IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Aiyah, they never tell me e purpose of e 10 wk scan leh. I see Dr Tan like blur blur & e nurse like everything dun know & shows attitude (TPS), I made e new appt by WALKING to clinic D one. Hee hee.

Anyway, nvm lah. My appt tmr 1130am & AMC told me MC will b given. I took leave one, after get MC then go back & cancel leave. Else I don't know how to say I not going in to office tmr. I tried once long time back due to another op & was told off by secretary how can I know MC in advance... I oso can't bother to explain to her since I dun like her attitude. Ha ha. How did u tell boss? Must share technique w me... Heeee.....

Despondent, just tell her I got medical appointment or check up n will be given MC for that day. If not, dun need to tell her. On tt day morning, just SMS her n say MC for tt day loh.

Ur colleages know u r pregnant already? Some of my colleagues wHo r mothers seem to notice the bump n asked me... I just smile without replying...

Spiffy, the constipation has caused my anus to bleed already.. Coz I hv piles n the stools continue to be hard every time... Though not as bad as the other time till I need to use pump but still.. Yakult n the fruit tree apple juices r not working very well for me leh...

Bleed until can stain panty... Haiz... Dunno wat else I can do to improve...

Anus bleed

singapoh, i mean they scheduled 1 hour for each bb for the scan. if all goes well, it should be shorter, tho i hope there isn't a long queue, like for my First Tri Screening where i had to wait for more than 1 hour for my turn.

Despondent, every visit to the gynae will include a Routine scan in his room. So, 10 wks scan is a routine scan in doc's room n u r given a pic of ur bb every time dr loh scans.

There r only 2 detailed scans done by other specialist doc for the whole pregnancy usually. One is the oscars NT scan to check for DS. The next is at abt 20 wks to scan all the organs of the bb which hv already been formed. These 2 scans will be done either at AMC or ADC.

Other than tt, u just see ur bb in dr loh's room every time u go for consultation.

ow ow ow, hazel. Poor thing...does milk or yoghurt work for you? If you're sitting on the bowl and nothing happens, dont strain...try again later..you dont want the piles to come back. maybe should ask the Dr if there are other safe alternatives you can take, like Fibrogel (which you say doesn't work for you).

Spiffy, now it does come out. But 2 to 3 days then I empty bowels. Yogurt I did take but not daily though... Fibergel dun work for me. There us another syrup kind with doc tells me it works but I hv not tried b4. But cannot keep relying on Tat right? I took apples everyday also.. Sometimes grapes too n try to drink 2 liters of water everyday but still nv go toilet every day...

yeah the syrup one...draws water to the bowels.. i personally haven't tried it. Fibrogel doesn't help if you haven't gone for a few days and in fact adding yet more fibre/bulk may make it worse. i actually use senna/Senokot (pre-pregnancy). It usually works for me, but it gives you a massive stomachache first. these days, i find that the Anmum i drink is quite effective so am quite thankful.
hazel, besides diet, sometimes a little light exercise also helps..

Congrats Singapoh! Very lucky combination.

Hi Vi4n,
You are with NUH rite? Will you be delivering at NUH? Is prof going to do your delivery or we have to choose another gynae to do it?

singapoh... hehe, i am a silent reader

Yes, seem like all colleagues know I m pregnant already... Coz of my MS. Few saw, then suspected then tell whole world lor. Ha ha.

Not sure if telling I have a medical appt tat day helps coz in my office, practice is to tell time of appt too.... Sigh. Anyway, dun care abt them. : p

hazel, I used to have bad constipation occassionally till tiny blood vessel burst too... And fibregel, plum juice oso don't work for me. However, I noticed if I missed e motion in am then tat day can forget abt it liao. And to have it in morning, a hot drink eg Milo first thing in morning, seems to help leh. Pay attn to your body & see wat works for you. I don't have added constipation during pregnancy though.

Thank u backaholic and Cat.

Spiffy,

30 mins slot for each twin in KKH. Just did a brain scan for my boy. Glad that it's within normal range.

Despondent/hazel, it looks like this is a fairly common problem. My mother always said you need to get into a rhythm. Like set aside a certain time in the morning.

Hi Singapoh,
I am fine, just extremely tired this pregnancy, probably becoz of taking care of my still very young boy at the same time. Hope will get to know my bb's gender this coming Sat for my 16 weeks scan.

Hi Ladies, new to this thread as just got +ve result from blood test today. Praying and hoping that all goes well till full term.

Anyone can share the charges at KKH by Dr SF Loh, will it be significantly cheaper than private? Is his waiting time very long? Does he do the scan or we hv to go to different place for scan?

Spiffy, yes, did my detailed scan at 21w + today.....baby is alright, DS reduced further to 0.04%......Yeah yeah yeah!!!

Prof said my son is a bit uncooperative today as he's sleeping, but still manage to measure the key features and the brain and heart devt..everything is alright...

Oh, baby is 0.5kg...hehehee, so even when my bump seems small to my fren, baby is still at the right weight. It may aso means that I haven't gained a lot for myself....realised that I might have maintained the 5kg weight gain for the last 2-3 weeks liao...

Prof advised me not to see raw and uncooked food lar..asked me not to eat chicken/duck rice at the end of the day, coz the meat might have been hanged there for the whole day and exposed to germs....asked me to eat cooked food....

Really v tired now, went CNY shopping after the check-up..need my beauty sleep...baby seems to be sleeping too, coz not much movts after a few kicks during the check-up only...

Diveera, dr Loh is a senior consultant n the consultant charges r posted at KKH website. First visit is abit more ex. Anyhow abt 80 bucks per consultant. Pls refer to website.

U can choose to see him at clinic d or Private suite, TPS. Latter is abt 10 bucks more ex but nicer waiting place n can see him after office hrs.

He will scan every consultation in his room n tt is part if the consultant cost. But if need to do full detailed scan, need to go to specilised scan department. Eg DS scan n 20 wks scan. These r chargable at a few hundreds each scan.

Every visit needs to do blood pressure n urine check, abt 30 bucks. Later stage of pregnancy, other checks r chargable also.

At TPS still need to wait quite a while to see him if after office hrs as it is crowded. U dub wan to wait as long, see him in the pm before 530pm.

Medicine cost so far I paid abt 80 bucks for 2 visits.

Hazel,

did u nap at home or eat snake in the office? Hee..

Routine check ( weight, protein, glucose and dunno what's the other one for, blood pressure) in Clinic D is $10 every visit.

Soon to be,

so happy for u. I also checked if my slow weight gain is ok. My twin sizes r ok so it's fine.

I just did a glucose test this morning.

you know, i never thought about it, but it's true, my chicken rice stall is open from morning 7am+ with the chickens all hanging there already. eeeeee..

oh yes, singapoh, do hope this time is a girl. But if not, also ok lah, as long as bb is healthy. Just that gg to close factory liao, so hope to hv one boy and now one girl.

spiffy,
me too, never tot abt avoiding chicken rice or duck rice from hawker centre or coffee shop at all... in fact I ate quite alot during preggy.

Spiffy, I think ur mum is right, I probably got/found a routine finally.

Singapoh, how come ur next check is so close? U just scanned & knew e gender of ur twins on sat & test again today?

Soon to be, if u have gone to e clinic today, u shd know e gender of ur bb right?

I went for my DS scan today, result was great - 1:5000. Hazel, realized that e blood & scan test fo not deduct from e denominator due to age risk. Not sure how they calculate it, but they said it's combined. My age risk 1:200+ but good blood test result & v gd scan result.
feel relieved & happy. Can see features of my bb, SO adorable! I couldn't see e heartbeat initially & asked to see.. Was relieved when I saw it. Some more bb was not moving initially but when he turned, it's so exciting! Heee...

Like u said, there's a doc today who explained in detail e results to me. So, I decided to change dr loh's appt to 2 wks later, so can see scan of bb again earlier! Ha ha. Btw, anyone knows if seeing dr loh will get mc? I am not sure if to go back to office in pm since appt in am....

Thanks Hazel, for your reply. How many weeks/months are you now? When r u due? i'll work out the cost for comparison.

Thanks Singapoh, congrats to you for expecting one boy and one girl!

Yes, Spiffy...purposely took the entire day off to do CNY shopping...8)

Despondent, I already knew the gender when I did the detailed scan w Prof at Wk 16, confirmed again with Dr Loh at Wk 18...so today, is jus triple confirmation lor....

I'm happy for u that ur results came back so good....now, jus enjoy ur pregnancy since 1 less worry for u...8)

Singapoh, u did glucose test with KKH this morning? I think they might ask me to do this Sat when I see Dr Loh w my camden's report...Really relieved to know that baby weighs alright as I don't think i have increased my intake after pregnancy, just that I eat more meat than usual now...

Ya, ladies, if prof didn't mention to me, I wldn't hv tot of avoiding chicken/duck rice at night...now really really got to be more conscious.....left last 18 weeks, counting down......can't wait to carry my son in my arms, so definitely don't wan to do any stupid things to harm him now....

Despondent,

my twin boy's head was blocked by my twin gal when sonographer wanted to scan his brain. So my detailed scan was not completed. Today went back to rescan, just his brain.

Soon to be already know her baby gender when she went to Camden for DS scan. It's a boy

Thanks Diveera

Despondent, yes, u can ask for mc from Dr Loh. He will usually cover the patient......

Congraz Diveera. Someone was telling me that KKH may come up to be less expensive if complications arise...otherwise, it will be almost the same as pte practise...the only troublesome thing with KKH is u have to go to other areas (still within KKH) for detailed scans.....

Despondent, can share how old r u? Am 37. R you younger than me? Ur BT was done at 10 wk right? Did mine at close to 9wk. Yes, u can get mc from dr loh when u see him. How big is ur bb today?

Diveera, am 10wks plus. EDD in aug.

Soon to be,

I didn't do a glucose test for my previous pregnancy.

I asked e nurse why I hv to do this time. She said family history, above 35. Also glucose detected in my urine during
y last visit.

No water/food from midnight till u complete 2 blood tests which takes 2 hours. After 1st blood test, I was given a glass of glucose to drink and a bit of plain water. I return for 2nd blood test 2 hours later. Can only eat and drink after the 2nd blood test.

Ha ha soon to be, singapoh, yes, now I rmbred soon to be mentioning tat e detailed scan at Camden reveals e gender. Sorry, forgetful me... :p

oh, if dr loh gives mc, I'd better make sure tat day in my office's calendar is clear. Thanks for letting me know.

Hi Hazel, I am 35. Oh yes, btw, age is taken at time of scan. Today's doc was... Hmmm not sure how to describe, stern, & informative but not sure if he's strict or trying to joke w me by saying tat I'm actually 35plus!!

Blood test done at 10 wks 5 days.

Oh dear Singapoh, e glucose blood tests seem quite a challenge to go without food!!!! Pat yourself for a job well done!

Oh, btw, today shd be 11 wk 5 d but scan shows 12wk 1 d so Edd pushed forward 3 days. I rmbred someone saying e date based on ER is correct and not e scan right? My bb is 56mm today.

Soon to be, if cannot take duck/chicken at night... That may include roast pork, char Siew and other meat too??? Hmmm... My MIL will always buy roast pork for me in advance for CNY... think cannot eat that too now...