IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, tt's y i a bit concerned leh...don't know whether coz of water retention or not...my stomach now feel round and quite hard.....

But hor, i also have this thingy for potato and egg and MEAT too...so cld be due to these lar..realise that i am eating a lot more meat than in the pre-preggy...my son is a meat lover..8P

soon to be... i think ur weight gain is ok. i gained abt 5kg in first tri... by then i delivered i put on 17kg just within the range of 12-17kg for my size. now, i have abt 3kg more to remove.. but its all at the tummy area.. very hard

Soon to be,

it's ok to eat potato and meat. Just make sure the cooking method is healthy eg. Steaming, baking, boiling.

This pregnancy I prefer vegetables and fruits. Maybe both gals. Hee hee

cat,
yeah... no kimchi... kimchi is made from those chinese white cabbage which is very cooling... my mum dun allow me to eat that... so better refrain from eating kimchi for the time being

zaza,
*wave wave*

singapoh,
vegetables and fruits are good and healthy... for me, i have a sweet tooth which i dun really have prior to getting pregnant... pre-pregnancy i also prefer savoury stuff.. so i snack alot... but after i get pregnant hardly snack cos i dun really fancy savoury stuff.... but hard to resist sweet stuff instead...

singapoh,
my only consolation during 1st trimester ms is fried chicken and fries... hahaha.. give rice and i'll just nibble... give me fried chicken and fries anytime and i'll wallop the whole meal.. but luckily 2nd trimester, things went back to normal... no more cravings for fried food..

soon-to-be, i've gained between 4-5kg too. Honestly, i think i look much bigger than someone at 18 weeks but i'm worried about small twins so i dont mind. Planning to put on around 15kg in total.

January - i bought 2 pairs of black work pants from Mums R' Us at United Square basement. One is the flowy sort and the other is straight cut. Both very comfy with adjustable straps. http://moms-rus.com/

For tops, i've not specially bought any maternity ones but rather those that have an empire cut so i can wear them after the pregnancy is over!

january,
u can try thyme maternity at OG.... they used to be at taka but they stop operation there... their maternity pants used to cost $95 but now due to them changing their brands... it's only $29 or $39... but only left the smaller sizes like S or M or if lucky can still get L or even XL... i bought 3 pairs when i was going into 2nd trimester and now in 3rd trimester i can still wear them...a lot of the salesgirls themselves buy to wear for work even tho they are not pregnant cos it's really quite comfy...

speaking of food, i've taken to asking coffeeshop zhi cha stalls not to add MSG or salt. They are surprisingly accommodating! my favourite lunch is yong tau foo with been hoon soup..at least i can choose all the vegetables/hard boiled egg/soy bean curd i want..

Bee- "how long can one bottle fed ebm", do u mean how long bb take to feed on bottle ebm? My bb will take the shortest 10 mins to finish 100ml ebm. but if his stomach is windy, he will take longer time like 45 mins to finish that 100ml ebm.

january, I just got my Maternality bottoms from perfect mum yesterday. Spent a couple of hundreds. Not cheap but can wear to full term. I wld say their materials r quite comfortable. If u wan more formal work wear, u can get from mother care or thyme. more ex but quality much better. U can go suntec, a lot of Maternality shops there.

Singapoh, bee, spiffy, esk, i wan meat almost every meal, best is fast food...shiok shiok...oh, and I have coke like once every 2 or 3 days......hehehe, cant cut down old habits..

Cannot eat kimchi har? I have taken at least 4-5 times so far coz I like korean food too....i wonder wat's happening to my baby coz this is a noti mummy who is not really controlling her diet

Jan, u have anyone that u can get hand me down maternity clothes? I'm currently wearing my fren wife's. And planning to get some new ones for CNY which shld last me throughout the last 3-4 mths....counting down

Twinstars,

how old is yr bb? Since 2 mths old, my son finish drinking from 1 breast abt 5 mins or less. Next feeding will be 3 to 4 hours.

Singapoh, I can't wear my working pants n skirt which r waist high anymore. Maybe coz they r more fitting. I was showing dh yesterday while I clear away some clothes that I can no longer zip.

I hv been wearing dresses every day until am super bored already..

But Wkend Ones, those bottoms resting on my hips can still wear.

soon-to-be, i know exactly how you feel. I just ate the Prosperity Burger! Couldn't resist trying it for the black pepper sauce. Meat is good cos we need the protein, but just choose the type of meat to eat. e.g. lean meat, without skin and fat etc. Fast food just once in a while lor...

i dont drink coke but if i feel like a fizzy drink like orangina every now and then, i'll drink it. i try not to take too much flavoured drinks though cos of the sugar.

despondent, yes u r right. I dun wan to wear dresses everyday. so boring.

Singapoh, Soon-to-be, dr loh is very nice, he said he will write me a letter of excuse if I need to go KL in my 2nd trimester for work.. Good.. Coz I dun wan to go after the experience of bring dragged by a motorbike...

i always steal sips of coke from my hubby when we dine out... hehehe... i tried to restrict fast food to once a wk max... and my current favourite is mos burger...

if u have headaches, can dilute 100 plus with plain water and drink... it's somehow helps to relief a little esp if u feel ur headache is caused by heat or even nausea... this is wat my preggy fren taught me which she said is taught by her gynae...

just to check... when did u start or when do u intend to start maternity leave? i'm thinking of taking from wk 37 onwards... isit too early?

Despondent, for me, i always have indigestion problem...thus, taking fruits too late for me may cause bloatedness....then whole night v uncomfy liao lor...

I used to control my diet in tri 1, but towards the end and in this tri, I kinda lose control lar, but will still moderate my intake.....

Esk, can't u ask the gynae to cover u with HL or MC so that you don't have to start ur maternity leave that early?

Me thinking of starting at wk 39, if can be covered by MC or HL better, so that i can spend more time with my baby after delivery...

eskimobaby, assuming all goes well and i am not 1) ordered bed rest 2) do not deliver early, i might just work right up to the time i deliver! i will also try to get HL as my first 'line of defence' rather than use my maternity leave..

Any reason for taking maternity leave early?

Spiffy,

are both yr twins equally active? My right twin seems to move more so I told the left twin to move so I know he is ok inside.

At 2 am, he kept moving for abt 1 hour!

singapoh same! i'm feeling my right side more than the left. during the scan last week, the right twin was also waving his arms and legs in the air but the left one seemed to be asleep.
i'm already wondering if their personalities are going to be poles apart..
by the way, are you getting 2 cots?

Spiffy,

not getting 2 cots. They will share a cot for the 1st few months. Gonna DIY a partition in the cot. Maybe zzz with me on the floor after that. Gonna kick dh and son off the bed. Ha ha. How abt u?

soontobe, spiffy,
i had the same idea as u when i was still in trimester 2... but when u r in trimester 3 u'll find that u tire very easily and do not have much energy to do much and plus the preparation for the arrival of the baby...

my hubby thinks i should take some time to rest b4 i give birth as well...and usually anytime after 37 wks, u can give birth... and i do find that now that i'm in 3rd trimester, i get stressed up more easily maybe due to anxiety of the arrival of the baby...

i think HL can only be given like 1 wk in advance and not more unless there's valid reason and not just for rest.. the other time i had ohss, dr loh gave me HL for 1 wk and subsequently for 2 more wks and he commented that there were mothers-to-be who went there to request for mc/HL esp since that period was the peak of the h1n1... he commented that at least i had a valid reason..he dun know how to give the mothers-to-be who requested cos he can't write anything valid for the diagnosis... so i dun think HL for restructured hosp can be given so easily..

talking abt bb movement... at least once a day i'll feel this rhythmic bb movement.. like someone knocking on the tummy door from the inside... i wonder if it's my bb doing the hiccups... or she's drinking the amniotic fluid... heee

Hi Eskimobaby,

Hope u have a smooth delivery...

Try speaking to Dr Loh n tell him u have to go up n down the stairs as u are teaching... incase pop u will have problem rushing to hospital... plus one of your student got chicken poxs recently...etc la... he will give u HL de... no choice for some white lies.. baby is hard to come by for our case... so must try our best to protect... =)

Hi Spiffy ,

If u want to start maternity leave early, just tell your company that you might pop anytime as u r getting more frequent contraction... =P

Hi Zaza,

I got all kinds of cold drinks during pregnancy.. try to avoid in 1st trimester until bb stable can liao.... soon we can all meet up n put all babies together man... after a long wavy ivf journey... zzzzz

ladies... eat everything with moderation hor... for spicy, fried and high sugar/caffine food, eat as little as you can if u have to eat

Just to share... haha i read my old blog which i have stop at 2nd trimester... the OHSS plus bad vomitting that caused my prenatal depression... the thoughts to abort... the 1st ivf that i lose the twins sac at 6weeks.. n today i realise i have completed a big project... read it but dun laugh at it.. hee true life account.. =P

http://babiesthongjourney.wordpress.com

At the same time , i really need to thank those who go thru my life toughest time... Libby, Orangey, Eskimobaby, Juju , Bliss, Lina , Fresh, Mel, Zaza, Jas, Noi , & Bee... without u ladies, i think i would have given up... Thanks again buddies!