IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Vi4n
thks. i'm still in first trimester, bb so fast press on diaphram. oh dear, u mean it will be like this from now on? its very uncomfortable, not sure how to tahan for so many months ahead

is there any thg we can do to lessen the discomfort?

Ah u only in first tri, were u standing still? Sometimes blood pressure dropped. My gynae said don't stand still for too long. Or were u in crowded place? I had this attack few times in 1st tri. Try to suck on candy maybe.
I will jus suddenly out of breath then cold sweat then heart palpilation. Once blacked out in mrt.
But everytime check up my blood pressure was always ok. Not high not too low.

Des,
My friend told me that Robinson's selling avent steriliser (8 bottles capacity) with 3 bottles for $169 in a package. Also 20% off avent bottles. I may go and take a look this weekend.
I was at Isetan yesterday and saw the demo on Pigeon sterilizer. It looks gd and it's quite big, can even sterilize bb utensil next time. Can't really decide whether I should get Pigeon or Philips sterilizer now.

Gan,
Rest more in tri 1 and forget about going to sale. There's always sale in sept and dec. My gynae asked me to avoid going to crowded places in tri 1 and I was grounded at home most of the time. But it's worth it since our bbs didn't come easy. The more we should take gd care ourselves and stay positive ;)

Singapoh,
your bbs weights are gd! I hope my bbs can have good weight like yours next time.

Singapoh, congrats! it must be a great joy to deliver the two babies...

Gan, glad to see that u are doing fine ... shopping can wait.. i also still home quarantined.. want to provide the best rest i can for the babies... try to sleep more if u can.... and dont be too stressed out ok..

Bing,

Eat healthily and your babies will grow fast :D

Pandawife,

Thanks! I pushed my babies out with all my strength and of coz with the help of Dr Loh and his team. Very dramatic in the Operating Theatre but it was a quick delivery. We were there for 45 minutes only.

singapoh
ur twins are at very good weight

stb
r u excited for tmr? tmr is ur big day liao

gan
dr loh also advised me to avoid crowded place in 1st tri...and avoid eating cooling foods and no squatting

Gan.. Do take care. U can always get your things later. Furthermore e flu bug is spreading fast. I think we better avoid crowded places. Sometimes, the crowd might push their way thru to get all e good deals. Just stay at home and rest more.

Dr Loh is quite nice to reply on a public holiday. He says that the pain might be just due to a ligament strain but if the pain worsen, I better go to e 24 hr clinic in KK. The pain seems to have ease off slightly in e afternoon and now I dun feel it so much after getting off my bed. Maybe it's because after reading Dr Loh's email & it sets my mind more at ease. But nevertheless, I will continue to observe.

syann
i do experienced ligament strain in my 3rd tri...
as tummy grows bigger, muscle will pulled...

stb and vi4n
r u both able to sleep well at night nowadays? me getting harder to sleep...and cos of tis, developed light running nose liao...

Vi4n
earlier was at the philips fair, after walking out felt it a bit. then later straight after eating wanton noodles, felt worst. i tot was becoz i ate too full, so hard to breathe.
actually my blood pressure has always been on the low side, sounds like not too good right?

nowadays i find that after walking up the overhead bridge, i like a panting and breatheless. am thinking i very unfit coz have not exercised at all during since ivf till first trimester.

Linda, my belly has been hard whole nite these nites, experiencing pms feelin for 2 nites Liao... Don't really slp at nite... Hopefully tonight is e last nite n I can be carryin my son tmrw nite....

happyhippo,

i m already breathless very easily... just walk from bedroom to toilet and back, i feel breathless one.. my hb tinks its coz i m not eating well due to MS..so energy level very low...

hmmm... shld try to avoid climbing overhead bridge? nurse told me if possible, dun climb stairs.. if really need to, do it slowly.

hi mummies and mtbs, thanks for concern. Ya with my current condition, i dun dare to step out of the house besides going to kk.

Syann dr loh replies email quite promptly. I have been having pelvic pain on off ....last like 30 mins and gone

Happyhippo, u were too tired la. N the fair was crowded. So pretty normal. As long not often then should be fine. Ya before pregnant my blood pressure also on the low side. After pregnant only in 3rd tri my BP actually around 70 (below). 1st n 2nd tri only at around 60.

Stb, tomorrow your turn already. Must be excited. ;) we shall wait for your news ;)

Linda, how to sleep well?? Even with my drowsy med only that 1st night can sleep. Now.. Back to square one. Can fall asleep very good already. Turn left pain turn right pain. Wake up pain. Tummy hardening whole night but no pain kind. Backache... Hand joint pain, hip pain. Haiz..
Adding my body itch. Tell me how to sleep?? Ha ha..

Btw how do u time contraction? Is it the time from 1 contraction to another or the lenght of the hardening itself?

Gastric pain again haiz.. & no soda water at home

Happy,
I also have breathlessness during 1st trimester so just walk really slow and try not to eat too much. Also, you can consider changing to non-wired bra.

Bing,
The pigeon sterilizer and warmer with bottles package at Isetan looks quite good. I bought the bottle warmer as I had a hand me down sterilizer.
Bought other stuff like medela, some bb clothes, bottle and bb headrest and mat for stroller, etc. Also, ordered my combi car seat. Quite a rewarding shopping trip.

The discount at philips sale wasn't too fantastic. I wanted to get a digital baby monitor but they only have the analogue and the high end one. We were there like 10mins and left.
I went to kiddy palace and saw they have discount for the model i want. Think i will wait for the bb fair at expo to compare.

do u have pelvic area discomforts during 1st tri?
its like a kind of aching pulling pain...not very painful..bt irritating kind..

Pandawife,
Yah, i have that on and off. Just shift your position and should go away. I think it;s just ligament or uterus expanding.

soon-to-be, pandawife, Vi4n, bakaholic,
today first time experience this breathelessness, so really quited scared off by it. thks so much for all the assurance that it is normal. ok i shd try to eat smaller portions, walk slower.

vi4n
wow i think ur pressure lower than mine. but i always have high heartbeat and low blood pressure. read before that it is not good for normal pple, just hope doesnt pose more danger for pregnant women.

bakholic
thks, i wear non-wired bra these days. ya i find wearing bra kind of 'restricted' my breathing, always feel sthg pressing down at the chest.
i'm even thinking of not wearing bra out these days :p coz its really uncomfortable... maybe just have to bring along a sweater or sthg to throw over my neck/chest so tat pple can see me braless..hahaha

Pandawife, it's normal. Sometimes can be jabbing pain too. ;)
especially for you, uterus expanding for 3 le.

Happhippo, did u tell your dr on your condition? If yes, then don't worry la your dr should tell you if u need to watch out for anything. But if u haven't tell your gynae for your health history then you should.

This time epidural works for me. I was having strong and close contractions until I took the epi. Instantly I felt warm. :p

Stb,

once u feel contraction pain, ask for epi. Dun wait for too long. Now u can control the epi dosage. If u can't take the pain,press a button and u will get a 15 minutes boost. I didn't even hv to use it.

I felt pain when Dr Loh was stitching me. Given more epi..

This time my stitches seem not so painful as last time. Has stopped taking ponstan, now normal panadol.

Stb, JIA YOU tomorrow!!! I'll be at KKH anenatal class tomorrow morning, guess you might have delivered by then. Take care and I am looking forward to see your son's photos in FB soon!

Happyhippo,
I also feel breathless easily nowadays and I can feel my heart beating very fast suddenly. Doc said it's normal as your heart is doing extra work now to supply blood to your foetus.
Oh I think we should avoid climbing stairs in tri 1? When I had spotting in week 9, the nurse asked me not to climb stairs and carry heavy object.

Stb,
Hope you have a smooth delivery tmr and do share with us your joy ;)

bakaholic,
The Pigeon bundle looks gd right? I was quite tempted to get it. I bought alot of basic necessities at Isetan yesterday. Bought breast pads, milk powder container, changing mat, bath towels, wet wipes, cloth diapers, detergent etc. Mostly Pigeon and NUK products. My dh were commenting that all the preggy ladies at the baby section have tummies bigger than mine. He was saying that we're too kiasu to get so early ;) Well, I thought since it's cheaper to get now, just get everything at one shot then I can get something off my mind and focus on looking at other bigger items.
The bb clothes at Isetan are very cute but I want to confirm the genders first before getting any.

Bing yep good to buy anything you can when it's on offer. don't forget the upcoming Motherhood fair at the Expo. Plus another Taka baby fair in Aug/Sep.

stb,
hv a smooth delivery today!

spiffy,
no idea. maybe she was wif her since she started? hmm... i ask sil next wk if i can remember

soontobe
jia you and have a fast and smooth delivery...
do share with us ur induce story when u r more settled

vi4n
but since u got the itchness and took the anti-histamine tablet, the tablet should make u more drowsy thus can sleep well? r u still taking it now?

Bing, I think I read that Avent sterilizer can only store avent bottles.

Did anyone has/ seen NUK sterilizer? Was too focused on Avent's that I overlook to check prices of other brands...
Btw, Bing, Kiddy Palace was selling Pigeon steam sterlizer at $169.50. Can't rmbr why so ex leh.

Des,
I heard that Avent sterilizer can fit in bottles of other brands as well?

My friend is getting a NUK sterilizer for her small kitchen as she finds it more sleek than Pigeon/ Avent sterilizer. She also told me that NUK or Pigeon sterilizers & bottles are compatible with medela products. Since I'll be getting medela pump, I think I'll most likely get Pigeon sterilizer.

If you are interested in getting NUK sterilizer, Robinsons is offering a NUK sterilizer package set @$99 (UP$206.95). It comes with 4 milk bottles, brush and 2x950ml bottle cleanser. Seems to be a gd deal. The ad can be found in ST yesterday.

I was at Kiddy Palace 2 days ago. The 15% sale is still on but there's no discount for Pigeon products. That's why I decided to get all the Pigeon products at Isetan.

I'll be going to orchard to try the strollers and car seats later. Seems like this GSS will be getting stuff for my bbs instead of myself.

Linda, only first night the med can knocked me off nicely. After that same thing I can only sleep around 2-3 am.

Don't know how is stb now

Bing,
I'm buying bb stuff to stock up too. How much the pigeon sterilizer in isetan or Robinson selling. Does it come with bundle free gifts.

Don't know the motherhood bb fair the price is better or dept store is better.

Des,
The Robinsons NUK package should be valid during this GSS period. I'm choosing Pigeon sterilizer cos it's big. Next time can even throw in other utensil like bowls, spoons when my bbs start to take solid food ;) I heard that Pigeon sterilizer & bottles are also compatible with medela products. Avent bottles got wide neck not compatible with medela bottles. Correct me if I'm wrong cos I only started to look at sterilizers this week.

Fashion spree,
GSS is a gd time to stock up bb products ;)
The pigeon package at Isetan includes sterilizer, food warmer, 4 bottles, wet wipes and some other stuff. But the salegirl told me that the deal was only valid during the private sale 2 days ago.
I think I'll get the sterilizer at bb fair next weekend. I hope they have gd deals.
Happy shopping ;)

The difference btw pigeon n avent is jus that avent has the bottle holder whereelse pigeon doesn't have. That's why pigeon can be used for anything. But if u use avent jus don't use the bottle folder thingy n it will be the same lo.

re: pigeon steriliser.
i hv the older version. yes, can use glass bottles, NUK bottles, medela btls, bfree wide neck bottles. also can throw in the pumps (medela mini electric & pigeon manual pumps), also can throw in bb cutlery to sterilise

Hi Ladies, I just got settled into my ward...sigh...totally confused now...they have inserted 1 tablet in at 1030am, and I haven't felt anything yet....then Dr Loh's instruction is to insert 2nd one tmrw morning if nothing happens today...err...then me and my hubby were like, "wat's next?" How many nights do I need to stay here or how many tablets do I need to insert before I can deliver my son?????.....sigh..n furthermore it seems that even if I go into action today, Dr Loh is NOT going to deliver me...sigh....hubby and I feeling a bit kenna "cheated" now....