IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Sorry ladies my hubby HP spoilt so whole day he was using my phone.

Bing, only when cough or laugh too hard then pain.
Today after the catheter was removed I went to toilet to shower n do big small business liao.

Bliss, I'm ok sitting down with this binder. It is soft type le. No I'm not using any sock because I moved my legs even when I'm on the bed.

I don't know what happened with my body.
This afternoon after bf I started to feel very cold till shivering then measured temp I was having fever 37.9. Awhile later got worst to 38.5. 
Only after second round of medicine better and dropped to 36.9. I still latch on baby though.
Then morning I got diarrhea 2 times then evening times again 2 times n tummy a lot of winds. I have asked med for it n nurse said need to check with dr.
Haiz...

Btw, catheter will only be removed when dr think u are ready to walk to the toilet. Mine was removed very quickly. Nurse asked me to take a deep breath then she pulled.
About inserting the catheter during GA I think u can request. I did a cyst removal at TMC n it was inserted during GA. I don't know why this time was inserted when I was still awake.

Good morning Sis: I am 5w pregnant now and having diarrhea since last night. Can I take any medician during this stage and shall I see a GP?

Hazel,
The tcm for fertility didn't work for us too. I just took it to regulate my menses and "bu" cos was feeling weak after my d&C.
Make sure you are in prime health before you start your fet cos i know some ppl have alot of problems during pregnancy if they have weak body. Take care and dun rush ok?

Gan,
I only found out about my blood flow issue during the detailed scan. It's called Bilateral Uterine notch.
I didn't have any symptoms at all. So, dun worry too much. Some ppl i know took aspirin and went on to have normal weight bb.

Live,
Go see a GP and remember to tell him you are pregnant. Do not self-medicate.

Vi, though I was moving my legs when I was ordered bed rest for the 1st day, I was also wearing the socks...actually, I worn the socks for 4-5 days.....removed at nite to sleep lar.

Are you still feeling feverish? Don't stress urself over bf-ing ur daughter now...try to get more rest so that you will recover before discharging with ur little princess....

But after delivery.. There will be menses like blood flow frm uterus.. With the catherer inserted means cant wear pad and panty??

Vi4d
The c sect wound is not very pain? U can get up the next day to bathe and pass motion... U not sticking to no bathing rule for a month? So fast go bathe liao ah...

Vi4n
Congrats, the long awaited bb is finally out !

Hazel
Glad that everything going well for u. Get your body well and fit and I'm sure u will succeed one day when the time is right.

Bakaholic & bubbybear, my health shld be fine. I hv very gd appedite since m/c.. So gd until I put on weight n is as heavy as when m pregnant! But hack la, losing weight shld be my least prority as long as m not overweight. Tcm fertility told me my luteal phrase was not good enough n to hv 14 days during luteal phrase Is more ideal. But both tcms I went to did not seem to increase it to 14 days. Dr loh did a blood test for me when I first saw him, he said good enough. 8 days is all it needed for implantation to happen, n I hv 12 days per tcm. Thanks for all your well wishes.

Bakaholic: noted with thks. Just search Internet it stated quite common for pregnant Ladies to have diarrhea during 1 tri, not sure is it true?

Vi4n/stb,

stb, same here, I did leg execise on bed often too but also worn the long socks throughout my stay in the hosp.

Vi4n,
are you having engorgement? I remembered that time I felt feverish and also v painful n hard on my breasts on the 3rd day in hosp after i total bf my boy since delivery day. But I was not sure if I was having fever, the feeling was just like having fever.

Bliss, u did c-sect for Teng Teng meh?

Now, I really feel like being a SAHM for my son for at least 1 year after seeing how my MIL cares for him. Not that she did anything seriously wrong, but she's just too kancheong till lost lost, which she admitted to me herself, despite me telling her it's okay for Alvis to cry and scream.....

Live,
I didn't get diarrhoea in 1st trimester.. normal bowels i think or constipation. I guess everyone is different. Just take note of food you eat cos some food may cause diarrhoea.

Hazel
Sometimes, consulting too many Drs can get u confused. Different Drs have different opinion and no one is right. Just go with your heart and trust your Dr.

soon-to-be
I think your MIL is like that due to the fact that she has not handled newborn for a while. I remember my mum was also like that in the first few weeks. After a while the memory of handing babies comes back and baby also gets tougher not so 'soft' to handle and it gets easier.

Bakaholic: thks. Dr said is not food poisioning. Maybe clearing some of my old stock so caused this happen. Anyway will carefully monitor the situation.

Panda: thks. GP gave Dhamotil to me. Just told me if felt serious then take. So far after seeing the Dr, took my lunch and slept till now. So if nothing will skip this medicine.

Bubbybear, yup, the last time she handled a baby was when my SIL was borned 31 years ago.....I know she's no longer that familiar so we are guiding her (we are aso 1st time parents lor) but despite me telling us not to be so kancheong, she's still the same.....n that gets me on my nerve sometimes.....well, i'm fussy!

Stb,

I hv learnt to close both eyes when I let others handle my baby. If u wanna control everything, u will be very busy and tired.

I think yr MIL is kancheong coz she is not taking care of her own baby.

Bbhp,
Is there alot of difference between twins package and singleton package? Which class are you opting for?
Oh did Dr Loh tell you when he'll want you to start taking HL and rest at home? I need to start making some work plan so thinking of using yours as a gauge.

Vi4n,
Wow you started taking shower so early? But your wound hasn't fully healed right? I hope your fever had subsided.

Live,
I had diarrhoea frequently in tri 1. After monitoring the food I ate for a few days, I realized that it's caused by the milk. So I stop drinking milk for a few days and there's no more loose stool or diarrhoea. So I think mine was pregnancy induced lactose intolerance. After tri 1, the lactose intolerance is gone and I can start drinking milk again. If yours is not food poisoning and you are not losing too much water, don't have to worry too much.

Bing,

my final bill came. It's close to $8k including 4 nite stay for 1 twin in Special Care nursery. Mine was a natural assisted delivery B1. 1 nite stay only.

stb,
yes I had emergency c section delivery last May. Just found my labour story I posted last year from the archive:

Update of my delivery since last Wed, sorry if I am too long winded below. :p

20/5/09
4.10pm
went for my 39weeks appt at kkh, doc sadhana did cervix check for me, I was 1.5cm dilated only, bb was estimated to be 3.5kg. Doc suggested induction since I had been experiencing lots of early labour pain for the past few weeks. I agreed too coz I really want to end the daily contraction pain and sleepless nights too.
But there was a bit confusion when doc’s nurse arranged me to have the induction on 2am next day, then changed to next day 6am again… after I left kk, she called again saying that she had made a mistake, it should be 6pm on that very day! Luckily I brought along my hosp bag, milk pump that day, so hubby and I drove back to kkh to be admitted to the delivery suite str.

6pm
I had very light dinner at the kk fdcourt and had baby’s heartbeat monitored for abt 40 mins before induced.

8..15pm
The induction tablet, prostin was inserted near to the neck of my cervix thru vagina. It was painful! After that, I lie on the bed to rest and wait for labour contraction.

10.15pm
I was still feeling ok, no pain though lots of contractions. Was sent to the labour ward to rest first.

21/5/09
12.30am
Started to feel intense contractions. But I tried to bear with it as I did not want to use the pain relief so early, I knew it would be even more painful later one.

5.30am
The labour pain was already very intense, I asked for pain relief jab on the thigh. So was pushed back to the delivery ward to get pain relief. Was told I was only 2cm dilated at that time!

6.30am
Injected pain relief on thigh, was feeling much better after that, and sleepy and drowsy. Managed to sleep during this waiting period.

7.30am
Anasthetist and midwife came in to give me epidural as doc sadhana gave instructions that I could take epidural even only 2cm dilated. The epidural injection was painless and smooth. I lie on bed to rest and wait.
8.15am
Doc sadhana came to check on my condition, I was 4cm dilated then. She burst my water bag and wanted to see how the dilation after that, hoping I would be ready for delivery soon.

9am to 11am
Baby’s heartbeat slowed down certain time and went back normal again. The inconsistent heartbeat showed distress in baby. I was only 5cm dilated that time.

11.30am
Doc sadhana came in and told me that it was a bit too long to let bb stay inside after water bag has burst. She told me to have c section delivery since I was still 5cm dilated, it was not advisable to wait longer since my dilation was very slow. Without any choice, I agreed and the nurses all in very fast motion, getting me ready for the procedure. The feel of emergency made me feel bit stressful when I was already quite disappointed to end up having c section after 15 hours of labour waiting and 5 hours of intense labour pain. I requested for hubby to be with me during the op, but was not allowed coz mine was an emergency one.

11.45am
I was pushed into the operating theatre. My epidural intake was increased in order to feel painless during the op. I was totally conscious thru out the c section delivery. I could feel the incision made, layer by layer… but without pain. However the thought of it was quite stressful. I felt the docs opening my tummy and pressed very hard on my tummy to pull out baby.

12.06pm
Within seconds, I heard bb crying very loudly! Doc pulled out my bb and showed to me immediately, he was opening his eyes widely, looking at me. Then bb was carried away to get cleaned up, I could still hear his crying while docs were stitching my tummy.

12.34pm
My bb was cleaned up and wrapped nicely. A nurse carried him to let me look at him while I was still on the operating table. Baby was looking at me without blinking his eyes at all… the feeling was so amazing and indescribable. Nurse then carried bb to show my hubby who was anxiously waiting outside the theatre.
I was cleaned up and pushed to the operating resting lounge for half an hour.

1.30pm
I was pushed back to my labour ward and my hubby and baby were already there waiting for me. I was shivering for a few hours due to the side effects of epidural. My lower body was totally numbed and I could not feel the existence of my lower body until the next morning.

22/5/09
I started total breastfeeding my bb. I had him latch on without any supplements given. As I am only producing colostrum only, the amount was very little, my bb was crying almost every hour for milk. It was very tiring and stressful. Late at night, I started having very painful engorgement. It was so painful that I cried a few times and could not sleep at all.

23/5/09
I had a lactation nurse to help and guide me on how to massage my breasts and ease the engorgement. It was a long and painful day for me. I was spending whole day massaging and pumping out my milk while bb has to be on formula at the same time.

24/5/09
I was told that bb could not be discharged this day as his jaundice level has risen and near to high risk level. So he needs to be under observation one more day. Hubby and I decided to stay with bb one more stay too, hoping he would be alright to go home the next day. I continue to latch on at times and pump out my milk for bb. He was having formula too, as his demand was really high. Drinking more milk will also help to clear his jaundice, so I decided to let hime have a mixture of my breastmilk and formula.

25/5/09
I had very bad constipation ever since after the delivery. Had been given 3 types of medication to ease constipation and soften stools at the same time, but seemed not effective still. I had such painful constipation in the early morning that I need the doc to dig out and remove all my hard stools ‘manually’! It was terrible experience and so unpleasant. Finally, my constipation was resolved. But my bb was not allowed to go home still, his jaundice level has risen again! I was so upset and worried. Hubby and I decided to go home first. We had already extended one more day with bb on Sunday, so we couldn’t imagine how high the total bill will be, as I had induction, epidural, c section and also extended stay for me and bb in A1 class ward.
I was quite upset when leaving kk. I know it is quite common for newborn to have jaundice, but I still cried when I carried my bb in my arms before discharging from hosp with bb home with me.

So here’s my long long delivery story and hosp stay in KKH last week.

stb,
it will be good if you can be sahm to look after your son for at least the 1st year. But if cant, then really have to close one eyes when you let your mil to be the sole caregiver.

Bliss, ur process was pretty fast....my water bag was burst at 2+pm on 30th May but I only started pushing at 12+ midnite (31st May)...and i was induced at 10am the day before (29th May), so u can imagine how long I waited and only at 2plus close to 3am that I decided to ask for c-sect......

I think if I were to tell my DH abt being a SAHM for 1 year (9 mths only coz 3 mths maternity leave mah), he would not stop me. But once I think of our financial commitment, I will hv to think abt it again...sigh.....not ready to give up our current lifestyle yet....n still have our house to finance.

Stb,

The hospital stay is more expensive than 5 star hotel. Keke...I don't want to stay in KKH for so many nites even if it's free..:p

Singapoh, Stb, Bliss
The stay at KKH is really expensive leh..my friends who delivered at other private hospitals like TMC, Mt Alvernia or East Shore only spent about 4-5k for 1 or 2-beded room. I thought KKH as a restructured hospital is cheaper?

bliss, stb, singapoh
my bill came out total less than 4k for one night stay in labour ward, and one night stay in A1 ward plus baby's nursery. btw mine was assisted natural delivery

but reali giving birth in singapore is not cheap at all

bing
it depends whether u gone thru natural or ceasarian delivery..it difference by few k

Bing, it is more ex if the mtb went through both natural delivery (aborted) and emergency c-section. If these were at private hospitals, may cost even more. 4-5k is for either natural delivery or scheduled c-section. Singapoh has twins n she delivered in the op threatre by a team of senior medical staff incl dr loh. Also, it will cost more if bb stays in special care or icu. FYI, at pte hospitals, the bill is easily 5 digits if bb stays in special care or icu or when there is complications. So, if need to compare apple to apple then can see the real cost differential.

Bing, KKH practice for naturally delivery is 1 night stay after delivery. Eg, deliver today naturally, tomorrow doc checks n everything is okay can discharge already. Pte usually requires mothers to stay 1 more night.

hazel and bing
yes...mine is the standard 2 days natural delivery package for A1 rate..
thats why i pray hard tat i wont end up in ceasaran, and luckily dr loh also very confident in me tat i wont end up c-section

stb
my son also will be solely taking care by my MIL after i go back to work...i also learning to give and take now...
and sometimes i feel blessed myself tat i actually have a MIl willing to take care of my son without asking anything e.g money where some of fren's MIl refused to take care on their own grandchildren, and they have to source for other caregiver where money will be much involved.
secondly MIl taking care of our son i feel more "safe" rather than giving other ppl to take care on ur own child

Linda, u work in the hospital right? Do u enjoy staff rates? You r very fortunate to hv such a nice mil. My mum & dad are also taking care of my bro 2 kids without asking for any money. She Also nv ask for a maid. U told my bro not to waste money on a maid which will give everyone more headaches. I wanted to get a part time maid when I was pregnant. She Also told me dun waste money n she will clean my house for me! Even till now, she is helping me with cleaning 

Linda, medical cost in spore is ex.. My m/c with induced delivery in the ward, d&c under GA n a stay of 2 days 1 night cost abt 3k.. Luckily all paid by insurance.

stb,
poor you, really long waiting for you tat time.
Yes, I have no choice but to go for c section again this time round. Cos high chances that my dilation will be v slow still this time and doc cant afford to give me that long hours for full dilation cos labour contractions are likely to cause the previous c section scar to tear, so in order not to take this high risk of getting a failed natural labour and then emergency c section again, it is more advisable for me to choose elective c section this time. It is no good for the bb if stuck half way down there and get distress and got to go thru c section again to get her out.
So after discussing with my gynae, I have decided to have c section again which is also gd lah, since I am having frequent contractions this pregnancy, it will be quite stressful to wait and guess when my bb wants to be out. At least for now I somehow know when I will see her if everything goes smoothly b4 the scheduled delivery date.
Btw, I tot maternity leave is 4 months, not 3 months? Ya, it is difficult to be sahm if not willing to give up current lifestyle. It is also good for you to work lah, since you have mil to help.

Btw, why didnt you and ur hb use your CPF to pay off the housing loan? It is better to pay off now than paying in instalments for more than 10 years when you are paying alot more due to the interests.

Medical cost in s'pore is really quite ex. It's best to be adequately covered by insurance. There's a new maternity insurance offered by prudential and I was quite keen to take up. However, my financial adviser told me that this insurance plan is not eligible for those who conceive thru ivf.

Hazel,
Was your delivery covered by the compulsory GE insurance we have to take up before embarking on the ivf programme? Cos from what I know, most insurance plans won't cover ivf programme since the risk is too high and the insurance co. won't want to cover anything involving fertility treatments.

Bing, the compulsory GE insurance we signed up does not cover m/c. It only covers the bbs at the pt of delivery if they r complications or they r prematured. If bbs r delivered n all r well but later warded for other stuff like jaundice,The insurance does not cover.

My medical records show tt I went through a mid term pregnancy termination but didn't say is ivf pregnancy. Also my is a hospitalisation plan, similar to medishield that most of us have. The main difference is I upgraded the medishield plan years ago to a more comprehensive coverage when it becomes privatized. I bought a rider then too to cover all excesses & co-payment. So, I did not hv to go through any underwriting since it is an upgraded version of medishield n the premium is cheap based on our age.I pay only 200 plus a year from medisave and the rider cost me 100 plus A year in cash. All these for a coverage of 1million per policy year at A class ward in restructured hospital. I shld hv upgraded to the private hospital coverage last time.

I hv done 2 day surgeries at KKH, excluding my m/c. For the 2 surgeries, as it was planned, I got a letter from the insurer b4 admission. With tt letter, I dun hv to pay any deposit coz I hv a rider that covers excesses n co-payment. So I dub hv to pay a single cent. KKH billed the insurer directly.

For m/c, as it was emergency, I dun hv this letter the nurse at admission insisted tha my insurance does not cover m/c so I had to pay a deposit of 1k plus. However, she lodged in for me to the insurer when I told her is covered. KKH billed the insurer the full amt including the deposit amt I hv paid. Subsequently, KKH returned me the deposit I paid via cheque. So, I didn't pay anything

Ladies, yesterday no engorgement but today haiz both breast increased in size n colostrum flow out. Lc said I must massage or will get worst Liao. Both nipples sore but left is worst.
I stop teats feeding for baby but using syringe. First lc said worry baby already rejecting my nipple since I bottle feed since day 1 but once she saw how aggresive my bb suckles she said very good. ;)

finally tomorrow discharge Liao.

I c section on Friday evening, total bed rest on Saturday. Sunday catheter out and I mobile already.
Fever no more. The air con in the room is super cold so now jus turn it off.

I think depending on your own pain tolerance. For me pretty high.
I had appendicitis before so more or less I knew how to handle this type of cut wound.
The plaster is waterproof. Dr said I can shower.

Today brought mil n sil to tcm. Confirmed I have heaty contitution. So all the food n drink for confinement jus take it moderately n diluted n must drink barley.
No need to bath with herbal unless can soak on it but since I don't have bath tub so she said jus soak the feet. ;)

btw I used the avent manual pump. Piangz nipple so painful too. Guess I must use the breast shell for now.
Oh n I bought the my bestfriend pillow.

I jus managed to pump 20ml total from both breast. But breasts still pain though I massaged many times n pump not much already or stop that's why I stop.

Btw night feed on demand or I have to wake baby every 4 hrs?

Morning ladies, just an update on my check-up ytd:

babies weight 1.3kg n 1.1kg respectively @ 28weeks ... again my gynae asked on whether I wld like to go natural or c-section and I told her as much as possible I wanted natural and she advised that wld be the best but of course wld depend on babies position on delivery day ...

Vi,

first few days nipples will be sore. Improper latching will make them worse.

I just spoken to the LC in KKH last week, she said feed every 3 hours for 1 month. Wake baby up when needed. Must have AT LEAST 8 feeds a day.

Singapoh - still finalising on the nursery ... getting more anxious as days passed by and I had not start to pack my hospital bag yet as still taking my own sweet time ....oh ya i cleared the GD testing ... what a relief

Vi4n-Dun give up on latching bb, I bottle feed bb since birth, somehow I dunno how to latch him, but with LC's help I am able to latch him when returned home cannot latch again. After 1 mth plus, I managed to latch him, so dun give up
Jia you