IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

babymaking,

Ya i think i will donate my cord blood instead or just leave it cause i have insurance covered for my 3 babies after they are born also...

Anyway i need to be on bedrest now also as my urine shows Albumin Positive and doc says it may be UTI infection and is a sign or preterm labour..

sam - $100 k ?! sure or not ? thats daylight robbery. i cant believe SGH staff said that, unless it is really true !

76 - my doc told me its fraternal. are yours ?

ladies - i heard taka having extra 10% for members this weekend !!!

hi ponytail,

i know that last week 13-15 March, taka got additional 10% using DBS takasimaya. Abt this week not sure leh.. What member u refer ohh?

Btw, for buying stuff at US. Sometime the price can be cheaper sometime can be expensive. That is why you must be very careful with item that u want to buy.

I manage to buy Medela Swing at US with 1/2 price compare here. I think for item that come from US is much cheaper if you buy from there.

^_^

anyone have bought diaper bag?
and which brand is good oh?
now, looking for diaper but confuse whether need to buy or net leh... hehehehe ^_^

i know that taka got 20% disc for allerhand.
anyone using allerhand? i heard jujube also nice..

ponytail
My gynae din tell me yet.Which week did you know its fraternal/identical? was it thru the usual scan or some detailed scan that you knew?

Bliss, Ponytail,

Ya ... I was really shocked by that amount.. The SGH staff said TMC got a lot of hidden costs, the amount they estimate for you don't include everything.. well i really dunno who to believe.. Anyway my visit to TMC i will go to their business office again to ask them to give me an estimate bill.. But i was inform for bb in NICU is 1 baby ard $1K la.

Jospehine,

Actually i also headache about Diaper bag le.. Seen a few nice ones and economical ones like carters brand.. hmmm but i think maybe i will need a bigger one.. and furthermore i think if go out i will use that as a handbag cum diaper bag and not carry 2 bags.. or mothers also separate their bags? I'm in a dillema what brand to buy also.. Already consider for few months liao..

hi 76,
if you put 2 embies then it called fraternal.
How many embies you put? if you put 1 embies then split to 2 then it called identical (*like sam, 1 of the twins is fraternal, the other 2 twins is identical cos from 1 embies split to 2).
^_^

Hi sam,
wow 100k headache ohh... some more your baby expenses 3x leh... (*can't imagine) ^_^
I think ohh.. for you, you will need a big bag cos u will carry thing for 3 child. ^_^
We are kiasuuu ohhhh... :D ... already prepare to buy diaper bag... hahahaha :D (*already think to go out with bb) hahaha :D

josephine - i called taka just to double check. they said NO discount leh. hey you so smart, did you buy from amazon ? you mean still can save so much after shipping charges ?

Hi jo,
I got myself a lesportsac diaper bag coz that time isetan wisma was hvg sale. It comes with a diaper mat n a wet bag. I intially wanted to look for something else but I thought go see other brands rather than the typical bags at mothercare.. But to each it's own lah but true, already thinking of going out with baby.. In style! Lol!

hi ponytail,
I think oh the additional 10% discount was last week using the DBS Takashimaya. I manage to buy maclaren techno xt 2008 using DBS Takashimaya.
Btw, have u buy stroller?

I bought from ebay but without warranty leh cos is from US. Yup, it is include with the shipping using VPost from US to here. That time when i bought i calculate with rate 1.55 and still find that cheaper over there so decided to bid-win and buy. But end of month, i was charged with rate 1.51 (the rate is lower than i predicted.. lucky me...hehehehehe). Btw, i purposely count with the higher rate.

hi merlenna,
lesportsac not cheap oh.. How much and how big?
yea lohhh... going out with baby in style... hahahaha :D
one of my colleague very surprise when i told her that i am want to buy diaper bag. She told me that she bought diaper bag when her baby was 2 month old. Hahahahaha :D kiasu one ohhhh....

Ponytail
i put in 2 embies, so am assuming fraternal for now. coz there is also the possibility that embie 1 split into 2 but embie 2 din survive? i am just wondering??

hi 76,
Yup, can consider fraternal twins.

If 1 embies split to 2 and the other embies survive then you will have triplets lohhh (*like sam).

Normally identical will share 1 placenta cos comes from 1 embies split to 2. You can see on USG if the twins are sharing 1 placenta then it is identical but if separate then consider fraternal cos comes from 2 embies.

And if identical normally their gender will be same. If diagnosis boy then the other one will also boy.

If fraternal the baby gender can be different or maybe same, example: 1 boy 1 girl or 2 boys or 2 girls.

^_^

cant wait for my u/s scan on 1st April, hopefully it dun play any joke on me....nevertheless, minus the spotting, preggie journey is quite enjoyable...tahan 2 more weeks, then i will pass my 1st tri week 13.....

I just went to KKH for my 30 weeks appt this afternoon. Baby is doing well, he is 1.6kg now. I was shocked to know that I have gained 3kg in this 3 weeks! I am now 62.5kg! I was 59.5kg 3 weeks ago...
I was so upset with such fast weight gain. I gained about 2.5kg over the ivf treatment, was about 52.5kg when just got pregnant. And so I have gained 10kg from 52.5 to 62.5kg so far!!! I am only 30 weeks 2 days today leh...

Doc Sadhana said doc will usually look at preggies gaining 12kg throughout pregnancy, and I have already gained 10kg... not possible to gain 2kg more in following 10weeks...booohooo...
Doc advised try not to take sweet stuffs, but I seldom take sweet stuffs all along, I guess I have to cut down on any oily fatty food liao. Haiz...

Babymaking,
I think I saw you at TPS this evening around 6pm at the payment counter. You were in wheelchair with your hubby and maid, rite? I was sitting near to the coffee tea counter that time, was waiting to make payment too.
Hope everything is also fine for you and baby too. Do keep me updated.

sorry to interrupt. I am a mummy that go thru IVF and sucessfully give birth to a boy last year Sep. Just to share all the hardship is really worth it!!.

For Laides going thru the IVF Process will need to purchase the Puregon pen @ $50. I am willing to let go mine at $30. Please PM me if keen.

hi bliss,
you were at tps too?? hehe.. i was there too. my appt was at 4.30 but met doc sadhana only at ard 5+.. haha.. yeah don't worry too much about the weight gain, as long as you stay within the range should be ok right? but you gaining weight also worried, i only gained 11.9kg, now at 38 weeks, also worried. haha.. either way we also worry lah.. i also got the same advice from doc sadhana, said don't take sweet stuff. but she shouldn't have told me that.. coz now i'm conscious when i eat chocolates and ice-cream. haha.. but i still eat.. see lah.. tsk tsk..

anyway just an update after yesterday's appt.. doc sadhana didn't give me any V scan coz she said it'll be uncomfortable. she told me baby's head is very low already.. i've got so much room on top. true lah, feel less kicking in the ribs nowadays. so its a matter of time for me.. she tried to measure baby's weight and kept getting 3.3kg. she said my tummy don't look so big yet baby's weight says otherwise. haha.. so weird lah.. but told me not to worry, we'll soon find out! haha..

hi jo,
the lesportsac was initially abt $300++ then got 40% off. so i got it for $180. yeah i know went overboard spending on that.. but it looks durable.. got 2 other items with it and now its my hospital bag for the moment. so i think i'll make sure i fully utilise this bag lah. hehe.. anyway, for my one lil princess, close one eye on the price. hehe..

Merlenna,

Wah, you almost there anytime now... Must be getting excited everyday already..

Bliss,

I think your EDD will be ard the same as mine, mine expected ard June if i can last that long, *praying hard everyday*. Are you excited too?

Merlenna,
good for you leh, only 11.9kg at 38 weeks, I am only 30weeks plus now. Haiz...
I was at the TPS ard 4.30pm too, though my appt time was 4.55pm. Were you having long tied hair? If yes, I guess I have seen you.

Your baby's weight looks gd, dont worry about baby being too heavy, sometimes the actual weight is lower than the estimated one.
All the best to you, think we will probably hear the happy news of your baby's arrival in your next posting!

Sam,
My EDD is on 27 May, I hope will not be later than that. Heehee...

I am looking forward to seeing baby very much, but not that excited yet leh. Dont know why, probably becoz there are so many things to worry about still, especially the taking care of baby and the financial part.

Hi Ponytail,
Its not difficult to pump BM after c-sect. My c-sect was at night, I started pumping once i was stabilised and able to get up to walk to toilet the next day pm. But be prepared to pump for few days without any milk. Cos that was wat happened to me and i was quite stress initially, but was told nid to continue pumping 3hrly. My flow was very little initially, now starting to get a bit more.

Hi Sam,
Ya, most dr would ask you to target 28wks, but of cos the longer the better. I delivered at 31wks but my babies still gotta stay nicu for some time. But dun worry, i think that watever time they choose to come out is destine, so dun think so much. You must jia you and try ur best okie?

By the way, I think the bill size you mentioned is very real. Cos kk non-subsidised charges are oso estimated to be $250K if the babies are premature. So we faster downgrade to C class on my delivery day. Cos i oni stay hospital few days but if babies stay longer term, its very costly. Anyway, all neonates would stay and receives the same treatment when they are in nicu.

Hi bliss,
Thank you, i hope my babies can be discharged faster too. Yup, i saw Cale's baby too, very cute
I saw her more often when the babies are in NICU. Now 1 of my gal is still in step-down and the other in SCN, but different area from her boy, so we saw each other less frequent, but still keep each other updated. Its good and impt that we have each other for support.

I'm not sure oso, but my milk supply has started to increase now, maybe its just the timing bah. Dun worry abt urs now, now you just concentrate on having a smooth preg and delivery

Just an update. My elder gal is still in step-down icu. She is unable to tolerate her milk feeds well few days ago and has green aspirate. But her blood test shows that there is no infection and her abdomen xray is ok. Dr explained that it could be due to her prematurity etc....i realised that alot of times, the dr would blame on their prematurity if there is no explanation. Now she started small feeds again, hope she can tolerate. We still carry her when we visits, the feeling is so nice
She is abt 1600grams now, but still on drip cos of her indigestion.
My younger gal is oni 1162 grams, but she had her drip all taken off already adn was transferred to SCN last nite. Now oni waiting for her to gain weight.
I really hope the gals would be better and can be discharged real soon...

Maykel,
glad to see ur update. hope ur elder gal can take her feeds better also, since no infection. pray ur younger gal put on more weight faster also.

Maykel,
glad to hear that everything has been improving more and more for your gals. They are very strong girl girl, will grow well day by day. I will pray for u and Cale.

Maykel,

Are you using Duo Pump or single pump, as i heard Duo pump is better.. But i already bought single pump..

Is there any chance for your babies to latch on? Do you need to provide them with preemies clothings when they in hospital?

I also quite scared of the milk production part so will be dilligently drink papaya fish soup weekly from my 7th months onwards and 2 cups of similac too..

Did pedatrician tell you roughly how long to expect them in NICU and SCN?

I cannot remember what triggers your early birth, can recap?

Sam,
I have been reading lots of books about the food to take throughout pregnancy and during nursing.
I just read that water melon is very good source of fruit to take during pregnancy esp during 7 and 8 months. It contains iron and other nutrients too. And it has good effect to help produce more milk in the mothers.

hi sam,
yup, anyday now. but still anticipating any form of signs. so far nothing yet. baby still snug inside..

hi bliss,
yup, i was wearing red and tied my hair. hair too long already.. i actually went to cut after my doc's appt. hehe.. was alone coz hubby couldn't make it off work. hehe.. which one was you? i saw a few people there but i dunno anyone. i would very much love to post and say i've delivered haha but not yet.. still happily pregnant now..

Bliss,

Ya think i will try it out than.. dare not take too liang now also...

Merlenna,

Great job you are almost there, so excited for you. Haha.

hey bliss

yeah, that's me, u never call me. didn't notice you. these few days, been very tired and dazed most times. baby is ok, naughty, refused to stay still for scan.

dun worry abt weight gain, more impt not to get gestational diabeties.

Sam,
since having multiples, better to stay with KKH as they have the full fledged faclities for NICU, and can opt for C class with higher subsidies, cos premature may require to stay in hospital for months.

think there's a premature thread somewhere that the mummies share their stories, ultimately better to have full term babies.

maykel,
good to hear your gals are doing well, there's a support grp for premature babies, perhaps can find some support there as well as advice how to cope with premature, cos some of the mummies there are also coping with daily travel & expressing of BM.

merlenna,
so excited, finally all the months of waiting, and it's coming to an end soon. soon can hold yr baby gal in yr arms, do update yr birth story.

babymaking,

im not with KK though, my hospital is SGH but delivering in TMC. Have come to a conclusion, if i can drag until 35 weeks than will deliver at TMC, if less than 35 weeks than SGH, cause SGH got subsidised rates but though if i take 4 bedder consider no subsidies.. well.. see how it goes..

Today went expo with DH sommore, eat than walk and shop until stomach cramps.. dare not tell DH if not sure kena bad scolding from him one.

sam,

don't take anything for granted. since doc order bed rest, then take it seriously lor. me also the active sort, now even simple household chores not allowed to do. go out, also with wheelchair. and then even so, still have threat of pre term labour, and i'm only 17 plus weeks.

Sam,
how many weeks are you now? Do not try too much water melon in early stages, it is only recommended during 3rd trimester for stimulating breastmilk.

Babymaking,
i was at one corner, saw you in a distance when your hubby was making payment. Then you all went off straight after that, did not manage to go to you and say hello. Next time will go to you.

Wow, your baby does not stay still during scan ah? My baby is always sleeping and rather quiet during every single scan...but he moves alot before and after scan...I have yet to see my baby's front view so far, he is always facing down, I dont have a single chance to see his face. He is so secretive, guess I will have to really wait till he is born to see him. Heehee..

Merlenna,
I think the person I saw was you lah, I remember of a lady alone wearing red(the rest seeing doc Sadhana around that time were all indians). You are very slim leh, though you are already in 38 weeks liao. I thought you look like in your 2nd trimester only.

Merlenna,
my hair was also very very long, and I went for hair cut after my KK appt that day too... heehee..what a coincidence... :p

babymaking,

How do they test you for pre term labour symptoms? Mine only albumin positive, but also may be UTI infection, so far my cervix now 3.1cm instead of 2.7cm so rather ok.. Only thing is i cannot walk too much will be tired and cramping will come on.. You quite jia lat le.. need wheelchair.. i think you really cannot go out liao.. i still does housework somemore but try to restrict myself also cause need to be kinder to myself la..

hi bliss,
then which one is you?? hehe.. yah, doc sadhana also said my tummy looked small.. but 38 weeks already.. i think its a bit of hereditary also, coz my mum told me when she was pregnant in the past, her tummy never really showed. so i believe, i took her trait.. haha.. i guess, i'm fortunate not to put on too much weight. can concentrate on firming the tummy after i give birth. haha..

hi babymaking,

Congrats on your pregnancy! Not sure if you remember me but we did chat briefly when I was on the IVF program.

I found out from the August Mommies-To-Be thread that you will be giving birth in August. Congratulations again and please take care.

One coincidental thing, I am pregnant too. And we have the same EDD! :)

hi sam

3 weeks back, I had contractions and back ache, sf loh did a VE, and amnio, cervix closed, did cervix scan was 3.1cm. then warded for observation. scan repeated next week was 2.7cm. was put on adalat to prevent further contractions, and it worked. subsequent scan showed cervix went back to 3.1cm. from that hospitalisation, decided to take doc's advice to bedrest seriously.

like you cannot stay still, so compromised...if go out, use wheelchair. can't afford to have anything go wrong - the regrets will kill.

bliss,
baby always show us his profile, he also quite a lazy sleeper, some scans he's sleeping on his tummy, so cute. I really can't wait for aug to carry him in my arms.

are you going to do the 4D scan?

jade,
congratulations! i'm glad you suceeded as well. Are you expecting one or two, join us at the Aug thread, or chat here also can. Is this yr first baby?

hi merlenna,
ooo ic. Disc quite big leh 40% almost half price. Interesting...
Do they still have the discount? When you buy ohhh?

hi maykel,
congrats on your twins. hope everything goes well with your other twins. ^_^

hi sam,
wow.. just wondering ohh...
How much delivery package for triplets at TMC and SGH?
At KKH for singleton estimated bill is abt 3200- ... (suddenlly forget the figure, actually last saturday just sign the package at KKH hahahaha :D)
sam, my albumin also positive leh... what means if albumin positive (last saturday forget to ask doctor leh... me now blur blur and slow think leh...)

last saturday i got ask with one of nurse at KKH whether they have 4D scan, and she said have upon the request.
the price is abt $200 plus, you can do the scan during 28-32wks (if not mistake remember)
btw, any one of you feel very tired, sleepy, laziness, etc during last trimester?
is it normal? how come these few days i feel very tired, sleepy, lazy and blur blur (cant think properly lehhh... maybe due to overtired/sleepiness)?

jo,
u signed alrdy ah?
i saw the estimate amt, i dun feel like signing liao leh... so ex
somemore, hubby and i still contemplating 1 or 4 bedder

KKH do have 4D scan? but $200+ sounds steep leh.
yes, is best to do 4D between 28-32 wks, but before 30 is best.

i do feel very tired easily nowadays. lazy & sleepy also, but lucky can fight off.

juju,
oh? Doc Sadhana also scan for me every appt, but the scan is not clear in TPS, so I thought the growth scan is neccessary in ADC, just like the previous 2 detailed scans in 1st and 2nd trimesters.
I am not sure if it is ok, but since Dr loh told you that, then he may be quite sure there is no need for you to have a detailed scan then.

Babymaking,
I am not going for 4D scan, save money lah, can see baby in person when he is born. Anyway, Doc Sadhana also said that it is already too late for me to do 4D scan now, coz I am in 30 weeks now.

Jo,
so you have signed the KK package already? Only $3200? What class is that? 1 bedded or 4 bedded?
Btw, what is albumin you and Sam are talking about?
Yes, I do feel tired easily too, but not sleepy easily, just feel very tired to walk even for a while when outside.

Merlenna,
I was wearing wearing white top with denim 3/4 pants that day, my hubby was with me. We were just sitting on the centre long sofa facing the consultation room of Dr Sadhana.

So good for you then, no need to worry too much about resuming your figure after delivery.

Hi Juju, Bliss,
Yup, last saturday just signed and do the payment.
After the medisave paid $1450 (B1 - 4 Beded).
Cos i was informed that u must signed the package the latest is on 32wks.
So i hurry up signed lohh... scare that i dun get the room... hehehe... (*kiasuuu) hahahaha...

juju, may i how u fight? i am trying to fight leh... but ohhh difficult leh...
there is one day that i almost sleeping during office hour lehhh....
btw, do you know if you choose 1 bedder you can not downgrade to lower class?
i think for me 4 bedded should be enough...
cos my friend said that delivery is at delivery suit not so many ppl there.. hehehe

bliss, i think 3200++ (estimate only).
When u do urine test you will notified that there are albumin and glucose.
so last saturday my urine test show my albumin is positive. I think albumin is protein.
but oh.. dunno is it bad thing or not. i know that if glucose is not good, rt?
but oh.. Dr loh, din mention anything leh.. only said ohhh you got protein...

Hi sam,
just realize ohhh... if you change hospital when you delivery that means you change gynae also?
can change gynae during last trimester?

Ladies at KKH,
anyone of you take FAST scheme?
and where to buy red rice wine for confinement food?

babymaking,

Aiyo i cannot differentiate contraction worse part, yes i do have bad backaches too, and sometime cramp untill i very painful, but it will go away after i sit down after 15-20 mins or so... Hmmm .. ya im trying to restrain myself cause 3 of them really no joke..

I will stop if i feel uncomfortable lor.

jo,
wah... dun care la... if no bed then no bed lor. lol... now say easy

i sneak sleep when i rch office (cos rch early), then catch a bit in toilet lor... else drink or eat high sugar or carbo stuff to get some energy. we liaise wif production floor, so go down walk a bit also, chit chat...

dat's the problem lor. cannot downgrade. dat's why still thinking.

i'm on FAST scheme. why?

SIL propose to get red rice wine for me wor... but i dunno to use dat or normal rice wine leh.

Jo,

The SGH bill estimated for delivery and stay only is ard $4.8K. This is excluding babies stay. Each baby in normal nursery and PD charges is aboout $150 per day, so total babies ard $1.5K. Total ard $6.3K for 4 bedder B1 class. This is rough estimate never include some items..

TMC is ard $4.5K for hospital stay, my gynae give me special rate for delivery charges at $3K for 3 babies, total is ard $7.5K. Same thing never include PD and babies stay.. I think ard $200+ per baby per day.. and also if NICU is $1K per baby per day compared to SGH max is ard $400 per baby per day.

Jo,

Albumin positive is protein in urine, it is symptoms of pre term labour or it can be UTI infection or yeast and fungal infection of the vagina. You may wanna do a urine culture requested by doctor if needed to.