IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

i have not started applying any stretchmark cream yet.. isit ok? i'm 13 weeks but still dun feel any stretch or itchiness...

thanks bee! i was still telling my fren i dunno where to start... wat to buy first or wat to buy later

bee
thanks for the list!!

juju
thanks for the information, would get the list there as well

eskimobaby
my gynae advised to start with stretch mark cream in 1st trimester before you see any marks, not when you see them. so, maybe you want to cnsider hunting for 1 now.. as to what to buy, i started buying only in my 7th mth of pregnancy with accesories like bb detergnet, softener, etc..then 2nd batch was like clothes,cloth nappies coz must start to wash them..I was on HL since week 26 so i stayed at home and did a timetable on what to do and prepare at which week..then when weekend comes, my hubby wil be activated to buy things with me..we would hit the mall or shopping place by 11am when shop opens and leave by 1pm after lunch to avoid crowd... anyway, just to share my strategy with you....hope it helps.

ohhh ok i'll try and go get a stretch mark cream this week... thanks!

yeah.... but i'm totally clueless abt brands and wat to look out for when buying... so must slowly source and browse now then nearer EDD then will buy i guess

hi eskimobaby
yah, like 76 said, i heard also must start the stretchmark creams before u see them, in fact my cousin told me that you probably can't see them until you actually give birth. I started using around 10 weeks, now 22 weeks ald used 2 tubes of stretchmarks creams and starting my second bottle of clarins tonic oil. Changed from the cream to oil coz could still feel itch when using the cream, and the oil feel better.

Hi fresh
actually i have never attended Yoga classes before, only attended pre-natal Yoga & Pilates, but what i understand is prenatal class is lighter and
- focus on breathing during childbirth,
- exercises to tone muscles for the pregnancy,
- stretching to help prevent cramps, and
- some meditation to relax.

the one that i go to is Inspire Mum and Baby (at Katong Mall & Raffles Place), Hubby cannot stay in the class, can wait outside thou.

paule,
i just bought the elancyl brand stretch mark cream.... will try using from now onwards... maybe after this then switch to clarins which i find is richer in texture...

Hi Pau Le and Lina,

Thanks for the information.

Lina,

Does the KK antenatal class have practical lesson which teaches hubby how to do massage for wife etc or is it just giving speech?

eskimobaby
i was using the elancyl stretchmark cream too, used two tubes, but when i reach singapore, maybe because my stomach is growing faster, i still feel itch, so "upgrade" to Clarins oil... yah probably you can change when u finish too... the smell also better

Lina
wow the KK antenatal class like very comprehensive and good chance for the daddy to participate in the pregnancy hor... and the price is so reasonable! too bad i leaving Spore soon... cannot attend.

Lina
wow the KK antenatal class like very comprehensive and good chance for the daddy to participate in the pregnancy hor... and the price is so reasonable! too bad i leaving Spore soon... cannot attend.

hi fresh,
there is one lesson where everyone provided with mats (something like the yoga mat). Then when the senior nurse explain, you can practice the massage with hubby. I like one lesson where they use a doll baby to let you practice wearing diaper and bath. A book is provided so you can revise the lessons at home.

And if you skip class, can also go for make up lesson. Last time when hubby not free, i ask my mom to accompany. Can ask anyone to accompany you too. Do register early if you are interested as sometimes quite popular.

hi pau le,
i suppose france should have similar classes, maybe can attend when you return. I find such classes very useful for 1st time blur mummies.

lina/fresh/pau le,
the kkh antenatal class i attended wif hubby dun hv practice on doll leh. the nurse jus teach us how to fold nappy & made each couple fold & show her. bathing the doll also done by nurse only, we dun get to practical.
besides prenatal massage, there's also breathing & massage techniques for during labour.
worth going!

Hi Sophia,

I am with TMC, but I havent sign up parentcraft, how does the timetable goes?
Cos my hubby is on rotating shift work, so maybe there are days that he cannot make it. If cannot make it got makeup lessons or not huh?

hi juju,
i attended 4 yrs ago, maybe they changed teaching method now. Oh yes, i found the breathing method very good.

Hi sophia and twinstars,
for TMC parentcraft, you can request to have lesson under Ms Wong Boi Boi. Heard from friends that her talk is more interesting.

just received sms from 76 this morning 9am. She has given birth to her twins boys last nite around 10pm. She told me her labour pain started at 3am until steriod took effect. Her boys are 1.4kg and 1.7kg at birth, need to hit 2kg in order to be discharged from icu. She is tired now and needs rest.
Congrats, 76! Very happy for you. We have been chatting over msn almost everyday when I was still preggy. So now you will be also as busy with your bbs liao...kekeke...
I am glad that you see your precious bbs finally now!!
What a relief rite?

You rest well and take good care of bbs and yourself.

Twinstars,
I'm not sure if can do makeup if cannot make it. There is 5 sessions each 2 hrs long and 1 doctor's talk. I've signed up for the weekdays one at AMK Hub, nearer my place. Since I'm with KKH, I pay more for the class. If you are interested, must sign up early but they are very strict that you must be 20wks and above. The sessions are full very quickly since it's only about 16-20 couples (I think) each session. I didn't request for Mrs Wong's class as I've heard comments that she is now not so thorough. Maybe too famous liao?? Aiyah, dun care who, as long as get some basic skills I'm happy liao.

Hi Lina,

Thanks for the explanation. The KK Antenatal class seems very comprehensive. Think I will join when I'm about 16 weeks bah. Most likely the Oct or Nov weekend classes cos hubby might not be able to make it at 630pm.

i am with TMC parentcraft, attended 4 classes thusfar... briefly,
6 classes at abt $214 (for those who signed up for 1st born incentives, you enjoy 10% discount)
Frequency : everyweek, can be weekday or weekend
Venue : AMK Hub or the building opp TMC
Duration : 2hours
Lessons
1 - Exercise + nutritions, pregnancy discomfort
2 - Exercise + pain relief
3 - Exercise + Labour
4 - Handson practical + baby care
5 - Feeding
6 - Doc talk + Q&A

My run started on 26 Jul (i chose the sun, 4-6pm class). so I guess the next run should start early Sep. The classes at parentcraft are very popular, you should sign up when u reach 20 week. Btw, hb told me KK class is cheaper even for non kk patients

no problem... my list contians probably the minimum things to purchase... i bought most of my stuff at mothercare, kiddy palace and robinson. common stuff like baby bath/lotion, i got it from NTUC. big items like cot and pram were bought from baby kingdom at kaki bukit

as for exercise, choose prenatal yoga... not the normal yoga cos some pose they teach at yoga are not suitable for mtb.. i started prenatal yoga at abt week 16 (i kiasu.. thou gynae said after week 12 is fine). i prefer small class so i signed with a freelance who conduct classes at Holland V area where it is near my place... she also teaches at tanglin mall. now, i practice the posture myself at home
save money :p

Sophia - Yes, you can do make up if you miss any of the lesson... although they will say subject to availability, but they will allow cos no choice what since every class is full.

bliss, wow! that's about 7 weeks earlier.. next will be littlebee, kaira and cribby... then me :p

76, Congrats! hope your baby grow fast fast and can go home soon...

eskimobaby
i am also using the elancyl stretchmark cream... finishing the 2nd tube soon. thereafter, i will probably go for clarins oil.. agree with the rest that u shd start after 1st tri... dun wait till itchiness comes, it will be too late

bee,
ya, 76 was at her 32 weeks and 4 days yest. Glad that her bbs are safely born.

The waiting always seems so long... but once the day arrives, one will feel time flies real fast man.

Congrats 76. God bless them

Hey ladies there is gonna be a bb fair at taka think 27th. Do go to the taka website and check it out. Not very sure if i got the dates rite.

lina,
probably. hubby forgot to massage me! but he let me twist his arm! hahaha!

congrats on the birth of ur twins!

bee,
yup! kk patients pay abt $130. we had quite a few couples who were frm pte hospitals in our prenatal class

BB sales -
isetan bb fair : now till 27 aug
robinson bb fair : now till 30 aug
taka bb fair : 27 aug - 13 sep

Congrats 76 on the delivery! Do take good care of your health right now.

Thanks juju for the sales list.

Thinking of getting baby carriers. Shortlisted these few: Baby Bjorn, Ergo and Pikkolo. Any one using these? Any others I should consider?

Hi 76,
Congrats on the arrival of your twin boys!

hi bliss,
thanks for keeping us updated.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD></TD><TD> 1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi sophia,
i am using baby bjorn, easy to use. Can face front and back. For baby egro, only can face one direction.

sophia,
think bb carriers only can use when bb abt 3 mths old? when neck stable?
i used a sling since my bb newborn till now (15wks)

juju, i think so too. but the ergo brand has an infant support for the neck. Actually I have a sling but hubbi not comfortable using it so he wants to use a carrier. Otherwise, I use a sling to carry one twin, he doesnt have.

Lina,
no problem, thanks for taking over the updating job, heehee...

Juju,
where is the Isetan and robinson bb fair taken place?

me. Suppose to use 3 times a day but really cant. So, I only use at night. When it's beating on the stomach,really can feel the babies move.

hey! juju: Wanted to ask u abt ur massage lady? It was Mdm ida rite? How do u find her? Good? How long did u do ur massage for??

Just an update. I had delivered my 3 girls on 17 Aug at 34 weeks + 4 days. Had brought home the eldest girl, the other two are still in NICU and hope to be home end of this week.

I still have 6 Proluton 250mg depot to give away. Pls PM me if anyone here is on Proluton.

Hi littlebee,
congrats to you! hope your other 2 gals will be back home soon. Take care during your confinement.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>