IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi 76,
my scan is on weds, one day after yours i think... i should be just at 6 weeks by then i'm guessing. really hope the heartbeat can be seen by then.
your scan is in 2 days! finally! looking forward to your good news.

Hi Bliss/merlenna/babymaking,
you are welcome. Yes, even thought you have all the stuff already, if have time, should go and have a look, you won't know what else you might see and get
. Anyone interested to get cloth diaper for your baby like bumwear? Knew that thet have a booth at the expo, might get better deal at the fair

Hi mariayee,
Usually people said 2nd trimester is the golden period. So, if you don't feel uncomfortable and doctor give you green light, should be ok to travel bah.

Hi Hopfully,
Congrats on having 1 boy and 1 girl
. That's really wonderful.
The progesterone pill is to stablise pregnancy, not to prevent contraction. I checked with doctor loh on this before, he said progesterone pill will do no harm to body le. Better follow doctor instruction to take the medicine as prescribed.
I started taking the calcium about 14 weeks+, that's upon I asked, think if i never ask him, he will not give also.
I think it's better wait till you are more stable and comfortable then go for shopping, now better have more rest. I still haven't buy baby stuff yet, most of the things i have now is passed down from my SIL. Planned to buy at the coming baby fair if the offer is good

Hi Sam,
Did you take the calcium supplement? The leg cramps might be due to the insufficient calcium, may be can check with your gynae.

Hi Maykel,
How's your visit yesterday on the BP monitoring? Hope everything is good on your side.

Cribby
Yah yah yah, yours is 1 day after mine. So excited. When was your ET? Mine was 20th Jan. Yah, shld be 6 weeks plus for us next week, so excited. Hope to see something.
Do you have symptoms? I totally got nothing leh except in the morning i wake up with sore boobs. Coz no symptoms, so a bit worried like feel v normal like previously before pregnant.

Hopefully,
i started buying after i hit 20 wks. up to individual. do discuss wif ur hubby & find out his opinion

Maykel,
everything ok? do update us soon

Cale,
how was the visit this morning?

babymaking,
something like that lor. i try to find for you.
can try to go early morn or almost closing time, not so many people at the fair.

hopefully - wow, congrats. how many weeks are you already ? i am 16 weeks plus
my hubby hopes for 1 boy 1 girl. for me, i think healthy can already, of cos hope can make my hubby happy too
are you goinng to stop at 2 ? ok thanks for the OG tip. yar i saw at centrepoint and it is $170+, so yours sound like good deal. maybe i should buy now too. what about maternity clothes ? i'm running out of things to wear to work. i think i can only stop work in june or early jul. hoping to stretch my ML after babies are born.

HAPPY VALENTINES DAY TO ALL

Hi Cale,

Ya the calcium pill is also upon i asked him. Did you experience constipation after taking calcium? The progeterone pill is called utrogestan 100. Are you taking and is it the same as yours?

Hi Ponytail,
Thank you too. I am now in my 21 weeks. Yes, i agreed more impt is healthy babies. My sis passed me 1 big box of maternity clothes plus those that i have bought think should be enough for my work till end Mar. In actual fact, Dr loh wanted me to rest from mid Mar but i choose to start from Apr so that all my leave will be paid. Dr Loh is concern for multiples and wanted us to take things easy. I think you might want to chat with your doc to see if you can also rest from 7th month onwards as it will get heavier for us.
Oh ya, Dr also ask me to behave like a pregnant lady as i told him i walk faster than my HB. So think we better take things slowly and not to rush things out.

hi 76,
oh i think my ET was 1 day after yours! ooh exciting. ya i haven't got any symptoms either, not even sore or anything. maybe still too early...

Cale,
the self-laminating cards i showed u earlier cost $2.05 per pack of 5 pcs (3x5" size), the best fit i found for the scan fotos. i usu buy from popular.

Hi Juju,
My visit today went well. Baby is doing well so far, can see him actively moving inside
. BP normal and no protein detected in my urine, but glucose detected with 3+ reading. Doctor asked me to do OGTT test on next sat. When are you suppose to do your OGTT?
Doctor also extended my hospitalisation leave to another 4 more weeks. May be because i told him that i found a tinge of brownish in the mucous discharge sometimes. He wanted me to continue to take my progesterone tablets too.
The good news is my placenta moved up already
Thanks for the tips on lamination. I will go popular to buy one too

Hi Hopfully,
I also experienced constipation taking calcium. Sometimes cannot tahan I will drink prune juice to clear the bowel. Usually the prune juice work for me, may be you can try this if you feel very constipated too. Yes, my progesterone pill is also utrogestan 100, I am still taking now.

Cale,
missed the last one accidentally. prob will make appt for 23 feb cos plant shut day.
congrats on placenta moving up! rest well, hope no more such discharge soon!
hee... the laminating cards shiok hor?

Cale,

Yes im taking calcium supplement and iron supplement too.

Hopfully,

I already had my OGTT test done cause during my weekly visit to my gynae found out my sugar high, so now have to monitor using Accu Check Advantage, cannot take too much beans cause starch and carbohydrates.

Went for my PE monitoring on fri, basically wat they did was to check my BP hrly for 4 hrs. Then oso did urine labstick, it tested ++ for protein, so the nurse say need to send a urine test to the lab. The results came back and protein presence is confirmed.
A MO did a review and told me that it is confirmed that i am in the beginnign stage of PE, so must monitor closely to prevent it from becoming eclampsia.

Imel, Bliss, juju and cale,
I oso mentioned to MO abt the painful contactions,so they did a CTG for 45mins, but it seems ok, so they allow me to go home.

Hi juju,
Maybe its similar material, this 1 oso very soft, dun feel uncomfortable at all.
ya loh, thats my intention for the CL oso. Wait til the time comes then see how. Sekali got miracle i can tahan til >32wks hehe...

Hi Cale,
Yup, i think so too, no news is good news.
Thanks for the link on the diapers and expo fair. Actually last time i've seen the Nepia review oso, both this and GooN is not our conventional kinda brands but they seems to have very good reviews. BTW, i received the GooN sample already.
Hiaz, as for the expo fair...i've been waiting for it, but now i can't go liao...if oni it happen much earlier. If you wana go, better go early during off peak hrs then not so crowded.

Oh, regarding the bumwear, i've seen the web last time and these few days had been trying very hard to think of the name, oni remember its bum-something haha....good thing you posted here oso. The cloth diapers looks very attractive, but was wondering if its difficult to wash cos got so many layers. I want to get the diaper covers, but wat do you think of the cloth diapers? Do you intend to get?

Glad tat ur visit went well
Oh, but ur glucose quite high, good to do OGTT just to play safe. I think doc loh very nice, giving us HL so liberally, at least we can really rest. Any idea wats the cause of the brownish discharge? Oh, its great news tat ur placenta went up! But still must be careful and dun walk too much

The good news is my placenta moved up already .

Hi Hopeful,
Tats great, happy for you that ur scan went well

1) I started taking the progesterone pill to stabilise the womb in late dec to early jan when i was admitted for contractions (wk 22). But the main med i'm taking for my contractions is nefedipine. I think dr loh is very careful now, cos once you started contractions starts, they will start pushing ur womb lower and causes shorter cervix length, therefore leading to higher risk for pre-term labour. I'm writing all these thru my recent experience.
The tablets looks harmless enough, so I was oso surprise when he told me that the tablets could be a possible cause of my poor liver results last wk. But not to worry, i think everybody's symptoms are different. Cos for my case, i think it was oso cos i am taking a few other med as well, causing my liver to work harder. Anyway, dr loh did mention that the pros of taking outweigh not taking it.
I think its better to take his advise for the sake of ur babies, I'm taking 2 pills 2x/day.

2) I started 1 tablet of calcium in my 2nd tri, but i dun like the big tablet, furthermore, now i have so many med to take, so i oni took calcium on and off oni....

For babies' stuffs, I started looking around for the bigger items in my 2nd tri (eg strollers, steriliser), cos all these need to compare and decide so may take some time. Usually pple wait til late 2nd tri to 3rd tri then start to buy, cos some say pantang leh...anyway, i had to be CRIB since my wk22 and i really panic cos my babies does not have a single pc of blouse then haha...but lucky thing i have my sister and fren who volunteered to buy for me. Anyway, i did a list of items and ask my hubby to buy. But you know, men are men, they are still clueless and unsure when they are faced with all the items in the mall and he had to keep calling me haha...Anyway, my hubby did successful came bk with 2 bags of items on fri haha....but still quite abit of items not bought yet.

Oh, the sterliser you saw is very worth it, cos the 1 i bought came with 3 small bottles oni. I think the one you bought is a good enough deal already so dun worry abt the fair's price. Cos i saw the sterilser a few times and every time selling promo price at $150 and oni 1 free thermal bag.

Thanks, I will try to tahan, now so fast, next wk 29 wks already

Hi Cale,
Actually the bumwear quite exp. But they got boutique in novena square. Maybe i gotta wait til after delivery then can go and see liao, cos i wana see the actual thing b4 investing. I saw that they oso have this started kit promo oso. Wat you think? http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/catalog.htm?category=29

Oh, by the way, you think the diaper covers can fit the normal cloth diapers? Cos we bought a pkt of tollyjoy cloth diaper (10pcs oni) and looking for nice covers now.

Hi Juju,
You mean you missed the appt for OGTT? Think that one, you can make appt anytime right, since no need to see doctor. Hee, yes, i saw you flash out the laminating cards, looks very neat and nice

Hi Maykel,
If just beginning of PE, think still not so serious. Just need to monitor very closely. You still have painful contraction? Is it still occurs very often? Have to relax yourself, and hope your contraction will gone soon.

Hee, yes, I think you must have passed the OGTT test. I have a feeling I will likely failed the test, sigh. I asked the nurse, what I need to do if fail the test, she said need to attend a class to learn how to control diet le, sianz, if more serious need to see a dietrician.

I am happy to know that my placenta is moving up and baby head is moving down already. So, i got a chance to go for natural delivery. However, the discharge really bother me a little. I don't get it everytime, just sometimes, and it's just a bit only. Initially he said i can stop taking the progesterone pill, but upon hearing this, he said i better continue to take. So, no change to reduce the medicine, have to take it 2 pill each time and 2x a days.

Regarding the fair, may be can ask your hubby to have a look there on your behalf, if you have anything in mind you want him to look out for. Definitely, you can't go liao. I will try to go, when it's less crowded, but quite hard, as my hubby working on friday le. So, i can only go on saturday or sunday. I will be very careful myself

Regarding the bumwear, I did some research, it looks like will be a cost saving for long run and also more environmental friendly. I agreed that it's very expensive, the bumwear diaper itself cost $27 each and the insert cost $7. So, for 1 set, is about $34. Plus, need to spare a few insert in case baby pass more urine (esp at night), may have to put in 2 insert at one time to have better absorbent. However, still need to put the nappy liner for easier cleaning to cater for baby poo. If breastfeeding, preferbly put to 2 nappy liner at the same time, as the poo will be more runny.

They have some package deal in their website with some discount if purchase more. So, if buy 4 diapers + 10 inserts cost about $169 after discount (only 5% discount, which is not a lot) for the current package deal. However, I understand that during the fair (happens to chat with a sales person from bumwear), they should have better offer. So, will look out for it. If really worth it, plan to get my self 4 diapers as a start to try out and mix with disposable pampers and conventional nappy clothes. If it's really good, then i might get more in future if they are having promotion again. If you are really interested, we might pool our purchase and can get a better deal in the fair.
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/catalog.htm?category=21

Their best selling product is the 1 size pocket which can fit baby from 5kg (after 1 month) up to 2.5 years old. Plus, this bumwear is suppose to be quite similar to those good disposable diapers, where the surface is dry, and the urine is all absorded to the insert. So, just have to change the insert depending on the urine volume. The most important is it's breathable (the cover made of PUL) and soft compare to disposable, and thus, minimise the occurance of baby getting nappy rashes. On top of this, I though their bumwear diaper looks really nice and cute too

Regarding the washing, you check out the bumwear website, they got instruction on how to do the cleaning, basically they recommend you to clean with washing machine and it looks quite convenient. While doing the cleaning, have to take out the insert from the diaper and must hang it to dry. As for detergen, cannot use baby detergen to clean, and no softerner. Recommended to buy the Kao Attack detergen. The softerner will actually affect the absorbent of the urine in long run.
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/pages/bw-washncare.htm

On the diaper cover, yes, we definitely need to get one if we are using the normal nappy clothes, and you might get the snappies faster from them, safer than using the safety pin. Bumwear is selling the cover at $20 per piece and it comes in different sizes. I think it's a bit expensive, as we might have to get the bigger size when baby grows bigger. I am thinking I might get a other brands that is cheaper instead for the cover, will look out this during the fair too.

Sorry for the long posting, I thought i really looks like the sales person for bumwear :p

cale - i think i'm going for some cloth diapers and som edisposables too cos having twins will be quite ex$. i dont mind pooling if you guys are

hopefully - you mean the doc gives you HL as long as you ask ? ok i'll ask my doc the next time i see him. is it common for twin preg to go on leave earlier ?

Maykel,
same thing lor. rest rest and more rest!
yes, let ur hubby, sis & fren go shopping on ur behalf, u be the general - give instructions only. hee
glad dat ur placenta went up alrdy. more good news coming ya?
yes, hope u can tahan as long as possible. sure can, cos u alrdy passed dr loh's expectations!

Cale,
ya lor. so plan to go on 23 feb since no need to take leave, plus need to fast so cannot do on sat cos think i cannot tahan the hunger (hubby say my appetite getting better aka eating more!)
hee... when i saw the cards at popular, i was so happy. quickly took out the scans to match size & grab liao! if u can't find, let me noe, i buy & pass to u on sat.

hi 76,
my hcg level for D18 was only about 300, pretty low compared to many ladies here, but the nurses said it was ok. maybe it implanted later? guess i'll have to wait till weds to find out! hehe.
all the best for your scan tomorrow tomorrow tomorrow!

Babymaking,
I have not started doing the scapebook yet. Heehee... Dont know when I would start. :p

Hopfully,
congrats, so nice to have 1 boy and 1 girl!

I have not started setting up the baby cot and stuffs, only bought the small cabinet for storing baby clothings. Will start washing baby clothings from this week, I have lots from my sisters, need to wash them batch by batch for weeks.
Think I will only set up the baby cot in third trimester, dont want it to collect dust for months in the room yet.

Cale,
so happy for you that placenta has moved up!
Didnt know that you are still taking progesterone, why have to continue taking it till now?
Hope the brownish discharge will be gone. Do you feel any slight pain at the lower part before the discharge appears?
I have been experiencing slight pain at my vagina area at times, not sure the exact part causing the pain, quite worried sometimes, kept thinking that it might be stretching of ligaments, but the part that pain is really like very near to vagina. But I have no unusual discharge. Haiz...
Anyway, I really hope my placenta will move up too when go for my next apptmt in 2 weeks time.

Maykel,
glad that everything is ok with you meantime, I am sure you will be able to continue tahan for more weeks before you see your beautiful princesses!

Oh, didnt know that your placenta was down too. It is indeed very happy that it has moved up too!

Cribby
I am soooo excited...and nervous at the same time for tmr..... coz i absolutely dun feel anything....wondering if the constipation i exerted on my tummy had any effect...

I've found a really good deal, kidzloft at tagore lane (warehouse) have 50% til this sat. Can order online if you are unable to go down. I find the items really cheap and nice. Will be getting quite a few items myself
Happy shopping, check this out.
http://www.kidzloft.com/

Hi cale,
Ya, i'm still having painful contractions but the interval is between 30-60mins, so not so bad, realised that it is worse at nite....

You know when i went for the PE monitoring at ODAC at level 1, they have another room inside where a few ladies are having a full day program, which i think is for those who failed OGTT. The ODAC seems like an educational centre to me.

Is ur discharge better? Was thinking i you can't go to the fair then dun force urself, ask hubby to go loh hehe...else, go to the kidzloft link and shop online, they have so many items and very cheap, i already eyeing quite a few already. Its quite near my house, near thomson rd, i ask hubby go and see hehe...

I've read in details regarding the bumwear already. Oh i didn't know that the outer layer is dry like disposable diapers, i thot its like normal cloth nappy where it gets wet immediately after 1 wee wee. If tats the case then i think its worth trying. haha..you even get the chance to talk to their sales person ar....But i must agree that the 5% discount is very little leh, if got more discount better. Oh yes, i really like their designs too, so nice! The covers are considered exp ar? But I can't go out and look for diaper covers, wana buy nice ones leh.

Hi juju,
haha...ya loh, bo bian....
i'm not the one with low placenta leh, its Cale and Bliss lah. You are right, i've passed the 1st round, sure ca get thru a few more rounds

BTW, wat is it abt the flash cards? Its to protect the scan pics? Wat does it looks like? I'm interested leh.

Hi Bliss,
Does ur vaginal area feels swollen. Since >1mth ago i oso been having pain/ discomfort on and off at the vaginal area. After asking doc during my admission then i realised that it is due to water retention, similar to when our feet got oedema. But that time my feet oso not swollen yet. No lah, i dun have low placenta hehe....hope your placenta would go up on ur next appt

Hi Juju,
If you are doing on 23 Feb (mon), still have to go there at 9am right? I understand they open on 8.30am, so the earliest is 8.30am. After they draw the blood for fasting glucose test, we still need to wait for 2 hours to have any blood test before can eat anything right? Then wouldn't it be the same if you go on sat? That's during our antental class, then you don't have to go down twice?
My appetite also getting better now, must control and control, especially think I likely will fail the test.
Hee, thanks for the offer on the laminating cards, I will ask my hubby to go popular to check it out, if really can't find, I let you know. Thanks!!

Hi Bliss,
I think due to my bleeding last time, doctor got really scare of me le. Since then I was on progesterone. I thought to reduce or stop the progesterone soon, but after told doctor about the brown discharge he asked me to continue the progesterone. Actually I did not feel the pain at the lower part le. So i really don't know what is it.
How long is the pain already? If really concern, may be can drop a mail to your doctor to enquire?

Hi Maykel,
Thanks for the links. I also tempted to go
. Not sure if they are marking up the price, then advertised as 50% off, some of them did that. Also, not sure if getting our stuff there is cheaper as compare to the incoming babycare fair as we won't know who's the merchants participate in the babycare fair and what's their offer.
Oh, really, what is the ODAC stand for har? Understand from nurse, need to pay for that class. Actually, I dont really eat lot's of sweet stuff, but guess, it's my genes as my dad have diabetes lor. So, not sure how effective is the diet control for me.
My discharge is still on and off le, it's been like close to 2 weeks already. It's just like a tiny brown spot in the mucous, not really a lot. Really hope it will go off soon, then i can stop my progesterone pills.
I happens to surf their web, and their is a chat window pop up asked if i wanna chat with them. The sales person told me that they will give out some freebies (with purchase) during the fair with more attractive price, so think worth to go down and check it out.
I thought $20 of diaper cover looks quite expensive le. How many you plan to buy? You know when baby grows bigger, we have to buy a few more pieces of different size. So, i think quite exp lor. May have cheaper option outside, but need to look around. I also like you, no chance to go out for shopping. If i know of any other brands that looks more affordable, I will share with you

You take good care of yourself. It's not easy with the painful contraction, but for the sake of babies I hope you tahan as long as possible.

Hi Cale,
I think the price is quite reliable, cos my fren's colleague had bought from them. Maybe you can browse thru the items and see if there's anything you want to get that might not be available at the Baby fair. Cos i think certain items like the cot bed organiser, cow diaper stacker and even toy chest are very nice and not expensive. Have nvr seen them outside b4. Personally i find that the items are worth getting, thinking of the bathtub, cos i've seen at Mothercare b4 and the bathtub is nearly $100, quite expensive. Here got many choices and cheaper. But isn't it too far for you to come?

Urm...if i dun remember wrongly, ODAC is Obsteric Day Care. When i was inside, i heard the nurse calling a few patients to follow-up on their diet and reminding them cannot eat this, cannot eat tat, alot of restrictions.

Did dr loh say that ur discharge could be due to infection or anything? I guess at our stage, dun have to worry so much abt stopping med liao, cos its oni a matter of up to 8wks b4 we can stop ALL med completely ;)

oic....i planned to buy 2 covers and try 1st, unless very nice then i get 4. Actually i dun know that nappy covers got size, i thot they are all standard size leh. Okie thanks, let me know if you find nice ones

Maykel,
thanks for sharing, but I dont know i am having any swelling or not. Sorry, thought your placenta was low earlier coz your last sentence in one of your postings said that "The good news is my placenta moved up already." Heehee...

Cale,
the pain I experienced has been on and off since pregnant, once in a while. Yesterday I got it again, it felt painful, I was so scared of moving, but still felt vagina part straining even sit or lie still. Anyway, it was gone after a while. Hopefully it was nothing to worry to about.

hopefully
Congrates !!! i hope mine to be 1 boy 1 gal too :p. Btw when should we be taking the progesterone pill? heard u say its to stabilise the womb. Me too have been having contractions once in a while. is it normal?

Bliss
i also have this off and on pain near the vagina for abt 2 weeks alreadi. Doc says its due to the expansion of the womb and the stretching of the ligaments that holds the uterus in place.The pain will go off after sometime.

Maykel,
paiseh... must have typed wrong line... lol
dat was intended for Cale!
not flash cards, is self-laminating cards which u can use to preserve the u/s scans. can get at popular! or u ok i drop by & pass u? i can buy for u.

Bliss,
heard recommended to set up in the last month of pregnancy, same reason - wun collect dust. hee!
the vagina pains is a bit sharp & last frm seconds to 1 or 2 mins? i also have, for some time liao, but no coloured discharge so i jus lun lor. lately also start to have pelvic strains again, but i guess if no pain shld still be ok la.
but i think u got low-lying placenta? if yes, better go chk or ask dr when go for chk up.

Cale,
true la. but i booked 23 feb liao. haha! nvr mind la. free on dat day. after OGTT, go for dental chk up!
tell ur hubby is at stationery corner. the card packets are usually hung up, diff sizes available, but 3x5" suits the scans most.

prayers aanswered. there's a link to what is going on at the fair! check it out!
http://www.family.sg/default.aspx
click on the baby fair picture & a pdf file will open up. there's program listings, what offer for what items, etc! shld be helpful.

hi morning gals

went for DS scan yesterday, anxious cos according to maternal age, the risk is about 1:300, glad to know after the scan that the risk is reduced to 1:1487, will have to wait for the blood test to confirm the overall risk.

for those going shopping for baby stuff
takashimaya nursery dept has a baby & maternity check list which is very helpful as a check list.

also, for those checking prices online, here;s another website to check out. http://www.kiddysky.com/

some questions hope you gals can help with:
for those who are planning to buy strollers/pram,
did you get the forward facing, or rear facing type, or reversible type?

for those who bought car seats, which are the recommended brands/models? did you get a travel system (stroller + car seat) or buy separately?

i understand that car seats need to be changed by 3 months when baby is able to sit upright -is that right?

what brand did you buy & how much did it cost?

Pleasance,
thanks for sharing. Really hope mine is the same, which is only the stretching pain of the womb and ligaments.

juju,
thanks, ok I will ask Doc Sadhana next appt.

Hi babymaking,
I'm going for DS test next month. I'm also opting for the scan and blood test. The nurse says if wants more accurate result, can draw blood from the womb through tummy which carries some risk. Will you be doing this test also. Thinking whether is it necessary.

Hi Bliss,
Ya hor, dun know why got that sentence in my posting, probably i accidentally cut and paste into my posting hehe...pai seh

Hi juju,
Its not ur fault, i did accidentally put that sentence inside my posting as highlighted by Bliss, pai seh hor

I'm interested in the self-laminating, saw ur reply to Cale on where to find, maybe can get my hubby to go and see, cos dun wana trouble you to buy, you are very kind, thanks so much for the offer. If really cannot find then i let you know

Thanks for the Babycare program, like so happening! But really too bad i can't go

Hi babymaking,
The risk for scan itself seems quite low already, so if combines with bld test would be better, so dun worry

I've got Combi MT strollers that can have both rear and front facing. Cos i read somewhere that younger babies would feel more secure emotionally if they are able to see an adult face to face while on the stroller as compared to seeing so many things in the environment when they are facing the front.
We are not getting a car seat yet, wana wait til later then see how. But we saw the Britax one, looks very confy for babies, but very bulky. Infant car seat can get for >$200, but problem is they can be used for up to 6-8mths oni, depending on babies' weight. After that you gotta change to normal carseat. So its better to invest in 1 that can be used from infant to 4/5 yrs old. The Britax one i saw can do that and its abt $400++, saw it at kaki bukit warehouse.

hihi maykel

thks for response abt the carseat & stroller, will check out the britax carseat, just wondering if suitable for infant as well as toddler, cos infant one is usually lying down, while toddler ones are upright facing.

just rec a call from KKH, the blood test result is out, the risk increased to 1: 434, and they wanted me to go back for another scan to examine fetal blood flow to heart.

i'm not very confortable with the odds of 1 out of 434, although it's not considered high risk. but then neither am i comfortable with the odds of going thru amnio either
in another quandary.

will have to see how the scan next week goes before making any decisions.

kaira,
do the scan & blood test first before deciding on invasive tests like amnio or cvs, cos the last 2 has a 2-5% chance of miscarriage.

just did my 1st scan.. cld see sac but doc say a bit small for gestation age. shld be 6weeks 3 days, now size only 5w3d.....worried...so doc asking me to take HCG this fri before seeing him for reviw again sat.....sianz...hope history dun repeat itself..

Maykel,

Thanks for the kidzloft thingy, went to the warehouse sale today and spent almost $500 plus after discount.. No choice cause i need to multiply 3 for everything i buy...

I bought the baby bath tub and stand at mothercare, the bath tub set is $108 includes a bath tub, tail bowl, hooded towel, 1 toy, 1 sponge. The stand is $72. Total is $180 and mothercare members get 10%. I think it's more worth it if got twins cause sharing ma or if only 1 baby than give him or her the best ...

BTW, if mothers are breastfeeding, i think i would suggest getting avent dual pump instead of the IQ series, i already bought the IQ series, but regretted cause the other one $700 plus is better and can bring out and comes with thermal bag and all, the IQ one is $279 but just a basic electric pump.

Cale, Maykel,
so far I have received all the diapers samples except Fitti. What about you two? I remember our request for Fitti diapers is thru email rite?

hi 76,
thanks for sharing...
don't give up hope yet! seeing a gestational sac is good news already. maybe the embryo just implanted later? i think you might see more in a scan next week. try to stay positive. if you're meant to have this baby, you will!

I pray the sac will grow the next time you go for scan. I think its because too small as you went for scan when you are in 6weeks. Really hope to hear good news about the HCG.

Hi cribby,
Best wishes for yr scan tomorrow.

Hi 76,
Hope everything will thing out well for you eventually.

Hi babymaking,
Ya. Better to wait for the outcome of the bt and scan first . Thks

maykel,
no probs. i also blur la...
if u stay near thomson area, shld be ard amk? so quite ok for me
let me noe if u need me to get it for u la.
if there's any offer at babycare u wan to get, can send ur hubby there. jus print out the pdf file & circle the items u wan. fool proof!

maykel & babymaking,
ever saw car seat dat can convert frm infant to toddler use, but quite ex. dun remember the brand, most likely saw it at mothercare harbourfront.

babymaking,
see how the fetal scan goes first. dun worry urself too much ya?

sam,
wow! dat's a lot! but, anyway next time can sell off if u keep in good condition.
i was there at 4-ish... missed u!

Hi Ponytail,
Hmm, i think it also depends on the doc. But seriously, i think twins should go on leave earlier to minimise risk. For me, i m more comfortable to rest from 7th month as i dun want to overwork/tired myself. I think if you tell doc you wanted to rest already, he will gladly give u the leave to rest. My dr wanted me to rest from mid mar but since i got limited hosp leave, i chose to start from april. Best to talk to your dr to find out his thinking so that you can start planning already. When is ur detailed scan?

Bliss, thank you!
Fully agreed to fix the baby stuffs during last tri to min dust. Just wanted to check if you all still feel abit of nauseous (like something in the throat) on and off?

Cale, agreed with Maykel, it is really a matter of another 8 weeks plus for you all already. You all are reaching the victory line very soon. Jia you, jia you!

Pleasance: Thank you!
Hope your wish will come true too! When is ur detailed scan? Actually i dun noe how does contraction feel like. Can you explain to me? The progesterone pill is prescribed by dr loh when i see him aft my detailed scan during my 20 week. He said that it is to prevent contraction as he is more kiasu now. But i think from the ladies here, it is more to stablise the pregnancy. Are you working?

Maykel, thanks for your detailed reply. Guess i will do up my list and go to the fair to spree. Heehee... I am also like you, taking the calcium pill as and when. Not going to take everyday as i also scare too much.

Cale: The cloth diaper looks very nice but the price is very steep. Btw, is the insert reusable? If not it is really ex as 1 insert is $7?

Babymaking, your ratio is still consider as acceptable. Remember reading somewhere that 1 of the ladies has gotten the reading as 1:4 and she was very scared and anxious but dr said that both her babies are born healthy. So dun worry too much. Remain and stay positive ok?

hi kaira, ju & hopfully,

yep, will remain positive and hope for the best. actually 1:434 is on par for my age, but it came as a shock as the scan result was 1:1487, the sudden 3 fold increase in risk caught both of us off guard.

is there any older (mid thirties) 1st time mums here?

juju - oh i was wondering what you gals were talking abt self-laminatig. oh its for the photos. thats a good idea, but i already pasted into my scrap book. i didnt know these photos will fade. i'll go buy if i come across

hopefully - i'm seeing my doc on 3 mar. think my detailed scan is 1-2 weeks after that. what do they do during detailed scan ? my glucos test is also on 3 mar. scared i fail, cos my paternal granny got diabetes. very mah fan if fail glucose test right?

babymaking - if its 1:1487, then isnt it lower risk and better than 1:434 ?

hopfully,
my nausea problem was between week 6 to week 14. Are you still experiencing it now?

same thing as everyone else, the sonographer scanned for the sac in the womb to check how many embies are there, and also the heartbeat. Mine was tummy scan and it was clear to see one sac with one heartbeat. The size of the sac was of the reasonable size, so my doc just gave me progesterone pills for the 1st 3 months that time.