IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy - baby is home already??? At least now, u do not need to travel back & fro from home to hospital... im sure you can rest well now since u wld be engaging the svcs of confinement lady right? Rest well ....

Zaza no confinement lady, just my mum..

Vi4n yes, the other still in kkh. I know I'm stating the obvious but bbs sure cry a lot!!

singapoh,
mine hvn't start rolling on the floor. but she loves throwing herself backwards when in a tantrum. very dangerous when not sitting down or ard cushioned areas...

spiffy,
dunno leh... whoever said childrens are bliss? *bliss, dun mean u hor...*

Spiffy,
heehee... guess cos we r humans, our instincts wanting to reproduce generation after generation...

My mum and sisters also said dont know why many pple love to have kids... it is not bliss all the time... endless worries and headaches and hardships till the day we die.. and still it continues endlessly... kekeke...
Well, we are just humans.

Ha ha ladies, don't scare me le.. My mom is the one telling me why need to have children. Only bring headache to oneself. ;)

sunflower, take care please. I hope nothing serious about your discharge..

bing,
if u wanna try britax can go mothercare after u give birth.... bring ur baby down... we brought our gal down to try... dun really like it.. very bulky and the salesgirl had a hard time strapping the seatbelt to the carseat.... well... my girl definitely feels more comfy in a maxi cosi cabriofix (infant carseat carrier) than the britax but an infant carseat carrier not very practical cos can only use for a few months even tho the fit is good for very young infants... she look quite squashed in the britax keke... she's coming to 3 months liao...

spiffy,
did u get the combi coccoro? it looks good and looks ideal for my compact car... will go tai sing to try it out...

juju,
mine only 2 and 1/2 months and she's already screaming! now she seems to be unable to be alone... will scream or wail when there's no one around or give her attention... very cham...

i agree with spiffy.. i really take my hats off sahms.... now in my 3rd month at home and i think i'm ready to scream liao... my hubby also can sense my restlessness... but then if i go out i will miss my baby and keep thinking wat's she's doing at home...

ya who asks us wanna have children... kekeke... but i think it's our nature... esp for women we see children and our maternal instinct comes on... childbearing is really a life changing event... it's really true when ppl say after u have a child ur life changes and we will be forever worried abt our children from the moment we know abt the pregnancy till the day we die...

The dicussion on crying babies and preterm dilation recently seems quite scary for 1st time mummies like me..
I wonder how can I cope with 2 crying bbs next time..

Is it cheaper to get the medela products in KKH with the 15% discount? Anyone did comparison? My friend will be giving me her medela dual eletric pump. I intend to change the accessories for hygience purpose. What are the parts I need to change?

Eskimobaby,
My friend just told me that her bb hates sitting in the car seat so much that everytime my friend puts her there, she will start crying immediately. Another friend also told me the same thing. Seems like alot of babies don't like to be put on the car seats.
I think I won't spend so much on getting 2 very good car seats, as long as they can serve the purpose can already ;)
I rather spend more on getting other items like good strollers and cotbed.
Is your girl quite big size? She looks squashed in the Britax car seat? I thought that is supposed to last until about 4 yrs old?

bing,
squashed may be the wrong word... it's more like the car seat seems overwhelming... so have to start the kid in the car seat as soon as possible.... as they get older the more they'll resist... my colleague has 3 kids... she'll just let them wail and cry in the carseat until they get the idea that they won't get out of it... it's really for their safety

britax is quite ex... the one from newborn onwards is $500+... the combi coccoro is at 300+ which i think is quite reasonable...

Eskimo,

I did the sane thing. I let my son alone when he cried for attention. I just make sure he's safe. After awhile he gets the message. Same thing for the carseat. :p I also hardly carry him unless no choice. Till now he doesn't demand us to carry him

Hi yumyum..
you brought home your triplets already?

Zaza,

i had a very complicated pregnancy, 1st and 2nd trimester i got admitted 4 times, all B1. i think i most probably still stick with B1, cos they just increased my deposit. supposed to pay $1230, now cos of the preterm, they are making me pay $2k. if A1, i think have to come out with more.

singapoh,
that's good lor... i guess that's wat u can do when u solely take care of ur boy urself... i have my mum around... she's a great help but at the same time a great "pamper-er" also :p

Hi eskimobaby, yep got myself a pair of Coccoro car seats. Didn't get to try it when I brought my boy home tho. I carried him instead from the back seat.

vi4n and soontobe
i will be officially start my maternity leave on coming monday liao...cos whole body very bloated, feet swollen, suffered insomnia. so i discussed with my officer today, she allowed me to start my ML on monday for 4mths
and guess i will keep 2 weeks to be fully utilise within a year time frame.
and my ward dr did U/S for my babay today, his head has came down but not fully engage yet...she said maybe another 2 weeks ba

Linda, enjoy your rest.. ;)
I've been having all that since so many weeks ago. Now my home slipper also tight.
Today went hardening I feel the pulling from right side of tummy to my back le.. Couple of times like that.

Linda, Vi4n,

sounds like our turn soon. My feet also swollen but my pelvic bone pain seems to improve. One of my support pills r gonna finish today

Went for my 25 weeks scan yesterday. The sonographer did her routine and did not comment on anything unusual. When the scan was done, my hb asked her if she could reconfirm our babies' gender. She scanned twin A and confirmed girl. When she scanned twin B, she said "This is a girl too". My hb nearly fainted cos we already bought so much boy clothes/ stuff. My hb immediately told her "The last scan mentioned that twin B shd be a boy?" She then did a rescan and said " oh yeah, you're right, twin B's a boy, see, there's the penis and scrotum. He must've used his hand to cover his boy parts just now". I can literally hear my hb breathe out a sigh of relief... If this is our first scan, we would have believed we were having 2 girls!!

Later in the noon, we met Dr Loh. He mentioned everything seems normal for both babies except for our boy's weight. The girl now weigh about 800+grams (which he said was good), while our boy only weighs 600+grams... He seemed very worried about our boy's weight which in turn makes us super worried too. And my next scan which was suppose to be one month later, was reschduled to 2 week's time cos Dr Loh wants to monitor the boy's weight closely. He also prescribed aspirins for me as these can help to thin my blood and hopefully can flow easier to both babies. Other than that, Dr Loh said he does not have any solutions at the moment.

I wonder is there anything else I can do to encourage my boy to absorb more nutrients? All Dr Loh said is that I shd eat more.

bbhp, hahaha that's a good story. What a silly sonographer. Congrats, so now it's confirmed!

Actually i have found that weights are quite arbituary because it's all based on estimates and sonographers do make mistakes. Also, my DH found around 10 different systems to estimate bb's weights from their ultrasound. Some vary very greatly from one another.

And yes, do eat more, and more importantly, nutritiously.

I know more food doesn't necessarily mean bigger baby, but with multiples what you eat does matter. A couple of books i read all strongly advocate upping your intake.

Bbhp,
I also on aspirin to thin my blood. I am trying to eat more proteins now,esp. beef. My bb is considered small compared to the rest but still within range. I guess there is nothing we can do but just eat normally. I trying to sleep more on the left side but not sure if it helps.
I can't take durians cos too heaty for me and i will fall ill even with 1 seed. Sigh...

singapoh
my ward dr said maybe in another 2 weeks time, then my baby will fully engage, now baby's head down but not fully engage yet

ya let natural come la

vi4n
yes...will definetely utilise tis period to rest, now whole body so heavy la

bbhp
during my 20plus week baby also loosing weigth from his tummy, then dr loh also urge me to eat more, so i drink anmum milk morning and night, and also eat durian once a while, cos quite heaty. and baby's weight and tummy now are average liao

Im very depressed after my result out for oscar test is High risk yesterday.

My bb neck is abit thick now 3.1mm and they ask me to go for amniocentesis. They combine my age, blood and measurement of bb to determine the risk.KKH had schedule me to take the test at week 21.

Anyone had the same scenerio before and can advise me here.

I really dont know how to cope with my emotion now. I'm so worried.

Thanks for all the replies.

Will definitely be giving durians a try. Hopefully I won't get nose-bleeds
. And will also try to up my food intake.

bakaholic, how come you were also given aspirin?

Bbhp,
They found my blood flow to bb not good during detailed scan. So have to put me on aspirin.

Fashion spree,
Pls dun despair. The oscar test is not 100% accurate. Are you going for amino test? Take care ok? Nothing is definite yet.

For twins, mummies need 1.5 palm size protein. I just weighed this morning. Gained 1 kg this week

bbhp,

after durian must drink plenty of water.

Bakaholic,

Just feeling down. Been through so much through ivf then now need to worry again.

Will most likely do amino test. But need to read and understand more first.

Just that now have to worry till the test result is out.

Singapoh, Linda, now sitting at dentist waiting area i'm so restless. Can't sit still. The back so uncomfortable. Can't wait to go home to sleep again.

Bbhp, ya try to eat durian and cordycep. Not at the same time ah..
Wah both of you must have a shock when told both are bb girls ;)

Bbhp, don't eat too much durian at 1 go la.

get more rest too..

Singapoh, u still gaining weight with such a busy schedule?? I lost 600grms these 2 days.

Fashion spree, sorry to hear on your test result but it may not be accurate also. My facial lady did amnio as same with you the bb neck was measured thicker than average. N she did it in JB le but she said ok le not as painful as what they said. I think most importantly that it is done by experienced dr.

Vi, try e bending down trick I taught u?

Btw, anyone know/read abt pain near our hip bone? It's area slightly towards my back though and is most painful when I'm actually sleeping ony side. There was this occassional fear that if I sleep on my back, my bb dxx... Coz no blood and oxygen to him. Not sure if I'm thinking too much but have been guai guai to sleep in my side.

mummies, i have been hospitalised in kk for 2 nites due to bleeding and was discharged yesterday afternoon. But late last nite when i pee, there is some fresh blood in toilet bowl and later panty liner with blood too but blood looks diluted.
Just saw some blood stains on panty liner....sianz...i guess need to go kkh again