IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Actually am more concerned over natal bone not clearly seen then blood test results.... Sigh...

Spiffy n soon-to-be, how?

Hazel, your results so much better than mine. However, Natal bone is indeed a more pressing concern than blood test...

At camden, I think they will wan to do the scan at 13/14 wk. If u don't wan to wait till wk 16 to re-scan at KKH, will suggest u go to camden...u might aso know the gender during the scan....

Call tomorrow morning ard 8 - 830am...last time, I called at 810am...n i get the nurse's attention to answer all my questions.

Jus go armed with ur ER/ET date so that they can re-confirmed ur EDD coz it will affect ur scan results too...

Soon-to-be, the dr told me some DS bbs have high natal bones n there r bbs who r normal n have no visible natal bone also.

She said is not well seen n is quite common at this early stage. Sometime the bb's position cld obstruct it to be seen clearly also...

My age risk is already 1/165!!!!

Just to update, confirmed we are having a baby girl.
everything are good developing perfectly. Bb weight is 341grm. So far I put on 4 kgs. Dr no comment on my urine test meaning should passed the glucose. My bb also head down leg up. He he...

hazel, very sorry to hear about the results..i can imagine how worried you are. Think it's best you consult Camden's Anandakumar..he's specialised in this area..ask them how soon you can do the test for the most accurate results. They measure not only the nasal bone but also check other markers..

Spiffy, we are happy with any gender. :D
hazel, don't worry too much. At my 13 weeks scan the sono grapher also had difficulty measuring the nasal bone because bb kept covering it.
Btw u all said no sewing. How about knitting? I'm doing bb blankie n since u all said not on the bed, so I sat on the floor.

Spiffy n vi4n, I did check the website n it did state that it is quite common tt nasal bone may be hard to detect at early pregnancy. It Also states tt at times when the NT n blood tests results r fine the doc will just skip the nasal bone part n not do a rescan.

Hazel, don't worry too much, since doc already said risk calculated excluding BT is 1/800 which is a gd no. However, agree w u to go to Camden to have rest of mind.

Hi, ladies,
m new to tis thread...
been TTC for 1 yr... recently, DR suggested IVF.. but qn stil goes on in my head.. is tt the oni option for me? I got asked the DR, wat abt IUI or SO-IUI.. they said IVF is a beta option for me... I stil dont reali understnd the technical part of it.. my HB SA test results indicate low count & low normal forms.. while I m okie with my test results..
anyone can explain to me? wld reali appreciate it... thanks...

Queenie, given that the semen analysis has indicated low count and low quality/abnormal sperm, it's probably best you opt for IVF/ICSI. ICSI is where they will pick the best looking single sperm to inject into your egg to give you the best chance of conceiving.

Soon-to-be, Camden nurse said prof only wan to do scan earliest 14 wks. She said I did too early at KKH n nasal bone is too small to be seen clearly. she said bb neck thickness is very good. She told me 13 wks is actual a Much better time to do. Anyhow, she will hv to call me back on a date n they r very full....

Vi4n, did u do a rescan then after 13wks just for the nasal bone or u wait for 20 wks?

I read from the website that at times the sinographer will Also scan from vagina if it is not clear via the abdomen. But the one who did for me yesterday never!

hi vi4n, that is so nice to knit something for your bb. maybe i get my dh to help me get the yarn. are you using cotton or wool?

dun sit on the floor, sit on the sofa better right?

hazel, re cord blood, i checked with DH - he's not confident that most chronic illnesses can be cured in 20 years time! So i guess the jury is still out on whether or nor i'm taking up this investment.. you?
what week are you in now? 11?

yumyum, careful...cny is just around the corner, more goodies to tempt you..oh i love shrimp rolls and bak kwa..i just realised your name relates to food too.. haha

Hazel, 14th week is probably not too far liao....at least ur results is so so much better than mine and see, I cleared mine 8)..so u will definitely cleared urs too. Don't worry so much now, and jus wait to do the scan at camden since u decided to go there now.....

hi queenie, you can also explore clomid and accupuncture for yourself n hubby. i have a fren trying for years, have thyroid and just before they start ivf, she is pregnant. accupuncture helped my dh's troopers in qty and quality too. my health condition was ok when i first checked 3 yrs after ttc. tried 5-6 rounds of clomid, 3 iuis and finally ivf. when my cousin told me earlier not to waste time, go ivf directly, i was very shock. Now, i am happy that i had ivf and will be great if i did that earlier. now old mummy.

hahaha....spiffy, you are so funny! yes, nick related to food cos in the first tri, the progesterone makes me so hungry. when i dun eat, i feel like vomiting. after i ate, i want to sleep. dh bought 1 kg of bak kwa, YEH!!! dun worry, this is used for fattening guests.

soon-to-be, how is your maid hunting?

Hazel, i didn't re scan since she only said difficult but not saying no present. But it did nag at the back of my mind whether she did a good job or not. So yesterday detail scan really put my mind at ease.
Yumyum, I did 1 bb blankie long long time ago but blue. Since bb confirmed a girl I better do a pink one.
I used baby cotton. Can not use wool la with this weather.
Queenie, i did regret not do ivf earlier. All the money we put to tcm n iui I think can do ivf how many times already n not to say the time and chance is higher. But I can understand your feeling because we will always think ivf is our last resort.

Spiffy, yumyum EDD is earlier than mine, so should be wk 23 now? Anyway, my EDD changed to 9 Jun after Dr Loh recal based on my ER/ET date....

Yumyum, haven't gotten anyone yet...but hubby and I seriously discussing the criterias. Will start the hunting after CNY. You SAHM hor? But 3 babies leh, u r not going to get extra help?

Hi Vi4n,
Did you do your NT scan and blood test in NUH? How long did the blood test result take? Have to see prof after the blood test result?
I have a review with prof after the scan so I am wondering if i still have to see him for the BT result.

soon-to-be, i got 1 maid from myanmar.

1 day of hiring, i wanted to change already. their spoken english is really so low that i think the agents are super crap by saying it is 'fair'. said she is eldest when she is youngest, no baby turned out to have 1 2-yr-old son.

however, she is sincere is geting her job done. i am still evaluating her and dare not sleep when we are alone at home. i cannot walk around too much to monitor her.

even when on bedrest, now i am bringing her to my mum's place to train her how to cook, speak chinese and english, serve until CNY while waiting for agent to supply a transfer.

My gf transfer maid from philippines almost autoroaming since day 1 so my current one is still has a lot to catch up. no indons for me cos my sis got 1 that wanted to offer sir extra services at night and showers and washes my bil's clothings. stole cutlery and give away to bangla workers.

I SAHM to be. Now... jobless lor... hehehe! We are considering hiring 2nd helper till kids turn 2 cos dh got terrible work schedule. See how first lor...

Yumyum, myanmar really cannot make it har? My hubby is considering to get myanmar coz he said that they are likely not to have frens here, so wont stray so easily, and they prob won't be able to communicate w the foreign male workers at our condo...

Phil, the agency advised us against them coz we may need the maid to work at 2 places (ours and MIL's). S

So, left with Indo. I'm using Singapoh's critiera (don't know what's Singapoh up to coz haven't heard from her for 2-3 days liao)....dun scare me abt the extra svs leh.....If my hubby requires extra svs, I can provide, don't need her to provide...hehehehe 8P

Spiffy, am 11 wks 5 days today. Will most likely save the cord blood.

Vi4n, dr Also nv say nasal bone not there for my case but she said not well seen, not very clear.. Ya u r right, lingering behind my brain

soon-to-be, my EDD was always based on ER/ET date..wasn't yours?
yumyum, what's wrong with maid washing your bil's clothings? Extra services?? Eek!! Actually i find indon maids okay..had sri lankan, Filipino and indon maids growing up and the sri lankans i had were like 2nd mothers to me, very very nice. The Indons we had were all hardworking. The Filipinos were alas U grads..

hazel,
i also think u did ur DS scan too early... i did mine at 13 weeks... so that's why can't see the nasal bone yet...

soontobe/yumyum,
i got my filipino maid at the beginning of jan and so far so good.. she has experience working overseas but not in sg so she's quite auto as well and she will look for things to do and won't idle herself which is good as i sometimes also dunno wat to ask her to do...she's able to keep my house spick and span and only cooking she's not very good at but she's willing to learn... and i did mention that she will need to work in 2 places ie my place and my mum's place as when i return to work i will bring my baby over to my mum's place and she's fine with it... now that my baby hasn't arrive yet, she also goes over to my mum's place to help out a few times a week

spiffy,
i'm not banking my baby's cord blood... like wat ur hubby said... i'm not so confident of how much cord blood can do... and i also read that as the years goes by the cord blood will also deterioriate even tho it's frozen.... so the more years u wait the less u can do with it... it's just like our embies i guess....

Queenie,
I had the same questions as u when i went to see dr loh from kkh... he told me to go for ivf straight... didn't even suggest IUI/SO-IUI.. i even asked him abt it... he told me i have better chances with ivf.. i dunno wat made me go with him even tho after the counselling session my hubby was telling me to reconsider as he's fine with no kids and dun want me to go thru the ivf procedures... after 2 months of seeing dr loh, i started on ivf and haven't looked back since... even tho sometimes i do wonder if we will ever be able to conceive naturally...

soon-to-be, my myanmar worker has 2 cousins and 1 sister here. generally obedient but must be FIRM on YOUR WAY of doing things. eg. i am fussy about not mixing cleaning cloth and kitchen cloth. if dirty, i rather throw it away.

if they are transfer or ex-sin, their english should be ok. interview them through phone or internet if possible. i made that mistake of not interviewing and trusting the trainer's recommendation. transfer will also request for sunday off and will show you black face if work at 2 places. mine is a freshie but also show my mum black face when i brought her there for training. agent said the myanmar embassy dun care about its people. so they have no authority to turn to when they have problem.

day 1: i went through with her all my houserules - all the way to checking her menstrual timing and how she should discard her napkins and where she changes her clothes. i read from a myanmar maid forum in singapore motherhood and some did happen.

my experience:
1. Wash water heater unit with water.
2. hygiene level not good. hold cooked vegetables with hands while cutting it with scissors. wipe house with dirty cloth.
3. dunno how to operate vaccum cleaner.

Inspect on Day 1 on her luggage content without dh. see sexy lingerie, be aware. check wallet and qty of money (i forgot).

Good thing is that they dun like Filipinos so they might not be chit-chatting down stairs.

Tanaka - traditional astringent cum sun block and beauty product. Tree extract and looks like 2 patch of powder on face. I am concerned they will apply this on their face and it will stick on my bbs or drop into their milk so I kept on reminding agent.

Also, make sure they have short hair cos traditional burmese has super long hair.

My maid
on day 1 - doll up and wore her accessories when sir is coming back home from work.
on day 3 - wore super short tights around the house. i got to set the dress code rules - above neck down to knees.

I super jealous type so this is not acceptable by me.

Indons - this is my sis's experience. lucky my mum was helping to watch the maid closely. it seems to be the norm for them to offer special services as their hubbies look for other women when wives are pregnant. also cast voodoo on their masters. eg. feed masters with urine to tame them. also unfortunately, she is quite pretty.

Phil - might also like to run to their embassy for help. but so far friends with good helpers all use phil.

missing singapoh too. maybe shopping for cny?

spiffy, i heard from my younger sis that the indon maid was showering and washing my bil (elder sis's dh) clothes at the same time.

i guess i got the indon phobia cos those maids we had back in msia and singapore either got pregnant (3) or ran away with people (2). 1 paid the gardener to provide her special service. she is quite ugly but ... it is luck maybe?

my mil is racist. dun like indians or dark skinned. Filipino agents heard got to take care of triplets and mia-ed. so i am left with burmese.

eskimobaby, can recommend your agent, jic? tks!

yumyum, you're so thorough! And you're not afraid to be strict.. i dont think i can get a maid.. i'm too soft.. i think i'll stick to part time cleaner, much less to worry about.

My mil indo maid also very good. Cook very well n cleans well also.. She has been working here for more than 10 yrs

yumyum,
i go to homemaid at katong shopping centre.. they have a few outlets around singapore... my experience with them were pretty ok... they were prompt and i didn't have to chase them for documents or things... i got all my maid's documents including insurance on the day i brought her home except for her work permit which was still processing... and the lady who attended to me does follow up or call me back when i have queries...

spiffy,
exactly, that was why i was quite stressed up when my maid first came... for one, i wasn't used to having another stranger at home, then still need to supervise her when i myself dunno much abt housekeeping... and then still worry abt her performance...

anyway, i think the real test comes when my baby is out and how she cares for her... cos i think we will be more intolerable towards mistakes with the baby esp with hygiene..

eskimobaby, think maybe my agent not as good n i dun have experience in hiring. i got a reminder ltr from mom to get her work permit done. 12 days since maid work for us n i did not get her passport or work permit yet. might miss out on paying fdw levy n get fined by cpf.
since i m so free at home, the agent got calls from me to chase him.

spiffy, i think i m too free. tt's y write so much... i tot you are having twins. is your mil helping you? mil told me to give maid "xia ma wei", sil said be the bitch - shout, scream, make sure maid knows who is the boss (me and not dh) blah blah... i really have no clue, just follow gut feel. not me to shout at people to get things done.

ladies, sorry to be so loh soh...

yumyum,
my agent told me to go down to collect my maid's work permit and passport after abt 2 weeks she's with me... my agent brought her down to mom to do the work permit on the morning itself before i brought her home in the afternoon... i called cpf they told me that i dun have any levy to pay yet last month... will only start this month... i guess they'll deduct the levy pro-rated for last month ba.. since the deduction is done on the 17th... so most prob u won't get fine just yet... just keep chasing the agent for the work permit...

this is our first time hiring also... i just asked my colleague abt her agent and she told me she goes to this one so i just went... i didn't check out others tho.. so no comparison also...

Bakaholic, yes u will have to see him for the final review of combined test result and that's when he will tell u will transfer to normal gynae.

Hi, Spiffy,
Thanks for the explanation.. yes, both the Doc & TCM said tt IVF wld b a beta option for me, as compared to IUI.. but is it cos of certain limitations of IUI? or cos SA results reali cant make it for IUI or SO-IUI..

Hi, Yumyum,
Ur name very easy to rem.. 
The doc didn’t prescribe any clomid cos I m o-ing normali..
& yes I juz started TCM & acupuncture.. both DH & me (to prepare my body in top form for IVF)..
& yes.. I m stil hoping for tt miracle, to conceive naturrali (juz like ur fren) bef the IVF..
nonetheless, we wld stil go for IVF if the same results r presented for the 2nd SA test.
I do believe tt TCM ll help DH troopers.. we juz got to believe in it..

Hi, Vi4n, u hv juz said precisely hw I felt.. “we ll always tink IVF is our last resort”… as in, we nvr tot thgs cld b tis extreme bah..

Hi, eskimobaby,
Dr Loh oso nvr suggested IUI or SO-IUi for me.. m glad to b here, to knw tt u hv the same tots whn Dr Loh suggested IVF.. nw I don’t feel so lost..
wat hppd during the counseling session tt made ur DH asked u to reconsider?

u knw.. u gals r very reassuring.. whilst others r telling me push IVF to the last attempt.. u r sharing with me the joy tt ur hv gotten fr the IVF.. I feel so much beta nw.. thanks a lot.

queenie, i think it's a bit of both, IUI is a bit like leaving it to chance still. Given the few good swimmers your hubby has, it may be a waste of time and money. IVF is a much more controlled environment and if everything goes well, and your eggs can be retrieved at the right size, and the inserting of sperm is done for you too.

i also TTC for a year before opting for IVF.. i'd say there were very little to no side effects at all for me ..was probably the best decision i ever made..

Queenie,
the counselling session is more to prepare us mentally of wat to expect for ivf n also prepare us for failures cos it can be quite an emotional ride. I guess for us, my hubby's morphology is a concern so even with iui the number of good enuff troopers to make it to the egg is very little so i see ivf as a chance my hubby's troopers getting to meet my eggs rather than dun have this chance at all.

if u go to the other thread on ivf where most of the gals are undergoing ivf at the moment u will have a better idea of wats involved. Discuss with ur hubby u have to be in this together esp the emotional support.

Hazel, so perhaps it's not a concern tt's y Dr Loh can't be bothered with ur email..hehehe..

Queenie, when I first met Dr Loh in Apr 09, he aso suggested IVF immediately coz of my conditions. Well, hubby and I had decided to do it which was why we decided to go to him. Thus, when he suggested it, we jus accepted it. To be honest, I was then a bit disappointed that we cldn't start the process till Jul/Aug...hehehe..

Like wat Esk said, you need to discuss with ur hubby to make sure that this is a option that both of u wan to go thru...coz spouse support is critically impt (to me lar) during the process.

Singapoh, wah, went on holiay har?

Soon-to-be, ya meh.. Am not giving up. Just sent the email again...

Camden appointment is at 26 feb n appointment with dr loh is on 24th feb, 5pm, Hm...

Hazel, perhaps u shld do Dr Loh's appt after camden so that you can bring the report to show him....the camden's report is on the dot one....unless u wan to seek Dr Loh's appt before determining whether to go camden for 2nd opinion.