IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, me still alone.

That's the problem with me. I'm the type who will think 'Lets see if I can tahan the next wave'. So normally by the time everything will be done deal. =) save $700 loh..

Joy,

if u expect the worst, u won't be disappointed

yaya
There is nothing I can control if things happen naturally for me. All I have to simply accept what's for me as long as my baby must be healthy and okay!

Thanks for your care!

vi4n,
same here! i was like, i can de, i can tahan de...
then when i cannot tahan, it was TOO LATE!!! 10cm dilated liao!

joy,
i was induced at 9am, waited till 6pm, no action. abt 7.15pm, inserted enema to move bowels. then about 8.30pm went back to delivery suite. water bag burst ard 9.30pm. bb was born ard 11pm

Juju, maybe that's e rationale for those who want to try natural ie. Keep psycho-ing ourselves we can do it? :p btw hor, u got use gas or other painkillers? Vi4n, like u, first time mah, dun know can tahan not? But hor, I think I cannot since u already cannot tahan menstrual cramps... :p I think I'll take epidural though someone has frightened me off...

Des,
I don't buy because hosp will give one, and i expect should have friends will give those 1 set new born pack.

vi,
cos he say i gei kiang, dun wan epi. until cannot tahan, beg for epi, too late. he love to tell ppl whenever ppl ask abt my labour story

des,
maybe u r rite. i was very insistent on natural birth. dat means, no c-sect, no drugs, no induction. dr loh ordered induction, so bo bian. had to have gas cos couldn't tahan the pain... ;p
receiving blankets r optional. u can opt to use towels?

vi,
yes, tmc will give each bb a hooded blanket, aka receiving blanket.
not all gift packs will have receiving blankets though

Ju, =)
good story to tell mah. hahhaha..

For TMC, practically no need to bring anything. everything for baby will be given.

Singapoh, I'm slightly low b4 preggy, but somehow now lower. Just came back fr Mt Al, bb moved only 4 x the whole day, so I call dr n he told me to go labour ward to do CTG to check heartbeat, confirm bb ok... Now happy n relief can sleep well tonight liao

des,
get bb towels. i like max cool, but ex. i got 2 of max cool. the rest of the towels, i buy those $1-2 types frm ntuc. quite ok...

Juju,

sometimes men can be real insensitive to our feelings. They can't even tahan the pain when their tooth being extracted. We are much stronger than them!

Despondent,

just buy 1 receiving blanket first coz u need to wash before u can use. Wrap yr bb when u discharge. I didn't get any receiving blanket as gifts, only baby clothes.

Berry,

are u taking iron supplement? Also eat a lot of lean meat, spinach, iron rich food. Also vit c for better absorption.

Yeah very important to keep track of bb movement in last trimester. Talk to yr bb daily

Singapoh I'm taking multivit with iron, also I take beef weekly so shd b no problem. My hemoglobin levels has always been abt 14 plus, not sure why bp is so low...
You r 34 wks already? Really envy u, can deliver anytime... Me still seem like long way to go

Hi ladies, Thanks for all the advise... just to update.. I went to the 24hrs clinic yesterday noon.. So crowded there.. Dr did scan but unable to see anything yet and he told me its normal coz i'm just 4 weeks.. Given progesterone injection and he asked me to increase my Duphaston to 3 times a day.. And he gave me another 5 days HL to rest at home the whole next week.. Wow, i didnt know that the injection is so painful that i can bearly walk...

Berry,

I will be 33 weeks next Tues. My body is aching all over. Am looking for my pre natal massage at home next Tues

now u better rest as much as possible. Is the iron enough in multi vit? The dosage is usually quite low. Eat more lean meat everyday. I m increasing my protein intake due to GD.

Dun worry too much ok

Brownie,

glad that u r alright. Rest well yeah...

They injected u with oil progestrone jab? I had that daily for 17 days during my 2ww of fresh cycle. So painful till can't walk and zzz properly :p

thanks juju for sharing your story.
No epi? no 2nd tablet taken? Your waterbag burst by itself or dr?

Singapoh & juju,
No need for fasting before induction? That i forget to ask dr/nurse.

Once you are in the labour ward, did the length of time count the charges?
Or just take the tablet and get out for walk??
I need to tell my hubby what to do..

Joy,

I remember I had my breakfast in KKH. U are going to see Dr Loh before the induction day right? Can check with him or the nurse for latest procedure and charges.

Just make sure yr dh take leave on that day. Nothing much he can do. Maybe rub yr back??

haha you funny.. ask dh to rub my back?
no, go directly to labour ward for induction on Fri.

Glad no fasting needed! I need food to give me more strength!
After induction, can eat & drink?? :p ha

Joy,

if u attend antenatal class before, dh's role is to rub our back, remind us how to breathe/pant, support us in delivery.

If I m not wrong, after 1st tablet waited for awhile, no action then I had my breakfast. Anyway they will clear yr bowel.

I didn't attend the antenatal class because I am fully occupied with work, so it is hard to spare some time.

my appointment time is 10am. Have to eat breakfast early first.

anyway thanks. I just go along what is being planned on the day itself.

desp,

thks for the concoction.

berrybaby,

how many times must the baby move the whole day?
1 time consider 1 kick ? or 1 time consider movements of 20-30mins? i read from somewhere, baby is most active during 24-28 weeks..usually 90% of their time is slping..10% is active.

i'm planning to get stretch marks cream. does anyone have any good recommendations on what you've use before?

i've also looking for some prenatal classes and exercise classes that is suitable for preggies. can share what u have tried?
thanks so much!

Happyhippo,
I just heard from my gf that most preggie ladies find these 2 brands of stretch mark cream gd - palmer's and clarins. Clarins is much more ex than palmer's but both work well. I am planning to get palmer's soon.

I've just registered for the prenatal course held in KKH. The ladies here find the course useful. How many weeks are you now?

bakaholic, bing
thks! spent the afternoon reading forums, ya keep seeing clarins and palmers mentioned. there is also motherlove. wonder if anyone tried its all herbs.

i'm only in 7/8th week. errhh... but how do u count the number of weeks? start from when?

actually which week are we ready for pre natal classes? must u be a patient of kkh to attend their prenatal classes?

bakaholic, where do u go for prenatal yoga?

thks so much for all the advices

Happyhippo,
Your ET day is considered week 2. When you BFP that time should be around week 4. Check with your gynae later. She/ he can tell you the no. of weeks based on ultrasound scan.

They advise you to start attending the Antenatal class from week 16 onwards. Non-kkh patients can also attend. Where did you do your ivf? Your hospital may have such classes as well?

You can take a look at the course details below
http://www.kkh.com.sg/EducationAndTraining/ClassesAndForums/Pages/EventDetail.aspx?_id=0fd40f5c-7d12-4608-87e3-ddfbb3b4d82a

hi bing
thks for the info. my ivf was done in gleneagles. ya think i will call to find out later weeks.

wonder if anyone on this thread is with gleneagles too?

singapoh
oh? ok, thks for sharing tat. which brand are u using?

ladies who have been true first trimester,can share wat are some things we should be doing at this stage, in terms of diet, exercise, taking care of our body... sorry i blur blur .. not sure where to start... hope to get some advice from all of you. thks

Happy,

I m using Palmer's since my 1st pregnancy then continue with their firming lotion. Now back to stretchmark lotion.

In 1st tri, no exercise/intercourse. Rest as much as u can. No Chinese herbs/multi vits. After that, still got to take care of yourself throughout yr pregnancy

Singapoh,
is there any difference between the palmer's strechmark cream and lotion? Which one works better and when shall I start using? Before or only when tummy starts to show?

singapoh
oh u mean we cant exercise in first trimester? i was thinking of going swimming. i feel my body very lerthagic leh.

also why no multivits huh? i tot we shd hv as much vits as possible?

Bing / hippo, I recall someone on this thread also said Clarin's gd but Palmer's more readily available. I'm using e organic Palmer's. I have sensitive skin but so far ok leh. If u getting, and can wait, try buy during bb fair. Cheaper and usually throw in some samples of their other pdts like sachets of their firming lotion.

Happy, i guess depends if ur doctor prescribes multi vits for u? Dun buy off e shelf! I think our doc in KK don't prescribe during 1st tri as most of us wld have our MS. waste $ and causing ourselves more discomfort in swallowing them right?

Joy, all e best. Dun worry too much for ur hubby, he's old enuff (and he's gng to be a dad!) to manage his own time. I think he wld want to be supporting u instead of having u worry over him.