IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

I heard from my friends that it would be best to scan the pics of foetus into the computer and save them in softcopy too, as the scan pics will fade off after some years, even after laminating.

Perhaps scan one more copy in CD or disk before laminating.

Hi 76,
Read from August 09 mtb tread 2 or 3 weeks ago. There one lady took chicken eccense wi no added ingredients during 1st trimester and she says her bb size is bigger than normal. She stop taking at second triester, then her bb go back to normmal size. Did doc says what you should eat or req'd any injection to help.

hopefully

my detail scan is on 11 march. Currently i'm 21 weeks and working.How many weeks r u now? I have this pulling / hardening feeling of the womb and tummy for a few secs and it goes off. I believe this is the so call contraction. R u opting for V birth or c birth ?

Ladies expecting multiples, when do u all start taking the hospitalisation leave to rest at home b4 birth?

hi ponytail & bliss

the scan result was 1:1487 which is good, but after computing in the blood test result, the risks increase 3 fold to 1:434.

we were not prepared after the good scan result that the risks can increase so much after the blood test, so am caught off guard.

babymaking,
oic....

But dont be too worried, coz the ratio after blood test is still consider low risk.
Must believe that your babies are healthy, ok?

Hi 76,

Saw from the IVF cycle tread,

T-HCG Level (unit : mIU/mL)
Non Pregnant : <5
Grey Zone : 5 - 10
0.2 - 1 week : 10 - 50
1 - 2 weeks : 50 - 500
2 - 3 weeks : 100 - 5000
3 - 4 weeks : 500 - 10000
4 - 5 weeks : 1000 - 50000
5 - 6 weeks : 10000 - 100000
6 - 8 weeks : 15000 - 200000
2 - 3 months : 10000 - 100000

dejected,

As long as the next scanning can see baby's heartbeat, you will be fine. Don't be pessimistic, must stay happy and optimistic, your bb is growing day by day. A happy mummy will have a happy baby..

pleasance,

the pulling feeling you have is the stretching of the uterus, if you are having pain and intense cramping regularly, it may be early contraction and you need to be hospitalised and may have to inject steroids to mature the lungs of the baby in case premature birth but at 21 weeks its very very dangerous, 24 weeks pregnancy only carries 50% chances of fetus surviving and 28 weeks an increase of another 30% survival, other than that you should be safe.

For twins you can opt for natural delivery if the positioning of both babies are both head down, if not can only do C-Section, so it all depends if babies cooperative or not..keke..

Doctor's advise for multiples is more rest after 6 months which is 24 weeks, but cannot have too much bed rest as it will cause blood clots in the leg. If able to walk, try to brisk walk, firstly it helps blood circulation and reduces leg cramping and also it helps to burn the extra fats and calories(Especially for multiples, babies need more space in the womb) and also can control sugar level at the same time.

thanks kaira for the useful info. My gynae asked me to continue my pregnyl and proluton jabs. But as i am going for my HCG test this fri, he said not to take that first otherwsie distort my reading. The rest,progynova and duphaston and folic acid still continue 3x a day

juju,

Oh i went there right when they open at 11am... finish only at ard 1.30pm cause so many stuff to buy..

Now i wanna buy the baby cot musical mobile, furthermore i have to buy 3 than $300 plus .. my goodness...

Anyone got cheap and good lobang for musical mobile?

went for my first scan today and saw a flickering heartbeat through my tummy!
we were so happy! the scan dated the pregnancy at 6.2 wks.
thanks everyone for your well-wishes!

Hi Ponytail,
Basically during detail scan, they will scan ur baby longer to see that everything such as heart, kidney, liver, bloodflow are normal. I think they also check the size of the baby and inform you of their gender too. However, i m not sure abt the glucose test as doc nv ask me to do. Hope everything turn out well for you

Pleasance, I am also now in my 21 weeks going into my 22 weeks this weekend. I still hope for natural, if possible. However, i am letting nature to take its place. Maybe at a later stage will check with Doc which way is more advisable for me. Will listen to his recommendation and decide. If we are suitable for natural birth, i think dr will inform us.
COs i hear C will take a longer time to heal. I will be starting my rest around 27 weeks. I think you can start planning already cos company also need to find replacement and we also need to hand over properly.

Cribby, congrats for seeing the heartbeat. Take good care of yourself and jia you

hi 76,
the doc didn't really say why the scan dating and ET calculation can be a bit different, but he said the ET calculation is more accurate for determining EDD. im still with dr loh.

does anyone know how many scans/appts there are for the first trimester?

hi hopfully,
thank you so much! all the best to you too, and enjoy your home rest coming up!

Hi Cribby and Kaira
How does the heartbeat look like on the screen? So keen to know... Also, i saw many blue lines on the screen during the scan...doc say they are blood vessels...so interesting...And i dun see any equipment where you can hear the heartbeat leh, only the v-probe thing and the tummy scan thingy...

hi 76,
I had my first scan in my 6th week, saw the sac and heartbeat too. The sonographer will show you where the heartbeat is, it is a small dot that will blink in the same rhythm as heartbeat. You will get to see the heartbeat in every scan throughout your pregnancy, which is what the gynae needs to check on too.

cribby,
glad to hear that everything went smoothly and happily in your first scan.
Stay happy still and take good care!

hopefully - thanks.

ladies - i'm 17 weeks already. when i started out this journey i only dare to take 1 step at a time, and thought turning 10 weeks is a big deal. cant believe so fast i'm 17 weeks already
ok serious question, i dont feel babies movements yet. although my tummy still growing in size. my next appt is on 3 mar, which is 1 month since my last appt, and not seeing my babies has made me a bit anxious to see how they are doing.

cribby - congrats. i had my 1st scan at 6 weeks too. the doc saw 2 sacs and told my hubby he needs to buy not 1, but 2, diamonds for me

ponytail,
ya, understand the feelings since started ivf and then pregnancy and now...
It seemed so long ago, but then at the same time also feels like it was yesterday that started the pregnancy journey... so complex and indescribable.

Time flies, you will find yourself going for the coming appt very soon. I have been waiting for my next appt for weeks, and finally i will get to see my baby on my 27 weeks appt next fri!

Really looking forward to that day as i am only able to communicate with baby by experiencing all his kickings and somersaults everyday.

Yah time really flies. There was so much up and down during our IVF journey. The first 2ww, we were all worried,scared and lost. We dunno the outcome and always worried with little symptoms. Then when the good news came to us, we have so much joy and disbelief and still scared whether or not the baby will grow as we have heard so many sad stories. And then the morning sickness took over everything. We were miserable. We couldnt eat and felt so weak but at the same time we were assured that MS is a sign that our babies growing well inside us. So much tears and joys. Every time we went for appointment, we felt its like a dream....dream that we have longed to become reality. Now Im approaching 32 weeks, truthfully speaking, Im scared...not about the delivery but about the baby. I dunno whether my baby will comeout healthy. Then Im worried whether or not I can become a good mother. The worries that I have seems never end.

For ladies who may not succeed this time round, dun despair. All the IVF mothers are here to support you as we have gone thru the same pain as you. Not all the mothers here succeed in one try, some have even try more than twice. My cousin have tried 8 times before she delivered her triplet. I know upset and disappointment is inevitable but the most importantly dun give up hope.

May God Bless Us All!

hi kaira,
my EDD is 10.10.09

hi 76,
the heartbeat looks kinda like a light going on and off, it's really tiny at this stage. i didn't see any blue on my screen, it was all black and white? oh you can try and search for week 6 scans on youtube i think you might find some there.

hi bliss and ponytail,
thank you! ponytail, better start picking out your diamonds soon
my turn to count down to week 10 now...

Hi 76
Tummy scan quite difficult to see. I don't know how to see but doc says have. V scan very clear, like yr heart beating.. Mine have no blue line on screen .

need some advice. does anyone know what the purpose of the week 9 or 10 scan is? do you think it's really necessary after having done a week 6 scan? just wondering because each visit costs quite a bit for me.

hi imel,
i feel what you mean. its really a journey for us. but for whatever challenges that we face, know that we are those who will cherish our babies a tad bit more as we know how difficult it is for us while ttc and during the ivf journey..

i'm approaching week 34. and i must say, i worry most if baby will be ok after delivery.. at the moment, yeah, do feel a little apprehensive about the labour but i keep telling myself, will endure just to see her in this world. that thought at least makes me look forward to delivery..

hi cribby

it may be costly to have scans but each scan is a reassurance that baby is growing / growing well.

i remember once tested positive, i had weekly scans from week 5 to week 9. week 5 to see sac, week 6 to see a faint heart beat, week 7 to see a strong heart beat and week 8 to reassure myself that bb is still growing when there was some spotting.

then subsequently had scans on week 11 &amp; 13, and the next one will be on week 14. week 13 is for the NT scan, and week 14 for the fetal heart scan.

sounds like kiasu hor, but really at each visit, it's a huge reassurance that bb is growing and growing well, esp in the absence of any other preg symptoms.

perhaps it's past personal experience, due to miscarriage &amp; ectopic, and also of hearing too many horror stories of bb's heartbeat stopping and MTB dun even know till 3-4 weeks later during routine gynae visits.

but i am sure, every MTB wish to have a scanning machine to be able to see their bb everyday :p

agree with imel's sentiments, that our babies especially are a hard won effort after going IVF. for some of us, whether it's a first attempt at IVF or after numerous attempts, it still exact a heavy emotional toll, which will make us treasure our precious more, and worry even more, from pre conception, to 9 long months of pregnancy, to birth, to baby care.

Here's to all the mothers and mothers to be who sacrificed so much in order to have their own babies. May all of us here have healthy babies who will grow up to make us pround mummies.

hi babymaking,

thank you so much for your reply. yes i know what you mean about reassurance from the scan and i can't wait to see my baby moving around!
can i ask, when you went for all your scans did you also have a consultation with your doctor each time? or did you just make an appointment for a scan? thank you!

Cribby

i am seeing SF loh at the pte suite, so each gynae visit comes with a scan, unless it's a scheduled scan like the 7 week dating scan, DS &amp; fetal heart scan which is done at the ADC/AMC, then no need to see gynae.

cribby, babymaking,
yes, I strongly agree that every single scan and appt is so very important to us. I always look forward to the next scan after one. The very first thing gynae will do when starting the scanning is always to find the heartbeat first before checking on any other thing.
I am just watching a taiwanese programme talking about having babies and pregnancy and delivery...a bit scared to hear one of the actresses who shared she spent 3 years to have 1 baby. Her first naturally conceived baby had stopped her heartbeat in 39 weeks and 3 days! And was finally found that it was due to strangled by her own umbilical cord... And she had 2 miscarriages after that during 1 month plus pregnancy. Finally gotten her baby girl(4th one)after 3 years... very sad story...
It is really so important to go for every checkup and make sure baby is growing well.
I really cant wait to see my baby again next appt, I still have to wait 1 more week.

bliss

yeah, exactly, maybe i am paranoid. esp after hearing/reading so many stories of bb stop heartbeat, worse in 1st tri, but the stories continue till 3rd tri. at least from week 20 onwards, can measure bb's movement...but before that...unless go for scan, will not be able to tell what's happening inside. perhaps good idea is to avoid those horror stories.

today finally got a burst of energy to sort out bills and stuff...past couple of weeks been junking everything into folders.

hoepfully energy will last ... still have to plan baby budget, and start on making pregnancy scrap book.

kaira,
the website you shared is interesting, but quite scary to watch the video on delivery...

I was thinking my hubby dare to watch with me or not... heehee...

hi babymaking and bliss,
thank you! bliss, the story you shared is really scary. think i've been convinced to go to every appointment now... hehe.

kaira,
thanks for sharing the link - it is so informative! do you think they let the baby stay with you for 1hr after delivery in hospitals here too?

Went for HCG yesterday and result was 81000 units. so was wondering how come could only see 7mm sac on tues (and doc say sac is dated 1 week slow)...today, went for v-scan, the sac grew to 10mm and could see heartbeat!! (and i am on date exactly 7 weeks) my hubby and i sooo happy!! heartbeat was 124bpm, gynae said next week scan again to be sure coz shld go up...i am just simply over the moon for now....

the gynae told me preg ladies must avoid cosmetics that contain retinol. what make up are you all using? i think i need to at least have foundation and lipstick, if i cant have my blusher.

had a scare this morning with brown discharge, clots &amp; womb tightening &amp; back ache, all signs of early contractions.

tried to make appt to see SF Loh at the TPS but clinic was full, in the end went down to A &amp; E. luckily baby was ok, heartbeat strong, and hicupping away. now on home rest &amp; resume progesterone tablets.

thought 1st tri over, shd be safe from bleeding..but not so. though now reaching week 14, still worrying.

hi 76,
so happy to hear that everything is fine for you!
Must feel happy everyday ok.
yes, must avoid cosmetics that contain certain chemicals, such as what you mentioned, retinol. I never do make up ever since pregnant(only did makeup during CNY visiting or attending any formal functions or dinners.). I had lots of pimples when I was taking the progesterone pills first three months, but saw skin doc to take some skin care lotion and cream which are safe for preggy, still using now.
I bought loreal product, revitalift cream before pregnant, it contains retinol, so I dont use it at all.
You may want to take a look at this webpage to know what kind of chemicals to avoid during pregnancy.
http://www.babycenter.ca/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/safeskincare/

Hi bliss
so what brand of face wash do you use? do i need to see some specialist doctor to get special face wash for preggies? I am currently using bioskin products, think contain some chemicals mentioned in the website

hi 76,
congrats on seeing the heartbeat!! looks like everything is going a-ok! so happy for u. think the sac grows 1mm a day so next time you scan it should be noticeably larger. yay same EDD!! i'm still wondering when the symptoms will start kicking in if they are.

Hi Cribby
I m starting to feel weird,not sure if you call it m/s. I have no appetite and feel queasy, like wana vomit. But i dun actually vmit. I also like food with strong taste, e.g. laksa, satay.When is your next scan? Mine is this Sat.

Hi Hopfully,
I started buying baby stuff on 26wks.
Got bb cot from 1 of my collegue.
Got bb stuff from my SIL.
So I just bought bb mattress,pillow,bolster,small thermos and small item.
I started calcium pill on my 4mth plus pregnancy. I think you can start drink calcium after 3mths, can ask dr loh to give you.

Long time I din see this thread. Wow... so many news to update.
I just came back from my hometown. I got many bb stuff from my SIL.
At my hometown,Ii got sore throat and saw doctor. Doctor was so nice and he checked my bb very detail. He told me that my bb is a boy and now is 1kg on my 28wks. ^_^

And i notice that hospital got 4D USG so i tried it.
Doctor said that normally it was very difficult to see the genital but in my case was different. Baby only showed his genital. Actually we wanted to see his face but too bad, he covered his face with his hands.

Just want to share with all the ladies, here are the results:

2181890.jpg
2181891.jpg

1st pic: bb show his genital.
2nd pic: bb face is covered by his hand (*Dohhh... can't see his face... too bad...) ^_^