IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Maykel,
Sorry to hear about your bleeding.*lotz of hugz* For me, I'll suggest that you make a trip to the 24hrbif your bleeding is fresh red or light pink. Have the doctor there take a look and you can request for them to call Dr Loh as well. IVF pregnancy bleeding is different from normal pregnancy. It can be due to other various factors. If you do decide on monitoring it first, pls have total bedrest.

Hi Cale,
It was nice meeting you too
Had a feeling it was you when you came in but didn't dare to approach you
kao_shy.gif
... Had a huge fight with hubby yesterday and I lost control of myself. Was worried that it'll affect baby so today I went to see my gf's gynae and he let me hear bb's heartbeat. It's very different from seeing on the screen, and when the gynae measure the number of beats per min, boy was my bb strong. He/she was going at 154/min. Hahaha, the gynae told me as long as it's above 100/min, it's normal. At least I can relax knowing the fight didn't affect bb. My mood swings are really bad now... sigh... cannot control...

Cale,
thank you so much! Ya, it is really great to end the torturing waiting today and can feel so happy over this weekends.
I had 2 embryos put in, so at most will be twins. It will be great to have twins though will be tough to carry throughout the pregnancy. I am thankful and joyful as long as my baby is growing well, twins is just bonus lah.
Praying hard for a smooth pregnancy for myself and all of you here.

Very worrying to hear that a few of ladies here are having bleeding. Why is there bleeding? May I know if the doc do know and tell about the cause or wat?

may I ask what is the next step after the beta test and getting some medication? Do I need to make the first appointment for first scan with the KKHivf centre? May I know the procedures and when are the period to go for check ups throughout the pregnancy?
Thank you so much.

Hi mikojade,
<hugs>..Don't be sad. You would feel better after you calm down. May be you could try to talk to your hubby again when both of you are in better mood. Don't bottle it inside your heart. You will definitely feel much better after the reconciliation.

Which gynae you went to? It's so wonderful to be able to hear the heartbeat, I am so happy for you to be able to detect a strong heartbeat, that shows your baby is growing strong
. I am wondering how come all this while doctor Loh never do that? I would love to hear my baby heartbeat too.

Hi Bliss,
Usually we would be given an appointment with our doctor about 2 weeks after the beta test. That's we would be around 6 weeks+ during our first scan and usually by then we would be expecting to see a sac and baby heartbeat.

The nurse will give you an appointment when you go down to collect your medicine. Have you collected your medicine from KKIVF already?

Cale,
thanks for sharing.
I have not collected my medicine, since i just knew my test result this noon. Will collect on coming Monday.

Dear Maykel and Josephine,
you two must rest more and dont walk too much. Dont worry too much. Please stay calm and positive still. Everything will be fine.

Hi Cale,
My gf, who is 8 mths pregnant, and I were doing a comparison of our visits when I found out that her gynae will check on bb's heartbeat rate during every visit. I asked the gynae today and he told me that seeing the bb's on u/s is a viable proof that the pregnancy is going well but by checking the bb's hb rate is the best way to ensure that bb is growing well. If the hb rate is below 100bpm, it indicates a problem. It was indeed wonderful to hear bb's heartbeat and I felt a stronger bond with bb.

I'm not sure why was it not done by Dr Loh and if I didn't check with my gf, I wouldn't have known all this as well. The gynae is located at Far East Plaza. He is quite old but very experience and his chargers are very reasonable. For my consultation today, it cost me only $56.

I can't be bothered with my hubby anymore. Nothing is more important than my bb now. Thanks for the hug!
kao_kiss.gif

Hi Bliss,

Hi Maykel,
Think you better go to KKH24hrs and see the doctor. At least you will get jab to strengthen your womb and of course for your peace of mind too.

Hi BlissTan,
Welcome to MTB and Congratulations to you. Are you with Dr. LOh too? If you did your IVF in KKH, you will be given a scan form to tell you when you will have your scan and of course you have to make appointment with your doctor too. YOu can see Dr. LOh in Clinic D or in TPS. But just from my observations, I think its better to get appointment with Dr. LOh once you get positive and ask Dr. Loh for additional progestrone pessaries which can be inserted thru vagina or rectum. I believe more progesterone to strengthen the womb is very important especially for those who carrying twins and of course plenty of rest too. I saw many of the ladies here went to see doctor when they had bleeding and then the doctor will give them progesterone jab and increase dosage of dulphastone. Earlier protection is better from my point of view.

bakaholic,
thanks dear! i totally forgot all about the 3rd level when i always go there last time. but last time not pregnant so never bother to pay attention. thanks for reminding me! vivo not many leh. the shops also like don't sell any nice ones too. i'll try suntec tomorrow.

maykel,
ya loh. the kiddy place one the tummy part is so huge and the cutting of the jeans is not flattering at all. i feel if i buy it, i will look like a ballon on a stick! thanks! will check it out tomorrow. want to draggggg my husband there.

merlenna,
now the belly belt don't work already lo! it feels so uncomfortable when i try to use it and feels like my jeans slipping off ALL THE TIME. LOL!

cale,
yeah, 1st tri still quite ok. funny that once i hit 16 weeks and within 2 weeks, my tummy is expanding very fast.

maykel and josephine,
please have plenty of bed rest and don't move unnecessary so as not to trigger more bleeding. don't worry too much, try to stay calm and everything will turn out fine. ;)

Imel,
thanks for your advice.

My doc is Dr Sadhana. Ok I will make appointment for my first scan on Monday when taking the medicine.

Thanks, juju!

Hi Bliss,
The scan will usually about 2 weeks after you get positive. You won't be able to get scan on monday as its too early to see. But you can make appointment with Dr. Sadhana and ask for additional progesterone.

Hi Josephine,
Get plenty of bed rest and hope your bleeding will stop soon. Take care ok!!

Josephine

As of today, my gals are 12 weeks old...still pretty small thot... jie jie @ 3.93kg and meimei @4.73kg..

Rose, Imel, Juju, Bliss, Miss Hae, Cale

Thanks for your well-wishes... All the best to you ladies too!

Maykel

I suggest you make a trip to 24hrs clinic... I'd severe bleeding on my 9 week pregnancy.. the type where the blood just flow down your legs and drips on the floor... I went to 24hrs clinic without hesitation.. Dr Loh said I came in time, otherwise I might loose the babies... Was admitted for 4 days and ordered CRIB for close to a month... It was a horrific espisode for me... apart from that my appetite wasn't that fantastic and my MS was bad...

During my pregnancy, I suffered pregnancy rashes on the mark of 16 weeks until 8 weeks after birth.. BH started as soon as week 20 and was on ant-contraction pill until I was warded for CTG observation on week 34 bcos babies are not growing much... It was a blessing that Dr loh ordered me to ward for observation bcos that morning when I was supposed to be warded I had spotting and had emergency c-section..

AS IVF mums... our pregnancy is totally different from normal preggies.. So I think it's okay for us to be paranoid and kiasu... In fact, I have 2 standy-by gynaes during my pregnancy... knowing that to go 24hrs clinic can be rather troublesome, so for minor worries... I just go and see my stand-by gynae.. She will usually write a memo to Dr loh to inform him on what she's observed and done... This way, I'm more stress free during my pregnancy...

DO take care!

Maykel,Josephine - pls rest well. Don't worry too much.

I noticed I have been losing weight since my last preg test. 1 week ago I was 64kg and today 62 kg. Is this normal? Do any of you ladies experience weight loss? I have been vomiting (which is nothing much) almost every day. I really don't know what to do.

Hi Rose,
Its normal. It's ok, you will make up for the loss in weight when finish your first trimester. I have loss weight too though I haven't weigh myself coz my face now look sharper. And like you I also can't eat much and do not take any food for dinner coz of the vomiting usually occurs at nite.

Imel,
I just had a packet of maggie noodles. had to eat something...
What do you normally eat for the day? I hope this morning sickness goes away soon. Its terrible isn't it?

Imel,
ok thanks, I will ask for additional progesterone. But I cant take suppositories, then can I ask for injections? If can, that means I need to continue going to KK for injections everyday?

Hi Rose,
In the morning and afternoon, practically I can eat though not much. At nite Im not eating at all, just drink water but not too much. The morning sickness now is much better once I avoid eating dinner.

Hi Bliss,
Well you can ask for progesterone injection, but dun think you need it everyday. May be twice aweek or three times a week, have to ask the doctor about that.

jus went shopping wif hubby today.

Cloud 9 at suntec 3rd floor (near kuishin-bo) is having closing down sales. super duper cheap. maternity jeans going for less than $30! heard last day is early Oct. go &amp; grab if can...

hi bliss,
we have the same gynae. for me i just took the medication given by kkivf to last me for the 2 weeks b4 the 6 weeks scan. on the same day of the scan i met up with doc sadhana. she was the one who gave me the instructions to get the progesterone jabs coz i was bleeding. subsequently i meet her every 2 weeks. with one progesterone jab a week. she also prescribe me with duphaston to strengthen the womb. so don't worry now. you just rest as much as you can. wait for doc's instructions. unless there's spotting or bleeding, take it easy first yeah?

hi miss hae,
the belly belt don't work?! oh no! hehe.. ok, so far i can still button my loosest pair of jeans yet. don't think i wanna gamble wearing my normal jeans.. haha.. tempted but nah!! i've used the belly belt for work though.. hehe.. see how long mine will last eh?

hi juju,
that's a good shopping tip! hehe.. what with all the busy hari raya prep now, dunno if i got time to go look for a pair of jeans.. hehe.. by the time i get there, probably all will be snapped up! haha..

Merlenna,
try to pop by after work la...
work clothes a li'l ex, but the jeans are a good bargain!
capri pants also cheap at less than $30. V-front so can accomodate growing belly

hubby got mad wif me when i din get any jeans. made me go back &amp; buy 2 pairs. cannot wear now also buy first. cos we chked spring maternity &amp; kiddy palace, selling at almost $70 - big savings lor

i just went to suntec city just now and got 2 pairs of jeans! 1 from spring maternity as they were have some discounts and another from perfect mum. the one from SP, is extremely comfortable and the one from perfect mum, like what maykel suggested, a v-one was good too. don't mind spending more since i know it will last a long time.

I've sent an email to Dr Loh, asking for his advise on the bleeding, waiting for his reply. The bleeding is on and off, so i really dun know if its serious or not. But the main problem is i have this pain at my right lower abdomen, near the pubic area, and its getting worse. So i do not know if really so suay got ectopic again....my whole yummy oso feels kinda uncomfortable and wierd (dun know how to describe) now praying hard and wait for Dr Loh's reply, else I'll go 24hrs if its persistent 2mr.

Hi Bliss,
Welcome to mtb

Hi Bliss, Imel and Rose,
Thanks for all your advise.

Hi Cale
The bleeding is dark red yest and light pink today. But the thing is they come on and off.
I dun really have cramp feeling, but the whole tummy just feels uncomfortable loh.

Hi mikojade,
Thanks...I'll go down to 24hrs 2mr if its worse.
Glad to hear that ur baby is going strong

Hi Mrs Teng,
Thanks for sharing ur experience, i will monitor closely and see how it goes, now i everynite cannot sleep cos of discomfort over my tummy. Usually fell asleep sitting up...

Hi juju,
Thanks for the info on the sale

Hi Ms Hae,
Glad that you got something you like. So you got the blue jeans from Perfect mum oso? Cos they oni have blue, red and brown right? Ya, jeans can last a long time and the size is sooo adjustable.

maykel,
if you are still feeling uncomfortable, do head down to the 24hr and check it out ok? ya, i got the one in blue as i think it's the easiest to match. they also have an outlet in heartland mall so easier for me.
thanks for the tip!

Hi Ms Hae,
Thanks, i kinda felt better after sleeping, but only managed to sleep 5hrs....today no spotting yet, but the right lower abdomen is more painful as i walk....I'll see how later today.
No problem, glad i can be of some help

Hi Maykel,
Sounds like you are in great pain. Maybe you want to call Dr Loh, instead of waiting for his reply. If possible try to get an appointment with Doc Loh today, it's better to have him check on you to rule out the ectopic, if not, you should also go to 24 hour clinic. It could be quite serious dear, pray hard it's not ectopic. Please take care.

Hi Juju,
Thanks for your shopping tips. Tempted to catch a look, but my husband is against it, as my condition still not stable. He don't encourage me to buy any maternity clothes right now.

Hi mikojade,
Wow, the fees is very affordable. Only $56 including the consultation and scanning? That's the cheapest I ever heard. If you don't mind, could you PM me the contact? I may consider to look for him also if needed. Thanks!

Maykel,
thanks for welcoming!

You are given mc to rest at home these days rite? Must think positively, you will be alright, and your babies will be growing well still. Praying for you.

Merlenna,
thanks for the info. I will be going to KK later to get the medicine. I just called the nurse and she said it is fine for me to get additional progesterone later if needed. They will ask doc Sadhana for me when I reach KK then.
Guess will need lots of sharing from you regarding all the checkups or progess during pregnancy since we are with the same doc.

So may I know how many weeks pregnant you are now?
Well, if I am not wrong, are you doing teaching job?

Hi Cale,
Ok thanks, i'll call him if the pain get worse later. Going to rest now, feeling tired suddenly.

Hi Mikojade
The gynae at Far East, we can just make an appt to see him is it? Would it be ok for him if we are seeing him only occasionally? May consider going to see him instead of 24hrs clinic. Dun mind can PM me his number and address too? Thanks alot.

Hi Maykel,

Just PM you. I'm seeing him as my standby gynae cos it's quite difficult to get Dr Loh sometimes. How's your pain now?

Has Dr Loh reply you? Today is his surgery day so think he will be running all over the place...

Hi Cale,

His fees are really cheap but the clinic is the very old fashion kind and he is quite old but very experience. 2 of my gfs used him and now the 3rd one is also using him.

Can't Pm you lei???

How's your spotting? Is it much better??

Hi mikojade,
I have just changed my profile. Can you try to PM me again?

I still have spotting on and off. It's now turning to brown stain liao. Hopefully it's a good sign that it's stopping soon.

How are you doing these few days?

Hi Cale,
Just Pm u

Good to hear you are better now. Believe that your spotting will stop very soon... But you still have to rest more okie

My nausea hit me like tsunami this morning. Ate a bit of the bun today and threw everything up including water.... Just realize I lost 2kg.. How are you eating?

Hi mikojade,
Thanks for the PM. Yeah, i am hopeful that things will turn better
. Thanks for the concern.

Oh dear, must be feeling terrible right. May be you could try to break down your meal to a smaller portion, and eat more frequent or drink some ginger tea to help to ease the nausea, if you are not feeling heaty now.

My nausea is not so serious. It happens randomly through out the day, no specific timing. I found that my appetite still ok during breakfast and lunch, somehow dinner i would eat lesser. So far, I gain 1 kg already.

Hi Merlenna,
I just came back from KKH. Had made my first appointment with Dr Sadhana. Was given duphaston to take for one month. I asked the nurse if I need to have progesterone jab, she said no need as duphaston plays the same role as progesterone. So the nurse said no good to overdose and so this is sufficient for me now. So I feel assured and will wait for my first scan and appointment now.

Hi mikojade,
Received ur PM, thanks. Dr Loh haven't reply, guess he has alot of procedures today bah. My pain still there, but they are bearable, maybe thats why i keep putting off going to 24hrs. Lucky i got no bleeding today. If got bleeding, i'll go straight away.

You know my nausea was also very bad all along, but you gals told me that it could be a good sign cos it means the hormones level is high, actually i read this in 1 article too. Then on the day i started bleeding (sat) my nausea seems to get better, so worried its the hormones reducing leh...
So how are you coping with ur nausea? I've tried everything that the ladies here suggests but usually they worked a while for me only. Oh, i oso read that you cannot let uself go hungry, else ur nausea ould be worse cos you are building up more air.
When is ur next appt?

Hi Cale,
Glad to hear that ur spotting is better, hope it would stop soon. When is ur next appt to see Dr Loh?

Hi Maykel,
My next appointment is on this Friday, same as Mikojade.

Glad that you bleeding stopped already. Please take good care and must go see doctor if really need to.

Hi Cale,
Most welcome

Think today is the worst day of my life. Had a sudden craving to drink Salted Veg Duck soup but hubby don't allow. The nausea is the worst I've had so far. Had 5 pieces of potato chips for lunch just so that I can taken my medication. Sigh... I used to be a big eater and now I'm eating less than a mouse...

Glad to hear you are eating well
... Are you drinking Annum or Dumex milk?

Hi Maykel,
Welcome

When I was hospitalize 2 weeks back, it was on a Monday that Dr Loh was suppose to come see me and the nurses were telling me it's not easy to get hold of him esp it's his surgery day.

Where exactly is your pain? At the pelvic area or at the abdominal? If it's in the middle of the abdominal, would be better if you could see a doctor soon.

I've been rotting on the bed since this morning. My mouth now has a funny taste which I not sure how to describe it. Are you still feeling nausea? Mine actually got better for about a week and now it's back to visit me- full force.. keekee. Read somewhere that the symptoms will come and go but as long as you are feeling one of the symptoms a day, it's fine.

My next appt is this coming friday, seeing Cale there again!

Maykel

Yout tummy discomfort may be due to acid reflux or sometimes they call it heartburn... unless you are saying that the discomfort is all the lower ab.. then you have to monitor carefully.. It could be your womb stretching.. Btw do you have constipation or diarrehea? Bcos both require abs muscles to push... I remembered having LS (lao sai) for 3 days in a roll.. so during these 3 days I pushed my womb lining too much and bcos the forces from my tummy were stronger den what the small cavity in between the 2 sac can withstand.. these cos a tear in my womb and that's why I bleed..

It's okay that you see another gynae occasionally for reassurance.. you are not obliged to change gynae if you started seeing another...

wish all bleeding &amp; MS stop and smooth pregnancy to all...

Cale,
it's ok. if not for being unable to fit into my clothes, i also dun wan to buy so soon. so unpredictable.
but last m/c, hubby also brought me shopping once tested +ve, he is always so optimistic.

do any of you experience stomach discomfort after drinking the del monte prune juice? today i drank it for the 2nd time and i am having diarrohea. think my stomach can't take the juice.

do wish me luck for my upcoming FA scan this thursday. i hope all 3 babies are growing healthily.
can't wait to see them again!

Can find out if anyone have weird dreams/nightmares? I have been having it recently. Not that i have been thinking or watching anything extreme. also, my sleep has been less but needs frequent naps.

hi bliss,
yeah, as suggested, that was wat i thought the nurse would say. they will give you the hormone pills. so you just wait for your 6 weeks scan yeah.. doc sadhana will make any more decisions from there. meantime, get as much rest as possible.

hi miss hae,
gd luck for your scan soon! i'm going for my fetal screening scan today! i hope everything turns out fine for me.. can't wait to see baby again!

hi bakaholic,
i've asked the same question not too long ago. haha, i had weird dreams during my 1st trimester. can dream one dream after another in one night. but so far the dreams has lessen.. managed to get restful sleep lately..