IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Linda, i'm fine. NUH called me already but said for the DS risk result only will know next week.

Tummy showing more because even yesterday a taxi driver also asked me to be careful. so weird.

And my colleagues those who are not close with me, started giving me the look.

When we will do 3D scan?

Oxidised, how much is the scan at Camden?

I can imagine the cost will be even more for that, but with you having twin, and see much more clearer, i think it is worth it.

You know i was only given 1 photo of the scan on Tuesday leh. I remember who has a lot of copy from KKH, right? The NUH sonographer didn't even explain anything. just said these are the hands, legs, heads and heartbeats, which all i can see myself.

Wow Oxidised! I am so happy for you! Hugs~

So fast u know the gender liao ah...I did DS scan in KKH yesterday. Can't see yet lei..

vi4n,

Your colleagues have never seen a preggy woman before ah? So weird one. :p

I was given so many pix after the scan. I also asked her for a pix of both foetus side by side

Singapoh, I think because i've been with this company for very long time already, and first time pregnant. hahaha.. I think they just paiseh to ask me.

So nice you have so many pictures to see.

vi4i,

actually not that clear lah. Just imagine lor. I checked the DS result. Written the length of both my foetus 7.7 cm and 7.8 cm at 13 weeks

I don't even know the length of baby. ah..but knowing baby is active and heartbeat is ok. i'm happy lah.

For twin, i think your babies size are really good. because even for singleton, Week 13 should be around 7.5cm

Hi oxidised,

Congratz on having 2 princesses! Glad that your scan went well n need not do anmio test. Prof's machine is indeed very advance. Much more advance than my gynae's machine that's y he scheduled all of his high-risk pts there to do detail scans n growth scans.
I'm seeing him on x'mas eve for my bb's 34th week growth scan.

Seems like a no. of mummies here are seeing him...

hi bliss,
do understand the bonding part with teng could be an issue. Now don't think so far ahead, just focus on this pregnancy first.
which hospital will you deliver?

Hi Linda and Oxidised,
take care.

hi cactus,
your boys are so cute, don't be too hard on youself, can feed them partial formula and wait till more milk flow comes in.

Hi eskimobaby,

My case is different lah... because of my cervix shortening, my gynae has been monitoring my bb's growth very closely... i had bb growth scan at wk 26, wk 28, wk30 and wk 34 is the next one. The scan will see the blood flow to bb, take all the relevant measurements like length, femur length, HC, AC etc etc... This is to see if the bb has good growth... In the event that i have premature labour, at least my gynae knows how my bb has grown.

this week is a nitemare for me.

on monday, i went to work in the morning, after peeing, i saw alot blood in the toilet bowl, i freaked out immediately, thinking i might have miscarriaged. Rush to kkh24hr and was so relieved to saw my baby is still there. And i also saw the heartbeat. Dr say my condition is very unstable, need to bedrest for 1 day. I wasnt happy and ask for 1 week mc instead since its so unstable! Afterwhich, i had terrible ms.. i vomitted non-stop from morning till nite , couldnt eat couldnt drink. any food i see smell pungent to me and i will puke.. I was then admitted to hospital yesterday 5am as i was too weak ..In the end i suffered from over-dehydration and mal-nutrition. i have to go on drip and inject nauseous medication every few hours. I hope i can discharge soon.

ladies, i really duno how to surivive for the rest of the first trimester..its really hard with non-stop vomitting throughout the day. Even at slp sometimes, i felt super nauseous, but had to force myself to slp. can anyone teach me any tips? i broke down a few times to even wan to give up.. but luckily my hb has been very supportive.

thanks for listening to me.

Sigh, seems like my hubby wan me to go ahead w the amino test...i whole night not able to sleep, and woke up early jus to call Camden to get appointment.....don't know wat is he thinking, perhaps he bad mood and didn't sleep well coz I was tossing and turning, and kept waking up the entire night.....

Twinstars
Congrats to you, take care during confinement.

Sunflower
Was wondering how come you were so quiet this week. Hope you feeling better now. The Doc did not explain what causes the heavy bleeding? Do you need to seek for a 2nd opinion? What kind of support they giving you now? On the brighter side, if you have bad ms, that means baby is growing very well too.. Sorry, unable to give much tips as my ms is not that bad, maybe other sisters can guide you. Please take care.

hi sunflower,
do rest well. Is it possible to ask your company to give longer HL, mc or leave? 1st trimester is most important, must take good care. did doctor give you medicine to reduce vomit?

twinstar,
big baby! and happy for u that u managed to go natural.. rest well for ur confinement

serene,
ic.... i guess even until now i wish i had gone for 3D or 4D scan... even tho i know once baby is born the scans will be chucked aside and will be a waste of money :p

sunflower,
i know how it feels.. it's really not easy... when i was having ms and ohss in 1st trimester i was asking myself wat did i get myself into... was desperate for a baby but wasn't prepared for wat's to come... it's normal to have such thots during 1st trimester esp when u have very bad ms and we dun seem to be in control of our own body... remind urself that having ms is good and that baby is strong... just go over this period.. after this things will get better

soontobe,
maybe ur hubby thinks that even by going to camden he would still wan to go ahead with amnio test as amnio is the most conclusive one... or if the scan at camden still cast some doubts u would end up having to go for amnio too... talk it out with ur hubby... both of u need to understand where each other is coming from.. need to support each other... this is just the beginning where u need to make decisions abt ur child together... dun let it affect ur health ok...

thanks libby, lina and eskimobaby!

just review dr tan heng yao, he is nice, he offered me 3 weeks HL leave, ask me to rest as much as possible. on the other hand, he say baby is very healthy, thats y im suffering bad ms..ask me to eat watever i feel like eating (but actually there is nothing!). Anyhow, he is nice, he told me my bleeding without cramp could be due to the discharge of the other embryos since i put in 3... Dr Zou also told me the other day when i ask her, she said mayne the other twin was implanted but couldnt develop into sac, thats y discharge out as blood.

i will try my best to tahan since this baby comes not easy.. thanks ladies for ur support!

Congrats twinstar! You've got a big chubby baby.

Thank you ladies for your encouragement, last nite was the first time I managed to total breasfeed without having to supplement with formula. It certainly feels good except that I'm so tired now.

twinstars,
congrats!!
You have a big baby!
Great!
You take good rest during confinement and enjoy being with your cute bb now!

Lina,
thanks for saying that. I will try not to think too much.

My gynae does delivery in both TMC and Mt A, but I will probably go Mt A to deliver as my gynae said it is better equipped.
How are you so far? How's bb and your confinement? The CL ok so far? I am still thinking to get her again or another CL next yr.

Sun@flower,
it was indeed a big fright. I felt scared for you while reading. Glad to hear that bb and you are ok, but you must really rest more and take good care. Everything will be fine, dont worry too much now. Stay happy still.

hi sunflower,
do rest well during the 3 weeks HL. Take care

Hi bliss,
That's good, can give Mt A a try. TMC have carpark problem. So far confinement is smooth, her cooking style is acceptable. For breakfast i wanted to eat bread but CL insist that i eat healthy cooked food, so been eating noodles with the pork meat or kidney. Night time i don't take care of baby, only wake up to pump milk. I am consider a new mom, cannot even remember how to put a proper diaper and shower for baby. CL see me also surprise, how come i look blur blur.

I thought you don't like her style. She talks alot and can chat about everything. Quite unlike my previous CL. But certain things is better and certain things is worst if i made comparasion. I didn't want to pay for the work permit as my previous CL, i fetch her to custom on the 14th day. But this CL insist that i make a permit for her. Maybe you try searching for another good CL and see the difference.

hi twinstar
congrates on ur arrival of prince

hi vi4n
glad everything looks ok...and wish ur next week result will be clear as well

hi sunflower
finally saw ur posting here...was wondering how r u after met u at kk 24 hrs on mon morning.. do take few weeks more of rest, as is very impt...for me, i even took non pay leave for my entire 1st trimester...and tot goin back to work in my 2nd tri, will be ok liao but still cant take things too lightly..tat day u saw me i was jus finishing my 3 night shifts...tats y the dr at kk 24hrs write me excuse chit to excuse future night shift till delivery liao..u take care

Sunflower, how many weeks are you now?

I'm 8.5wks now, ET 2 embryos and during the last scan, we saw two sacs but one without heartbeat, dr says its likely he didn't developed well, but he did not warn me of bleeding. I'm quite worried now after hearing your story.
I'm also suffering fr ms, no appetite at all except fruits, so I eating oranges, green apple, blue berries and anything sour, my favourite is pineapple, but I restrict my intake to only one small piece a day.

Lina,
oic, thanks for suggesting. I am still looking for a CL. Btw, how come you are not bfg your gal directly?
I am thinking of making my 2nd bb latch on from the start, dont want to make the same mistake to let CL bottle feed bb in the nite during confinement, end up bb choose bottle instead of nipples even though I did let Teng teng latch on in the day during the confinement. But then, if I were to latch on from the start, I will have to be v tired in the nite too. But it will be better for me in the long term hor.

hi Sunfl@wer, was wondering where you have been this week. was a little worried for you. are you back at home now? heard from the sisters that someone got a band to wear at the wrist to reduce nauseousness or otherwise keep a pail near you with a plastic bag (especially at night when you sleep) so you can puke and need not run too far.
Happy to hear about the bb's heartbeat and the doctors's feedback.

Hi WY and Twinstars, Congrats to the arrival of your darlings!

Hi mommies, any recommendation on the breastmilk pump? steriliser and warmer? oso, where do you get them - Taka?

what type of food is good to build breast milk (while still pregnant)?

When you mention latching, does it take a longer nipple for the bb to get the milk?

My breasts are dissappointingly not too engorged (at 15 weeks). It felt fuller earlier and then it kinda shrank. Wierd right?

esk, ya, jus spoken to my hubby again..guess that there's a miscomm between us this morning..he tot i was the one who was not keen to go for the 2nd opinion.....got a bit emotional the whole morning..to the extend when he raised his voice a bit at me, I felt so wronged and started crying....hehehehe....

If nothing go so wrong, I'm likely to go for the 2nd opinion on next Wed....the nurse told me though a bit late at week 16 liao but that's the earliest that she can slot me in. My sis asked me not to think too much and jus go for amino coz it will be 100% accurate then, but the waiting time is jus too long.......

soon to be,

Poor thing. It's ok to cry if you feel like it. Don't bottle up ok.

vi4n,
I think maybe coz both me and dh are tall so both foetus also long :p

hi bliss,
as i am going back to work after maternity leave and baby will be with babysitter. So i rather baby not getting used to latching as i will only see her during weekends. I am pumping fully, no latching. This time round milk flow came in fast and large amount, so should be alright. I store frozen milk when baby cannot finish within the day. Yes, for your case, should latch totally. If you latch while lying down at night, not too tiring. You can sleep while latching. Just take into consideration that teng teng might be walking by the time baby comes, could be a bit tough as you will be latching baby while walking around the house to check that teng is safe. You could get him a play yard, play pen or safety gate so that he does not wander into other parts of the house and make sure your house is toddler proof.

All MTBs, thanks for your kind words.....yes, you, my hubby and family have been given me the strength and belief since the results that my baby will be alright.....8) I'm so looking forward to seeing him/her again, and carrying him/her in my arms in coming Jun..

Singapoh, I feel that I'm getting more and more emotional nowadays.....hopefully i can have better control so that it won't worry my hubby. He's quite worried that i will get pre or post natal blues due to my personality.

dear all
finally, i hv the chance to post again... my aged home computer had decided to take a long break

Twinstars, congrats! wah,u r great to deliver naturally for a 3.8kg bb. you must be quite tall! my boy birth weight was 3.7kg, gynae estimated it to be abt 3.5kg.. not too far of! hope u r fine cos after my epi subside, i then realised i cant walk. my gynae diagnosed my condition as sypmphonsis pulvis dysfunction. though i can walk now, gynae said it would probably take 3 months to fully recover and advised no squatting and opening of legs at the moment.

Libby, not sure what is kkh practice,at thomson, i was given olic acid, duphaston, crinone (to insert thru v area) and one other medication to support the preg till week 12. my gynae followed the advice of the ivf doc anddidnt gv me further medication. she gave me mutlivits and fish oil from 2nd tri onwards.. and i am still taking them now

Bliss, i hv been taking fish oil since 2nd tri. maybe that's why my boy is so active. he makes lots of funny funny noises :D

Cactus, WK, Lina - congrats!

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> 1 boy (delivered on 1 Nov)</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 9 Nov)</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 Dec)</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 25 Nov)</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>ximi</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 girl 1 boy (delivered on 10 Nov)</TD><TD> 16 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 22 Nov)</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 16 Dec)</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 10 Dec)</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>WY Koo</TD><TD> In UK</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 girl (delivered 16 Dec)</TD><TD> 28 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 8 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>22 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> 2 boys</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Maggiemee</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Marianne</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 8 May 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Yumyum</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> triplets</TD><TD> 7 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Soon to be</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 12 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 14 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Spiffy</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Kelly Loi</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 16 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Oxidised</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 17 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Singapoh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 22 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Vi4n</TD><TD> NUH</TD><TD> Prof PC Wong</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 23 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Mik Mik</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 30 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>berrybaby</TD><TD> SGH</TD><TD> Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 25 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Libby</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 29 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Bee,
dont scare me leh. I am starting to take DHA tablets now. I am only in my 1st trimester leh.
My gynae said DHA will not cause hyperactive bbs, bbs are active, this is natural.
My teng teng is very active even though I did not take any fish oil or DHA during my entire pregnancy. Kekeke... :p

Baby Jun makes lots of funny noises huh? Very cute hor.

I love to see my bb so smiley and cheerful all the time too!

Bee
Finally your new pc is up! How's baby Jun now?
I wonder why gynaes do not recommend vitamins for 1st trimester, when it's crucial for baby development now leh..

vi4n
has back to work today liao... so far i feel ok to work day shift...night shift was jus too tiring for me cos cant sleep at night, bcos i was so used to sleep every night at 11pm during my 1st trimester

soon to be,

Eventhough it's normal to get post natal depression (not sure about pre natal), you should take it seriously. If it drags too long, it can lead to mental illness.

Better take care...hugs~