IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bee,
I'm trying to avoid putting baby in maid's room.... Gotta try figure out how to fit her in my room so that she'll be comfortable.

Tickles,
good that u can let off the gas... Definitely will feel more comfortable... When I had ms I couldn't burp, n that's very uncomfortable... Even taking gassy drinks didn't help sometimes....

Singapoh-thks

bee-cos weekend I look after my boy myself, so I lazy to bottle feed him. but then this worried mummy scared bb did not drink enough milk. actually after suckle from 1 side for 5 to 10 mins, he is still wide awake, i think he needs to burp so I stop latching him n burp him, then he doesnt seems interested to drink more than I just play with him lor. Then super scared him scream abt 2.5 to 3 hrs I latch him again, the cycle repeats. Never managed to let him latch both sides at 1 feed. But I realised that every nite I latch him he suckles quite long, maybe for comfort sake bah. And at nite very strange one no need to burp him, so i just let him suckle n I cont sleep.

Tickles,

when I did my fresh cycle, I had daily progestrone oil jab for 17 days. Ouch!

I had so many side effects during the 2ww. Bloated, nauseous, gastric, diarrhoea.

I gained 5 kg. I felt like I was 5 months preggy. Once I stopped the jab, my weight slowly went back to normal. I lost all 5 kg. Lost another 1.5 kg in my 1st trimester. My MS was considered mild. Appetite was ok but ps 3 times a day!

Twinstar,

demand feeding need not to be From baby.
U can demand him to drink too.

Take cue from him. If u see his lips moving or searching for something means he's hungry. Dun hv to wait till he screams. He will Inhale more air if he cries. If u direct latch him, u dun really need to burp him if he's an older baby.

bee, i dun haf big hse too. unless i sleep in living room.

vi4n, i m going to 32 wks in 2 days. hope to stretch for 2 more weeks.

eskimobaby, i oso jealous type. when my cat start to be closer to my maid, i jealous already. esp, when cat forgets the previous training. cat- i can let go. bbs, i dun think so.

Yumyum, u can do it.. ;)
don't move around too much ok.
I think can't avoid the risk for bb to be closed to the maid too but the child knows who is their parent n they will want to be closed to the parent more. I saw many example of my friends already. Their children still prefer to stick to the parent. But def we will feel sore or jealous when maid can pacify the bb better than us ;) normal bah..

Dear ladies, i have been breaking out in cold sweat whenever I sit up, stand or walk. I wonder is this bcos I've not been eating enough due to poor appetite n bad MS? Tmr is 9 weeks for me.

Starbabies,

Low blood sugar? I had 1 episode like that but it was in my late 2nd trimester. Try to take 1 sweet if it happens again. See it makes u better.

Also get up slowly from a lying down position. Let yr gynae know too.

Vi4n,

Thanks! My BP was ok when I went for my check up on Tues leh. Dunno wats wrong. I've just sent an email to my doc.

Singapoh, thanks! I'll try to take a sweet and c how but I've been craving for sweet drinks lately, I suspect cld b low blood sugar oso. Best part was I forgot to ask Dr Loh on tues cos too elated to c my bb's scan till I forgot wat I want to ask him. I've jus emailed him.

Thanks. I will try ur mtd n c how it goes in the meantime

Starbabies,

u dun hv too take too much sugar la. Can get natural sugar from fruits. Durian will be too high in sugar so eat moderately.

vi4n, I guess so. my reflex is jealousy but if bbs r well taken care of, tt is more impt. quite taxing on back, ligament, legs, piles, etc. now. hanging on. try to imagine carry 3 big bbs home:D

spiffy, juz prayed for you n bbs.

singapoh, I haf their week 30 weight only. hope by now they gain more. 1.43kg for my girls, 1.58kg for my boy. tot durians help them to put on.

starbabies,

when i was first tri, i am like you..almost fainted in mrt or when doing grocery.. i had to squat down to rest each time because my ears turned deaf and eyes almost blackout.. afterwhich, i start having cold sweat..but i think thats due to bad MS..after first tri, i dont have such problem..so u must take care k.

Sunflower, I'm like that too. N now at 3tri it started again. Plus now tummy big even more easy to get breathless. Even sitting down

Sunflower, u oso had bad MS? How long did urs last? I've been having bad MS too since tested positive. Have been on hospitalization leave too, lying on bed everyday. I remembered last wkend I went to carrefour at suntec city, in the end didn't get to do grocery shopping cos was breaking out in cold sweat.

Singapoh, I've been vomitting every other day too. Sometimes vomitted gastric juice cos nothing to vomit. The feeling is terrible man...

Vi4n,

yr breathlessness could be because yr baby is in breech position. I read somewhere before. It's pressing on a certain organ. Once she turns her head down, u shud feel much better.

starbabies,

yes, mine very bad..vomitted non-stop everyday. i literally hug the toilet bowl and bed. i couldnt eat or drink anything. 1 piece of soda biscuits took me 15mins to finish.. was hospitalised due to dehydration, so was given 1-mth hospitalisation leave..everyday im just counting down to end this bad nitemare..my MS was totally gone on week11..

Vi4n and Singapoh,

oh, i had breathlessness too..

starbabies,

oh ya, if u start early, shld end early.. mine started exactly at wk5, and end at wk11.. if ur company is ok, then take a longer hospitalisation leave..else like me, after that 1 mth leave, when i go back office, was suffering..

Starbabies,

Your cold sweat could be due to increased hormone levels and metabolism of your body? I also read from somewhere that your blood sugar and blood pressure tend to be lower during the first few months of pregnancy. Maybe eating regularly with small meals will help? Did Dr Loh reply to your email? I emailed him twice but no reply from him. When are you seeing him again? It's the best to check with him. I think Dr Loh is really generous with HL. Rest well and I hope you get better soon.

I also started to develope MS 2weeks ago. I feel like vomiting all the time and don't have appetite to eat at all. The sight or smell of fish can make me puke. As I can't take dairy products due to lactose intolerance, I dunno how my bb can get protein and calcium. Hope this MS can go off soon.

Even though I read that the bb draw the nutrients on the mother's reserve in the first trimester and does not depend on how much we eat, I am still a little worried. I hope that this is really true. Otherwise my bb will be malnutrition based on the miserable amount and choice of food I eat now.

Sunflower. Wah, it mus b really hard on u, ur MS was really bad. Yes, I've heard of ladies being hospitalized due to dehydration caused by MS. Dats y kept forcing myself to drink at least 8 glasses of water a day no matter how hard it is to swallow.

I've been on hospitalization leave since mid Mar due to bleeding n then bad MS. I've told my boss I'll b resting till my first trimester is over, dat is somewhere mid May. I'm considered lucky as my bosses have given me their blessings to rest at hme. They totally understood how precious this pregnancy is to me as I've been trying for so long. I offered to apply for no pay leave but my boss insisted that I shld take hospitalization leave since my doc is willing to give me as he sees it as an entitlement. I guess I'm really blessed to have such a gd boss after reading so much abt horrible bosses in this forum

Bing,

it's true that bb draws from our reserve in 1st tri. I was eating like a baby but both babies grow well.

U can always take soy product if u are lactose intolerant like soybean milk with added calcium (not those freshly made ones), tofu, veg, etc.

Starbabies,

u are really lucky to hv such nice bosses. 1st tri was really exhausted for me. I was feeling weak all the time and still got to take care of my active son. My maid only arrives after my MS is gone. :p

My mum came to stay with me for a week and I left my son at my MIL's home for a few days. Really tak boleh tahan liao. Other than that, I was on my own.

Bing, thks for the advice. Yep, I've been having small meals cos I can't eat a full meal now, makes me puke. Oh dear, I wonder if I'll soon become a bulimic? Haha

Dr Loh usu will reply to my email on weekdays but I've nvr tried emailing him on a sun. He has not replied. However, I've oso heard he replies to email depending on the seriousness of the case. I guess he has to do that if not there will be really too many emails for him to handle. But nvm, let's wait n c if he replies? My nxt appt wif him is on 27 Apr. Tmr I'll b going to KK again to do the Oscar test.

Same as u, I've not been eating well and not eating meat esp. Eating has become such a torture to me now. But Bing, dun wori abt bb development during first tri. I'm sure our body is made by nature to handle pregnancies, jus eat n do wat u can n all we can do is to 'ren' until it gets better. Keep imagining ur bundle of joy in the end and all these sufferings are worth it

Ya, my bosses really very very good pple

Singapoh, I know it's not going to b easy to have MS n then still hv to look after a child. My goodness... I think i'll sure break down if I were u, now like dat I already tak boleh tahan :p

Sunflower, no need to envy me la cos they oso said when I go back I have to be ready for the tonnes of work waiting for me. Haha :p

Anyway, my bosses are pro-family cos I'm working in the government sector. I understand dat in private sector, many bosses can't afford to be pro- family cos at the end of the day, it's the profit margins dat is the concern.

Singapoh,

Your reassurance makes me feel much better and less guilty now. I am taking tofu and yoghurt to replace other dairy products which I can't take. Wow, it's really not easy to handle MS and still have to look after your little boy. I think you are really a tough mama

Starbabies,

Yeah I heard that Dr Loh only replies to email selectively. I guess my emails were not urgent enough to draw his attention. Oscar test is to check for Down's syndrome and it includes blood test and ultrasound scan right? I thought it's usually carried out at the end of the first trimester?

Eating is also a torture to me now. I could walk into a foodcourt during lunch or dinner time, walk one round and find that all the food make me feel like puking now. You are right. Let's endure for the time being and enjoy the fruit of our labour at the end of the sufferings

Thanks for your well wishes. My hubby and I have no preference for gender, as long bb is healthy becos the whole episode was a roller coaster and it was a miracle that the pregnancy is progressing. I guess the old folks will be happy to know.

There is nothing i can do about my conditon. Doc have to monitor closely and i am currently taking aspirin to thin my blood.

Despondent,
I have not start my yoga yet. Been too busy over the last few weekends. I will try calling them this wk.

Bing,

I had no choice ma. My mum is in Malaysia and she's not young anymore. MIL got her own life.

I could only swallow noodle, leafy veg and fruits. Dr Loh told me to eat more meat coz I felt giddy. I tried but hard to swallow meat.

Let me vent out awhile and sorry for d long post.

We were having dim sum w my ILs n they asked my hb what is our plan for my confinement. But I did not join in d conversation coz I was talking to my SIL. So later in d day I asked my hb what they say, isit they prefer me to go over to their hse for confinement. He said yes coz 1 thing they scared my hse lack of things n other is tt my MIL hav to cook for me everyday. I told them b4 tt I prefer to do confinement in my own hse when they asked me last time. Coz 1 time I feel more comfy at my own hse. Plus they dont hav an extra bed for me, only mattress. I cant possibly sleep w my SIL right? I understand it is more convenient for me to stay w them during tt mth coz my MIl is doing d confinement for me. She can rest whenever possible. But I dont really want to face them 24/7 even thou its hard. I have no exp in handling bb n my hb nds to work d next day. She feels tt I wont b able to handle 2 bb at d same time which I feel is true la so it will be better if I were to go over.

Another thing she told me I cant bath during d 1st mth let alone washing hair!!! I juz said my mum told me can but nd to use herbs. I mean its so unhygienic not to bath for a month esp if I can breastfeed!!! She is for my own good but isit so disgusting not to bathe??? Now I know she is strict in d confinement rules. I cant imagine spending 2 mths w them. I feel abit lucky tt we managed to touch on d bathing topic now rather than after giving birth.

I am so bothered by what my ILs told me tt i feel v moody for d whole day. It's not tt I dont want to listen to them. But I cant say yes to everything they say. Even b4 this issue, I had a dream couple of weeks back. I dreamt tt ppl asked me which bb is who. But I cant answer them, only my MIL can tell them coz I cant differentiate. And my PIL's room has 2 bb cots. My coll told me I was stressed out. I told her maybe lor, subconsciously. How? How? I cant throw temper at them coz they are not my own parents even they are v good to me and I dont want to make things diff for my hb also. Haiz..

Skies,
why dun u get ur own mum to do ur confinement? If u r having twins u definitely need all the help u can get.. For confinement issue, u really need to discuss with ur hubby n not keep quiet abt it... It's really quite stressful as 1st time mummy and during the 1st month u wouldn't want the added stress of accomodating ur PIL's practices. If can't get ur own mum to do confinement, at least convince ur hubby abt doing confinement at ur own pl as it's more practical too if not u have move alot of things to n fro esp baby stuff. If u want to breastfeed u will need to be as stress free as possible. Just talk it out with ur hubby... as for confinement practices such as bathing issues can also iron out... many ppl r using herbs to bathe nowadays so after hearing from relatives n frens ur PIL might see the "light".. Or u can bring them to medical shop n let the ppl there convince them... Dun stress urself out now u still have a lot of time to settle things... Most important for u to enjoy ur pregnancy now since we've gone thru so much to get pregnant.

eskimobaby,

My mum cant take leave for whole month. And also, my MIL already said that she will do d confinement for me le. As for bathing issue, I dont care lor. I will bathe using herbs.

Juz that it came as a blow to me when they told me I cant bathe. I tot they are quite open le n personal hygiene should b practise esp w newborns. Not that I want to keep quiet bout this but have to find a way to "drill" my idea into them w/o provoking them.

Skies,

if money is not an issue, hire a CL and do yr confinement at home. Yr MIL can go over to help anytime.

When I did mine, my MIL also ask why I bathe everyday. I told her this is not China with 4 seasons so we shouldn't be following too strictly.

You really need to be relax during yr confinement in order to produce milk and prevent post natal depression.

U dun hv to keep quiet or follow their rules coz u are already an adult, not a 3 year old.

Hey, I have a few queries to ask, how do you wash the following to prep for a newborn:

- Hand-me-down clothes
- Hand-me-down cloth nappy
- New clothes
- New milk bottles
- Hand-me-down breast pump
- Hand-me-down car seat and high car
- New stroller (this one need to wash and sterilize or not har)?

Skies,

in IVF, our twins are fratenal so should be able to differentiate them even if they are the same gender.

My MIL is very superstitious type. Sometimes I tak boleh tahan her also. I can be quite sacarstic. Keke... I m not yr role model hor...

Stb,

wah u were so quiet during the weekend. Busy shopping ah?
I washed everything.

Stroller/carseat ~ if u can take out the padding and wash. Sun it.

New/old clothes wash near EDD.

Breastpump/bottles wash and MUST sterilize.