IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

soon-to-be,
JB prices may not be very cheap compared to SG. b4 u go, do chk out the prices in SG first.
alamak! dun take so many la. we all share share

esk,
my gal only wan 1 thing when she's fussy. her human pacifier! nothing else works!

Spiffy, yeah i'm having twins.

I went expo fair last weekend too & was quite disappointed with the scale of the event. Pigeon also dun have a booth there. But I din go home empty-handed, bought a few sets of BBs clothes, mittens and booties.

Soontobe,
it's good to start now. Cos really both hubby n I dunno how costly it can be for the daily necessities so we bought all the good stuff. Just the first month only, the diaper n milk powder money is quite substantial liao. So after confinement I must go source for cheaper diapers n things like wet wipes. Wet wipes one month I already use 5 big Pigeon packs!!

esk,
if u stay near amk, the bb shop opp amk polyclinic sells pigeon stuff cheaper than supermarkets. but i dunno whether cheaper than ang mo or not
at home, u can try to reduce wet wipes usage & bring bb to basin to wash her butt after pee or poo

bee,
oic, so Pampers is longer wor, I have not tried Pampers. Heehee.
Ya, you dont need to try new brands of diapers since you have found the right one for bb Jun.

Bee, where do you stay? You also go to Ang Mo supermart? The Enfalac and Enfapro fm selling there also cheaper than ntuc etc.

soon to be,
you are planning to buy Pureen diapers? If yes, better dont. I bought Pureen diapers, it was lousy and uncomfy. I think Giant and other cheaper brands are far better than Pureen.
Btw, I was just back from Malacca, the diapers there r not cheaper than in Singapore at all, in fact they are more exp, such as Mamy poko n huggies. But not sure about other areas in Malaysia.
You are not stingy lah, I can understand. You r just being more careful with all the spending and more thrifty esp after having kids. I think you are trying to be a good financial planner.

Esk, ya ya...i m always the conscious one. Though I also wan to gv my baby the best, I need to be practical..coz it's not only the initial years, we are talking abt the next (at least) 20 years of commitment....

Rose, wat kind of mum r u if u can even forget ur Own bb? I dun think tt is something u can joke abt.

I am a systematic person tt will keep a list to remind me. Either to pack or buy.

Bliss, thanks...look like everyone has v different experiences with their babies...I guess will jus buy the small pack to try till the little one is happy....

Soon to be,

I bot Pureen wet wipes in Jusco, KL. Rm10.50 for 2 pkt x 100 pc. Here S$11.60.

Diapers here $12.90 promo price. Msia Giant convert bk $14 + regular price.

Premium Pureen can hold a lot of urine and poops too until recently. My 2.5 year old son pee too much when he's zzz at nite. Leak out. So I changed to Mamy Poko for nite use.

Rose, to be honest, my hubby does think like Hazel, jus buy at KKH upon discharge...but I told him no and explained why..so, now he's letting me to take charge of the entire planning and jus pay and pay...hehehe....baby and mummy are daddy's money suckers!!!

Juju,
I'm staying in punggol. But now in bedok doing confinement at my mums pl. Will definitely check out Ang Mo supermart hehehe. Saw some Jodie pics before she on pacifier, she dun like ah?

Hazel,

I m sure u hv read abt bb being left in the car coz the mum/dad had so much on their mind. It can happen to anyone.

eskimo,
if your girl really needs pacificer, do give it to her. I just thought as parents, we better not be stubborn abt this, some bbs just need that, we must put ourselves in their shoes. And dont worry abt bbs get addicted to sucking it, it is still too early to say now. It is only bad for bbs to keep sucking pacificer if it is for long period n when bbs have most of the teeth out.

I personally feel that if my bb needs something to feel comforted and it is harmless, dont torture bb that way, just becos so n so researchers or specialists said better not. Individual bbs are different.
My eldest sis is the kind who read alot on the researches and western teachings of bb care, she stubbornly refused to let her 1st son to have sarong n pacificer when the bb really needed it when young. So the poor bb cried until face turned purple n green for many months and suffered alot and the parents also suffered from sleepless tiring nights.
Finally she regretted n surrendered and allowed sarong n pacificer for her 1st son and then later her 2nd son, and both boys become happy bbs when they can sleep well and no more crying.

Dont be too worried about your gal, I m sure you will find out what she wants soon and she will be v fine again.

Hazel,

I m also a very organize person. Always plan ahead.

But with a newborn, u will hv to be flexible. She will be the yr new boss. If u are too strict with plans and stuffs, u will get very frustrated and end up having post natal depression.

esk,
she will tk pacifier for a while o when she's super sleepy. when she is fussy or cranky, she dun wan pacifier.

bliss,
not everywhere in m'sia is cheap. malacca is like JB, not getting cheap. i got cheap bb stuff only in kuantan, teluk intan & kluang, those not very touristy places.

Singapoh, I realise that I'm getting more and more emo nowadays. Last night was watching a taiwanese variety show and heard this male actor singing a v v nice hokkien song (abt marriage and growing old with the spouse) to his wife..I started to cry and told my son that I wish my hubby will be in good health (hubby is heavy smoker and drinker) to stay old w me so that we can see him grow up, get married, have kids and for us to take care of his kids....

Hopefully it's not a sign of pre/post natal blues....I'm prayin v hard not to get it..hubby always feel that I will get it coz I'm always v emo...

eskimo,
I have been using small pieces of damp cotton wool to wipe bb's butt after using 1 or 2 pcs of bb wipes to wipe away the shit since he is born. But of course preparing the cotton wool is bit time consuming, however it is very cheap, clean n comfy for the bb. I make a few boxes of damp cotton wool pcs every time and can last for a few months.
You can try it, good if you have helper to do it for u. Remember that the water to wet the cotton wool must be cooled boiled water.

I bot 15 82pcs packs of pigeon wipes when i was preggy w my boy, he is 10 mths old now, I still have 1 n half pack left! I dont spend much on the bb wipes, cos I use more of the cotton wool pcs and also wash bb's butt at times after he poo.

soon to be,

ya Pureen is malaysia brand..if u go JB, dont go to supermarket to buy, sometimes can be comparable price to Singapore. go medical hall, its cheaper..u will be surprise that medical hall sells alot baby products..but has to be inner JB, not town area in JB because town area price is more expensive.

Soon to be,

it's normal to get emotional during pregnancy. Sometimes I would cry out of the blue. After crying I feel better. Dun bottle up yr feelings.

Rose, Then these pp r not fit to be parents. They better dun hv kids. Since they dunno wat responsibilites r.

Even husband n wife has a responsibility to each other. If dub wan such responsibility then better be single.

Nothing miss my eyes. Eg I pack my dh luggage whenever he travels. I pack his wkly medicine too. So I know even if he misses one intake. N nv one time he will can't find his things if I pack them. If he packs himself he always can't find this n that

Bliss,
my hubby say exactly the same thing as u. He knows I've been stressing myself over things like pacifier, not enuff bm etc etc. So must learn to let go. Cos my mood is affecting my baby's too.

Sunflower, jus troublesome one har? Personally we don't go to JB and shop. Hubby's fren asked us to go in together to buy baby's items, tt's y i asked whether indeed it is cheaper to get there?

Hi ladies, I'll be going for my 6 weeks scan later at kkh. Hopefully can detect HB later. Then I can be like the rest of you, sourcing for bb products le. Read so many of posts on bb products. My hands also itchy now, wan to buy also. Keke

Can also use wet cotton balls instead of baby wipes. Just dip cotton in plain water.

I wash my son's butt at the sink after poop. I find it cleaner. I dun use warm water coz I wan my son to get used to room temperature water. Outside can't find warm water to wash.

soon,

my sil is a malaysian..she knows where to get cheap baby products, so i follow her occasionally to check out..
milk powder, diapers, everything is cheaper than SG, and if u buy alot, the amount is quite substantial. but it has to be medical hall because supermarkets are more expensive. town area JB are famous to singaporean, so they tend to charge higher price.. since your fren ask u to go JB to buy, might as well ask him for medical hall which is further in JB.

alot pple scared to buy milk powder, but actually malaysian are also human beings, they grew up with malaysian milk powder. i cant deny there is a difference in 1 or 2 ingredients, but i have some malaysian frens having chubby babies too.

Soontobe,
it's normal to feel like that. I remember the time when I was preggy I can still cry when I watch reruns n somemore cry until very cham type. After giving birth even worse, cos more highly strung n stress so will cry more easily n also cry when hear of other sad baby stories. Crying it out is better at least it's a release. Talking abt this, I really miss the time when I'm pregnant hehehe.

Bliss,
I did buy one big roll of cotton wool but haven't use yet. How u prepare the cotton wool? Roll the cotton wool into balls n just put into container of cool boiled water? So when wanna use just take out, squeeze out water n use??

Haha, singapoh, I wun buy too early, dun wori. But, reading all the posts on diff bb products jus make me very excited. Haha. Cos last time can only c pple buy, hard to imagine it will b my turn soon.

Oh yes, one of the ladies mentioned abt the book called "What to Expect". I got it from my sis, it's a really gd book to read.. Been faithfully reading it for the past few days.

Starbabies,
no need to buy so early. I only started buying when I was like 6 or 7 months preg. Buy too early sometimes u will regret ur purchases hehe but it's already very enjoyable to just browse around. I can go back to the same pl every wk n still will have new thing to check out hehehe cos there'll be a lot of things to consider.

Eskimobaby, yes yes, I agree. Jus browsing makes me happy too

Btw, I've been having very bad MS lately. It lasts for the whole day. Every smell makes feel like puking. The sight of my fav food doesn't even interest me. I dunno if I'm lactose intolerant cos I noticed whenever I drink milk, the next day sure will go toilet n poo many times.

eskimo,
yes i bot the big rolls of cotton wool. I cut the cotton wool into big pcs (sides of abt length of index finger), then put neatly in a container, then once the container is full w cotton wool pcs, I pour the cooled boiled water into the container, the cotton wool absorbs the water and I squeeze the cotton wool with fingers and pour away the excess water. Then I separate the cotton wool pc by pc n stretch every pc a bit to make it bigger, then put into another container, so it will not be a big lump of cotton wool there. So when u need to wipe bb's butt with the cotton wool, the pcs are there ready to be used.

Sounds quite troublesome hor? But once you know how to do it, can do it v fast. My CL taught me this and my mum also did this for my sisters' kids in the past too.

If you find it very time consuming, you can do what Singapoh mentioned, just dip cotton balls or cotton wool pcs into plain water when u need to wipe bb's butt. This was what my mil did for her bbs in the past.

The main concern is using the cotton wool to wipe the area near the anus part, cos usually that area is more sensitive n gets red easily after pooing or being wiped too many times. So wet cotton wool is alot softer than bb wipes which will soothen the area.

bliss,
yes, even giant in kluang also considered cheap. lol
congrats on travelling wif bb Teng. is Malacca the 1st trip? u hv relatives in kluang?

starbabies/esk,
browsing after popping also fun. i'm still window shopping for bb things

juju,
thks. Yes, Malacca is the first trip overseas for Teng Teng. He enjoyed it alot. Tats why my hb wants to bring us out again soon, he is planning to Kluang, cos nearer and quieter.
No chance to go overseas for tour for some years once bb gal is out, so just go for short trip if possible for this tri, n I think I also cant go during 3rd trimester liao. I still carry Teng Teng now, but maybe quite siong later on.

Serene, Lina, Despondent, Yum Yum,

Thanks for the compliment. ;-) Yeah,

Serene,
Yeah. Times just flies when we last met each other at Dr Kumar's office. Till now, I just can't believe that I'm now blessed with 2 little boys after so many years of trying in IUI and iVF. I'm glad that I've never give up... My first cry of joy was hearing that I'm preggy after struggling 10 days in hospital due to OHSS. 2nd cry of joy was seeing 2 sacs. 3rd cry of joy was hearing my eldest first cry in the Op Theatre. It’s just memorable!!!! To all mummies to be, hang in there. u will definitely feel the same way as I do.

Despondent,
I do partial bf cos milk is still not enough to feed 2 hungry babies. Haaa… Moreover, I was advised to fully rest in the night so I leave the 2 babies to the CL for formula feed. As explained by my CL, I think the main cause is that I’ve eaten those confinement foods that expel wind. Thus during bf, my younger bb which has wind in his tummy is expelling wind too. Coincidently, I had diarrhea that night also. Now Baby Alesgo is feeling much better, same as mummy. Haaa…

Miraclebaby,
Your turn will come pretty soon! Hang in there… u will soon become a proud mummy of your little Baby. ☺

Starbabies,
wat u describe are all normal... If u suspect that u r lactose intolrant stop ur milk for a few days n see if u r still pooing so frequently. Sometimes it may be becos ur uterus is expanding n putting pressure on ur rectum n anus. If it is really becos of milk then let ur gynae know on ur next visit. I was given calcium pills during 2nd trimester.

Bliss,
will try it out when I'm free. Then can teach my maid n she can prepare it next time. Thanks!!

juju,
I can't wait to get out after confinement but I think need to over overcome the stress of bringing bb out before I can truely enjoy myself :p

starbabies, i suspect i'm slightly lactose intolerant, but i'm not complaining because i'll rather be able to move my bowels than constipation, which is a terrible thing when pregnant. you'll find as you get bigger that it gets harder to push. so i'll rather soft stools anytime.

Spiffy, I agree it's gd to be able to poo than to constipate
But I'm wondering will it affect bb if poo too much? As in losing all the nutrients from poo-ing too much?

Skies, I used to drink HL b4 preggy, no prob. Mayb will explore this or soya milk.

starbabies, depends, is it watery diarrhoea? if it is, then it isn't good. i diluted my Anmum milk too so that it isn't too thick.