IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

stb, am using a glucose meter n is very percise, it goes by number readings. is like those who take glucose tolerance test but that is on a big machine. the urine one that KKH test b4 seeing doc is crap! it does not tell u anything other than colour.

am not gan cheong la. is good to know. since am 20 wks leow n wun see doc in another 2 wks time.

Hazel,

the urine strip colour during routine test tells u either u hv glucose in yr urine or not. If it shows in yr urine means it's high. Blood test is to investigate further. That's what the consultant told us during the course.

like everytime i go see GP now for sick leave, will ask him to take my blood pressure n it is always good!

but at KKH, it is always higher! the last visit at KKH was high! Co GP told me usually patients are kan cheong when see doctors so blood pressure will shoot up. he said need to rest for 30mins upon arrival also b4 BP test. if not, not accurate also.

he said my BP is good, dun hv to worry.

Hazel, like that still not kan cheong har? Then I wonder those like me one, we are simply overly bo chap liao lor...

U relax and enjoy ur pregnancy lar....e more u think of it, e more it may come true leh *touch wood touch wood*..so best, don't even think abt it.....and jus b happy! 8)

I think hor, if u continue like tt, u may be running in and out of KKH v frequently due to false contractions at the later stage...relacccccccccccccccc.....

Singapoh, his glucometer he buys one. i usually test him in the AM when he wakes up. he nv test 2 hrs after food one. his doc nv require that as long as his average glucose readings are reasonable. am on leave today coz he got check up just now... hehehe

and i cant find the 2hrs chart in my drawer that comes with the glucose meter mah...

yes, but glucose in our urine is not accurate. coz some pregnant ladies cld hv just eaten. i ever asked the nurse b4 if i shld avoid eating 2 hrs b4 going to KKH since there will be a urine test. but she said no need! that is why i said is crap

if we dunno, eat lunch late, at 2pm, take test at 3pm, sure will hv glucose in the urine one.

like bbhp, she cleared the gluscose tolerance test. she must hv eaten something close to the urine test timing in her prior visit.

Ju, hubby doesn't like brown rice, so MIL can only cook white rice lor...everything in the family is cooked to my hubby's preference....

Last night, my maid cooked filippino dishes...none to my hubby's liking..in the end, i accompanied him out for dinner and i ate again..hiak hiak.....fat fat mummy on the way...8P

stb, is not worried. is awareness. coz like what Singapoh shared, is a lifestyle thing unless is in our genes.

so, things are usually reversible if we know early n be mindful. better than on a road of no return.

actually, i wan to tell u something as a friend... hope u dun mind... u r having too much coke n soft drinks. pregnant does not mean can indulgue in that extend. is very bad for your organs especially when they hv to cope with 2 now including ur boys. u are only making your organs work harder.

if u can take coke n soft drinks so often, how abt ur kids next time? if u are not setting a good eg, how u expect him to follow? these are a no no for children. he may have good genes. but it can be destroyed by his lifestyle later in life.

i hope u r not offended.

be it my hubby likes it or not next time, my girl is going to take brown rice. hubby hates that too. he wun take. if he does not want to eat, then he starves. end of the day, he shld think abt the health of his children. a good lifestyle starts from birth NOT when things start to go wrong

Hazel,

doesn't matter if u hv eaten or fast before the urine test, if yr body can't break down the sugar, it's in yr blood already. And bad enuf to show in urine.

Understand bor???

Hazel, don't worry, not offended as ur tone sounds more concern than ur usual fierce fierce and insistent tone..hehehe...

Not that I'm not concerned abt my own and my son's health, jus that I'm not that strict in certain aspects, however, I m careful in my overall intake.....

Thanks for ur concern and advise! 8)

i told my hubby's doc just now. am pregnant but yet i dun hv GD and i dun eat as much as my hubby. he laffed n laffed. he told me end of the day is a lifestyle thing. be it good or bad genes. pp with gd genes have an advantage, but that can be destroyed by bad lifestyles. pp with bad genes who lead a healthy lifestyle can hv a quality life also. end of the day is one's choice.

i told dh, i need to be healthy coz we married late, hv children late, thus if i am not healthy, my bb's insurance cost will be very ex... coz some policies, the health of the policy buyer is also important.

i dun think making an effort to know my BP n gluscose readings are kancheong. coz awareness is impt esp at early stage. coz that is the time where most things can be undone.

Singapoh, i dun agree on that. coz if test in <2 hrs, will sure fail. my dad did that many times when he went for health check up.

anyway, dun argue on this. end of the day, we healthy bb healthy are the most important

Hazel,

someone told me this certain brand of brown rice taste like jasmine rice. Can't remember liao. Dun hv to starve yr dh

There's nothing to argue abt. U just can't accept the fact. The consultants in ODAC are trained for GD. I believe they know much more than us.

Singapoh, he only likes white rice! brown rice, unpolished rice, etc are all very healthy options. but he just refused to take. his mum's maid cook he will not make noise but he just dun eat. i cook he will quarrel with me

actually, he is diabetic he can only blames himself. he has bad genes. but do u know that he loves soft drinks since 7 yrs old?!? every meal has to be accompanied by a can of soft drink. he carried on this lifestyles for >20 yrs n then hit the road of no return.

his younger cousin is a replica of him now. newly married. i hv been telling him, pls stop coz he too has bad genes. enjoy while still enjoy but not accessive. wait until cannot enjoy coke, like my dh, then too late leow. of course, he still carries on his soft drink diets... sigh...

Stb,

u wan me to carry u or what? Keke... Am not suppose to carry heavy stuffs. I already took out many things from my handbag. Later got to do marketing..

that does not explain whey women who have glucose detected in the urine but subsequently cleared the gluscose tolerance test which is tested 2 hrs after drinking the sweet sweet drinks.

maybe they can dun wait for 2 hrs to test next time since there wun be any impact.

anyway, doc are not saint. some are good, some are average n some basically cant be too bothered. docs make mistakes too not to mention names.

just that some fertility gynae will tell men with bad sperms test results to see urologist, and do surgery. but some fertility gynae wun even propose. they are all specialists.

1 gynae told me my polyps wun affect fertility. coz womb so big, not necessary embyro will plant there, so dun hv to remove. but dr loh told me, to remove AND the best parts are both doctors are colleagues n are each other backups!

dun they need to give consistent views?

Ok ok...Hazel, before u move onto the path of no return again, let's not discuss abt GD and diet for the meanwhile.......

Please i nv say i am a saint. i can also say the same thing, u cant accept what i said too. coz these are all factuals. like the 2 hrs wait for glucose tolerance tests. tell them dun need to wait 2 hrs to test then since what they said is true. waste patients time to wait 2 hrs only.

stb, at times, i just hate pp faning fire there. it actually is harmless talk. but some just fan n fan n cant wait to see a fire.

anyhow, u know am just concerned over u.

Thanks ladies.

Hazel, yeah I passed the glucose tolerance test yesterday. Like what Singapoh mentioned before, the drink which the nurse prepared was very very sweet. After drinking, I dun feel hungry anymore but on contrary feel like puking. Hmm..actually I have "cramps" quite frequent recently but I am not sure if that is the contractions which some ladies have mentioned. It is slightly more painful than cramps but still bearable to me. I did not tell Dr. Loh abt this but he just prescribed the nifedipine and asked me to take from mid April onwards. Perhaps you will get it from him in your next visit too.

Singapoh &amp; Stb, thanks for letting me know that i'm not the only one with little weight gain at 20 weeks. From now onwards, I shall try to eat more and hopefully I can put on more weight for my next visit at 25 weeks. Btw Dr. Loh said my gal's head position down liao whereas my boy is above my gal but position horizontal. He said I can have natural delivery.
I was wondering how come my gal so fast position down liao...

Despondent, yap I completed and cleared the OGTT yesterday. YEY!!! U just need to watch your diet from now on and also DO NOT have sweet drinks just before any test. I am speaking from experience.

bbhp, now u can start ur shopping spree! yes do eat more. but choose healthy food okay. i still got to wait 2 weeks to see my girl again... so when is ur next visit?

Singapoh, actually in most times, if we are discussin something on our own, is always harmless n friendly exchange. but things get out of hand, when there are pp faning at the back scene... n that makes me boil.. n is not you... anyway, bad for bb... have to be happy always! :p

bbhp, u experienced cramps? hm... i nv have that. actually, dr loh can know if u are really having contractions. coz there are machines he can strap u to, to find out.

so u saw both ur babies moving alot yesterday? what did dr loh said abt tapping?

ladies - i ask u are since this morning my tummy has been feeling one kind ... hard then soft then hard again ... i'm so worried

Hazel, there will be detailed scan in 25 weeks and 30 weeks. My next appointment to see doc is 25 weeks with the detailed scan. Yap, I drank ice milo prior to the test. Dr Loh did not scan me at TPS cos I just had the detailed scan at ADC. He just looked at the photos which the sonographer printed out for him. My gal is more obedient and cooperative throughout the scan. It takes about 15mins to complete all the test and measurements. Boy is alot more hyper-active, keep moving his head, legs and hands when the sonographer tried to take measurement. He also doesn't want to move his position so that sonographer can take picture of his spine though we waited a while. since he dun move, I've no choice but to move my body left &amp; right then can take picture. Told hb that the boy will be like him so mischievous and naughty...haha

zaza, sounds like hardening that Singapoh described earlier... see what advise she can offer later.. me no experience on this

After we left KKH then i remembered that I forgot to ask abt the tapping. Forgetful me! Perhaps too excited over the gender and forget all abt it liao...hehe :p

Singapoh, same as you. I feel that my belly is getting harder and tighter recently. During the detailed scan yesterday, the sonographer(china woman) pressed so hard on my tummy that my tears nearly rolled down.
After the 1hr scan, I had slight stomache and feel very uncomfortable.

bbhp, think coz u are carrying twins. so dr loh proposed more scans. i think he will not ask me to do anymore scans. i will only do the 22 detailed scan at Camden. Prof said scan at 22 wks better than 20 weeks coz can see more...

so subsequent visits u know. 2 hrs b4 urine test, no sweet stuff. :p

Stb, u not reading my message well la. I'm exactly like that lo. Sitting down no urge. Standing n walking then super urgent.

Bbhp, u are my opposite le. I don't wanna gain weight as long bb is growing well. I'm at 29 weeks n only gained 4.5kgs. U take singapoh as the gaunge la since she is also having twin n lft. ;) she also doesn't put on a lot ma.

Zaza, how many weeks u are now? My tummy hardening can be whole day kind. But these 2 days I'm feeling baby movement again so not very worry. Will ask my gynae later whether that's Braxton hicks.

Skies, u are seeing lc cheng? I'm with wk tan le.