IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy,

I wasn't so worried in my 1st pregnancy lei. Didn't even fear of delivery. Ha ha...

Wah I think maybe my friends are betting on the genders. Wahaha...

Tomorrow will be a very busy day for me. Scans, see doc, meeting contractor, birthday party...

My gf just shared her maid problem with me. It's her 2nd new maid in 3 months.

Previous 1 a bit weird and this one got attitude problem. My gf is 6 months preggy and have a toddler. Having headache now.

the babies are awake and moving around a lot! i wish i could sing or talk to them in the office..

any mtb staying in a walk up apartment or flats that need to climb a few flight of stairs. Is it very jia lat to climb up stairs when preggy?

Soontobe, ya.. aqua aerobic class.
Where is your office, this will be after office hours class mah.

For me, i will take cab from my office to Bishan about $7 i think each trip

Juju, how can you confirm that you are given back your own placenta then?

Sigh..my son has not moved a lot these few days..don't know whether is it coz he's angry w me for neglecting him as I am v busy at work recently...

gan, no la, i walk a few flights everyday...no lift. It's alright.

singapoh, there is no one around right now..hee..

soon-to-be, sometimes when i'm very busy i fail to detect the movement. Until i go home, and think about it, then i recall feeling some moment.

hi ladies, hope that everyone is well and cheery now that the weekend is here.

i need your advice on the DS screening.

we went to kkh today for the scan, showed that baby's features are alright and at low risk.

apparently, my wifey's age is also a low risk since she is 31.

but it is the blood test that increased the risk to a combined risk of 1:47 !!!

that is way above the threshold of 1:300.

want to seek your views on whether we should go for a second opinion and if so, do you have places to recommend?

why we are so anxious to avoid amniocentesis test, is that wifey's pregnancy is unstable (confirmed by dr sf loh 2 days ago), and we want to avoid any invasive procedures that could jeopardise the pregnancy.

vi4n,
u mean frm the supplier? cos they only do 1 placenta at a time.
when i delivered, she was processing someone's. so i kept mine in my freezer & waited till she delivered dat then i had hb send mine over

soon-to-be,
can take some sweet or gassy drinks too

Juju, i just wonder lah. how you know what you received was really a placenta after they took it from you.

HOW, hm. how come scan and age risk so low, yet combined the risk so high?
Ya do like the rest do, get another scan at Camden.

hubby of wife, very sorry to hear the news. Quite a few ladies here go to Camden (Prof Anandakumar) where they specialise in this. Some bypass the KKH test altogether and just go straight to Camden to avoid the stress.

thanks singapoh and vi4n, ya, i was also very confused that the u/s results and age results show that the risks are low, but dunno why the blood results tilted the entire equation.

right now, i am just reading about the tests from internet sources.

will try to contact camden soon

right now, wifey is at week 12. amnio can be performed from wk 16 to wk 20. we are meeting dr loh again on week 14. hopefully, we can get another professional opinion outside kkh before we decide to decide on the amnio test

hubbyofwife, wifey is not expecting multiples is she? cos the blood test for multiples may be inaccurate.
*nudge soon-to-be* oi, you went to camden right?

yep spiffy, i just called camden. and interestingly, they said that they will only do the u/s detailed scan, but NOT the blood test. i asked them how come no blood test, their reply is "we do not believe in blood test"

cost is at $380 to $480, depending on the level of details required.

i did not get to ask about Prof Anandakumar though.

thanks everyone! i booked an appointment on 18 Feb at camden, will update everyone and hopefully able to share the good news to everyone by then

thanks for being so prompt and so helpful

HOW, how many wks ur wife did blood test?

How often dr loh sees ur wife? U mentioned next visit is 14 wks. When was the previous visit? Dr loh told u wife pregnancy not stable? U asked him one or?

hazel, the blood was taken in wk 9.

initially, we only planned to meet dr loh every 4-5 weeks, but wifey bleed fresh blood from 16 Jan and 18 Jan and was subsequently admitted for a few days. it was during these period that we met dr loh quite a few times.

the appt made with dr loh this wednesday was also from the bleeding, not the earlier scheduled one.

sigh...

dr loh took a look at the screen of the u/s scan and said that the sac is unstable, so need more bed rest. we asked him to show us where, he said that we cannot see one lah, he experienced, he can see.

HOW, I see. I also take blood test on 9 wks. But am prepared for false alarm. He scanned me m said good At 9 wks. So I guess tt is the reason he said see me in 5 wks

Yo yo yo...I finally had some time to sit down to have my dinner w hubby for the 1st time this week coz he is extremely busy nowadays...think it will last for a few more mths like this...

Singapoh...where got so much big business? I constipation one leh, remember?

Hazel, HOW, my combined risk due to blood test was 1:36. Physical scan was ok too.....spoken to Dr Loh on the same day that I got the results from ADC, and he told us with the hospital decision to do BT as early as wk 9-11, he was seeing a lot more patients with false scare....he seems to have some reservation with the BT results too.

Nevertheless, to give myself some assurance after getting worrying here and then for 2 weeks plus, I visited Prof at Camden. It was a v detailed scan to check out the physical attributes of the baby. My risk was reduced to 1:833..I will be seeing him for my wk 22 detailed scan on coming Monday to further ascertain that baby is developing well....

HOW, if you are really concerned, make an appointment with Prof to do the detailed scan. For singleton, it costs $380, though a bit more exp but provides a lot more assurance for me...oh by the way, u may be able to know the gender of the baby too! 8)

Vi4n, hubby said not to join and jus swim at our condo swimming pool good enuff liao..he worried that i will feel too tired...

kkh practiced blood test at wk9 which most of us get inaccurate results. many ladies end up seeking 2nd opinion. my ivf friends told me to go blood test on wk12 which is more accurate. i also ask the nurse, she told me by wk 12, HCG is lower, and the blood stream is more accurate bcos most of it will contain baby's blood..

so i think you all should be fine.. so long as scan is low risk, most likely is low risk since scan already stand 80% of the results. one most important is the nose bridge. if you can see the nose bridge very clearly from far, u are quite safe.. if you still scare, maybe can ask to redo blood test at wk12..

Hi juju, yes, getting v interested in turning placenta into beautifying capsules! Ha ha. Thanks alot for e info.

HOW, keep us updated & ask ur wifey to rest in bed more.

I am doing my nuchal scan on mon.. Getting a little worried now. Shd have gone straight to Camden & avoid such stress... & at e same time, know e gender of my bb! Heeee...

Despondent, don't worry lar..not all will get false scare one lar...Singapoh and Spiffy both okay though preggy with twins leh....

Soon to be,

constipation that's why yr session is very long. Ask gynae for stool softener. It's a syrup.

My session is very short, like 2 minutes!

oh ya, if u r interested.
kidzloft @ tagore ind ave is hving 50% off most brands. if hvn't done much shopping, quite worth to go look-see. sale on till this sunday

Soon-to-be, both singapohn spiffy did not do blood test at 9 wks. They did a bit later, esp spiffy.

Despondent, at which wk u did BT n how old r u if u dun mind

singapoh did hers at 10 weeks.
i wonder if kkh will review their policy of doing the blood test so early. even overseas test later.