IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy,

One day I scoop out the soup at MIL's. I saw 2 worms on the pork ribs. Her maid saw and I told my dh. Both dare not tell her bah! Dh even took a few sip of the soup. OMG! OMG!

Sometimes I see ants in her soup. She said why I always see things like that. Does she think I wanna make up story like that?

singapoh, hahahaha, this is both funny and tragic.. maybe your MIL's eyesight is not so good, cannot see the bugs.. question: how come there were worms stuck to the ribs?? the meat couldn't have been very fresh or maybe she didn't wash the meat before cooking...?

i've gained 8kg now..yesterday had a gathering and friends all said the tummy looks equivilent of a 7 month pregnant woman's. Actually some didn't realise i was pregnant until i stood up at the end, then they saw the tummy. i take it as a good thing!
have you been taking your snacks faithfully every few hours?

The 2 kids at home seldom fell down. Coz my parents nv leave them out of sight. My bro stays at 4th floor. No grills at all. They r trained not to go near them or to take a stool n climb. The main door also no grills but they nv run out n play.. End of the day is the upbringing n teaching tt is impt.

The boy is naughty n playful but he always listen to his grandma. He has time table to follow n he knows he has to obey his grandma. The girl Is quiet n domcile n faster than her bro in lots of things... A no of things she just observes n learns. She is off her diapers at slightly over 1 yr without much training or coaching.. N off her pacifier at around the same time when I just took away from her one day n told her she was too big for tt already. She just looked at me sadly but dare not whine..

I dun intend to send my bb to day care until he or she is 3 yrs old. By then, he or she will already be taught to express his basic needs n know how to listen. B4 that, I will just send bb to wkend classes where I will be around also

Spiffy,

I am really puzzle abt the worm too. How they end up there. Problem is my MIL doesn't believe what I say.

I hv been forcing myself to eat. I think could be my diet is low fat/calorie now.

Hazel,

when the child is not yours, it looks easy. Wait till yr time comes, see if u are so relax. But then again u are not the one taking care of yr kid whole day. Weekend bbsit is not counted hor.

My dh spends few hours with son already beh tahan.

No harm installing grille for safety. No time for regrets.

Spiffy, yeah, my ILs hv bought a place near us when they knew that I'm preggy. They are worried that we may not hv enuff space for the kid esp since I'm aso getting a maid. However, my MIL will still be coming over every weekday to take care of my son. Hubby and I will take over during weekend.

Singapoh, I used my lousy weighing machine at home last few days and was amazed that my weight has gone down despite eating so much CNY goodies. Something must be really wrong w that machine again. Going to weigh myself w the digital weighing machine when I go back office tmrw...

I do hv my fair share of complains abt my MIL. But seeing what some of my frens have gone thru with their MILs from hell, I feel blessed w mine. Furthermore, after living w her and SIL for comin 5 years, I've learnt to better manage people relationship and live in harmony w my "new" family....8)

Singapoh, ya I agree the siong part is for my parents not me.. No choice for working mothers..

In Tokyo, cig n liquor are sold publicly in vending machines along the streets.. But u nv see underage buying them.. Not even late at night when the streets r deserted. Food is sold right next to the train track.. Japanese can buy a cup of cuppa n eat while standing waiting for the train. Dustbins r hard to come by but yet the trains n streets are spick clean. Unlike over here, this n that is ban to deter pp from making mistakes or commtting offence.

We shld learn from the Japanese culture where they r taught from young on how to behave. Education sld be the solution.

Having grills does not solve the prob. But education n teaching will. We can impose grills at home, but we can't do so else where like in friend's house where we go visiting.

Similarly, I hv seen kids as big as 6 n 7 yrs old running from room to room in other's home or climbing upstairs n downstairs like is their own homes. The owners will only chide the kids' parents for not teaching their kids.

We can pamper them but end of the day be it grandparents or ourselves we shld also educate n discipline them

Hi Vi4n,

My maid agency is Sun Employment at Bukit Timah Shopping Centre. After you complete the quiz, remember to print out the certificate. You need to produce it if you're employing maid for the 1st time.

Hazel, ha, actually i wld prefer that they continue to stay w us. Hubby and I were actually planning to buy a bigger place to accommodate everyone, but considering the cashflow with the baby coming, we hv to hold back the plan. In long term, we will still like to hv everyone under 1 roof...not easy n sure hv conflicts, but we'll learn to manage them when the time comes...8) And lucky for me, my MIL dotes on her 2 kids that she listens to them rather than the other way round.....so my MIL will always gv in to my hubby's requests (err....actually demands) which is y my situation w my MIL is v easy...

Hazel,

we can't compare to ourselves with the Japanese. Their culture is very different from ours.

My Japanese friend is a homemaker. She wakes up early morning to prepare lunch box for her dh for more than 20 years, took care of her son who has a heart condition and manage her household all by herself. She even start a real estate agency biz for her son now. She does all this and still look like a tai tai.

Dun think I can ever be like that. She's my idol

My son is scared to go to the balcony but we still take safety measure. U will never know. Accident can happen to anyone, anytime

Singapoh, yup, long term plan is to buy a landed property......so I cannot be a SAHM....must help to save money to buy the house....longer longer term plan is to leave the property(ies) to our kids.....if I can afford a super big place, I will bring my mum and sis to stay w us too..then I wld need a 4-5 levels house liao...8P

Soon-to-be, hey that's my plan also leh.. Plan to get another 2nd bigger place n rent out the current one! At old age, collect rental income

Singapoh, I hv been making breakfast for my dh every morning except wkend when we go out n eat. If he wAnts to eat packed lunch I will do also.. So is just a matter of whether we wan it fun wan to do it.. Nothing to do with nationality or diff culture

Hazel,

What sort of bfast do u prepare? My gf prepares lunch bento which requires plenty of different cooking and not to forget nice presentation like u see in Japanese restaurant

Singapoh, jap eats bento set mah. Is the thought that counts, end of the day.

Depends lah, can be toast bread with butter, or cooked oats with cereals n fruits or I steam some stuff I bought the night b4.. He will also has his glass of home brewed Bailey drink I made or unsweetened soya milk. Dun forget, my dh is diabetic, so I dun wan him to anyhow eat outside noodles for breakfast.

singapoh, when u say lower your std, can give example? i forsee myself wih post natal blues potential. my mum occassionally avail to help, depending on her mood.

mil dunno how to help cos never took care of bb before + mite just be nato + still want to stay in my place to see the bbs. rely solely on confinement and maid to help.

dh blur like sotong. eg. right now, i was told to bedrest and when i was doing chores, he will just stand and watch. in the end, stomach cramp and felt really depressed now oreadi.

i really want to know how to lower expectations especially when i am scared about taking care of 3 little bbs.

Hazel,

easy bfast ok la. Dun think I will get up early morning to prepare such elaborate lunch box for dh. Weekdays I will make Amercan bfast for my family.

Yeah I can eat only bee hoon, kwai teow, Tanghoon, chor bee hoon and pasta now. Got to avoid all yellow noodles and handmade noodles. My fav mee hoon kueh...sob sob

vi4n, after i read your posting, i felt very guilty. at least my dh is healthy, i shd be thankful. you dun tire urself over painting. i tried it when i was not prego. get some frens to come in to help or decorate with pictures n accessories.

what is essential now is tt you rest well, eat well.

Yumyum,

dun try to be a supermum lo. Yr priority is yr babies, the rest can wait. For eg. Housework.

Dun feel bad when yr babies cry. This is the only way they can communicate. If u are really exhausted, ask yr MIL to watch them while u take a nap or relax.

Yumyum, what to feel guilty about everyone has different path in life to go through. I'm only grateful that hubby brain tumour removed successfully n he us still with me now. Other than that I do what I can to make our life happy n fulfilled.
I'm not a pantang believer ha ha. I still knit on bed. A lot of things that pantang I have to do myself if not how? Who can help? Not talking about those unnecessay stuff that canbe postponed type. Jus do what I can with care.
For painting the bb room will ask my friend to help to paint the top portion I will paint middle n lower part.
so happy to see the result of yesterday painting job.

Cactus, thanks for the info.
Bb care issue, as said before every famiy has their own style n difficulty. Jus choose what best n work for yourself. One arrangement work for u may not work for others.

vi4n,
yeah.. i agree with u... we just try to provide the best within our means... if fortunate enuff to have the help of parents or inlaws then that's good.. if not have to consider other alternatives like infant care or childcare...

vi4n, i really hope your fren will finish the painting for you. sayang you a bit. take super good care of yourself. you are at which week now?

singapoh, i will try to train up maid to help me. dare not order mil around. will memomrise the mantra "do not feel guilty when bbs cry".

spiffy, me got bedrest order since week 8. from house arrest/ partial bedrest (becos of bleeding) till week 20, dr said strict bedrest.
read on the web,week 24 is common for multiples. so i quite envy you guys who get to go out and work

Yumyum, me at 22 weeks now. Actually I found my aqua aerobic more tiring than painting

wow bed rest since so early but u are having triplet right? Take it easy ok. Bored jus chat chat with us

vi4n, i hope you bought the lead-free type of paints.. that's usually why they say one shouldn't paint during pregnancy..it's cos of the lead content in some paints.

wanted to swim today..but the weather changed!

yumyum, what do you do during the day? TV?

Soontobe, u r making me paiseh. Ha ha anyway I believe everyone has their own way to handle crisis n problem. Jus need to be positive la.. Life is too short to keep dwelling on the unhappiness.
Spiffy, from what I know this Nippon odourless paint is safe.
Ya today is raining n raining.

Vi4n, don't feel paiseh, I feel that I need to learn from you at all times. There are times when my hubby find me overly dependent on him, overly negative, wilful, unreasonable and wanted things my way. Lucky for me, he has never given up on me....tt's y I'm learning to be more understanding and positive for his sake...8)

Rain rain rain, good good good..it was soooo hot for last few weeks...i like rain...hehehehe

Yes the weather is terribly hot these days. I have since need to shower without turning on heater.
Soontobe, I def have bad characters too. Sometimes too independent that any concern or involvement from fam members I will feel constraint n restricted. But basically i'm a happy go lucky person. Whereelse my hubby n his fam are my opposite. So praying hard bb will follow my characters.

Singapoh,
u ladies making me blush. Ha ha
any born with characters? Like me n my sis same brought up environment but since young even from toddlers our characters are so opposite. So this made me think too any born with characters that we can't change?

monday emails backlog!
singapoh, i think during this time, you should be gaining around 1kg a week..until week 28.. for twin pregnancies that is..

Spiffy,

I dunno why my weight gain has slow down lei. Maybe really because of the diet plan. I am eating food that fills me up that's why dun feel hungry bah.

singapoh,
as long as ur babies are gaining enuff weight it's should be ok... and u dun have that much weight to lose after u deliver.. that's a good thing

Hey hey, I jus got back from CNY lunch with my boss...so full....but yummy yummy...

Ladies, I've jus weighed myself this morning. Have gained 6.5kg thoughout this pregnancy...not too bad, but my colleagues are now telling me that they can see my face has changed within 1 week...to be fatter!!!!....sob sob...

Now, I feel like eating fried fritters.....