IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy, ya baby is still very active inside ;)

ju, what time u will go to mim? I have gynae check up that day at 12pm. But not sure on the waiting time.

Gan, ya be kiasu. Search now n book one that highly recommended n u comfortable with early. Especialy your timing is cny le.

Stb, I also plan to put baby in her own room n cot but I will sleep there too n also have baby monitor. ;)

sunflower,
if got bb monitor, then ok la. can hear everything inside the bb room.

vi,
dunno yet. if u wanna go together, then i wait for u lor.

Ju, Sun, we have a baby monitor to detect his sound and movt, and a baby sensor to detect whether his breathing...so shldn't be a problem.....

Ju, yes, using breast pad, but find that bra get smelly easily with this weather and me not showering....anyway now only $15 per pc, no harm getting more.....

Singapoh, kick my dh out?! Hahaha..do u know when I was preggy, he was snoring so loudly that I slept on the living room couch instead???

Stb,

oh dear..

Eh yr bathroom is in yr room, can just bathe wor. Sometimes I bathe without herbs. Just make sure water is warm enuf and u dun catch cold after shower. U dun hv to be a smelly cow...

Talking of snoring, recently i aso bey tahan my hubby's elephant snores, i chased him out of the room... to the extend he went to buy a mattress the following week and now he sleeps in the PC room... hehe... i am aso alert to sounds now and wants un interrupted sleep....

vi,
sure!

stb,
i pinch hb's nose whn he snore too loud! lol!
i wonder if bb's sounds will wake ur hb thru the bb monitor ;p
if dun bathe, at least use warm water to wipe urself clean. dats wat i do behind locked door. lol

Yes yes, i wipe myself twice a day, but still dun feel good enuff coz of e weather.....

Cannot shower lar......MIL will spot check n if dh know, i will die......

stb,
tell ur hb dun showe thru'out the wkend & see hw he feel! i cried in front of hb & made him tell mil to let me shower.
whn she refused after hb went bk to work, i lock door & showered

Juju, maybe is myth. That is what my mum told me after taking care of a few young children. I just listened to her. At times, if bb or troddler still fuss, my dad will use this smelly plant to shower the bb/troddler. N it seems to work. This boy who my mum took care, now already 30 yrs old already. Super fussy n naughty when young. He told me recently over cny he still remembered this smelly plant n that when he was a troddler, he felt irritated n fussed he will ask my parents to use this plant to shower him. Coz he told me, he felt better after tt n hence better temper.

Gan, like 1 of the sisters said u need to interview the CL over the phone if meeting her is not possible. U need to tell her wat u expect her to do n if she is agreeable. I had a few recommendations then n some were from other forum ladies. This CL was said to be good. Was told she will do housework , wash my dh's clothes, etc. Which r wat I wanted. But when I called her, she hinted to me the lady who recommended her to me was very generous n gave her big start work angbow for luck n another angbow end of confinement period. Told me housework n washing dh's Clothes are not part of her duties. But if she gets big APs, she will be chin Chye & help me. Actually, these 2 APs are market practices on top of the confinement charges. But the amount to put in the APs are subjective. Straightaway, I decided that I dun want such a CL. Coz if she is good, I will automatically give her a reasonable APs. Where got from start already asked right? I told her I dun wan to touch tap water. All water I touch need to be boiled. Any CL shld know this. She told me the girl who recommended her was chin Chye, dun mind touching tap water. Told me boiled water more work.. I said I want to bf bb at night. She told me NO! She said then she got to wait for me for every feed at night b4 she can go back to sleep. She told mr confinement give bb EBM. Said is easier for her. If u were me, u will take her? Though she was recommended? I won't loh..

So u really hv to talk to the CL. Wat is gd for others may not be gd for u. I hv a couple CL recommended as good. After calling them n dropping those who r already booked, I only left with one suitable one.

Gan, is all ur preference. CL is supposed to take care of u & bb. incl, at night. That is a must. Bb can sleep with CL. When bb cries, u Will know n u can bf. If u dunno, CL has to wake u up. If u dun wan to latch on at night, then u pump n CL feeds bb EBM. So it really depends on wat u prefer. Think abt it & talk to the CL.

For me, I wld wan to latch on at night. After tt CL can coax bb to sleep.

Some mothers wan to rest at night so CL gives bb EBM. Mothers can pump as & when they like at night. Btw, need to give CL some rest in the PM when bb is sleeping also. If not very siong for CL to take care at night.

Confinement is very impt for mothers. So where possible try to rest as much as possible. If not, why need CL right?

Gan, mkt rate for CL for singleton is abt 1800-2000 for non cny period. Of course, there r some who charges lesser or more than that.

For agencies, u also pay around tt kind of price. But CL only gets to keep abt 1.4k. The rest goes to agency. So, i wonder if the CL is good, why not she works freelance & earn more? Agency u need to pay a deposit of $500. Freelance, much lesser. I booked my then in feb without any deposit n only need to pay her deposit of 100 -200 bucks in end April. Another thing u need to check if the freelance requires u to get a work permit. Agency will do everything for u n u just pay the levy. Freelance u hv to do for her. Details r at MOM website. Legally, they need a work permit. But, this Can play around with. Malaysian can only stay in spore for x no of days consecutively for 3 mths. Once exceeded they can't enter spore. So if a CL is popular n she dun plan her assignments, she may hit that requirement n need u to get her a work permit. My friend kana one, her CL stuck at customs, can't enter. Luckily she applied permit for her. Her dh went to custom with the permit to bring her in.

So, u shld quickly find out & quickly confirm a good one.

Hazel,

Wah that CL is really calculative hor. Btw bb usually falls zzz after a feed. No need to coax to zzz.

I tried 2 ways. Latch on at night which is really tiring. Pump out and keep in the fridge, CL feeds later is much better. Can zzz more and not so tiring during the day. Won't feel frustrated when well rested.

Btw the $500 deposit is the agent fees. We pay the rest to the CL in cash. They also hv free replacement.

My new CL is much better than the other one. I m glad that I changed CL

Hey, jus wonder how u mummies do bottle feed n pumpin at nite? pump first then bottle feed first or the other way round...i hv prob gettin Alvis to slp b4 i can pump...but if i pump first, halfway thru, Alvis will wake up for his feed.....i prefer to feed then pump, but how to get Alvis settle down (slp) so tt i can pump in peace?

Stb,
cradle hold. Eg if my bb rest on my left arm, I will use that same hand to hold the pump while I switch on the pump with right hand. Then use right hand to hol the pump.

KK just called me BT on 24 June when I am 11 weeks plus and scan on 29 June just pass 12 weeks. I asked can have bt n scan same day but lady said can't have result on 29, guess will go as scheduled so that hubby can be with me when dr go thru the results

Singapoh, I'm that powerful as u leh...today, I must still use both hand to support Alvis even though me using breastfren too....

Eating my choco now..yummy....the only thing to keep me happy whole day.....

Just wondering which brand of washable breast pad is good? I think i will using the washable ones when at home and disposable ones when outside.

How much is the MIM sling now?
I know MumsN babes has 20% off for MIM slings.

Bee/singapoh/Juju- how to keep the bb cereal warm huh? I realise after feeding my bb cereal, didnt finish all, the cereal is very cold leh (I only feed him 2 tablespoon of cereal, cant imagine if I m gonna give him full serving the cereal will be very cold). Do I need to keep the cereal in the food warmer? Scoop small quantity to feed him finish then scoop somemore?

Hi ladies, hope i am in the right chatroom. I have just tested 1 mth pregnant from IVF. And this is my first time to be mother. May I know what are the sort of stuff I can start researching/ looking for? Like baby stuff, baby cot, stroller etc?

Karen, how often is the spring maternity sales? Would it be a bit early if I buy now?

Many times for your advise.

stb, it is normal for bb to fuss in the first 2 months... we were very firm tt bb shd sleep in his cot in his room initially but after we brought him hm, first thing was to shift his cot to our room. he sometimes slept on our bed, sometimes in his cot... (now still the same, just tt his nap time is on the floor mattress) much easier to bf and attend to bb when he cries... of course my case slightly special (i couldnt walk in the first mth)

twinstars i was reading this mag baby chic and they have this bowl which is like double layer, u can put hot water below and ur bb food above. The water won't spill coz it's contained. Looks quite neat for feeding.

Twinstars,

Throw away leftover if it already touch baby's saliva. Bacteria multiply very fast at room temperature. Just make what u need then make more if bb still wants more.

rose, i am currently 10 weeks preggy....didn't shop for anything yet but been reading on some books to know what to eat for healthy bb and also baby mags like motherhood etc. =)

Rose, I know u are excited to be pregnant now. But it is way.... too early to get anything for baby now.
I wait till 5-6 months in pregnancy before getting anything for baby.

You should rest well now in your 1st tri.
The thing that u can get now is comfortable underwear n clothings for yourself. ;)

Singapore has never ending sale going on. So no need to rush

Ladies, today can't chat because my controller at home. Since morning already saying me iPhone addict.
Anyway jus wanna update.
Last nite at 12midnight we went to hospital. Because I have nagging lower back pain, gastric plus loose stool. Hardening too though not painful.
But ended up no labour lo. Cervix still close. Observed for 2 hrs only once big contraction. The rest small small kind.
Tomorrow still need to check again.
So Ju, I won't be going to MIM la.

Yumyum, How are you? Super busy with your triplet
must be.. ;)
FYI I received the MOM letter for the interview of FDW which was arranged on 23 when my Edd is 24. So called to ask them arrange for phone interview liao. Thanks for advising me on this before ;)

twinstars,
hi5!

stb,
i also pump & latch at the same time

jus (cradle) position bb first, latch, then the other hand hold pump. since jodie can climb up liao, i can pump first then position her for latching nowadays.

zaza,
sure! chat on msn for ur order

bakaholic,
ya, reusable breast pads will stick de. i prefer disposable ones.

twinstars,
maybe u prepare lesser cereal?
if mix wif ebm, jodie usu finish her cereal, i dun prepare a lot initially la.

vi,
ok! u take care ya! sekali, pop today or tmr liao