IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Oh Happy, register yourself with whattoexpect.com and you'll get a daily prompt of what to expect. V gd for us first time mummies.

Was at e BB fair just now, wanted to buy receiving blanket but kena stopped by my gf. She also stopped me from buying sterilizer.. Ahaha. I was wondering if I shd not go w her for e next fair~ wakakaka.

Des, why your gf stop you? She going to buy for u?
My gf stopped me from buying because she plan to buy for me lo.

I'm using Korea skin food anti stretch mark cream.

Hi hi, me using morhercare stretch mark cream... Dr loh commented I dun hv any marks so far, n i told him touch wood touch wood.

Bought e bb cot mattress Liao. Now my hubby pushin me to pack my bag. His turn to kancheong... Hee hee

joy,
no 2nd tablet cos alrdy dilating.
dr loh burst waterbag for me.
i managed to hv lunch, no dinner though.
yes, hb's role is to rub back & remind us to breathe

sunflower,
1 series is 1 movement also

re: stretch mark cream
dr loh mentioned patients get rashes easily while using palmers. be careful.

sunflower,
shld hv 10 movements within 12hrs

Bing,

cream is thicker than lotion. I find it too sticky in our humid weather.

Last pregnancy I started using from 2 months onwards but this time later coz I was feeling really week in 1st tri. No mood to apply.

Happy,

whatever u wanna do or eat, please check wz yr gynae first. Or can google for some information.

1st tri is crucial and pregnancy is not stable yet so no exercise. U only need folic acid now. I also took Vit C afterchecking with my gynae and stopped the rest of my vits.

After 1st tri and if u still suffer from MS, multi vit will worsen it.

Juju, maybe that's e usual lotion? I used e organic's version.

Vi4n, which one ur fren getting u - e receiving blanket or sterilizer? She stopped me coz she felt all these are non necessities. For sterilization, she said just use hot boiling water... I also blur. To buy or not to buy? @_@

Despondent,

Boiling is very leceh. Ask her if she gonna help u to boil. :p

My belly button is out too. Dh said like Chix backside. Wakaka...

Des, my belly button also coming out ha ha if belly is getting bigger I think will pop out also. So the saying that pregnant with boy then will pop out not true. My friend is also having girl n belly button pop out already.

My friend got the sterilizer for me. U can listen to your friend but at the end it is still you who are using the products.
I chose to use sterilizer so after sterile can leave the bottles & etc inside. I don't have much space in the kitchen. If use traditional method worry will forget to watch fire & etc.

Today I'm not very productive. Went out for lunch then walked at Toa payoh hub then home slept woke up dinner n now jus watching tv ;)

Des, I think next fair don't go with her ha ha..

Singapoh, u got the prenatal massage already? I ym u asking whether u want mdm Ida no. ?

des,
i wanted to use boiling water de. then, too troublesome. sterilizer better. unless u got help.
kids dunno wat is preggie. hb's nieces & nephews said i fat when preggie...

des,
no idea... but if u dun get any rashes, then ok to continue lor.

btw, ladies, do chk ur creams dat they dun contain excessive vit A & retinol or something. not encouraged for preggies...

Paiseh.. How is sterilizer helpful leh? Also need time to sterilize right? What vi4n said about using it as storage make sense but does that mean e bottles keep being steamed/sterilized?

My mum who used e boiling water in e past, also told me to get one but can't really tell me why it's better leh (maybe we didn't talk at length abt it).

Des, sterilizer got timer one mah. So it will off automatically then jus leave it there n take whatever u wanna use lo. Sterilize shoulde be very fast, so u don't use 1 bottle then sterilize one la. I think after use wash it then accumulate in the sterilizer till full then sterilize.

If u keep the sterilizer lid close, e bottles inside will remain sterilized for few hours.

Wash used bottles and keep aside. Dun mix with cleaned ones. After all hv been used, just put all in the sterilizer to sterilize.

Oh singapoh, so we don't accumulate inside sterilizer? But once we take out first bottle to use will open the sterilizer already mah?
Or can we after sterilize then jus fixed up the bottles then keep it outside until we going to use?
Or I read in the forum they said after sterilize put in tupper wear or ziplock bag n store in fridge?

I was thinking e other ladies must be thinking why I cannot just guai guai and buy sterilizer, close case. Hahaha. Find myself abit stupid to require convincing on this. Haha.

Btw,at today's fair, Pigeon selling a 3-in-1 sterilzer (sterilizer, milk warmer & food warmer combined) at $159. Thought deal quite gd but service was poor. When I separated from my gf, went to look at Avent, & they cldn't even b bothered but simply told me it's out of stock.

Vi4n,

for me I m ok. I will use the sterilized bottles inside. It's not practical to keep sterilizing 1 or 2 bottle.

U can also rinse with hot water first before u use. No need to use Tupperware or zip lock la. So leceh. Just make sure yr hands are washed before making milk.

re: steriliser
i jus put in the qty i nid, then take out wat i wanna use wif clean hands. after finish using, then sterilise another batch.

des,
mdm ida only do prenatal btw 6 to 8 mths

Singapoh, so can leave the remaining of the sterilized bottled inside the sterilizer la. Ok ok ;)

des, normal la. We don't know what best to buy mah.. I've been pestering my friends on brands to buy since 1st tri. From breast pad, wet tissue, pump, bottles. U name it I asked before. Even asked for so many times I only bought after many times in & out stores. ;) till now I haven't buy thermometer.

Vi4n,
I read that there's also chemical sterilizing using sterilizing tablets right? Seems like it's not so gd to expose our bbs to the chemicals right?

Can share with me the gd brands to buy for different bb products? I'm really not familiar with all these bb stuff and most of my gfs don't have kids yet..

i am also wondering about this sterlising issue too! right now i m only sterilising the things i need to express BM> so sterilise many times aday.

I was wondering if i can sterilise all at one shot, but not sure if it's safe, cos i will use the rest like hours later.

in the future, like say wanna go out n all. can i sterilise and keep in tuperware n bring out?

how long can sterilised bottles n etc last?

or if i sterilise and take out what i need, n leave the rest in the steriliser, can i use it like hours later. is there a time limit, b4 it bcomes "unsafe" like bacteria etc..

thining abt my future. haha, if wanna go out have to be able to with clean bottles etc.

Vi4n, I missed e spree on e thermometer e last round. Have asked e lady to inform me when there's another one. When she does, I let u know. If too late, try e other link Sunflower gave, cost $90 or $95 I think.

Bing, no idea le. I thought jus put water in the sterilizer?? I haven't read the instruction yet. I haven't even take out the sterilizer from the plastic bag ha ha.

For the brands, I bought mostly from pigeon, only bottles from avent n manual pump.
Bathtub from puku. Stroller combi. Cot roccio. Baby carrier naforye from bp.

Des, hubby don't let me buy the thermometer from forum wor. For electric stuff he prefer to buy from store. I should buy it from Robinson sale haiz. Will check out John little sale this coming week.
Do u ladies know which John little is biggest? Marina square?

Oxidised, if outside will use hot water to rinse it first I think? Or as long teats n inner bottle not exposed since sterilize should be ok??

vi4n:cos ah if sterilise each time i use.. now it's stil ok for me. cos they'r still in hospital. but next time. tired man!

i been reading, websites say can sterilise n keep in tuberware in fridge. if outside i think can use hot water rinse it first..

cos i think my pigeon steriliser can only keep items in there for 2 hrs (i think)

anyone do the sterilise then keep in fridge thing?

Vi4n, I happened to call John Little just now. Not all outlets have nursery dept (as I was asking abt pumps). They told me only orchard & marina sq outlets have.
But dun know when Orchard outlet is closing down as today's their last day of "exit" sale. If u r gng all e way to JL to get 1 stuff, sugg u call them first.

Vi4n,
I just read it from a book. I think maybe this method is not commonly used here. Anyway, I've not seen a real electric sterilizer before, I only remember seeing my mum sterilizing my younger brother's bottles by boiling them in a pot last time. Which brand of sterilizer did you get?

I've never heard of brands like coccio or naforye before..really mountain turtle right ;)
I should start doing some window shopping for bb stuff after my HL..

Oxidised, that's what I read from forum too on keeping in the fridge but my friends no one do that la. They jus sterilized then put back all the pieces n jus use it when they need to as long the teats are not exposed.

My sterilizer is pigeon.

Des, the $5 coupon I got can not use at orchard also. So jus plan to go marina then walk walk also lo.

Bing, roccio is bb cot brand. If u go taka, og u can check it out. Naforye is bb accesories they selling in the bulk purchase section. U browse around lo ;)

May i know if any of u experience backache at the early stage of pregnancy? I have been having this backache for days. Is it normal ?

re: sterilising
tablets r used in places like office or during holidays, when it's not possible to bring ur steriliser.
if u r using steam steriliser, jus nid to add water into the steriliser, the things u wanna sterilise & switch on can liao

Hi ladies, I just finishing pumping milk, tired sia. Cough still there, but better liao.

re:sterilising
I got pigeon rapid sterilizer, can store any kind of bottles. What I learnt from TMC antenatal class is that, after bottles being steam in the sterilizer. take out bottles and capped it, can leave it aside for 24 hrs, after 24 hrs if not used, have to steam again.
I chose steamer cos I got no maid, boiling them very troublesome.
re: stretch mark cream
I initally used mustela cream, then I used clarins oil. Still have stretch marks

Asked gynae, he said cream n oil is to moisturize your skin, cannot confirm dun have stretch mark one.
My gf was saying, having strecth marks depends on genes one. If mummy dun have most likely you dun have lor.

btw I didnt use sterilizing tablets in office. I just run through the pumps with hot water, then soak them in hot water in a container(non plastic).