IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

twinstars,
jodie also started wif healthy times cereal. wat i did was to rotate all the diff flavours starting frm her 7th mth till 10th mth. then i started her on puree, jar food & other foods. well, i do things slower cos jodie has all the time to eat watever she like whn she grow up. i'm in no hurry to let her try new foods ;p

i also prefer to go slow but then i dun want to be nagged everyday! :p

but ju, does jodie wake up for additional night feed? sigh.. my boy no longer sleep thru the night liao

Singapoh, ju, after I counted n read the bf book, my baby is drinking 80ml now that inclusive of latch on time.

Seems like no choice I have to but nb fm to standby liao. My ebm I wanna keep my ebm in fridge so that when hosp provided fm finish can use that but my mil prefer me to use the fresh ebm.
Sorry ah can't msn yet. My controller on leave for this week. N I also officially become a COW now. Ha ha..
Singapoh, your bm enough for your twin??

Vi,

how to count like that? Duration not equal to volume lei. Some baby suckle really fast and full after 5 to 10 mins.

It depends lei. Sometimes after bf, they dun make noise means full liao especially nite feeding. Maybe too sleepy.

stb,
yes, let's dream dream dream...lol :D Dreams will come true one day.

Bee,
teng teng sleeps thru the night ever since he turns 1 yr old, and also I noticed that ever since I trained him to sleep by himself without patting or carrying, he can sleep better in the night and needed only 1 feeding(he drank fast and continue to sleep fast after it). Previously he kept skipping his afternoon nap, I was so worried, but this caused him to sleep thru the night without any feeding or drinking water at all. And now he resumes to having afternoon naps le, and he still can continue to sleep thru the night le. So no more milk feeding le, no need to change diapers too.
Bbs change their ways of doing things on and off and will not always be permanent, so dont worry too much.

Juju, singapoh, I jus estimate based on average of my pump.
If not how to know how much addition to give her?
I jus latched her left breast 9mins then add fm for 60ml n she satisfied liao.

vi,
keke... essentially, we see hw bb drinks. if bb is fast drinker, sure drink more than wat u pump in the same amt of time. if bb is slow drinker, than sure drink less than wat u pump in dat amt of time.
but so far, hvn't heard of anyone being able to guess-timate hw many ml bb get frm direct latching

ju
so u latch her on whenever she wakes up for milk lor... very easy & convenient hor

bliss
teng is so well-trained
i am not worry abt him not being able to sleep thru the night since he sleeps immediately after his feed. in fact, better for me as i dun hv to worry abt engorgement/pumping in the middle of the night. just wondering how to cope when i stop bfg some months later. the thought tt i hv to wake up and prepare fm is scary ;D he will def fuss when he realises no more human pacifier

vi
like dat also can ah!? you very good leh! just trial and error on how amt lor.... beware hor, if u keep giving fm, your gal may prefer btl and eventually fuss whenever you latch her on

Vi,

most newborn suckles very long in the first weeks. Let her suckle till she is satisfied. Also good to increase yr supply.

If yr bb only suckle briefly, u will need to pump to stimulate yr breast to produce more milk.

bee,
oic.
it is inevitable for ur bb to fuss a bit at the beginning when no more human pacificer available. He will adapt to changes soon.

By then, bb jun will be older and may need only 1 milk feed or even no need any, so dont worry first lah. And also prepare fm once in the night is ok, not v scary or troublesome.

Thanks, Teng is not v well trained yet lah, but as a sahm without any helper, I need to teach my bbs some basic skills to be more independent which is also good for them and me, if not I will be super bz and tired to death.

hi bee and bliss,
i still wake up for one time night feed by bottle as babysitter didn't train her. I will just bear with it for awhile.

lina,
ur gal is home, staying wif u alrdy?

stb,
abt 5mins, if jodie din burp, i stop burping her. 2 positions, 1 is to support their head & burp, the other easy way is to support them on ur body, head over ur shoulder & rub their back to burp. 2nd method is usu easier.
but if the feed is purely thru latching, then i dun burp.

stb,
not after she was abt 2mths old.

singapoh,
i still remember whn i was bb-sitting my youngest sis. everytime she burp, she regurgitate her milk. my clothes were always smelly!

Hi Lina,
how many months is your gal now? I guess it is ok to have 1 night feed. Is it very tiring for you? Or your hb and you can take turn to feed bb that one feed every alternate days.

hi juju,
still being looked after by babysitter full time.

hi bliss,
she is 6mths but i am not tired as only see her during weekends.

lina,
oh, so bb-sitter is the one handling the midnite feeds?
u only visit bb during the day in wkends? or do u bring her hm for the wkend?

hi juju,
i bring home on weekends so i need to handle around 2 night feed per week.

Hi singapoh,
sometimes i can't hear the burp sound and if till a long time, i just give up trying.

hi juju,
yeah, consider lucky me already. That's why i am still letting her stay with babysitter for the time being and maybe transfer to infant care after 1 yr old.

Lina,
How many months did you start sending your girl to the babysitter? So she will take care of your girl day and night from mon to fri? How much is she charging?

hi juju,
hahaha...ahhh yes, maybe can wait as infantcare cost is much higher.

hi bing,
i send right after confinement, charging at $900 for mon-fri day and night.

He he.. If not how to know how much to prepare the ebm or fm lor.. I don't wanna waste my precious ebm le.
Jus now 2pm managed to pump 60ml. I'm so happy.

Singapoh, my gal super inpatient kind. She loves fast flow. So I've been massaging my breast while she latching. Now if she can latch 15mins on each breast very good Liao.
So what I do is latch till she refuse, then change breast then refuse change again then change again till she totally crying crrying then I give bottle if fm or ebm.
Very seldom she will satisfy jus by latching if she does also very fast will cry for milk again.

Stb, if total bf doesn't wanna burp jus put bb face on the side.
I use cradle head to burp. I don't know how to do over shoulder.
Today is her supposedly Edd day ;)

vi,
dun always massage while latching, cos ur gal will not learn how to suckle hard for milk. in a way, u r helping her to "do work" ;p
whn bb young, u still gotta burp them, esp under 1 mth old.

stb, can also twist the body from one side to the other or in circular motion... i burp him during the day, too lazy at night. i stopped around 4mth

lina
i din tain my bot to sleep thru the night, he just did it one day... but now he wakes up at least twice... one for cuddle, one for milk. dun u miss ur daughter?

lina
sorry for the typo error... my boy is disturbing me :p

i din train my boy to sleep thru the night, he just did it one day... but now he wakes up at least twice... one for cuddle, one for milk. dun u miss ur daughter?

Lina,
wanted to ask what bee asked, dont you miss your daughter? So poor thing to leave her with nanny since after confinement. Just weekends is too little time to bond with her. So sad for both you and her leh. The nanny does not stay near to your place? Why dont you bring your gal home every nite then, though it may be bit more tiring for you to have to look after her in the nite...

Lina,
Your daughter will take FM on weekdays and you'll BF her on weekends? The rate that your babysitter charges is quite reasonable. If the maid and my mum can't cope with my bbs next time, I'll have to consider sending them to a babysitter or infant care.

Bing, i plan to send my baby to infant care, but not cheap, checked the one near my place, they charged $1500+gst, working mum gets $600 off.

I will be going to the infant care to check the environment etc around Sept.

Ju, it was the TMC nurse who told me to put her side to the side wor. anyway, we will still burp her and most of the time she burped very fast.

Singapoh, after I burped her, she will cry again and she will keep wanna find the nipple loh.

Gan, dun go infant care when u r pregnant la. Wats the hurry now for such thing? Coz pregnant ladies r more vulnerable to catch virus. Infants get sick easily n pass from 1 to another in that envirnomenr. U nv know wat virus is in the air, be it flu, HFMD, etc. Same rationale as avoiding crowded places.

This can wait ESP when u hv 16 wks of maternality.

Hi! Everyone,
It's been a really long time since i came here. How is everyone? Juz drop by 2 see how u guys r doing and all the best to all mummies and mummies to be. We made it

Ya hor....never think of that, HFMD etc. Hazel, thanks for reminding. was abit kiasu tot go see see and if ok with the place, place a deposit to "chop" a place.