IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

skies, you're not at KKH? If it makes you feel any better, dydrogestrone and nifedipine (our support pills) are not really proven to _really_ help with preventing preterm labour. Not enough studies have been done.

Vi4n, spiffy dh is right. at carefour, it has 10% discount last wkend, so the savings for The 24pc nb pamper is just 50 cents compared to the one at expo selling at 9 bucks.

Supermarket when there is discount, wun be too far off the sale at expo. So save also wun save alot.

Eskimo, the fengshui master needs ur dh n your 'ba zi' when he came up with ur bb girl names?

Spiffy, Singapoh, I pant n get breathless very often these days. Worse now as nose is blocked. Walking I pant, Talking I pant, sit down I pant also n now lying in bed I also pant. Cldnt take it so went to take mc this pm. N I feel very tired always. So 2nd tri so not as wat others said the best time for me...

As for diapers, will be getting pampers. Dun wan to risk tt later my bb got sensitive butt. ESP bb's skin is so thin n sensitive. I feel tt this kind of money can't save. Ex also no use. Later sensitive butt end up with bad nappy rash n need to see doc even more heart pain. Even my mum tells me to get pampers n no other brands. Coz my sil is super 'cat' those kind. She bought a few cheaper brands n end up the poor bb's butt suffer. Only pampers dun give problems. So she Bo bian hv to buy pampers..

hazel, it's quite natural to feel that the things that you used to do easily now becomes more laborious. Just do it at a slower pace..try exercising too, i think it helps.. i was still going for long walks in my second tri. Now i just stick to swimming. Sometimes after lunch i'll use the stairs at a very slow pace instead of using the escalator..

re diapers

actually it all depends on individual bb. i use pampers bcos it is longer than any other diapers and doesn't leak from the back. my boy poo can be quite a lot a time, what's more he has sensitive butt.. if anyone knows of diapers tt is as long as pampers, let me know
one piece at $0.38 can be quite shiong

esk, pampers do not have indicator for M onwards. nepia has indicator for S and M, not sure abt L yet. you can also call 62262650 to order $15 per pac and min order 4 pac, delivery is btw 1-3 days

note : NTUC always has promo for diapers. Last weekend, i just bought 2 pac at $28 something, slightly cheaper than the dealer...

Spiffy, bought some bb clothes n 2 bean bolsters. No hurry, Edd is end aug. A lot of items other than bb cot, stroller cum car seat all can be purchased at one stop. May/June there will be GSS. So lots of discounts at isetan n Robinson. Dh did say can start to buy some last wkend to space out the expenditure. But to me, end of the day still need to spend. Be it one lump sum or spaced out. I went taka n expo sales to check out the prices. Not all items r cheaper as wat pp say. There e just more free gifts, but alrady built inside the price. Like mandela pump, KKH pump in style already 100 bucks cheaper! Of course KKH no free gifts. But I rather hv cash savings than free gifts.

Except big ticket items like car seat/ stroller/ cott/ breast pump, like wat ur dh said, the rest wun save much. the time spent on queuing, luggng them around, etc may not be worth it. I will Just buy at GSS at robinson or isetan.

Spiffy, I walk already pant like mad n want to die already... :p

bb day to day stuff like shampoo, diapers, wipes, etc. I wun buy n stock either. Coz all brands I nv use b4. Pp can say this gd tt gd but is still indiv preference end of the day. Stock up later I dun like or bb dun like even more wasted. As long as I hv enough supply to last me 1 to 2 wks is good enough. My parents can get for me anytime if I need.

Even bottles, I most likely will just get 2 bottles or so. Bottles got wide neck n normal kind. I also nv use b4. How I know which I prefer? N how i know how many bottles or milk bags r enough to store BM? When needed then get loh. Buy so many later dun need as many very wasteful. spore so convenient. Just worried not enough money :p

hazel, no gurantee that pampers doesnt give nappy rash... if u really want to prevent nappy rash, then u will hv to change diaper whenever bb poo, even if it is just a little bit and use water to clean the butt instead of wipes. my boy fart quite a lot and sometimes, the fart comes with 1-2 drops of poo (he is on total BF, so poo can be quite watery). if i know, i will change his diaper though quite shiong, but sometimes i missed it. i hv been using water to clean my boy's butt since 2nd month, but his rash din go away completely... see doc also no use... haiz

Soon to be,
Pigeon bottles can fit into medela pump, but cannot turn tightly, twist somemore the bottle n pump will come out again. unlike medela bottles, can twist the bottle tight to the pump. cos mine is dual pump, hence if accidently turn the pigeon bottle the two of them will detach. hence i stick on medela bottles

nancy,
wah, one year break
good luck for your FET. i have taken one year break to take care of my boy and will return to work in Nov

Bee, thanks, that part I know. My mum told me already. Can't save on pampers. Anyway, my mum will be around n I will hv a CL also. The 2 kids at home nv have nappy rash under my mum's care. So, my bb will be in gd hands.

Spiffy, some of the stuff like herbs for making tonic during confinement, rice wine for bathng, some cloth diapers, bb clothes to wear at home, playpen, etc, my mum said she will get for me. So, I hv lesser things to buy n worry abt.

Spiffy, I have no idea how dated is that comparison, but I jus saw it on yesterday's discussion in the Jun MTB thread.

My hubby is like ur hubby, said dun need to save this money, jus buy when needed. But I told him I must buy the first set so that when baby is home, he has things to use. Furthermore I'm in my confinement, and the last thing I wan is for him n MIL to panic when they realise don't have this and don't have that and have to rush out and buy........but, we bought all the small bottles/packages so to try first.

Twinstars, thanks for sharing. I will try it again this wkend and c how it goes. Otherwise, jus have to remind myself to b extra careful when using those bottles.

Vi4n, I think Spiffy may bomb earlier than me coz she's carrying twins. Singapoh too. Now, I'm still seeing Dr Loh at 4 weeks interval...will be seeing him on next Sat (by then into wk 31), so will see wat he says lor...

Bee, Hazel's mum is know-all one, so u don't have to worry too much for Hazel....kekeke

Hazel, suggest u go slow on ur movts. When I first got preggy, my gfs already warned me that I was speaking and walking too fast...everything is now almost 200% slow motion for me. When I went out w my hubby on last Sat, I almost fainted coz we were walking at his normal pace and stopped to do something. Now hubby scared and asked me to walk at my comfy pace...he bo pian jus have to follow me though he said it's a torture for him to walk so slowly....hehehe

can I check how much r u feeding ur baby formula milk when they r one month old?? I'm already feeding 80ml n seems like not enuff. She will cry for milk after 2 hours n nite time will be worse. We tried to control her last nite trying to tahan for 3 hours n ended up she wailed for half the nite even tho we gave up n gave in n finally gave her the milk.

Lucky my son has a cheap butt. Haha.. Seldom get nappy rash. If he does I will apply aloe Vera gel. It works.

I agree that best way to prevent nappy rash is to change frequently.

Hazel,

take it easy. Maybe u overwork. Lucky u dun hv MS. Just imagine if u feel so tired plus MS...

Yeah Singapore is convenient but during confinement, everyone in the family will be very tired. Better to get the basic before the arrival of yr baby.

Eskimo,

my son drank around 60ml or less. By right if u feed more often during the day, at nite should reduce.

Spiffy is right. Every cry doesn't mean hunger. Maybe she's cold/warm? U can try touching the back of her neck if she's feeling too cold/warm.

Or maybe she just need to be cuddled, changed, etc. Try everything b4 u feed her milk.

Eskimo, at times bb just wants to suckle. So she wants the milk bottle tweet. If u suspect tt she is not really hungry, try giving her a pacificer to see if she stops crying. Well tt is wat i learnt. I know we try not to give pacifier but at times no choice. So I will standby one

Soon-to-be, our own mummy is the best. The extend of her dedication n love to her children no one can beat tt. N we can always speak our minds, she will nv be mad with us for long. CL, maid or mil Or even our own dh can't beat tt. I just tell my mum I wan to eat something she will straight away ask my dad to go buy. I asked her to help me pack she will so accomodating. We r going to be mummies soon so we can relate better.

Singapoh,
we tried cuddling her, changing her too, turn on n off the fan... all no use.... I'm really trying not to give her the pacifier.

hazel, anyone ever told you what a practical mind you have..
i suppose you still have time to buy stuff closer to your EDD. as long as you standby all the essentials before the bb is born..

In most instances, she dun wan to take the money for the things she helped me buy. I give her mthly allowance every mth she also nv use n save up for me n put in out joint account. Just the other day she told me dun hv to get a part time maid after bb arrives to clean the house once a wk. She said waste money coz once a wk wun be clean. She told me she will help me clean a few times a wk while bb us sleeping n my dad is looking after. She also offered to pay for my CL.
she always said my dad n her r self sufficient as my dad is a pensioner n has rental income also.

Thus, our own mummies r always the best. No matter how old we r, in their hearts we nv grow up.

Eskimo, something we dun hv a choice. Overfeed or give her a pacifier to try n see if it works. If it does then we know the cause of her crying. Coz overfeeding her is no gd to her. My niece was like this. In the end my sil tried the pacificer n she stopped. B4 tt she wun stop no matter wat. So we know she just wan to suckle not coz she is hungry

spiffy, is very wasteful to throw things away n is a sin. So being practical can be a good thing :p

Eskimo,

try running the washing machine (white noise), push her in her stroller or car ride. Or those music/songs u used to play for her when she's in yr belly. Last choice is to give her the pacifier.

Singapoh/hazel,
u know when I went to do the birth cert n open the CDA account, the ocbc guy actually gave us nuk pacifier n a small bottle of formula milk. I gave back the pacifier n say dun wat. I told my hubby if we had the pacifier last nite we would have use it.

Eskimo,

My bb when newborn can drink up to 90ml per feed and always seems hungry, in the end we overfed him n he merlion out the milk, as an infant he doesnt know the limit, n he just wanna suckle so end up drink too much milk. I always wanted to give him pacifier but my mil said pacifier no gd, refuse to let me give him. But in his 3rd week, my mil gave in n give him pacifier, he calms down n just suckle. after suckle enough he will spit out the pacifier n sleep.

Eskimo,

not too late to get a pacifier now. U can be her pacifier for now. Keke...

I gave my son pacifier when he was 6 weeks old. After awhile he kept spitting it out.

When I bring my son for his checkup, PD told me to give pacifier to relieve myself. Having a bb suckling on yr tits wholeday can go crazy. Haha..

esk
its personal choice if u want to offer pacifier. i standby one since 2nd month and till now (4mths 3 wk), i din use cos we are not for pacifier (i see many mum stuff pacifier into their bb mouth whenever they cry). but my boy is on total BF so my nipple is considered his pacifier. my boy cried a lot during the first two months too, i always ended up feeding him cos nothing else work then. its ok for bb to spit out some milk cos their stomach muscle is not strong yet. remember to burp ur bb after feeding and hold bb up for 5 mins if poss, it will help

eskimobaby,

My gal is 2 mths+ now and she is drinking 100-110ml of EBM in the day and i latch her on at night so dun know how much she is drinking at night.

My gal will usually fuss from 10pm - 1am at night until 1 day i buay tahan swtich on the hair dryer. Bingo! She stops crying upon hearing the noise. So hubby down loaded the hair dryer sound from the web and we played it every nite since then. I think it makes her sleeps better and longer at night too.
You can try this method too. My gal doesnt like pacifier though we tried giving her.

Re: diapers

I agreed with what bee said, really depends on individual bbs's reaction to different brands of diapers. As long as the bb is ok with the diaper, it is good enough. My sis's son has been using drypers in the day n also nite since born till now 2 yrs old plus, no problem at all. Actually I find my boy also ok with all brands, never get nappy rashes cos I always check and change his diapers regularly. just that I want to get something which is more comfy for him esp when he is moving alot, climbing, crawling and walking around almost all the time.
It is good to get samples of various brands of diapers to see if your bbs r ok with them.

I stay in Punggol, the Ang Mo supermart in block 638 sells very cheap diapers, cheaper than ntuc n Giant n shengsong. Mamy poko costs $14.50 only, cheaper than what is sold in the BP!
Even the formula milk is cheaper there.

Bee, I also like longer diapers, Mamy poko and huggies are like that too. Teng Teng does not leak urine when using Mamy poko at all. In fact when the diapers is already v v full, and he happened to poo alot after that, the diapers still can hold all! Kekeke...

I also agreed that it is not by buying good n exp diapers to prevent bbs from getting nappy rashes, the caregiver really has to check and change bbs diapers when necessary. Do not let bbs wear the same diapers for too long, if not, even exp diapers like Pampers or Mamy Poko will cause bb have nappy rashes too.

As for leaking urine, Singapoh is right to say that sometimes the diapers is not properly worn, thats why some mothers find certain brands no good. And it can also be due to bbs moving alot and causing the diapers to be kind of out of place on the butt.

stb, oh i forgot hazel has a super experienced mum

singapoh, every 3-4 hours considered v frequent liao... i can live with bb diaper rash if he can :D

Hazel,

I think when u discharge from hospital after delivery, u will hv many things to bring home. Sekali forgot all abt the baby. Kaka...

Bliss,

ang mo supermarket things r cheaper than outside. If stay nearby can just walk there and buy but if got to drive or take bus, leceh lor..

bliss, i tried mamy poko and huggies dry too and compared the length with papmers, they are shorter leh. My boy has no problem with mamy poko when he was 2 months old, i din try it again as it doesnt come with indicator. huggies dry can hold urine very well and still feel dry after lots of pee but cant hold my boy's poo at times... maybe its the way i put on his diaper, too loose? but he has a small tummy and quite big thighs :D... i am too tired to try new brands now

Twinstars,
i think my case similar to urs. my gal is not vomiting but her tummy is suffering... Brought her to the doc, he said we r not giving enuff time for her to digest. Each feed must be 3 hrs apart but sometimes 2 hours will cry for milk n we would feed her. My hubby is going to get the pacifier later.

Sigh, my girl is overturning all the rules I believe in :p

serene... so funny, your gal likes the hair dryer sound
well, i guess whatever tt works for bb and less stressful for the parents work

Yup, Hazel's mum is the Best!! Can we get her to help all of us? You making me envy of u...hehehe

Wei, i aso dun mind taking over anything that your SIL doesn't wan, as long as they are of good values...won't mind diamond too....I hv become a collector ever since I got preggy...hehehe

Bee, where is the address again? If it's convenient from my pl, I think I can get hubby to go there and get too....

Singapoh, u were saying Pureen is from Malaysia. So is it cheaper to get in JB har?

Sorry Ladies, I'm a v stingy person...so need to max out the value of money with the little one coming.....

I think my gal like car rides. Whenever we bring her out, she will sleep all the way from home to clinic n back... Dun even wake up when the doc examines her. There was once when they need to draw blood for jaundice she slept thru it too!

Serene,
we tried with raining sound doesn't work... Maybe we should try machine sounds like washing machine or hair dryer. Last nite my hubby played classical music for her, did help to calm her for a while before she fusses again. We do leave the radio on to create some noise so that won't be so quiet.