IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Me very stressed too.. Bought most of the stuff but not in my house as my mum patang. 4 me the time is moving soo fast that i dun know if i can handle the day as it comes.. Hormones i guess. Hey have u guys decided which brand of diapers u r gonna get for the baby 1st few months??

Any recommendtions..

I havent decide wat brand to buy cos I m not sure whether to let my boy use the cloth diapers or not. My sil gave me lot of things like clothes, cloth diapers, bb cots n toys etc, havent sort out yet.

Itjabi,

For diapers, i'll be using cloth diapers in the day and Mamy Poko at night. I like mamy poko cos there's a 'U' cut at the front so that it wont irritate the bb's cord. I used that for my elder son too.

bubbybear,
sorry to hear about ur loss. pls take care & focus on building back ur health. pls also do a mini confinement.

re: diapers
i used nepia & pampers for bb's 1st mth. after dat, i used nepia for nite & ntuc for day. now still using nepia for nite, but giant for day cos cheaper

Hi itjabi,
I am starting to let my boy using mamy poko now for night, find it softer n more comfy than nepia(which he has been using previously). Mamy poko is much more exp, but can get cheaper price at the smh BP or buy those jumbo pack during promo from ntuc(it is having promo jumbo price now).

Another promo from fitti diapers to share w u ladies. (actually got the info from Maykel and Cale, some of you may know them). Fitti premium is having 30% off promo until end of this year. I heard that Fitti premium is not bad, can be used for day as well as night. And it is velcro stick, not the sticker type. Just email them the order form of min 6 packs at only $60, they will send to your house free of charge. If interested, can PM me to get the order form.

I find the Japanese brand, GOO.N is very very absorbent and soft, but it is v exp compared to other brands...too bad...kekeke.

thanks ladies for info.. Will go check the brands out.

Juju78: Ur daughther is juz too adorable. saw her recent pics on facebook.. Aiyoh!! sooo cute!!!

hi girls,

its 6.30am the morning of my scheduled c section delivery of my baby. I am almost 39 weeks today and I am excited and anxious of my delivery. In a few hours time, I will be mother of my number 2 girl. My first child is also by IVF and she is 3 yrs old now. I want to thank this wonderful forum for the mental support that has been rendered to me, a place to voice out and also a place to seek comfort knowing there are people out there going thru what i did.

Big hugs to every single beautiful strong ladies here... I will update my birth story once i am ready.

Wish me all the best for today...

Hey Fresh ,

Heehee... yours will be soon liao... I am taking the 4bedded one.. Talking abt shopping.. Yupz i done it today.. 3/4 all buy liao.. pocket burst abt. $1000... =P Cos everything 2 sets.. haha.. But fun shopping...

Hi develyn,
Very fun to do shopping for them right? Also try online shopping as some can be cheaper. Must try to save too as our cost for them is double.

Hi develyn,

You really splurge on your shopping, huh? I bet you enjoyed yourself shopping for baby stuff. Actually, no need to buy everything double. I didn't buy the 2nd cot/stroller. They may not want to sleep/sit on it, like my 1st gal, very wasted.
Me too, I opted for B1-the 4 bedded ward. At that time, very worried that babies would be born prematurely & needs to be in NICU. As I hold on to the pregnancy hopefully till week 37/38, maybe there's a chance for me to upgrade to A1. Told my hubby I also need to pamper myself.

Hi itjabi,

As for diapers, I only used Pampers & Mamy Poko for my 1st gal. No issue at all. Babies have very sensitive skin, I dare not try other bands.

Tintedsky: Hugs and congrats. Enjoy this beautiful journey with ur children.
Rest well after ur c-section n take care of urself too.

tintedsky has given birth to a beautiful baby girl yest morning. Her birthweight is 3.04kg. Congrats to tintedsky!

Tintedsky, try to rest more still, it is not easy to do confinement on your own. Hope things will be easier and smoother than expected.

Jia you, you are a great mother!

hi cactus!

ur with dc pc wong right? he delivered my triplets at 35wks/2dys via c-sect with epidural. he allowed my husband to record the whole birth on video. i was also able to hear all my 3 girls 1st cries. do talk to him and discuss with your husband. dr wong is a very caring, responsible gynae. i owe it to him for my smooth triplet pregnancy. now my girls are turning 10months old soon and are growing very well.

to all mtbs, jiayo!

i'm taking the blood test to screen for Down's this Friday. Does anyone know if this is accurate if one is carrying twins? i've read that while the nuchal scan is the same, the blood test may not be accurate.

hi spiffy,

Was told by my gynae, blood test not accurate for twins.

hi Ms Hae,

When your triplets were born at 35 weeks, what were their weight like?

Hi Sophia/Cactus ,

Yup i am trying to save... i bought one baby cot abt 280 (on robinson sales) and one playpen to stand by only... i also hope to hold my 2 gals closer to due date..

Btw Ladies , anyone knows some online page to get baby strollers ?

Hi spiffy ,

BT is not accurate on twins (especially if u are doing at KKH *Oppss*)... Usually twins will take only neck thickness.. But dun worry , all will be fine okie.. =P

Incase u trying to get milk bottles, robinson sales at expo sells Dr brown bottles (cheaper than outside alot) - anti-colic ones.. =)

Develyn, you can look through the BP here. Someone's selling Combi stroller at slightly lower prices. But I would not buy first if I am you. have heard of too many babies not wanting to sit in them and it became a waste of money. I may want to wait a little longer before buying two single ones. usually the twin strollers are really heavy and bulky. If you go out alone, surely got problem. May wait for the next Taka sale (next year) to get. But I got carriers liao coz it would be more useful to carry them them using strollers. got one that's cloth like a sling (for me) and an Ergo carrier for hubby. He finds sling to sissy. Ergo carriers come with an attachment for newborns for extra support for their necks. Can consider.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> 1 boy (delivered on 1 Nov)</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 9 Nov)</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> ximi</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD> 16 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 8 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>22 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> 2 boys</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD> Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Spiffy,
Dr Loh told me BT is not accurate if we taken it too early. He saw that I took my BT at ard 10 weeks and straight away tell me, not accurate lah take so early! And he commented that with my twins vanishing sydrome at 7 weeks, it will further affect the whole BT, which is why he kept asking me not to go for the BT but I just did not listen.

Congratulations Tintedsky !!!

Hi Sophia ,

Seems like i have no much choice.. what happen is that i dun really want the maid to carry one if we goes out together.. i have try seeing single stroller (Cannot squeeze 2 in the car booth).. ended up after finding so long , we only find this twins stroller able to go keep in booth.. Hmm that's why i really need somemore links to consider... Any idea ?

hi ladies, do you have a list of items to bring to the hospital when EDD?

hi cactus, thanks for the advice. i really wanted my mum to help me but she wants me to stay at her place as she has to look after my 2 other nephews (7 &amp; 9 year old).

i called up the agency gpls and they told me to hire 2 nannies for my 3 bbs. i told them i will have a maid by then and there is no place for 2 nannies. i know we will try to manage anyway.

choice a: mum's place - tahan with the mess and cramp 7 adults and 3 bbs + 2 children in one apartment?

choice b: my own place - clueless and tikam on good luck for good nannies and good maid?

very headache.

I can only think of Mothercare for the twin strollers. Can try shunli Industrial building, there are two baby shops selling cots, strollers etc. Price range will depend on your budget. Otherwise, most overseas website will have a better range but the price not worth it after factoring in the shipping charges etc. Unless you have lobang and the person can help bring it for you....

develyn - my hubby did some research of the baby forums recently and found that the Maclaren Twin Techno (not the Triumph) is generally well liked for convenience and durability.

I just went to Mothercare, Toys r Us, Carrefour today which were all quite limited in range. The best is still to go to Baby Hypermart/Baby Kingdom in Shun Li at kaki bukit.

Hi Sophia/Spiffy,

Thanks alot.. i will go n have a look.. btw, try gtg to Baby avenue.. it seems like they have quite a lot of choices also.. i will check out shun li side... =P

Thanks, ladies for your well wishes. I will not give up not unless until my last remaining reserve. If its not meant to be, its not meant to be. What I can do is just look forward to another opportunity !

Will pop by ocassionally to read your good news. Congrats to Tintedsky who delivered recently !

FYI. If you are considering Maclaren strollers, there is a recent recall of Maclaren strollers in the US as 12 kids got their fingers severed from the hinge machanism while opening the strollers. There is no recall anywhere else. Maybe u want to consider another brand for those looking to buy a stroller until they come up with a safer design.

This has been checked on Snopes.com and there is truth to the article below. Again it’s not saying NOT to use your air conditioner but that we should open our windows to let out the harmful fumes (Benzene) prior to turning on the AC.

No wonder more folks are dying from cancer than ever before. We wonder where this stuff comes from but here is an example that explains a lot of the cancer causing incidents. Hmmm. Many people are in their cars first thing in the morning and the last thing at night, 7 days a week. As I read this, it makes me feel guilty and ill. Please pass this on to as many people as possible. Guess its not too late to make some changes

Car A/C (Air Conditioning) MUST READ!!!
Please do NOT turn on A/C as soon as you enter the car.

Open the windows after you enter your car and turn ON the AC after a couple of minutes.

Here's why:

According to a research, the car dashboard, sofa, air freshener emit Benzene, a Cancer causing toxin

(carcinogen - take time to observe the smell of heated plastic in your car).

In addition to causing cancer, Benzene poisons your bones, causes anemia and reduces white blood cells.

Prolonged exposure will cause Leukemia, increasing the risk of cancer.

Can also cause miscarriage.

Acceptable Benzene level indoors is 50mg per sq.ft. A car parked indoors with windows closed will contain 400-800 mg of Benzene.

If parked outdoors under the sun at a temperature above 60 degrees F, the Benzene level goes up to 2000-4000 mg, 40 times the acceptable level.

People who get into the car, keeping windows closed will inevitably inhale, in quick succession, excessive amounts of the toxin.

Benzene is a toxin that affects your kidney and liver.. What's worse, it is extremely difficult for your body to expel this toxic stuff.

So friends, please open the windows and door of your car - give time for interior to air out -dispel the deadly stuff - before you enter.

Thought:

'When someone shares something of value with you and you benefit from it, you have a moral obligation to share it with others.'

Ladies, can join here?

Cactus, you still under Prof till now? then how come they said Prof not handling delivery anymore?

Spiffy, yeah.. Soon-to-be told me about this thread. And I just think more tactful to discuss the pregnancy progress in different thread than the IVF thread.

Hi Vi4n,

Prof PC Wong transferred me to Mary Rauff, but she is on leave from 13 to 23 Nov, so I'm still seeing Prof afterall. Most likely delivery will be by Mary Rauff, cheaper also.

Hi Cactus, Thanks for the info.
So you got the package with Mary Rauff?

When we will get transfer to another gynae? I'm still considering whether to stick with NUH, or go to TMC.

Yes, my package is with Mary Rauff. Prof will do the IVF and follow through to week 12. Once you're stable, he will transfer you to your prefered gynae. I supposed the difference is NUH is Govt-structured, can use Medisave for IVF whereas TMC is pte. Otherwise, it is the same in terms of cost.

hi yumyum,

If you have a maid, a nanny &amp; yourself, 3 adult should be able to look after 3 babies. Dun need 2 nannies, very expensive.

Hi cactus, I already successful with the IVF. Now 8 weeks already. Ok, so will see him until week 12.
Btw, do you still remember how much you paid for Nuchal and Oscar test?
Thanks..

Heeehee..I'm here too.....ladies, anyone has problems after drinking orange juice? I drank the orange juice from mac during lunch and had been feeling unwell since then, keep wanting to vomit.