailed scan at ard 13 or 14 wks that's called something like OSCAR and do a triple blood test to see the low-risk/high-risk factor.

Missmoon,
Thanks....I think the OSCAR test is the same as KKH's Premier Fetal Screening. KKH named it differently.

I'll definitely go for the test in 2 wks time. But right now, dunno if I shld see another pte gynae for 2nd opinion....

curious, if seeking 2nd opinion will give you a peace of mind, then go ahead. wat matters most is ur state of mind cos your moods and vibes will affect bb.

curious, i think otherwise..why not just wait till 2 weeks later? What IF (a big IF) the other DR also say it's a bit thick too? Then you will be worrying even more. Anyway, such measurement is not conclusive as it is a rough guage. Take your mind off it and wait till the fetal screening. Fetal screening will be more accurate. I wouldn't worry about it now.

Winter1, did we do ER and ET around the same time? How many weeks are you into now?

Curious, I did the fetal screening just few days ago. The doc did a measurement of thickness of the skin of the neck and try to see if the nasal bone is present. He also measures the length of your baby. Then he calculates the risk of having DS based on your age and the measurements. It is not an absolute result but just tell you the risk.
I was also very worried before the test. I think you should just wait for the test. Thought can do the test at 11 to 14 weeks. Can you arrange for an earlier appointment? then you don't have to wait so long. DOn't worry so much. It is not a confirmative test.

tch, I also don't know how to convert to the table format...but below are my information...
====
====
====
Nick : verona
EDD : sometime in November but most probably will be earlier
No. of babies : triplets (sex unknown yet)
BHg on day17 : about 3000
No. of embroys transferred :3

====
====
====
Nick : verona
EDD : sometime in November but most probably will be earlier
No. of babies : triplets (sex unknown yet)
BHg on day17 : about 3000
===
Nick : blue_rabbit
EDD : 16-11-06 but hoping to be 11 Nov so that bb's BD is same as our wedding anniversay

No. of babies : 1 (hope that it's a boy)
BHg on day17 : 478.3

hi mtbs,
just popped in to say hi!

Curious,
sorry that you are feeling confused dear, like the other sisters say, dont worry for anything now, I m sure everything is fine.

all mtbs,
great idea to start a list of mtb's details. Very very useful for us too. wld hav been wonderful if u had included the grade of embies transfered (hee hee..just a suggestion).

TAKE CARE ALL

Hi blue_rabbit

I have asked dr Loh about being feverish and he said it is mild fever.. has asked me to drink more water and take vit c.

Hi babymaking
Thanks for sharing. Pls dun give up and one day u'll definitely succeed!

Dear ladies,

I am just contemplating about IVF, I had an EP last dec last my left tube so guess IVF is the only way for me to conceive again.

I need some advice, is Doc Loh really good? HOw much are his charges for consultation as well as IVF? Do I need a referal letter from the polyclinics or I can go straight to make an appointment to see him? We can only deliver @ KKWH right? How long before the cycle do we have to do the tests for? Then how long do we have to jab ourselves?

Any advice that you gals can give me? What is the usualy waiting period like?

Verona,
Thanks...I can't bring forward my fetal screening appt as Dr Loh has not fixed an appt for me. Furthermore I'm abt 10 wks plus now. He said will get his nurse to call me, I hope they'll call today.

Missmoon, Tch, Blue Rabbit, Verona,
Thanks for the advice & assurance. Last Thur afternoon, I went to see Dr Beh ST @ TMC for 2nd opinion. After scanning, he said my bb's neck doesn't look thick at all. I'm more relieved & didn't think too much now. However, I'll still proceed with the fetal screening 2 wks later.

Btw, I was seeing Dr Loh at Clinic D last wk. There was a scanning machine in his room but that machine is unable to print pics of the scan. I notice the monitor screen that shows the bb's image is not very sharp. Cos after I saw Dr Beh @ TMC & compare their machines, the TMC one is much sharper.

<center>
421741.gif
421743.gif
<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">IVF &amp; IUI MTBs</font></font>
421742.gif
421744.gif
</center>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ff6000">NICK</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">No. of Babies</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Doctor</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Day 17 bHCG</font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Embroys Transfered</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD>19/07/06</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Prof Chen</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD></TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tch</TD><TD>07/09/06</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Twin Boys</font></TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1488</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>verona</TD><TD>Nov-06</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3000</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>blue rabbit</TD><TD>16/11/06</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>478.3</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>curious</TD><TD>10/12/06</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>226.8</TD><TD>SO-IUI</td></tr></table>

I've managed to create a table for all of us!! Pls let me know if there's a need for improvement. All suggestions are welcomed! Thanks!!

Last nite I ate some char kway teow, then 2 hrs later, vomitted in my hubby's car! Luckily I had plastic bags to standby. I know I shldn't eat oily food now especially when I still a merlion. But I crave for char kway teow leh...

Morning ladies.
I'm officialy into my 2nd trimester now, happy to say that my bb is doing great, everything is progressing normally. Doc Loh has scheduled a Triple Test for me at wk 16 and a detailed scan at wk 20 too... but dunno why my appetite still no good and still feeling nausea... OMG, hope that it'll go away soon.

morning!
curious, you managed to do into a table form
thanks very much! and i'm very glad to know that bb's all ok

actually, the US m/c at my doc's clinic also not very sharp...i had to do my detailed scan at the x-ray dept...so not to worry...my doc always tell me that it takes too long to check size and weight of bb...but he monitors the growth pattern and so long as it's consistent, then he's happy liao.

Missmoon,
U're welcomed!

Thank yoU!

Blue rabbit,
Did u do any test on your wk 12? That wk 12 test cost abt $300+...so expensive.

curious,
No I didn't do any test on wk 12. I'm doing the TT only which cost $80+ on wk 16.
How did u manage to put up a table here???

blue rabbit,
i juz type "\table". N then copy the excel table to this thread.

I'm a bit angry with KKH leh...till now nobody calls me to fix the fetal screening date. Last Thur, cashier said unable to fix cos all fully booked. Told me the nurse will call me. But I called the nurse juz now, she is unaware of my case at all &amp; didn't fix the date for me. Instead, she told me the cashier shld fix it.

Alamak, I hate it when pple treat me like a 'ping-pong ball'.... Now I don't know who will fix for me.

blue rabbit,
Oh is it? Clinic D is like that one hah? I already emailed Dr Loh last Thur. He told me that he'll sort it out by last Sat. That's why today I called. But seems that nobody knows abt it &amp; nobody fix appt for me. I emailed again to Dr Loh juz now.

My hubby said if their system really that bad, then gotta change hospital liao.

Curious, glad that you are feeling more relieved now. I understand the anxiety you were feeling previously. Compared to the private hospitals, the service at KKH is not that great.

Blue_rabbit, I am also counting the days towards 2nd trimester so that I will feel better. MS still as bad as ever, will vomit after every meal...

Curious, I also don't really like the service at KKH. I actually switched to a private gynae after I found out that I am pregnant. However, because I am expecting triplets and there is a high chance of early delivery, I decided to come back to KKH due to the high cost. When I compare the service between KKH and other private hospitals, can really see the difference.

Verona,
Your EDD is in Nov, u shld be in 2nd trimester now right?

I agree that the service at KKH is not as good as pte hospitals. I gave birth 4 yrs ago at a pte hospital &amp; I can tell the difference too.

We thot since we did the SO-IUI at KKH, might as well continue the antenatal checkups at KKH lor. And also I rec'd lots of good feedbacks abt Dr Loh. So I remained at KKH.

I wonder if The Private Suite provides better service than Clinic D? I didn't switch to TPS cos Dr Loh only on duty on Wed evening &amp; Sat &amp; I'm not available on those timings.

Now I'm worried if still nobody fix appt for me, then 2 wks later, when I'm due for fetal screening then how? I don't like to keep calling the nurse &amp; ask for appt. Getting the particular nurse to the phone is difficult too. N I don't understand their system. Fixing an appt so difficult meh? From Thur till Mon, still unable to fix?

Curious, thanks for the nicely done up chart.

Definitely TPS service is better. The nurse actually booked my FTS in my very early prenancy. Frankly, I would have switched to pte hospital if I am not expecting twins. Think you better write to Dr Loh and tell him that you are due for FTS very soon cos there is only a very short timeframe for FTS. What about asking for Dr Loh's nurse, Rachel? She seems quite nice.

Angelsky, Dr Loh's consultation is $80 on first visit and I think about $60 on subsequent ones. However, if you are going for IVF, it will all be in the package. During the process, you don't get to see him much but he will do the ER and ER. All in all I paid about $6k+ for the whole process.

tch,
don't mention

thanks...I've emailed 2nd time to Dr Loh. shall see what he replies. if the nurse still unable to fix appt for me, my hubby told me to change hospital already. Dr Loh's nurse at Clinic D is not Rachel leh...the cashier told me is nurse Sandra. Aiyoh...I hv a feeling that the nurses are 'pushing' their responsibility leh.

I've heard pple commenting abt KKH, now I ownself experience it liao...I know already.

Btw, has anyone seen or heard Dr Beh Suan Tiong b4? I went to him for 2nd opinion last wk. Juz want to know more abt him &amp; his delivery skills....don't know how &amp; who to ask leh...thanks.

curious,
TPS has a better service. They alr informed me about my TT and detailed scan at wk 16 and wk 20 on my last visit, so I know what to expect for my subsequent visits lor.

verona,
Although I'm into my 2nd tri, but I don't find my MS getting better leh, this morning I even vomitted and hvg frequent headaches too.

blue rabbit,
thanks...the nurse called me last evening at last! she gave me a date to do the fetal screening. I don't think I wan2 switch to TPS cos hv to pay more. I was thinking if really wan2 switch to TPS, I wld rather go to pte hospital.
I think KKH will ask us to sign antenatal package at 20 wks. I'll decide by then if I wan2 switch gynae or not. Now since they called me already, I'll juz stay put...hee hee!!

Btw, do u hv enough sleep? Cos not enough sleep will cause headaches too. Morning u vomitted? U haven't eaten anything &amp; juz vomitted? Maybe b4 u wake up, eat a piece of biscuit 1st, then slowly get up.

Missmoon,

So you did your IVF treatment at Prof Chen? Were you successful on your 1st attempt?

I am undergoing some fertility treatments with Prof Chen but failed in my IUI attempt....

How was your experience with Prof Chen during your IVF treatment? Do you have bad side effects ?? How do you control your side effects?

If you do not mind sharing with me as Prof Chen recommended me to do IVF but I am very scared and worried and not really in a good state of mind to undergo such rigorous procedure.

Pls help me!! How much did you spend in all?

blue_rabbit, how far into second tri r u? early or mid? i heard from friends that their MS lasted till middle of 2nd tri and only fr late 2nd tri did they start feeling better. for me, although it was mild MS, it didn't go away until middle of 2nd tri. dun worry. did gynae give u anything to help cope wif it?

MK, i did my IVF with Prof Chen and was very lucky to be successful at first attempt, considering my age. i failed about 3-4 times of IUI wif him before he recommended that i proceed to IVF. while prof rarely offers information unless u ask, the nurses helped me through the process a lot. if u dun mind, u can email me @ [email protected] and i will share more with u.

Missmoon,

Really envy you......

How come he recommended me IVF immediately after only going through IUI on 1st attempt? I am going to see him tonight....very scared to see him leh.....he is always so stern looking.....

Okay, will email to you soon.

Thanks for the sharing.....Cheers!

MK,
U shld feel at ease with your gynae leh...not scared. I think u shld find 1 whom you're more comfortable &amp; can feel at ease. If every checkups with him makes u so scared &amp; anxious, do u think it is good? Juz my opinion lah...