IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bliss,

Oh there is really a special growth scan issit? cause im suppose to do next week, but am seeing gynae at TMC so i postpone the growth scan to another 2 weeks later.

hi juju,
ooo ic... but ohh can make baby bigger or not if we drink/eat high sugar?
ya lohhhh... can't downgrade leh... hehehehe...
cos with FAST Scheme later we got $100 to spend at KK Pharmacy. so just check, what will you spend at KK Pharmacy? got baby stuff to buy?

btw, where to buy the rice wine ohh? wet market or TCM? and how much per bottle? what is the different between normal rice wine and red rice wine? is normal rice wine white? (*sorry ohhh too much asking...)

i am confuse cos my mum ask me whether can buy red rice wine over here... hehehehe... if not she planning to bring it to here...

Jo,

I am currently seeing 4 doctors now lor, 3 at SGH and 1 at TMC. My main hospital is SGH but delivering in TMC. Have come to a conclusion, if i can drag until 35 weeks than will deliver at TMC, if less than 35 weeks than SGH, cause SGH got subsidised rates but though if i take 4 bedder consider no subsidies.. well.. see how it goes..

Regarding the "Hong Zhao Jiu", you can buy the bottle form from NTUC. Never tried dunno nice or not.. So if worried ask your mum to buy and cook once and try, if not nice can buy from Yue Hua at Chinatown. Heard if BF cannot take wor.

Jo,

White rice wine is not for the "Hong Zhao Mian Xian" if you planning to take, its more for the Chicken with rice wine and black fungus.

If got XO, can use to steam or double boil dangui chicken.

Also BF cannot take alcohol, only like 2 tablespoon max a day for BF mothers... but best not to take as will affect baby's brain and growth cause they taking our milk.

If i BF i will skip all alcohol. My grandfather still got me the Korean Red Ginseng wine.. i think cannot take..

jo,
yes, bb will be bigger. so i try not to take so much & jus do the rest more.
KK pharmacy ah... haven't decide what to get from there leh... slowly bah. wun expire so soon, rite?

i also dunno wat's the diff. usu think supermkt or TCM or medical hall shld have. maybe can ask the medical hall people.

Jo,
oic, I have not signed up for my delivery package. Last Friday, the TPS counter nurse told me to make the confirmation on my next appt which will be in my 35 weeks leh. She told me it is still ok to sign up by then. I will be signing up on the class A1, 1 bedded. I am sure it will be a lot more expensive liao. :p

Btw, traces of protein found in urine is no gd, still have to be careful, just like sugar in urine. However, I guess your doc did not mention much about it is probably becoz your case is only very small amount. He probably will monitor the amount of protein in your following appts.
I was having some traces of protein in urine too in the past, but my doc said it was of very little amount, might be due to my obimin intake, so it was ok. Then my subsequent appt also showed no traces of protein anymore.

juju,
what is FAST scheme?

Sam,
the GROWTH scan in KKH is to be done during the 3rd trimester. It is similar to the 2 other detailed scans we had during 1st and 2nd trimesters, which is to have a detailed scan of baby's vital organs and monitor the developments clearly for the last time before delivery.

bliss,
FAST scheme is whereby u pay a deposit and future consultations deducted from there. then u jus collect medicine & fix next appt date, can go off liao. when deposit run out, they will deduct from ur pre-determined giro or credit card

juju,
oh ok...so the FAST scheme has to be signed up since the very first antenatal consultation then? I was not told about this leh, not aware of this at all, so it will be too late to sign up now, rite?
What are the benefits?

bliss,
u can ask them la. but u alrdy 30+ wks, dunno can or not
but dun nid to sign up frm 1st consultation. we signed up in 2nd tri.
they also din tell. we saw somewhere then asked TPS billing counter. then she signed us up

Sam,
wow... i am suprise see your hospital bill... wow... so damn expensive...
ooo ic... next appt will ask my doc whether need to do urine culture or not. Thanks.
wow... 4 doctor? so many... are these 3 doc at SGH all gynae? or different designation?
From which week you see doctor at TMC?
what is BF? is it "BreakFast?
wow sam, admired u leh... know abt the confiment food.
I knoe nuts abt the confinement food or how to cook, only know how to eat. Hehehe

Juju,
Me already think to spend the voucher the next day after delivery leh...
cos lazy to go back to KK mah... hahahaha :D

bliss,
ooo ic... how come the nurse told me that i should sign on 32 wks.. hahahaha maybe different nurse different information...
Yup... A1 is more expensive and for second child you can not downgrade leh ....
ooo ic, i hope next appt my albumin show negative....

the benefit is you got voucher $100 to spend at KK Pharmacy the next day after you delivery.
And you dun need to queue to paid. the bill will automated deduct from your deposit.
So after appt just go back. I dun think too late lah.. you still can apply.
Just ask the nurse on the next appt that you want to change to FAST, but you will need to paid in front $488 using your credit card.
if you got Voucher $100, total spend only $388 mah.... hehehehe got extra $100. hahaha :D

jo,
oic, thanks.
How come cannot downgrade for 2nd child? So strange hor, coz who knows when will 2nd child be born now? Might be a few years later... Their this rule is quite weird.
I am already 30 weeks now, next appt will be in 35 weeks, I think left with around a few more appts liao, will I be able to use up all the $488 before delivery? Can pay for the growth scan at ADC too? I am using the civil servant card to make claims for each appts now, that means I cant make use of the card if i am on FAST scheme hor?

I was actually told to sign up for the delivery package on last fri in my 30 weeks, but it was already 6pm that time liao, the counter for signing up has already closed, so the nurse told me that her supervisor said I can sign up in my next appt then.

bliss,
ya, jo finished up for me. got $100 to spend @ kkh pharmacy.

jo,
BF is breastfeed la.
think still have to bring baby back for chk up. ourself also need to go back for review mah. so, still need to go back at least once.

bliss,
dun use up nvr mind. they will refund u the balance. dun think can pay for growth scan. it's only for consultations & meds in TPS

juju,
oic, gd if can still get any balance refunded. Ok, I will ask about the FAST scheme on my next appt...heehee.. but it will be in 4 weeks time... so long waiting.

jo, juju,
so the FAST scheme can deduct up to $488 for consulations and meds in TPS? And can get extra $100 voucher at the KK pharmacy rite? So it means paying $488 for value of $588, right?
The refund will be made thru the credit card or cheque?

jo, juju,
the $100 voucher must be spent in the one day after delivery? So rush hor? cant be spent in a few days time ah?

bliss,
more like spending $388 for value of $488 bah... cos u get $100 back mah.
can't remember when the $100 voucher expire. need to ask

hi bliss,
no need to spend it after delivery.
you can spend it on other days. hehehehe...
yup, like juju said lohh... got expire date so dun worry. And like spending $388 at value $488. Hahaha :D

I am kiasu want to spent it after i get it... hahahaha :D
btw, i think if less than that KK will return the money by cheque.

hi bliss,
the rule at KKH is like that. Once you choose the higher class, you can not downgrade to lower class (which i heard lah).
ooo ic, no wonder they ask you to come again. hehehehe :D

hi juju,
ooo ic.
Yea yea... you were right..
I just ask my friend, she said got expired date and dun need to spend whole in 1 day.
And also need to come back after 6wks to review.
I thought after delivery dun need to come back to hospital.
Hahahahaha.. so I already think to spend it.. hahaha :D

btw, why BF can not take rice wine?

jo,
think can. cos alcohol evaporates after cooking. some prefer not to.
for me, will take usual mini cup of DOM immed after BF, then rest 2 hrs then BF again.
if cook wif rice wine or DOM, then wun bother so much. but some say 1st few days or 1st week dun take alcohol, so dat bb dun get jaundice

Bliss,

Oh my gynae wants to start growth scan next week all the way fortnightly until after 28 weeks will be weekly scan .. She says different from my current scanning, as it will be more detailed.. I thought my scanning now already so detailed.

Jo,

3 doctors from SGH, 2 are under High risk and 1 is the normal gynae. The 4th is the TMC Dr Adrian Tan. I will be seeing him next week, that will be my 1st appt with him.

BF is breastfeed.

Bliss, Jo,

There is this mummy from another thread and was communicating with her, she gave birth at KK, cannot downgrade herself and babies and gotta take mean test but failed.. Her bill was damn high le.. scary.. She gave birth prematurely la..

Jo,

I don't know if can take DOM or Youmeishu or not, anyway i cannot stand the smell too. This is what i heard from those aunties lor..My confinement meals suppose to have alcohol, XO, DOM, rice wine, "Hong Zhao Chicken" but they say cannot so i will skip lor.. Better be safe than sorry, i dun wan any complications or my babies to fall sick also ma, since its a known fact alcohol is toxic and dun know how much alcohol will evaporate frankly after cooking, still can taste alcohol in the food at times also right?

Jo,

Just remember, never take Dang Gui, He Shou Wu straight after birth le.. think if you ladies c=got confinement ladies they should know, only take from week 2 onwards.

Sam,
what is the mean test u mentioned? What has the failure of the test got to do with the high bill? How high was the bill, you know?

Bliss,

She wanted to downgrade to a lower ward, and was ask to go through a mean test ... maybe you can check with KK. She failed the means test so cannot downgrade the ward... Total she spend about $26K.

hi babymaking,

This is my 2nd baby. I had secondary infertility issue. Actually this baby was conceived naturally and was a surprise to us. It was not via IVF. I failed my IVF in late 2007.

hi 76,
my check up is next monday, i'm counting down to then... yours is around that time too right? how have you been feeling? hopefully no more spotting? i've been getting more headaches but maybe it's because it's been so hot lately!

Hi Juju and Bliss,
now i'm waiting for the both of you to pop.
Juju, we alst talked abt the self-laminating from Popular hor? hehe...think i'll go and get it after my confinement.
Bliss, my skin problem all resolves after i delivered leh. Now my skin is as nice as b4 liao. The red dots and rashes all disappeared without doing anything.

Hi Sam,
I'm using the Pump-in-Swing (PIS). Its duo pump, actually i considered very long then buy, cos worry if supply low then no point, cos it costs $698 from KKH pharmacy. But it really saves half ur time in pumping BM. U try the single pump 1st, i think it works just as well, cos my fren oso gave me a single pump. Also consider if you goign to BM long term, if yes then maybe later can get a duo one. I bought liao now i headache, cos i realised my workplace is not nursing friendly, got no place for me to pump...

My elder gal tried bottle-feed yest, she suck so fast until nearly forgot to breathe, some more the nurse gave her a teat thats too big for her, hiaz....managed to drink some, the rest they fed thru the tube. Maybe when they are bigger then can try to latch them. The babies usually dun wear clothes when thet are in incubator as it is already warm enough for them. If out of incubator, they will wear the hospital clothes, so dun worry.

So fast can drink papaya fish already? I started after i delivered hehe...But i agreed milk must drink more.

The doc told us that they have to be at least 2kg or 35-36wks old then can be discharged. I delivered at 31wks. So far my elder gal stayed in NICU for about 1 wk before they transferred her to step-down icu (after she is off the CPAP- breathing support) and she had been here for 2 wks already. My younger gal was in NICU for more than 1 wk then go step-down. She had since been transferred to SCN after she can tolerate her feeds well and all her drips removed. But we really can't tell how long they need to stay cos must depends on how fast they can gain weight and learn to suck.

I had pre-eclampsia and later on cholistasis (liver problem) and had to be admitted til i delivered. Furthermore, my 2nd twin (younger gal) was not growing well, as my PE could be the cause of problem with her placenta. I was oso ordered to be on bedrest since my 22wks of preg cos i had early contractions and thay worry i may deliver too early. So i strictly did not go out since late dec...except to KK.

Hi babymaking,
I did attend 1 session of the support grp. But that was 2days after i delivered while i was still in hospital. Guess i was not ready and did not take to it very well. But the social worker did call after i was discharge and said i can call her anytime if i need to, so that was quite good.

hi sam,
ooo.. ok, noted. thanks sam for your info.

juju,
what happen on friday? you mean this friday?

maykel.
PIS = medela brand? i thought Pump in Style, the one with backpack, is it?
glad that babies doing fine. ^_^

hi josephine,
how come ur bill is 1.4k? i paid $1578 also for B1 class 4 bedder.. this one after medisave claim. so different.. hmm i think is it because of the gynae fees? anyway, i booked it only a few weeks ago at 36 weeks. actually was there to check out the booking at 33rd week, but decided to think about it coz was initially shocked at the price.. hehe.. so after my subsequent appointment then i go and book.

hi bliss,
if you're opting for A1 class the amount that I was told was abt 2k plus. so you can get that amt ready. hehe.. coz total is more than 4k before deduction from medisave. coz only A1 and B1 class can get doc sadhana to deliver for us. other class will doc on duty. so it looks like we'll be in good hands lah..

juju, oooo ic.. hehehehe...

merlenna, dunno leh. they estimate my bill abt $3250 - $1800 (medisave) then paid only $1450. Funny ohhh my doctor and your doctor is senior consultant leh... maybe different nurse different charges... suka suka by them... hahahaha :D

yea.. time to go back..
tong tong tong... (office bell sound)..
ta ta everyone.. c ya at home...

hi maykel,
nice to hear from you.
Oh glad to know that your skin problem has resolved liao. Mine has been quite ok since 2nd trimester actually. But my stretchmarks has increased somehow and I know that cannot be resolved after delivery.

Yes, I am looking forward to seeing my baby, but still need to wait for at least another 2 months, so not so soon yet.

Merlenna,
oic, ok thanks, then I roughly know the charges for class A1 then. Thanks!

Thanks Kaira,how many weeks are you along now?
Cribby, my check up on apr fool day, wah!! you remember when is my check up ahh? I also cant wait for my scan. I also having headache and shooting pains near v area....think my urinary tract may have probl..have you started iron pill? maybe lack of blood thats why headache.

Maykel,

Are you doing confinement dilligently now? I heard many mothers who gave birth prematurely all had their confinement disrupted.. as they need to go hospital and visit their babies although they can stay at home and ask DH to go la.. But even it's me i also will wanna go myself too. So your daughter still weighs at 1162g and 1600g? Did PD says roughly how much weight gain is a day and how long they need to be there?

Hmm seems like you got a good supply of milk though.. which day did you have your milk running? Need to supplement them with Formula milk?

ladies - wow this thread moves fast. I went for detailed scan yesterday and am happy to report that i'm having twin baby girls
both are strong, healthy and normal. the scanning doctor said both quite naughty, keep flipping here and there, she couldnt take good shots. but we managed to see everything we wanted to see, little itsy bitsy fingers, toes, so cute ! the scan took abt 1 hour, which i think still quite short cos i heard some ladies take 4 hours and still cant get good pic for singleton. my weight gain and everything else is normal. went for urine bacteria test yesterday and waiting for results in 3 days. the scanning doc mention my cervix is 5cm, but didnt give anything indication i should worry. my own doc allso never say anything. so think it is fine. but i read from ladies here their cervix around 3cm only. shorter is better right ? oh, and my doc also very serious about what my plans to take leave was. he wants me to rest from 30 weeks onwards and work half days. heh... havent talk to my boss yet leh... sorry for the long post, havent posted in a few days so a lot of things to say

ponytail,
congrats on having healthy and active twin gals! happy for you.

Wow, detailed scan needs to take so long ah? Mine has been very fast so far, at most 20 mins leh. Hahaha!
Btw, how to check the cervix length? Must do vaginal scan? I was never told of mine.