IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD></TD><TD> 1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi fresh,
glad you can see the twins now. You should be able to hear the heartbeat at the next scan. So happy for you and your hubby. Do take the blood test for down syndrome first. I think develyn took that already, do check with her on the cost.

juju,
i'm thinking of changing gynae since mine is singleton... even tho dr loh is ok so far.. but he kept forgetting to give me the things he said he'll prescribe for me... like the anti nausea pills... have to request again at the counter and i find that his scan very brief... am thinking of switching to benjamin tham.... 3 of my colleagues are under him...

fresh,
wow... so u are having twins! congrats!! that's good that she monitor the duphaston intake.... i've stopped taking the duphaston for 2 days and i felt much better... previously has the vomiting feeling all day and always end up vomiting at nite.. sometimes the ms was quite bad... and totally no appetite for dinner..

i also think go for the usual DS test first... a BT plus detailed scan.... cos amniotic fluid test is quite invasive and higher risk... so unless there's really cause for concern like close relative having DS then dun think necessary to take... mine is due next week.. hopefully everything is ok..

eskimobaby,
if u hv someone else to change to, it's good too. sometimes, the wait for dr loh can be killing.

fresh,
congrats on having twins

Hi Lina, eskimobaby and juju,

Thanks. So can hear heartbeat lah. I thot can only see heartbeat. Heee..... My next scan is in 3 weeks time.

Yeah, I was thinking of taking the blood test and detailed scan first. Got to really discuss with hubby.

Recently my nausea felling is getting bad. Had been feeling nausea the whole day; esp when hungry.

Eskimobaby,

If u are not taking the duphaston, then what support are u taking now? Doc says it's ok not to take?

hello ladies...taking duphaston has side effects? how about the progestrone shots? i measured my belly today and it was 97cm!!! and i'm only 7 weeks... i looked almost 4 months! i feel so bloated with heartburn and been having constipation.

Fresh... congrats! congrats!... :)

fresh,
after 1st trimester no need to take any support liao... i stopped and hoping my body can cope from now onwards... take small meals... keep some crackers with u all the time.. munch when u feel a bit of hunger.... dun wait till u are super hungry then eat... will end up vomiting all the stomach acids... that's wat happen to me.. when i'm hungry i must eat if not will end up beside the toilet bowl... eat too much also will hug toilet bowl...

sofia,
i dunno if u call it side effects.. but it provides u with more support hormones and u are also producing the hormones on ur own... so it makes the symptoms u have such as MS worse sometimes...

Hi Fresh,

You might want to think carefully about the amnio test. Like wat eskimobaby mentioned, it is quite invasive and there is a small percentage of mc. Not to scare you but one of my colleague after testing for amnio suddenly had waterbag leakage. Bed rest from week 20 and dr trying to hold the bb till week 28 to deliver. She got to go back to her gynae to pump fluid into her waterbag every week. Think she should be in her 27 or 28 weeks now.. hope that she and bb is alright.
This is my 1st time to hear abt pumping fluid into water bag.... medical science is sooo advance now hor...

Pau le,

I'm also taking Iberet-folic and calcium tablet now. havent started on neurogain yet.... very lazy to go and buy.... i sometimes forget to take the tablets at all.... so bad.

hello ladies...taking duphaston has side effects? how about the progestrone shots? i measured my belly today and it was 97cm!!! and i'm only 7 weeks... i looked almost 4 months! i feel so bloated with heartburn and been having constipation.

Fresh... congrats! congrats!... :)

Hi Fresh ,

Dun scare yourself with the DS test first.. just go thru the scan gradually.. If is low risk, no need to do any amnio test.. If it is high risk, then u discuss further with hubby.. for now, stay relax first okie..

Hi Lina ,

Help me update mine also..

TWINS - EDD : 28 Jan 2010
Dr SF Loh @ KK

Hope i can know the genders tomorrow...

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD> Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD> Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>singleton</TD><TD>25 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD> Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Congrats Fresh and Develyn on your twins!!!
Don't worry about the test Fresh, think positive.
I was also very scared coz there were so many factors against me: my age and an uncle who has DS. But, things tuned out well in the end.
The constipation will continue Sofia. I'm now 21 weeks and still having contispation off and on even though I eat tons of fruits and vegs. For me Prune juice really helps.
If it's not because I'm having twins, I would have also changed Dr too. Aiyah, I just sit and wait for him, bring my book to read, do other things. However if you are lucky, it can be quite fast. There was once I just sat down after doing the usual urine test and all, I was the next one.

Hi Sophia,

Same here, cos having twins so better stick to Dr Loh.. Gtg to see him in the afternoon, hope i dun need to wait too long..

Fresh
Congrats on your twins. For twins, they dun take blood test coz the results will be skewed and not accurate. For me, doc only measured thru the scanning of some NT or some neck measurement via the machine...then calculated the risk ratios...Mine is at Gleneagles, not sure of kk procedures though...

Thanks for all your advice and concern. You words are very comforting. Yes. I agreed that I should have positive thinking. I guess I should proceed with the measurement of the thickness of the neck first.

Have any of you experience block ears?

Fresh - congrats on ur twin... well, if there is other test for DS other than amnio test, i will go for the other test first lor... afterall, there is still some risk in doing the amnio

I read that folic acid is to prevent skull defects of baby... which is most critical during the first 12 weeks. Thereafter it is not as impt as other supplement like Iron, DHA (fish oil)

It seemed that KK doesn give a lot of medicine after BFP to support pregnancy like TMC. Back then, I had to pop in 6 tablets(2 types of med) and 1 insert everyday till week 12 to support the pregnancy... i always look at least 2 months bigger :D

From the table, most mums delivered 1-2 weeks earlier.. except Ju is one day late.. looks like trend is earlier.. good good cos i cant wait for that day to come

Anyone wears any kinda tummy support at 3rd tri?

fresh,
folic acid is to prevent brain and spine defects

bee,
i used support belt for the heavy tummy. if u wan, can sell u mine

hi bee,
my delivery will definitely be earlier according to gynae due to bleeding in 2nd trimester. I just hope the early will not be too early, as in pre-mature.

hi develyn,
keep us updated on your twins gender.

Hi Mummies ,

I m back home.. confirm one girl today but another one cannot see.. =P

Btw, when to start wearing tummy support? Is it very uncomfortable that something tied on tummy?

Hi Bee ,

Yupz, off n on still vomit/nausea...

dev,
wear tummy support when u feel too heavy.
i started wearing it when i had to "carry" my tummy when i walk ard
congrats on the gal, hope the other is a boy - "long feng tai"

ju,
i bot this belly bra which meant to support the lower back and abdomen during 3rd tri... just wondering if it restrict the growth of baby/tummy? shd not la...

Lina.. oh is that so, hope ur baby can tahan till 37 weeks

dev,
oh, maybe u allergy to certain food... ya, hope u hv "long feng tai", then can close factory liao :p

Congrats Fresh
Happy for u.

Develyn: How r u? How's ur morning sickness??

Pau le: I gain abt 1kg per month. Doctor said good coz reduces the risk of complications. However since u r in singapore cant blame u, Juz enjoy watever u wanna eat

Anyone got backaches. I starting to have quite bad backaches.. Sit also pain, lie down also pain sigh!

Yeah.. hope long feng tai.. =) Most important healthy n smooth delivery.. heez..

Hi Itjabi,

MS off n on now.. but not over yet.. sometimes got appetites.. sometimes no appetites leh...

cactus13, itjabi, lina...
oh... so i shd probably be slowing down my weight gain... is it true that towards the end, the weight gain is even faster? So far im 22 weeks and gained nearly 7kg liao... but everyone say my stomach like quite small still, don't know where my weight-gain went to!

juju
can't go natural lah, both my tubes blocked so cannot natural one...

itjabi
i also experience backache and leg cramps, which i think the yoga classes helped!

serene
hopefully it will be a gal as u wished!

develyn
congrats on seeing the gal!

pau le,
if cannot see ur weight gain, even better! means it goes to ur bb!
oops! sorry, din noe u hv blocked tubes. in dat case, spk to ur gynae when is a good time to do FET

Pau le: Maybe ur weight is going to baby
I also have put on quite abit but everyone say i look the same except for tummy.haha!!I have started going for walks n swimming. Cant really swim so more like play with water and relax
Backache gets worst at nite. have u started feeling the baby yet

Develyn: On off still okie. I also on off have vomiting. Guess we juz have to go through it. Good to know u having a girl. Hopefully the other one is boy then can close shop
one of each.. Thank care ya..

lina
in france, medical is 100% covered one, don't need to fork out a single cent! when i arrive in Singapore, and pay the two gynae checks totaling to $500, then i feel how expensive it is here!

Itjabi
yah, before i did my detailed scan, i was still thinking how come i cant feel the baby.... then starting from week 20, i can feel the baby a lot, she move a lot, kick and punch very strong, i can see my stomach move and can feel a strong jerk sometimes! Probably she doesn't like my late nights and mahjong sounds, so protesting, or my hubby say baby is excited that he is coming to Singapore soon!
you leh, can feel ald?

I think my stomach is growing a little too fast, coz i apply the Clarins oil like two times a day, finish a bottle in a month, but my stomach still feel itch!

by the way, my yoga teacher who is a counsellor at the breastfeeding association of singapore, shared this :-
- during the pregnancy, you would see ur nipples getting darker
- it is caused by hormone changes and a layer of dead cells start building on top of the nipples
- the dead cells would accumulate as the pregnancy progress, and after delivery, when u start to breastfeed, u wld experience nipple cracks
- so to avoid or minimize nipple cracks, once a week, use any oil or nipple cream to apply onto the nipples, then use a dry cotton wool to rub with some friction to remove the dead cells

paule: same here. I only started feeling the baby at 20wks. she kicks alot too
i dont feel itchy ard my stomach but do feel that its dry. doesnt look like my stomach anymore..
thanks on the nipple tip. will keep it in mind.

hi pau le,
oh wow, that's good to have everything covered. So you just take your time to decide on FET in future. Some test done on the FET found that the quality of egg will not change with freezing duration. Only worry is whether the eggs can survive the thawing process.

itjabi
hehehe, feels good to feel the kicking right!
even though it doesn't look like ur stomach anymore, im sure u r loving it!
i also think my husband might faint when he see me this weekend, the last time he saw me was when i was 14 weeks!

Lina
yah, hopefully my balance 4 embies can tahan the thawing, if not have to spend more time to go thru the injections again...

pau le: haha!! it will be a good faint
He can feel the baby for the 1st time too then.. That will get him excited. My hubby gets very excited when he can feel the baby..He says now he has the feeling that im pregnant n there is a bb inside me. haha!!

itjabi
yah, that day i told him i felt baby kicking, and he is so excited and worried that he is missing out on this!

Hey! juz like to check has anyone booked their massage lady yet? When is the best time to book??Dun know if it is too early.

dear all mummies-TB
does it exist a list of what to prepare and buy for the baby and mummy?
since we shd be doing confinement and cant do shopping after delivery.
for example:-
diapers
baby shower gel
rash cream
wet wipes
breast pump
nipple cream
etc etc....

anyone has a list like that?

paule - wow, so nice tohv all med expenses covered...

some ladies sent the list before and based on that, I worked out my own list... for your ref.

attachment_icon.gif

Things to buy.doc (26.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Itjabi - me no backache thusfar.. hope it continues this way.
Well, jus pay more attention to your posture ie. sit and walk straight, bend ur knees to pick up things (not ur back) etc... some form of regular exercises will be good, noticed u go play with water liao :p some light home exercise (stretching) will be beneficial too

itjabi,
it will be gd to start booking if edd is ard peak periods or, massage lady is popular.

pau le,
if u r shopping in sg, amk bb shop (opp amk polyclinic), taka bb dept, kiddy palace - they hv a shopping list