IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy, soon-to-be, Bb hasn't born n my sil keeps saying my girl better treat her well if not she wun get her diamonds. N she will always says "ur daughther better suck up to me if not i wun give her my diamonds". N she uses 'F' letter words. She has no kids. U want someone like this to be ur child god mum?

A god parent is to guide a child right? N u wan someone who has children n understand the responsibilities of a mother. She dub hv kids as she said kids r too ex n she dun wan to sacrifice her freedom for tt.

My friend just told me church can provide god parents also n maybe one of the parents can be a god parent also. Not sure if true.

My dh protects his family n is scared of his sister. So no pt telling him to tell her nicely. Like yesterday night incident, he dare not even say his wife was tired too n she can be more tired than a pregnant lady right?

Anyway, already told god the god parent problem. Hope he can enlighten me with a solution

Yum yum, think e issue now is to pacify your mum first. Like u said, it pains u to see her being treated like that & she doesn't deserve it. It won't help much if u apologise or try explaining it to her on your mil's behalf. I think ur dh has to b e one to apologise to her since it's impossible for mil to do it mah. And, next time when ur mum is at ur place, do point out what she has done in front of both mums. Yes, mil may be unhappy if u do that, but that will make her look bad if she dares to treat ur mum this way again. I will not tolerate such treatment given how much my mum has done for me. Of course, when mil does things for me, I must also thank her lah. That's being fair.

Btw, yum yum, I think u shd show that u r open to her naming ur kids too (like what some say, u give Christian names, she give Chinese). However, if u dislike e names, b open to share why openly eg if u think e names can b made fun of, just tell her. If u like one of e characters out of e two, be quick to say so & let her know. Else, she may think u r just finding fault w names she proposed. Hope it helps.
Stay positive.

Singapoh...errr...err......no lar, my MIL said she wants to be to the main one disciplining the maid since she is w her most of the times when I go back to work....so how can i defy her in this case?? wahahahha..8P

Spiffy, I'm still thinking abt, won't need to decide now since I don't think there's going to a lot of savings if jus buying the accessories...maybe after confinement then decide aso can, coz I hope to latch on completely during the 1st mth, then will know whether I hv milk supply and the determination to breast feed my son.

Esk, ya, that's wat we tot so, which is y we still decided to bring her in to try despite my comfort level drops after the phone interview.

Hazel, u know wat i will do to get her back off and at the same time avoid unnecessary quarrels....I will probably tell her, err..."har? u wan to give my daughter ur diamond har? really har? u so nice har? then buy more leh...if u wan to buy now, can bring me along to choose the designs? Later I worry that I or my daughter don't like how?" then jus laugh it off and walk away...

Spiffy, I may go swimming too but will wait till 2 or 3 hours later.. Btw, have u bght maternity swimwear? I m hoping to get them but do u know where I can get cheap ones?

Hazel, I have e same view as u in regards to god parents, thus I choose not to b one & also rejected a friend's request to b my kid's. I think it's a high calling. However, it may be indeed coz ur sil has no kids that ur dh gave that suggn... Maybe u & canoe e church can share w sil e expectations of a godparent so that she's mindful?

I m still thinking abt e reusable bumwear cloth diaper... Hee hee. But wat Singapoh said, made sense...that cotton diapers dry faster.. But e bumwear one super absorbent leh.. Maybe can use for night? Hee hee.. V pretty leh.., somemore I haven't made any big purchase for bb given that e big items are all hand me downs... Hmmm.. How do I clean e playpen & stroller hah???

Singapoh, I wanted my son's name to start w "A"...n my hubby suggested alamak, a-pper-then?? My mum and sis laughed non-stop...

Btw, for those who knew abt my job thingy, I spoke to big big boss.. She did not agree to what my boss did and assure me nothing to do w my performance but told me that my boss is up to smth.. Anyway, she agreed it'll b stressful for me to work w my boss so if I do intend to resign, she'll make sure at least that my boss will not shortchange me of my maternity leave. we kept e conversation w my big big boss confidential.

My boss still trying her luck but having e backing now, I felt stronger when talking to her... I think I'm now making it more difficult for her to get her way...

Soon-to-be, will end up hearing more stuff that u wun like from her. I just ignore n told my dh to tell her a few times nicely already. But dh nv did! Yesterday dh commented tt car seat n stroller combo is ex. N she said will buy for us. I told dh not to take her things. Reason being she will keep mentioning thereafter.. She will go 'u better me nice to me if not next time no this no that'! Not as if we can't afford.

Yesterday dinner she proposed as she wanted to buy dh dinner. She arranged it at a plc 5 mins drive from our plc then ask dh to go pick up my mil n maid at NE area though is more on the way for her as she comes down from bukit timah.

Then I found out tt she will be in the east coast area n that was why she wanted to hv dinner there. After dinner, is more convenient for her to drop my mil off on her way back but she asked dh to send instead. Reason is she is tired n she needs to wake up at 9am!!

Hey, my pelvic area is aching n she can't be more tired than me right? N she wanted to buy dh dinner also must choose a plc convenient to her? We can always meet at orchard for dinner right? We all wake up around 9am also isn't it? N dh nv dare to tell her off but just accomodate. Has he spared a thought for his pregnant wife?

I want to name my bb this English name. Agreed with dh Leow. Then every time she will say not nice why dun give a middle name Also. Dh's ears light n swayed Also after tt. I told him yesterday if he does not bother to talk to her, when it comes to a point where I can't ignore I will tell her off n knowing her character we will sure fight. Then that's it. No more contact

She is 41 yrs old. She wore a denmin skirt so short until like those 20s will wear yesterday.. How is she going to guide my daughter properly?

Despondent, my catholic friend said delay baptism until I hv found a suitable god parent. I can baptise bb at 6 mths or 1 year. If not use those tt church provides.

Pp at our age wun change one. Like my dh curses when he is mad. Is a habit. My sil she herself siad can't change her bro one. I told my dh if he dun change n next time our girl picks up from him, he dun get heartaches when I discipline n punish her. My own dad cursed but none of his 3 children pick it up coz we were disciplined from young not to follow.

Soon to be,

how abt Ah beng, Ah Seng, Ah Kau, Ah Mau? Hee ...

Just left the fair. Bot the pillow, diapers, food for my rascal. Cot looks small so didn't get.

Singapoh, jus be smart lo. 1 week before check up stop anything in high sugar.
soda drink, fast food, cake, oily food. Because I really don't want to fail the urine test reading he he..
Yes.. I'm from indo. Now pink ic la.

yumyum, totally can understand u. That's the difference between the one already have faith since young n those only ask for proof on God existence. Anyway not here to talk about religion. Everyone has their own faith. My hubby also like that. God has not granted full recovery for him so angry n refuse to go to church.
But he agreed on bb name on 'en' grateful.

I agreed with the rest, u tell your mil your choice if she doesn't agree then u tell her that u can let her choose but not these few which they can be teases off. Ask her to have few more names for u to choose lo. English name u choose lo.

My bb godma is not even a Christian but my good friend here. But I will tell her never bring our child to temple or pray with jossstick but if the child is curious n wanna see the inside of temple we are ok
practically I'm openminded kind la.
Soontobe, same thought le I also think if maid is ok will send her to English course.

Yumyum, I think no matter what u will be upset with the way your mom is being treated. But if your mom doesn't care n u n hubby are grateful to her, she will be happy already. We can't really control how other behave lo. Don't let her spoilt your mood ok. Keep yourself happy so babies will be happy ;)

yumyum... regarding naming, i think u can think of the christian name too and if the chinese name that ur mil thought of sound weird, you can tell her the methodology of choosing chinese name. you can go library and borrow the chinese naming books which actually mentioned what to avoid/look out for. we name our boy using those books by counting the number of strokes and avoid certain words which are not in favour of OX. As for her bad behaviour towards ur mum, just tell her the truth that ur mum has to travel so far to help to top up groceries and see her response.. if she still doesnt feel paisey, ignore her and just focus on coaxing ur mum cos there is really nothing much u can do unless u want to start a war

Talking abt names... Both hubby n I love the name that the Fenghui master came up for us.. I like the fengshui master even tho it was our first time seeing him. He gave detailed yet easy to understand explanation of our gal's ba zi n also gave us practical tips on how to counter some of the negative stuff. For eg, he said my girl is scared of thunder so to make her more immune, he told us that we shouldn't be trying keep her environment quiet deliberately but be normal like dun be afraid to speak loudly or turn on the volume of the tv so tt she's use to noises n then won't be so afraid of loud sounds ie thunder. N he gave us so many choices of characters tt we can put together ourselves but we just like the one he gave so we went with that.

Vi4n,

Err...that's not a very smart move. Purpose of doing the glucose tolerance test is to find out if u hv GD. If positive, u got to take precaution. If u "cheat" in the test, not only u are harming yrself but yr bb too.

I m monitoring my glucose level at home. Loaned a Glucometer from KKH. Test once a week, 7 times a day.

Eskimo, ur confinement over Leow? If not how u go meet the fengshui master? What is his name n where is he located? How much he charges naming bb?

Singapoh, ha ha I normally also font take those stuff very ften like once in the blue moon because I started with heavy weight already ma. But when nearer to check up time I will be more careful lo. Because like my friend, she failed the urine reading had to go through the glucose test which she passed n yet when next check up she failed the urine reading again. I really don't want to go through the glucose test lo

Hi to all mummies to be,
can I check if anyone take neurogainPB+ fish oil n anmum milk during the 1st trimester . It's my first pregnancy n not sure if these supplement can be taken. Pls advise me.

Fashion, anmum ok but the other one I don't know. My suggestion is for u to bring it to your gynae yo give u approval. Don't just tell the name. Bring the whole thing so gynae can check the ingredient list.

Despondent, hope u really settled the matter nicely. Don't later the management backstabbed you.

Hazel,
i still have a few more days of confinement. I had to go out a few times during confinement. Twice to polyclinic for jaundice check n once to see the fengshui master. For fengshui master not compulsory for me to go but I just want to hear wat the shifu has to say. He's called long tian xiang. Hp no is 90675008. Charges $80.

Fashion,
I took anmum in first trimester. It's a good supplement esp when I had ms n can't take much dinner. I'll drink it for supper but I'll usually dilute it only taking 2 or 3 spoons instead of 4 spoons cos find 4 spoons too thick. U dun need fish oil until 2nd trimester. Usually will only take folic acid in 1st trimester to prevent birth defects. Fish oil is more for brain development which is required in 2nd trimester onwards.

Fashion,
do u read? If yes, can get this book "wat to expect when u r expecting". I love it. It gives a month by month details of our body changes n wat to expect. It helped me answer some of the questions n worries as well. I will read it as I go into the month n dun have to read the whole book at one go. Now, I'm reading "wat to expect - the first year". Again, it has helped me laid to rest some of my worries As a new mum n the way they put it can be quite candid at times n I would just have a good laugh. Can get the books at popular.

Hazel,
I gave him the details over the fone then visit him one week later. He operates from his condo. He stays in one of the condos in lentor loop.

Fashion_spree,
You will only need fish oil from 2nd trimester. I am currently taking blackmores pregnancy and breastfeeding gold which contain fish oil and multivits. I find it easier to take just 1 type of pill and it's not heaty.
As for milk powder, my gynae says no need to take if i have balanced diet and take 500mg calcium a day. He says milk powder is fattening and I was told not to put on more than 12kg in order to have easier natural birth.
Just take your folic acid and vit c during first trimester.

Hazel,
yes it's bullion park... I guess we r talking abt the same person.

Fashion,
I take it once a day at nite usually before I sleep cos I was having ms in the evening n can hardly take in much dinner n yet I can't go hungry. It's up to u whether u wanna take it in the morning or nite. I stopped in 2nd trimester as my appetite came back n I was given calcium pills.

Eskimobaby, i'm not the one considering using cloth diapers.. i think despondent is. it's gonna be too much work for me, with two babies.

hazel, sometimes some things must be given in. In this case, your DH is in a tough position, esp if he has already told his sis that she will be the god mother. How to go back on his word? Btw, if anyone uses bad language around the babies, i'll be the first to tell them to please stop, 'not in front of the babies'.
tell you something else, some ppl say they love their freedom too much or hate kids but maybe they can't have kids (and dont want to go for IVF) and are too proud to admit it.

despondent, i'm wearing my bikini from before..heh heh.. no point buying swimwear that i wont use that much.. anyway, i haven't changed much, apart from tummy..

yumyum/vi4n - are you guys choosing biblical names? it's not easy to find cos the more mainstream (as opposed to obscure) names are very common..i mananged to find 2 names that aren't difficult to pronounce but isn't that common, tho.

fashion spree, neurogain was prescribed to me by the Dr at some point in 2nd tri. Anmum milk i drank all the way from the start. Used to drink 2 times a day but now just in the mornings with breakfast. i just put 3 heaped tablesponfuls tho..

Spiffy, no. For English name jus normal name. Jus that chinese name we use 恩 to be grateful to the Lord.

I bought maternity swimming wear from spring. 2 pcs type can still wear after delivery.

couldn't see that chinese character that was. what's the hanyu pinyin?

swimwear - 2 piece?
today's water was very cold when i first stepped in. luckily the sun came out.

Spiffy, vi4n, thanks. I'm also wearing my 2 piece but somehow scared it will burst coz I think I did put on weight all round...

yes Esk, it's me who's considering cloth diapers. (good memory, Spiffy!) I note your advice and will buy some. Thanks!

Vi4n, e saga at work not over but I feel stronger now. And I think boss will not have easy time as big boss showing displeasure at her... ;-)

Spiffy, I didn't swim today as it was raining cats & dogs... Got to wait another week..
think next time got to plan for sat to swim w sun as my contingency plan...

Despondent,Spiffy mine is 2 pcs cover growing tummy n like short. Take a look at spring. If u have the card then will be around $50plus.

spiffy, didnt ur breasts become bigger? :p

well, is not as simple as that loh.. well, dh told my sil to be god mum without consulting me. so he has to go handle it. he can even tell her the truth that his wife objected. it does not matter to me. can get along get along. cant, i will siam.. like my sil will pass remarks like "why that bb is wailing away? why that bb cant sit still parents nv discipline? etc etc" when we dine outside n saw others bb fussing. if she makes this kind of comments next time to my bb/me, then bb n me wun turn up at all for family events. i already warned my dh that already. if he continues to keep quiet abt it, that will be the outcome.

he knows i meant what i say. coz it happened before. u can say that i put him in a difficult position. but if he does not speak up & wants to continue to just oblige to her n be scared of her, then he bears the consequences.

Wah 2 piece ah... So sexy wor. I didn't swim today. After dinner went to Ikea to jalan-jalan.

Hazel,

Maybe u can tell yr SIL that u already promise someone else to be yr baby's Godma? My Godma is my dad's sister. She's single. We are not close at all.

Hazel, will suggest that any point of time, try not to turn things into too ugly....not nice for u, hubby and ur marriage...my hubby used to make decisions and inform his mum/sis without consulting me. Though I'm not happy with it, I will still explain to him when we are alone. I told him the last thing I want to do to him is to make him take back his words when he already announced to his mum/sis, doesn't look nice on him....i told him who is going to trust him next time when he always have to take back his words after telling them....after some times, he understand where I'm coming on and is making improvements on this area.....

I tell u hor, my SIL has weird characters, and mind u, she's staying w me.....doing things that we don't like and have communicated and she can continue to do them and give unacceptable reasons for so...But luckily, I told myself for only 3-4 more mths now..out of sight, out of mind...

Juju, were u the one using Pureen for ur baby? Can I check where u buy ur Pureen products on a daily basis? I was at NTUC yesterday but didn't see any Pureen brand...so a bit concerned how to buy the necessity after delivery...

Singapoh, Juju, if you use breast pump, how do u clean the pump? Need to get the alcohol wipes to sterilize the pump and bottles? i tot using soapy water enuff liao? I was at mumatbabes outlet using at the medela accessories and surprised to see how much the sterilization wipes cost...so hubby and i were thinking that we can just get the alcohol wipes from pharmacy....can or not har?