IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Congrats, berrybaby. You rest well now, your boy will be growing well.

Despondent, yes to wat singapoh said, i am preggy w my no 2 now.

Vivi, to be exact, I got preggy when my boy was only 4 and half month old... :p too fast liao... my 2 bbs age gap will be only 13 months plus. tats y i kept crying when discovered I was preggy again, cos dont know if I could take good care of bb inside and outside for the whole 9 months, esp I am a sahm without any helper. Time travels fast, I am glad and proud that I have made it so far, able to take good care of my bb boy and bb gal inside my tummy this period. It has been so tiring and difficult, cant imagine I have passed thru the 1st and 2nd trimester liao. I know 3rd trimester will be the most tedious, tummy is getting lots of kicking and hardening and contractions, and cant sleep well at all. Must tahan for these 2 months and face the bigger challenge ahead!! Yay!! LOL!

Oh dear Berry, congrats! do rest well! i know how u feel , its very sad to see baby going through tubes, but im sure he will be fine.. jiayou !

i was almost the same as you on sunday nite..i am slping and suddenly felt intense pain on the entire tummy. i woke up perspiring, and thought im having food poisoning..i rushed to toilet to poo, but nothing comes out..but the pain didnt go away and was quite painful, so hb rushed me to kkh. contraction was detected through the machine, and dr confirmed i was 1 cm dilated. i was awarded too, in case to prepare for pre-term labour. i was given 2 jabs to mature the baby's lungs just in case. luckily the medicine to stop contractions did help.. and dilation did not progress further. im now on bedrest, hopefully all the way till delivery.

im at 27wks..its a scary experience, so i know how u feel.. but u must take care ok..

Thanks, Zaza and Twinstars! I will jia you! Just pray that I will be able to carry bb gal to full term. Have been thinking the arrangement when i deliver in hosp, to bring my boy along and let hb and him stay w me in the day for the few days in hosp. Maybe let hb bring him home to sleep for nighttime then... headache...

Bliss - so u be opting got A class then? Yah it will be gd to have him around so that he cld bond with the little mei2 and u can also gauge his reactions once mei2 arrives ...

Dear All, thank u for yr well wishes, I'm getting much better. Dr told me it's likely that the leak in the bag has caused an infection which resulted in the early labour. Thankfully bb is ok n hopefully to b off the ventilator soon. The Nicu bill here is ave 1k per day

Bakaholic,
I saw on the Tai Sing website that the car seat is selling at $339, slightly cheaper. But if there's 10% off at Kiddy Palace, then should be about the same price.
I was also discussing with my dh whether we should get the infant carrier car seat or the combination car seats which can last from birth to 4yrs. Our conclusion is that the combination car seats are more practical. Infant carriers are more portable but they can only last a few months. Moreover, it's quite heavy to carry the carrier with the bb cos the carrier itself is already more than 3kg. I tried carrying my friend's bb in the carrier last time and found that it's really too heavy for me. It's like carrying 2packets of 5kg rice!

Berrybaby,
Congrats! Your bb will grow very fast with your love so don't worry too much. May I know which class did you choose? B1 or B2?

The Coccoro is good if you need to hv 2 car seats coz it's one of the most compact around. Yes Tai Sing is 30bucks less. There almost isn't any discounts off this usually, at taka or other baby fairs. At the most u get a toy thrown in.

Spiffy,
Thks for you recommendation. Can save me 60 bucks for 2 car seats
I also saw that Tai Sing carries Combi strollers. Maybe I get from there as well. Kill 2 birds with 1 stone and also save $$..haha..

Wah sunflower, u also had early contraction. Take care ya..

Bliss, u can la.. U take care of bb teng2 so well ;)

stb, u still take mrt? Take care ok.

I have the bb monitor from my sil. Have static lo. Brand Philips.

Zaza,
yes I will be opting for 1 bedded room in Mt A this time. But it will be very tiring and bz for my hb to stay in hosp and look after Teng Teng. He is still very young, need to be looked after in many things. And I will not be able to help at all. My parents and pils wont be able to help, and also Teng Teng is simply very attached to me and my hb, might be v stressful for whoever is taking care of him during those few days... so i think quite difficult to get them to help... sigh...
I also dont know how to manage during confinement, cos I got to total bf my gal and then look after Teng Teng even I will have a CL. Not sure if I can rest well or not. Quite nervous.

Thanks, Vivi! I just got to try my best now...

Vi4n,

ya, freaked me out ...

Berry,

ya i also want to know which class do u opt for? u got buy any insurance besides the ivf insurance?

Bliss, don't think n make yourself stress first.
U will find the way when it comes.
No plan to get a maid?
Teng2 is still too young to put in cc, right?

Sunflower, how is the pain felt like? Stomachache?
Now I only have pulling cramp n the lower right on some hardening. Then I will talk to baby that mommy only wants her to be out on 9 June. He he..
Last night my right thigh cramped le. First time experiencing thigh cramp. So painful that I perspired so much. But after that I was so tired that I fell asleep very fast ;)

singapoh, your boy still looking for his old room last night? Or he is happy already? ;)

hi yumyum,
Congrats! My maid agency is Sun Employment at Bukit Timah, they have a branch at Bishan too.

hi Bless,
I was in your shoe before. Hubby ended up running to & fro hospital and home. He will be with me from 7 am to 8 pm. Rushed home to put my gal to sleep. Next morning, to the hospital again. My maid only arrived 2 weeks after I gave birth. Somehow, when the time come, you'll have the strength to go through, no matter how tough it is. Hang in there.

Vi4n,

alot pple told me is menses cramp, but 100 times more painful.. but mine is whole stomach and uterus pain..squeezing intestine and uterus at interval..plus tightening.. i thought food poisoning lor..i described to my mum this pain, she told me its correct..hers also whole stomach and uterus pain together..maybe the ladies here who given birth can advise?

berry,

oh i see..then its different.. in kkh, its tied to mum's room type.

berrybaby - in SGH too, the NICU charges is tied to mum's room type ... but the cost in Mount A nicu is high for sure right?

cactus - how big is ur baby now???

Vi4n,
yes I have been trying not to think and worry too much le, will c how when the time comes.
I dont like the idea of sending my kids to CC. Somemore I am a sahm, I dont consider that at all. Well, I had maid before, really dislike to have maid, maid is more of a problem to me rather than help. I am happier without maid even though I have to do everything on my own. I think I can manage 2 bbs ultimately, just have to plan well and set in routines and should be able to make it once everything is settled.

Cactus,
I am bliss, not bless. :p
Oic, but for us, my hb will have to bring my boy along fr the day of my delivery till I discharge. We initially consider to let our boy sleep overnite with us in the hosp too, but I think maybe my hb just bring him home to sleep at night, more comfy for him, I will take care of myself and bb gal on my own then. Can ask nurse to help me if needed, since I will be having c section delivery. My hb is quite slow, not sure he can cope or not, anyway I have to let it be by then, I cant do much in looking after my boy during those few days.
Oh yes, I believe that mother can become very strong and great for the sake of the kids. I believe I can do it.

bakaholic
i brought my combi corroco car seat in march at Jusco, JB cost RM780=S339...so i roughly savep up to S60.

soontobe
reali salute u. nowadays i sit in sofa also need 2 small pillows to support my back.

Private hospitals the NICU rates are standard, irregardless of mummy's room type.

Govt/restructured will depend on mum's room type.

Thanks Linda,
I think i will get it locally cos not comfortable driving into Malaysia. Usually we take the public bus thr customs and shop at City Sq only.

Bliss,
You are one brave mummy. Do get a part-time maid to help with the chores cos it's very tiring to handle 2 kids at the same.

Bliss, u surely can..
My colleague doesn't have maid n no parent to help too n she already has 2 daughters now preggy with the 3rd one.
But she did put her daughter in cc la because she is working ma. ;)

at the moment my maid is still ok. I don't know how she is when baby is born la. But like I told her to wash hands everytime when we return home and she did. Whatever I told her to do she remember lo. But I'm also more relax type la.
A lot of things we are still doing it ourselves.

Linda, me too lo. Sit tired sleep tired walk tired.

bakaholic,
thanks for saying that, I think all mothers are brave.
Yes I have a part time cleaner to clean my house once a week all along. But the things she does is very limited due to only 4 hours of cleaning. Thanks!

Vin4,
yes I have quite a no of mummy friends are hands on sahm too, they are either with 2 kids or 3 kids and somemore the age gap are all very close. I really pei fu them, I wish I can be as capable, as they not only take care of all the kids on their own, they have to do all the housework without part time cleaner and they prepare dinner for whole family daily too. Really very capable. Some of them can even do baking and teach pte tuition in the evening when hb is back home from work and after they have put their kids to sleep. I wonder how come they are so strong and have so much energy. I simply cant leh, I can only try to look after 2 kids on my own and do the daily housework chores, but the bulky housework and dinner are not possible to do at least for some time.
Ya, maids are usually ok and even quite good during their 'probation' or the first 6 months. Just dont leave ur bb with maid alone. Supervise her work a lot and got to be strict, no need to be fierce. Too relax with maid will only create more problems for you in future.
I have seen and heard too much for years from my friends, ex colleagues and my own sisters and mother. All the best, it really depends on luck anyway.

Singapoh ask me to join this thread..i am carrying identical twins now 30 weeks liao..erm i didn't do IVF, but hope u all dun mind i join in.

sunflower,

i can really relate to you, cos i kena preterm at 27 weeks also, got active contractions every 8 mins, they also gave me 2 jabs to boost my bbs lungs. thankfully they were able to stop the labour. and yes it was very frightening.

Gera,

hihi.. u also same case? very scary hor..i cry and cry in hospital..very scare bb come out so young..ya, i also thankful they stopped the labour.. did ur cervix dilate?

Sunflower,

were you warded? and for how many days? i was in labour ward CTG hrly monitoring for 48 hours, then continue to stay in ward upstairs for another 3 more days..my bill is sky high. sighs..

lucky never dilated. but they keep checking my cervix, dunno what they digging, very painful

yeah i cried also when they ask me sign the delivery forms say deliver today..gave me a fright. cos both bbs only 1kg each.

gera,

im 2days 1 nite..warded in labour ward too..then transferred to upstairs..becos my contractions and dilation stops, and i want to go home, so they allow.. ya they inserted their the entire palm into our vagina to check cervix. are you on medication now? im on that orange pills, 4 times a day, each time 2 pills.. so u have any follow up later?

Jus finished check up. Bb is 2.4kgs. Put on 300grms over 1 week. He he..
Still breech then dr tan turned her then told me to ask bb to behave ha ha..
She also check my discharged n she said all cleared already.
Next check 2 weeks later at 36 weeks.

Bliss, I think we all can do it when we need to. If can have other alternative that make our life easier n can afford it then why not?? ;)

when bb is out will not be alone with maid. My pil will stay with us.

Singapoh, wah then who is the one climbing up n down the stairs with him? Not you ok???

Gera, welcome... ;)

sunflower, take care le. Now don't cry already ok.

actually the pain, i didn't think it was contractions lei. cos i was able to tahan the pain, although i was sweating like crazy, and i couldn't walk properly, somemore my facial expressions show like i going to deliver soon, i thought nothing of it. its like stomachache kind, but nothing come out, it went on for 3 days until someone suggest i go back and ask...

i noticed on the way to SGH the pain comes and goes every 20 mins, but when they strapped me on CTG, i was actually having contractions every 8 mins, means those are painless ones...somemore gynae say if undetected, i could dilate and deliver in the next 3 days..

vi4n,

now ok liao

gera,

ya its like stomach pain, whole stomach pain...not those menses cramp..they say labour pain is 100times.. i think mine about 3times the normal stomach pain.

when i was strapped, my contractions is always there, although i cant feel it becos under medication.. until the last moment i discharged, uterus still contracting on its own.

Sunflower,

they gave me so much orange pills in the labour ward, then it made my heart beat very fast, i was having heart palpitions, so when my gynae discharged me, he stopped giving me those. say its not SGH policy and practice to discharge patient with nefidipine. then i very worried lor, cos now my tummy still hardens and sometimes it gets very painful.

they just ask me to come back if the pain goes on for more than an hour, and i can't sleep with the pain.

oh i wanted to go home, but they dun allow, cos i also developed pumonary embolism (blood clot from my leg travel to my lungs), so they wanted to monitor me..i kena have to do xray, hope my twins didn't get any exposure. sighs.

my followup is still every 2 weeks, next one is coming monday..

Sunflower,

so u are on bedrest? remember dun climb stairs, up or down, also cannot. dun carry heavy things also...

now i everyday use the bicycle ramp to get to the coffeeshop downstairs my hse, abit retarded, cos so many pple stare at me, but no choice. hehe

btw i am not on bedrest lei, cos of that blood clot floating somewhere in my body..

yeah will update you..you must take care also.

gera,

bicycle ramp? u meant u cycle? even worse than walking rite? u not given hospitalisation leave to bedrest? im bedrest now, either sit or lie down.

Sunflower,

no no, i mean i used the bicycle ramp instead of the stairs to get to the coffee shop at my place...walking on a slope is better than using the stairs mah..nah i dun cycle la, pregnant big tummy how to cycle? hehe

i got hospitalisation leave, but i dun work..so the leave is pointless to me..

Zaza,

yeah..SGH..why nobody deliver in SGH one? everyone is kkh or other hospitals..so nice that you are also delivering in SGH. i planning to choose B1. actually that time kenna preterm, they ask me chose B2, their B2 ward only got 5 beds lei, compared to 16 B1 beds and 8 A1 beds..

within that B2 class, 5 beds, (1 is one gynae old woman dying, right infront of me, i am in between 2 women who had an miscarriage and another abortion, and another one coming in for gynae surgery. i feel so uncomfortable, so i upgraded after 1 nite stay to B1. sighs.

SGH their maternity ward is very pathetic, but B1 is so much better. i have not tried their A1 though. which ward u are choosing?