IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy. How many wks we r depends on bb size base on dating scan. If we test exactly on 9 wks, bb can be smaller than tt. Like me, bb scAn showed 8 wkS 4 days.

Despondent, aren't u 12 wks next mon n u doing NT scan? If so ur blood test will have already been done earlier, so how can u do blood test at 12 wks? Unless u take package A where no blood test. If so, then u r confused, we r talking abt blood test results giving false alarm n if u r not doing tt then is NA to u lah

wah, thanks for the reassurances

we are still struggling with the results. but i am thankful for the support that you ladies are giving me.

we have decided to try as much as possible to avoid amnio. so, we are going for the Camden scan.

haha, i very blur, i thought camden was a whole institution, until i saw the website and the listing of the different clinics. wah, the place so high class, i dun think i can wear my bermudas there liao.

soontobe, thanks, think we are seeing the same prof, i got the phone number from other threads in the forum too.

Sunfl@wer, ya, the features are alright. baby grew another 1 cm. now 6cm

yep, despondent, dun worry too much! i was shocked, as i wasn't prepared. but after reading thru the forums, seems like alot of false alarms.

Hazel,

no point worrying so much. U can always delay yr scan to a later date and touch wood if the final result is not ideal, redo yr blood test on the same day or go straight to Camden.

Dr Loh mentioned before, dun follow the gestation date on the scan. It's not accurate. My EDD still remains at June 22 but my gestation date shows babies are the size of 13 weeks and 5 days when I was only 13 weeks. The adjusted EDD on the result slip was June 18.

hi everyone, was up the early morning searching for the blood test related articles. did find some useful articles written in layman language.

http://www.ds-health.com/prenatal.htm

In summary, for the blood test in 1st trimester, it involves finding the levels of bhCG and PAPP-A:

Human chorionic gonadotropin hormone is produced by the placenta, and is used to test for the presence of pregnancy. A specific smaller part of the hormone, called the beta subunit, is increased in Down syndrome pregnancies.

PAPP-A, which stands for pregnancy-associated plasma protein A, is produced by the covering of the newly fertilized egg. In the first trimester, low levels of this protein are seen in Down syndrome pregnancies.

How to read your 2 page report?

Once the blood test results are determined, a risk factor is calculated based on the "normal" blood tests for the testing laboratory. The average of normals is called the "population median." Test results are sometimes reported to doctors as "Multiples of the Median (MoM)." The "average" value is therefore called 1.0 MoM. Down syndrome pregnancies have lower levels of AFP and estriol, so their levels would be below the average, and therefore less than 1.0 MOM. Likewise, hCG in a Down syndrome pregnancy would be greater than 1.0 MoM. In the serum screening, the lab reports all results in either this way or as a total risk factor calculated by a software program.

In particular, for my case, the bhCG is 1.06MOM (which is ok), but it is the PAPP-A that is an outlier at 0.13 MOM

will find out more about this PAPP-A

Singapoh, my scan is at 11 plus wk. Shld be okay. I just hv that thought lingering in mind but I am not as worried as when I knew I was pregnant with low hcg. Coz at the back of my mind I know god n my deceased fil hv been blessing my bb. If not, things wld not hv been so smooth for me since bfp. I will continue to pray to them daily n my bb wld be fine.

Dr loh explained to me how results from BT Is been derived at so after understanding the mechanics, I m not as worrying coz I know even b4 test, my number for tt is no good

hazel, really hope that your bb will be fine, and i am very sure that you andyour bb is being blessed constantly!

the screening tests are not definitive tests. so dun worry so much ya?

i am itching to ask my wifey to go for another blood test at tmc...

HOW, Why do u wan to wait another 10days for the BT results? U know how it is being derived at? Say ur wife risk is 1/350 to start with coz of age factor, every slight unfavable reading, doc will minus off from the denometer, 350 n hence increase the risk even higher. So, a young mtb has an advantage as she has more to deduct for denometer n still end up as low risk.

U already read, one of the contributing factor to BT is bhcg. That is not accurate. I bfp with just 118bhcg reading n tt is very low n I surfed the website n read tt scan at 6 to 7 wks r more accurate on the development of foetus. But the website n forum freak me out coz many with low bhcg ended up with sad ending at 1st scan.

If I were u, I rather do a detailed scan at later wks where every of the bb's organs can be checked. Tt is more conclusive.

Dr loh told me his 42 yrs old patient has a 5/12 chance risk but she did not do amnio also n her twins were born normal. A colleague of mine also, she did not go Camden either n her twins r normal. End of the day, my dh said this is our bb, why do we want to risk making a wrong decision unless we can be 100% sure on the DS part. Only amnio is conclusive n unless we want to go through tt. If not, he said leave it. But of course, that's his view. Whether wan to take amnio test or not if need be, will think abt it later

Hazel, I did mine at 10th wk leh....hahahahaha......

Spiffy, when we spoke to Dr Loh abt the BT, it seems that he doesn't think KKH is going to change the schedule later. He sounded a bit "nothing he can do either"...

HOW, aiya, camden is filled with a lot of small small clinics, jus like Mt E lar..so don't need to be formal...bermuda can liao....since u gog for the detailed scan w camden, y go for the BT again? If BT results not good *touch wood* again, how? Will worry more right?

Oh HOW, I forgot to tell u, when u go to Prof, tell him that ur wife is IVF preggy one..coz he will tell u if IVF preggy, the gest. week is based on her ER or ET date..n not based on scanning....coz this will aso impact her results....

Singapoh, u woke up so early har? Anxious to know the gender of the babies is it? U at KKH now? Must update us hor...so excited for u...8)

Soon to be,

I hv been waking up around this hour for the past week. Twins are early birds. Hee..

On my way to drop son at MIL's then KKH.

Soon-to-be, ur 10 wks is scan or blood test? Yes, dr loh wS sceptical Abt the accuracy coz at both visits he kept telling me they r just some nos n can give false alarm. He seems to like taking it as a pinch of salt. N kept saying dun worry. Anything email him. Think he has seen too many cases

hazel re: dating scan i disagree. The dating scan is just to let you know how your bb is progressing in terms of growth (wchih they cross ref to age). how many weeks your bb is - you still need to look at ET date, not dating scan date.

Spiffy, hm... But my first visit at 7 wks due date n 2nd visit at 9 wks r different n dr loh used the 2nd visit one...

Singapoh! Congraz!!!!! I'm so happy for u......

Hazel, I did the BT on 10th wk, and NT scan close to 13th wk. Then went to Camden on 16th wk lar...

Spiffy, ya, tt's my understanding on the dating scan too...Thus, i'm relying on my ER/ET date to hv my EDD....

Thank you all.. 1st scan was a boy. I was like oh no... Then the other 1 is a girl

Got to go back on Monday to scan twin boy's brain coz it was blocked by twin girl.

singapoh... marvelous! congrats!

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> 1 boy (delivered on 1 Nov)</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 9 Nov)</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 Dec)</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 25 Nov 09)</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>ximi</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 girl 1 boy (delivered on 10 Nov)</TD><TD> 16 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 22 Nov)</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 16 Dec)</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 10 Dec)</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>WY Koo</TD><TD> In UK</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 16 Dec)</TD><TD> 28 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 11 Jan)</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls (delivered on 9 Jan)</TD><TD> 8 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>22 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> 2 boys</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Maggiemee</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Marianne</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 8 May 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Yumyum</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> triplets</TD><TD> 7 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Soon to be</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 12 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 14 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Spiffy</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Kelly Loi</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 16 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Oxidised</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 17 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Singapoh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy 1 girl</TD><TD> 22 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Vi4n</TD><TD> NUH</TD><TD> Prof PC Wong</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 23 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>SS</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 26 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Mik Mik</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 30 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>berrybaby</TD><TD> SGH</TD><TD> Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 25 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>January</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 27 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Libby</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong (TMC) </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 1 Aug 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 12 Aug 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Monica</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana </TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 26 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Babycare Festival 2010
Admission: Public - Free Admission
Venue: Hall 6B

Mother &amp; Baby brings you the highlight of the year – BabyCare Festival 2010, where families will be thrilled by the fun activities, exhilarating entertainment and fantastic buys!

19-20 Mar 10 - 11am to 9pm
21 Mar 10 - 11am to 8pm

Spiffy, when I did my detailed scan with Prof at Camden, it was 2 hours..........*yawn*.....took close to 30 mins to get the length of the ear as my son was uncooperative..guessed he must be feeling tired too...so hopefully the coming Monday scan, he will be 100% cooperative and I hope to complete everything within 1 1/2hr this time

that's interesting, soon-to-be. Just googled..DS have small ears so maybe that's why he measured the ears? i've been given an hour for each baby..hope they'll cooperate too..

hey MTBs, does anyone intend to do a 3D scan eventually? the images are so adorable.

Spiffy, I think so....there are a few physical defects for DS. During that scan, he was looking out for those defects which will include head and tongue measurements, missing finger parts and etc...Was so glad that my son had everything in place....I think my coming Monday scan will focus on heart development

Singapoh, congrats!!!! The combination of 1 gal 1 boy perfect combi! So happy for u. Can really close shop liao.

I was worried coz I thot I read in thread tat high Hcg earlier means higher DS risk?? Mine was 1200+ earlier leh...

Hazel, I am doing scan tmr at 11+week, did BT last week, so 10+week.

I don't know if e earlier scans were called dating scan, but e EDD tat appears on e report matches tat calculated based on ER date leh. I thot tat's why DR HH Tan said to wait for Dr Loh to come back &amp; tell me my actual EDD. confused. Anyway seeing Dr Loh on tues, &amp; will know my actual EDD &amp; DS results............

At most do scan at Camden, not getting overworried abt this now... Since so many false alarms from KKH. ;)

Despondent, u saw dr tan at 6 to 7 wks right? So u mean since then u have not seen dr loh n next visit is next wk at 11+ wk?

I saw dr Loh at 7 wks n 9 wks. N next visit is 5 wks later At 14 wks. I wan to see him after NT scan to review oscars results but he said dun worry anything then emAil him....

hi despondent, i read from the internet that for IVF, there is a way to estimate the EDD:

"As far as calculating a due date after IVF, the most accurate method is to add 266 days (or 38 weeks) to the day of the egg retrieval. The eggs are fertilized that day, which is the same as "day 14" - the day of ovulation and fertilization in a "normal" 28 day menstrual cycle. Adding the 14 days to the 266 days gives 280 days, or 40 weeks. The due date is traditionally set at 40 weeks from the first day of the last menstrual period in a normal pregnancy (in a woman with 28 day cycles)."

http://www.advancedfertility.com/sampleivfcalendar.htm

Hi Hazel, yes, saw Dr Tan at week 7 &amp; wk 9 (due to bleeding) &amp; seeing Dr Loh at week 12.

HOW, yes, tat's how they derived my EDD as indicated on my scan report. But Dr Tan said to wait for Dr Loh to confirm.

Despondent, my EDD Indicated by dr loh is 3 days earlier from that in the dating scan.

Wk 9 u did not see dr loh? Tot he was back from leave then. Were u given the pregnancy blue appointment card at 9 wks?I got mine at 9 wks

Congrats ! Singapoh..

Long Feng Tai is the best thing that can happen to anybody....see ..i am right..you are so blessed.

happy for you

Spiffy,

u not doing yr detailed scan in KKH? how come 1 hour each?

Despondent,

regardless of the gender, I already plan to close shop after my twins.

Judebabe,

thank you. I feel really blessed.

Ha ha Singapoh, I know lah. But now closing shop feels even greater. ;)

hazel, ya, my appt given after wk 7 is e 12th wk. Originally given was smth like 10th wk but I thot wat for since scan in another 1.5 wks time &amp; e nurses and Dr Tan seem blur, so I told nurses to give me appt date same as scan. Bur dr loh not available, so e day after scan lor. Anyway, tat last appt on wk 7 was a bit messy w blur nurse &amp; some attitude.

I saw Dr Tan on wk 9 in 24 hrs clinic due to bleeding. He had said if it continues, to push forward my appt to see Dr Loh. Thank goodness e extra dosage of Duphaston helped so me sticking to original appt date lor.

Despondent, ic.. The initial 2nd scan at 10wk plus was to confirm stability. The person who is doing NT scan for us is a doc so there is no need to see dr loh after tt. I told dr loh I wan to see him tt wk after NT scan but he said dun need..

My NT scan will be in the pm at 3pm. But am not going to work that day as I was told I can request the doc to give me a MC for tt dat.

Despondent, I think u bled earlier is coz u 'tong le tai ji' unknowingly through some activities or u accidentially took 'dang gui' by chance when u took soup outside. Be more careful n dun over tire urself.