IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Cale,
thanks. So what package did you opt for the blood test? What is the difference between B and C? Which is better and more accurate? Thanks!

Mikojade,
it is surely worrying to hear about the high risk. But that is not definite, so dont be sad yet. Your baby will be healthy one.

Pleasance,
congrats and welcome!

I did not take any progesterone jabs after the BT, was given the progesterone hormone tablets, duphaston 2 times a day. Have to take that for whole of 1st trimester. Are you having that too?

Hi pleasance,
Congrats and welcome. If you are feeling all right, i think should be ok to work after BT.

Hi bliss,
According to the information from KKH's website both package B and C have the same accuracy rate.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/First+Trimester+Screening/

I confirmed again with the doctor on that day, was told the same answer. Just that the package C will test 1 month later and it's cheaper than package B. I am opting for the package B to do the blood test on the same day as the FTS scan.

Maykel,

Thanks for your advice. Think i should consult Dr Loh first & see what he says.

Bliss & Cale,

My DH refuse to let them know. Esp his mum who is not that understanding. Sometimes her words hurt although she doesn't mean it. It's her character. We hope to prevent any unhappiness that might arise during my pregnancy mood. My parents side all knew abt it & they are quite supportive.

Dear Micojade - pl dun think too much first till you do the amnio test which will be the definitive test as this will check for any chromosomal abnormality . As for the fetal scan , it is probably a guestimate -from wat i read , the ultrasound criteria uses the fetal nasal bone as a "marker" for down.s - but we all know that as oriental asians , our nasal bone is not well defined and we also noe that not all persons with low bridged nose are Downs - try to be positive and stay cheery .

Hi Cale,
haha...i see. The nurse oso called me yest Am to tell me the risk. She said that both babies risk are around 1:6200+, so quite low risk oso

Hope you are able to book the antenaltal class. oo bad you dun like water, else we can go class 2gether

Hi juju,
Ya, hope still got slots when you sign up

Hi Mikojade,
Please dun think of the worse yet ok? High risk doesn't confirm anything, amnio would 100% tell you wats going on.
Hopefully the re-scan next tues shows better results. Any idea who would do the re-scan for you? Tat time my FTS was done by dr Kenneth Kwek, he is very good and careful, scanned very long until my tummy got bruise, but at least he's very detailed.
Yes, dun give up, jia you!

Hi pleasance,
Congrats and welcome.
I nvr took progesteone jab so sorry, can't share with you.
Its up to you whether you wana go bk to work or not. For me, i'm quite kiasu, so i took HL throughout my 1st trimester, as my work is very stress so i dun wana take any risk. Had rested quite well, next week going bk to work liao.

Hi Merlenna,
oh ok, so i'm not the oni one haha...thanks gal.

Hi Mrs Teng,
Thanks for your support. Your baby so cute.
Now, I dunno what to do. I just leave it to GOD and hope to have a smooth pregnancy so I could have cute baby like you. ^_^

Hi Cale,

mrs teng,
hiii..just came in today and saw ur babies, very cute lee.. wish can see them in person.

all mommies to be,
be strong, being a mother is not an easy case, especially for multiples.
MS is just a small part of it. enjoy the MS, bloated tummy, stretch mark. you will miss it once babies born. except for the stretch mark, they will stay with you for a while. hihihih.. have a smooth pregnancies to all.

mikojade,
i dont quite follow the thread for sometimes liao, but be strong, God makes things wonderful in time and He always give us the best.

Hi Maykel,
Great to hear that your risk factor is low too

Btw, I haven't called up the antenatal class yet. I will try it tomorrow. Hope they accept reservation by phone.

Josephine

Yes, you got to stay strong for your little one... Rest is very important and don't worry too much...It will affect your baby.. Trust me, I worried too much and my elder gal was born frowning...

Deasy

Hi! yeah it's been awhile since hearing from you, how's your babies doing? I can imagine they much be so fun to play and cuddle with...

Hi Maykel,
I have called up the PEC and they will reserve a place for me till my next visit to KK. For the Dec weekend class, understand it start from 13 Dec - 28 Feb. They have 2 classes, 9.00am-10.45am and 11.15am-1.00pm. Which timing did you register? I have tentatively asked them to reserve for me the 11.15am-1.00pm class.

Today you going back to work already right? How are you coping? Hope you are not too stress up.

Hi Deasy,
Thanks for your encouragement. its really not easy, I am still having vomiting and poor appetite thou i'm nearly 13wks already. Hope it'll be over soon. So did you have multiples too?

Hi Cale,

Oh great, the PEC quite nice hor. I took the sat classes 9am-10.45. Cos i worried if i take up the aquafitness in Jan, it will be on Sat oso, think its at 1pm, so may be a bit rush if i take the later antenatal class.
hiaz....super tired after half a day at work....but managed to take a short rest at work in the pm. Was given more paper work to stay in office, but my Head still xpect me to go out of office to see some clients, but at my own pace. I'll wait till i feel better then go out. I try to tahan til i cannot then i'll take unpaid leave. Did felt a bit stress, maybe cos of the tired + nausea +giddy oso, can hardly walk after work cos too tired. My tummy hor, looks like 4mths plus preg, v big leh, haiyo....
I forgot if you are still on HL?

Hi Maykel,
We are going for the different slot, aiya, then likely can't meet you liao.

Yes, just take it easy at work. If really feel stress and tired, may be can take one day leave in the middle of the week to rest for 1 day. At least, there is a break to rest at home.

I already started work since last monday.

hi cale,
perhaps your symptoms different from mine. maybe yours will 'bloom' later?! hehe.. as for me, its tough at the moment trying to find a good bra for myself. but i think i may have no choice but to go for the ones that are ex if i can't find substitutes at normal stores.

lately, i've been feeling stretchy around the tummy especially around evening time after dinner. although now i religiously wear my stretchmark cream twice daily, i was wondering should i apply the cream everytime i feel stretchy and tightness at the tummy area.. yesterday hubby felt my tummy and said it feels like a soccer ball, that kind of hard.. haha.. coz i complained my tummy feels so tight..

ok any recommendation will be welcomed..

Been on bed rest since Saturday - had fresh blood spotting, and had to rush to the hospital. I was so scared, turned out I have a low lying placenta... sigh... so I'll be taking it easy at least until my next appt in early Nov. On better news, had my FTS Thursday, and I have low risk, something like 1 in 1000, so no need for amnio. Now just praying my placenta moves up as my uterus expands. Hope everyone is doing good, take care all

Been reading ur post and realised that all of u experience MS as soon as tested +VE. I'm in week 5 now and i dun feel nausea or experience vomitting. Quite worried if my baby is not developing well....How to ensure that my baby is really developing?

I am experiencing dizziness and headache pretty often, almost daily. Just to check, is this normal? Will doc put me on MC again? I am going for my first scan tmr, so is wondering. Thanks.

Pleasance,
most started MS in wk 6 or 7. only some in wk 5. dun worry too much. if u dun hv (u r lucky), jus try to wait patiently till ur 1st appt whereby u can see ur baby.
i din experience vomitting. i only had a bit nausea on & off. i was also worried. but wk 6 scan was ok

Hi Cale,
Oh ok, too bad we can't attend the same classes...
Ya loh, I will take a break from work if i cannot tahan. So how are you at work?

Hi Merlenna,
My tummy oso felt tight towards the end of the day, very itchy too. But when i put the clarins tonic oil, my tummy still itchy and has rashes. Very frustrating, dun know to put or not to put. Wat cream did you use? I think shld be no harm putting a thin layer when you feel itchy.

Oh, talking abt bras, last week i got 2 bras for $50 from Mothers En Vougue counter at bugis BHG. I was hesitating to buy at 1st cos it looks like sports bra kind. But its extremely comfortable, not too tight and fits nicely around the chest. Mayb you can go and try.

Hi BabyOnboard,
Oh dear, did doc say you have rest in bed throughout pregnancy? I didn't know placenta can move as uterus expand, is the possibility of going it moving up high?
But its good news that ur FTS goes well
take good care and dun walk around too much.

Hi Pleasance,
Dun worry, some ladies' symptoms starts later then others. You shld be having ur scan in another wk right? By then can see the sac(s) liao. Just make sure you rest well for now and dun carry heavy things. Take good care

Hi LFB,
Is it cos you are not eating well due to ms? I oso has giddiness on and off, cos i have very bad appetite and still vomitting now. Maybe you can check with doc, oso take note to see if your blood pressure is too low. All the best for your scan 2mr

Maykel,
shld be ok bah. extreme mood swings, acid reflux, nausea bouts, achiness, uncomfy times esp when jus wake up.
very different from 1st tri, when i only had nausea when too hungry or eat too much/greasy food

Maykel, juju,
my ms has not been better too. Sigh... actually feeling very bloated and nausea now since breakfast. I have been eating plain porridge and some green vege only. Sometimes i am worried if i am getting enough nutritions, but I just have no appetite to take other food for weeks liao. Dont know what to do. The nausea and bloatedness is making me uable to sleep well everyday. I am quite worried this will affect my health if continue for too long.

Hi Marlenna,
I hope so too. What i afraid is if my boobs didn't get bigger, would it have any impact to breastfeeding. Would i have sufficient milk after birth? Do you know if there is any relation between this?

Hi BabyOnBoard,
How are you doing now? Hope your spotting has already stopped. Did doctor order you to have best rest until Nov? Take care and have lots of rest.
Great to hear your FTS result is ok
. Did you do blood test as well?

Hi pleasance,
Actually i also don't have very obvious MS. I only felt nausea from 6 weeks+ onwards and not happening all the time. It just randomly happen through out the day. Don't worry too much. Take care and look forward to your first scan.

Hi LFB,
I think some preggie women will experience dizziness and headache. If you tell your doctor that you are not feeling well, likely he will give you MC, especially during early pregnancy. They will let you have rest as much as possible during first trimester. Good luck to your scan tomorrow. Keep us updated ya.

Hi Maykel,
So far my work still manageable, but i realised i felt very tired after work. I thought of taking a day leave in the middle of the week for a rest, if i am feeling too tired. You take care too, don't overwork yourself ya.
What a pity that we can attend the class together, our class is on the same day, yet different timing, haiz.

Hi Juju,
I heard acid reflux can happen at later stage of pregnancy. The symptoms should be just temporary. Did you manage to get an earlier dr/FTS appointment?

Hi Bliss,
How many weeks are you now? Are you close to first trimester? Let's pray that all your symptoms gone by first trimester and you can eat as much as you want and gain back what you have missed. Jia you!

hi pleasance,
no need to be alarm if you don't have ms. just relax.. perhaps you're one of the lucky few. my ms is also on and off.. and only happen at night. so different people different symptoms..

hi lFB,
i use to have the headaches too. but its also one of those symptoms. perhaps the increase in blood flow and hormones causes it. just take it easy.. don't move so fast.. as i always believe, let the world wait for you..

hi maykel,
thanks for the tip. maybe i will check it out this weekend. is it one for $50? so technically the one i got at mothercare is cheaper lah.. 2 for $59.. but i will still check it out tho.. any tips help..

hi cale,
i have no idea is there is any relation to the size and the quantity of milk. perhaps mummies who have given birth can provide some information. at the moment, i'm just trying to accomodate the increase in size.. solve one problem at a time.. hehe..

Dear ladies,

just came back from my first scan. Very happy to know that we are carrying singleton. We saw the baby's heartbeat and it's 8.2mm. It's really blessing from God! We were so happy! I am worried initially abt having multiples, cos I am fearful of carrying more than 1. Someone mentioned here that God knows how many I can handle and He gave me what He deem good. Yes, totally agreed! Was given another 1 week HL to rest cos of my dizziness and headache.

LFB,

Congratulations!!!

Yes! God knows what is best for us

In my 1st scan, my baby's lenght also 8.2mm. I was very excited when Dr. Cheng showed me my baby's heartbeat. Amazing!!! When is your EDD? I think our EDD are quite near.

I have giddy problem too. Dr. Cheng told me not to worry but make sure I eat well and rest well.

Maykel,

Thank you for your concern

Was very happy to see my baby especially when my gynae pointed to me where is my baby's heartbeat.
Really hope our MS will be getting better after 1st trimester...hiaz...
How's your work? Able to cope? Pls take extra care of yourself, ok?!

bliss,

I totally understand your feeling. Hiaz....I also worry whether I have enough nutritions. My appetite is getting worse. Lately, have problem to drink plain water. Will check with my gynae in my next visit. Meanwhile we must endure, endure, endure.....

Hmm...I also noticed my face complexion not as radiant as before. Looks dull. Are you the same?

Dear Faith,

my doc is Dr Cheng too! He said everything looks good. I am happy. My EDD is June 20. When's yours? The dizziness is getting on my nerve! But everytime it happen, I will tell my little one mummy will hang on. My chinese doc says it is good when we have some symptoms.

Cale,
thanks. Yes, I will endure no matter what as long as baby is growing well. I am at 10w1d today. I am having my FTS on week 13, is it ok to have the test during the week of pregnancy?

By the way, the size of breast has nothing to do with the quantity of milk produced after given birth. Both my sisters have huge amount of milk produced, but they are both just cup A size ladies.

But heard that we must regularly clean away the milk clot at the nipples part as there will already be small amount of milk produced during later trimester of pregnancy, this is to ensure the flow of the milk will not be blocked by the dried milk left at the opening after given birth.

tintesky,
will you be at the private suite for your first scan? You will have the first scan of your baby by your doc to see how many sacs and heartbeats inside your womb.

LFB,
happy to hear about your first scan.

Yes, it is really amazing to see the heartbeat of baby
Must rest more and relax.

Faith,
yes, I understand the MS you are facing too.

My face is filled with pimples and blackheads actually since the 2WW. It has worsened after BT. You know, my face is always free of pimples since puberty. I never have breakout on my face, my face complexion is always very good, people always praise me for having very good facial complexion. Sigh...never do I expect I am 'disfigured' when pregnant. Was actually feeling upset to have become so ugly at first, but now I guess I have accepted that for the sake of baby. Haha!
I just pray that my face will get better after 1st trimester when stop taking the hormone tablets, or will recover after given birth.

Hi ....

I have been a silent reader in this forum...May be gg for IVF next year...

Was reading and found that some of u mentioned abt the medicine called QASEH...I also saw that it's sold at one shop in Masjid Kassim...Anyone of u know the shop name or address...Can't seem to see any shop selling any medicine...abit confused...Help...Thanks...

Cale,
no time to call up & today is Thur alrdy. so,i let it stay la. FTS on 3rd & Dr Loh on 5th.
Hope the acid reflux is temp. i can nvr tahan acid reflux since long time ago.
heard dat size of breast will not affect milk supply, dun worry so much.

Hi LFB,
Congrats. How many weeks already?

Hi Tintedsky,
you can expect to see the baby heartbeat. ^_^

Hi Nadia,
Never heard abt QASEH. Which hospital will go?

Hi Cale,
How big is your baby now? You have pass the 1st trimester, right?
When you done your FTS?

Hi Bliss,
I think the 1st FTS can be done on 11-14 weeks.

Hi Merlenna,
You are right. It's too far to think till that level. We should tackle a thing at a time

Btw, have you started to look for a confinement lady already?

Hi LFB,
Congrats to you. I been through the same feeling like you. It's the most amazing moment that we have been waiting for
. When would be your next appointment again?

Hi Faith,
Yes, just have to hang on for the baby. I am sure you will be better after the first trimester. Another few more weeks to go. Jia you!

Hi tintesky,
During the first scan, you would be able to see baby sac and heartbeat. It would be the most amazing moment and i am sure that will keep you joyful for the rest of the day

Hi bliss,
No problem to do FTS scanning at week 13. In fact, can be done anything between week 11 to week 14, but definitely no later than 14 weeks as there are some of the features which they want to measure not present later in the pregnancy.
Btw, old wives tales tells that if mum is ugly during pregnancy, means you are carrying a baby boy. Let's see how true is this after you knew your baby's gender
. Do you have any preference on the baby gender?

Hi Nadia,
I believe you posted to the wrong thread, may be you can check with the ladies under the IVF/ICSI thread. I remembered i saw them mentioned about this, however, i am not sure about the details.

Hi Josephine,
Yes, already passed my 1st trimester. Today i should be around 13 weeks liao. How about you? When are you doing the FTS scan? Still having bad MS?

Maykel,
yup, i have "long-fong tai", will update their pics once have time. dont worry, the feeling will suddenly appear without you notice it. and suddenly, whoala... appetite really good lor.

Mrs Teng,
my twins will be 9months in 4more days. babies got pneumonia last two weeks, so took them to Penang hope children hospital, the girl was hospitalized for 1 week while the boy was 5days. then 2 days as outpatient, came back to hospital for nebulizer and injection. just came back this sunday, Thx God for giving this sweet burden. After recovery, babies appetite is really good, cant stop eating (i give them solid oredi), once the food is finished, they can cry. hhihii. so funny, and now they can fight over things liao, and bite each other, laughing at each other. hihihi... cant wait to see them kick each other.

Maykel, Cale,
thanks for the info.

Cale,
I have no preference on gender of baby on my first pregnancy. In the past, I like to have 2 boys and 2 girls, but I guess I have to reduce my preferred numbers of kids to 2 now(due to my age and the energy to bring up kids). So, I wish to have 1 boy and 1 girl.

What about you?

Jo,
acid reflux is acid flowing from the stomach up, esp when reclined or lying in bed. i get dat every night and most mornings. yucks!
i haven't seen bb for a long time. dun talk abt it la, make me upset niah.
update u after next Mon's FTS. today finish wk 13 le.

Josephine,
thanks for the info.

How are you feeling lately?

Cale,
the old wives tales you were saying is not true leh, at least to my 2 sisters. My eldest sis has 2 sons, but she did not become ugly during both her pregnancies. And my 2nd sis, she has 1 girl and 1 boy, she was looking very good during both pregnacies too. Sigh, I am the only one looking so ugly among the sisters. Haha!

Bliss,
the complexion could be due to the progesterone we are on. think most ladies here have complexion problem since BT. me as well. feel very ugly & wun go out without make up nowadays...
the old wives tale i heard was dat if have gal will be ugly cos bb take the good looks from mummy, if boy will look good cos bb dun take looks from mummy... shrugs...

Cale,
btw, by looking at the ancient Chinese birth gender chart, I should be having a girl on the month of my conception at my age.
You can check if you are curious, though it is not 100% accurate, it is more than 95% accurate. I checked on my friends and my sisters, all have been accurate.

http://mypage.direct.ca/j/jfeng/gender.htm
this is one of the websites. Remember to use your lunar age and the lunar month of conception too.

Bliss,
if follow the one in chinese, i will have a gal. how i wish it is true!
the other charts all predict i will have a boy. though also ok la, but gals cuter & more filial from wat i se...

juju,
ya, I also like girls! And I agree that daughter will be closer to mothers and will become more understanding and filial in a way, I think becoz daughters will become mothers one day and they will understand how great are their own mothers. However, I also like to have boy too becoz it is not so worrying for a mother to her son as son doesnt have to experience menstrual pains, giving birth, and lots of extra precautions needed to have on daughters, such as boy-girl relationships, marrying a good husband, etc. Hahaha! I guess a mother will never stop worrying and caring for own children for the whole life.