IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Maykel,
I am taking pregnyl on my tummy twice a week. This is ok. The painful one is the emulsion jabs. Have to go GP to do it, 2x/wk too. I am going to rest at home tm.

Hi Imel,
Yeah, bb very precious. Will rest more from now.
Have you tried isotonic drinks for your MS? Can replenish the electrolytes loss. But do check with your doc which brands are safe to drink.

Mikojade,
Take care ok?

Mikojade - Good to hear from you. I hope you are feeling much better. Pls take things easy for now. Your scan on friday will be your first dating scan?

Imel - I am with Dr Loh.The scan schedule also show you other procedues such NT etc. Will this be given to at the front desk when making payment. Is there enough room for hb to be there when Dr Loh is scanning? I will be in TPS.

I am still having nausea. Do you have gastric feeling too? I try to get some food down but it is hard.

Hi Maykel,
Try to put some honey to the ginger so it won't be to spicy. Too spicy may affect your gastric. Ginger is not working for me liao coz its too spicy and I get reflux and gastric pain easily. Currently my gastric and nausea is gone for the moment, may be due to the medication that I took yesterday. Anyway you are not paranoid lah, I also dun like to go out coz whenever I go out I feel tired, breathless and feel my heart beats very fast that I just need to sit down. I still have tummy pain once a day that lasted about 3 minutes and everytime happen after I pee, tink I tahan my pee too long lah. Maykel may be you can ask Dr. Loh what type of stretching that is safe, I can imagine your back pain is very painful leh. Another 2 more days to go for you to see your baby and hope to see heartbeats by that time. I will be seeing Dr. Loh next thursday.

Hi Rose,
Yep I have gastric and like you its hard to keep my food down and everytime I have the feeling like being strangle. Its actually reflux coz the food won't go down to our stomach and digest. Thats why my HB ask me to drink gaviscon. You can try gaviscon first and its safe. Without medication I dun think I can eat anything. Now Im feeling ok, no nausea or gastric due to stronger medication that I took last nite. But then I only eat it when I really cannot tahan. I see Dr. Loh in Clinic D and I think for your case at TPS, there should be enuf space for your HB and your HB can even see the monitor. You may even ask Dr. LOh for the sound of your baby heartbeats.

Hi Bakacholic,
Havent try isotonic drinks, will ask the doctor when I see him next week.

Hi yck,
Thanks, so far my doc instructions is to continue 2 tablets of dusphaston twice a day which is the normal dosage if I'm just spotting. Think I'll discuss with him whether should he give me other medications to support my pregnancy.

hi Rose,
Think friday will be my 1st dating scan. But I did one over at ADC on Monday stating that I was 5.4 weeks which means I'm right on the dote :)....

Hi all, good news to report
had my scan today, one sac, and saw the heart beat! was so tired today, took a 3 hour nap!!!

Hi Mikojade, glad to see you are back at home, rest well k.

Hi Mikojade
Do take good care and rest is very important now to you and your baby...

Hi Bakaholic
Did you try using ultra thin syringes for the prenyl? It helped me but the 'stingy' feeling from the liquid is pretty painful. (for me)
Did you have the proluton on the bum? Put ice pack before Dor jabs, it helps.(at least for me. )
Hope these info helps.

Hi Miss Hae,
Great to hear that you baby is doing fine
. You have been doing great!

Hi Maykel,
Poor thing. I can imagine how painful is your back pain. Do take care and rest more. Don't walk too much. My back pain somehow today got some improvement liao, suddenly i feel better when walking. Hope i could slowly recovered and go back to normal very soon.

My nausea also getting bad especially in the morning. However in the afternoon and night, i feel better. Just that the appetite is not so good through out the whole day.

Hi bakaholic,
Now it very important for us now to stay free and relax as it's the most critical period of our baby's development. Please take care and don't overwork yourself.

Hi mikojade,
Glad that you are discharged and resting at home now. Just stay healthy and dun worry too much. I am sure you can see your baby dancing again in your next scanning. Do rest more and take care.

Hi FeiBB,
How's your today visit with Dr Loh?

Hi MaybeBaby,
Glad to know that you already see the sac and heartbeat. You have passed another milestones. Congrats! When is your next appointment?

Hi Maykel,

Oo.... That mean I got cheated by the nurse. Because she said TPS do not have U/S machine. sighh... hahahahaha :D .. Thanks for your information.
Your 1st appointment straight away go to TPS? I also heard that at TPS only opens in the afternoon, is it true? what time is your appointment?

hi maykel,
i've always been a side sleeper so its the norm for me. but yeah, sometimes must adjust tummy abit..

hi maybebabe,
i think perhaps, now you shld avoid sleeping on your tummy. better not. that time when i saw the nurse, even when i put my bag on my lap near my tummy, she told me don't put pressure on it anymore. hehe.. oh and congrats on the results of your scan!

hi maykel,
i empathise with your situation.. its really hard to work when you've got nausea and gastric to deal with. as for me, my nausea usually comes after dinner at night. during the day its quite manageable. i can actually feel, the nausea easing off since i'm reaching the end of my 1st trimester in 2 weeks. just hang in there k? no choice lah, must trial and error see what food can help ease that nausea..

hi bakaholic,
welcome to the thread!! nice to see you here!

hi mikojade,
yay! rest well yeah at home. glad you are feeling better..

just a random question. gynae will ask you whether you want to carry out the Fetal Screening test to check out the risk of Down Syndrome. its told to me that its optional.. and there's a risk out of 1 in 300 test done on the pregnancy will result in miscarriage. coz it involves a needle being inserted into your womb to take a sample out. i was given til the next appointment to decide and at the moment, i'm inclined towards not going for the test. what do you all think?

Bad news! 1st scan today was not good, no heartbeat detected, and the waterbag like kind of small. Dr Loh said next week scan again, if still no heartbeat means miscarriage. 50% chance. Nothing I can do now.....will disappear myself for a while to accept this....for those who has suceeded, have a smooth 9 mths!

Hi Feibb,
Hugz..I know how devastated you are now. Please allowed yourself sometimes to get over this. I know it's hard to think positive now, but you still have 50% chance. Keep up the faith. I really wish that you able to see the heartbeat on your next scan. Jia you!

rose,
yes, you should ask your gynae instead for the schedule as my gynae is pc wong.

merlenna,
initially i didn't want to go for it but i want to have a clear mind and not worry or find out later. so i just went ahead with it. luckily all are of the normal range. my husband and i decided that even if the results were not good, we will still keep them and hope for the best. there are some cases where they detect abnormality and the pregnant mothers go ahead and carry their babies and when they are born, they are just as healthy. best to discuss with your husband.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No. of Baby</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Clinic / Delivery Hospital</TD><TD>Baby Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinnies</TD><TD>16 Feb 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Hae</TD><TD>23 Feb 09</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>P C Wong</TD><TD>NUH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yck</TD><TD>05 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>L C Cheng</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof. Ng Soon Chye</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babywee</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Merlenna</TD><TD>04 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Sadhana</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Imel</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MaybeBaby</TD><TD>02 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi miss hae,
actually, that's what i thot. even if there is abnormality, i'd still keep my baby. thot i won't wanna take the risk of miscarriage. kinda paranoid if anything should happen. my husband is in the same mind as me..

hi feibb,
don't despair just yet k. you still got that 50% chance. have faith. hope you'll see the heartbeat in the next scan..

Hi Feibb

Try to keep positive, sometimes baby's heartbeat doesnot appear in 6weeks scan. When I went for my scan @ 6weeks the nurse warned me that sometimes cannot see so dont freak out. So keep positive k.. All the best to you.

Hi Cale,
I took today off to rest. Thanks for the advice. I am not going to take any risks.

Hi Emma,
The pregnyl needles is for the gonalF shots so it's not too bad. Didn't hurt that much. Just the glass vial are kinda difficult to break.
The proluton not so "friendly". So painful. I am going to the GP later to let them do it. It's too far for me to go GlenE to let dor do it.

Btw, my tummy is actually showing at this early stage. Is that normal? i can't fit into most of my pants now and i had to get some maternity ones.

Hello Merlenna!

Feibb,
Please take care and not worry so much. There's is always hope!

Hi Feibb, *lotz of hugs* Pls don't be despair... Try to be as positive as possible for that 50% chance...

Hi Emma &amp; MaybeBaby, Thanks, been resting at home so far and think hubby will not allow me to go out at least til after 13 weeks.

MaybeBaby, You must be so excited to see bb's heartbeat! Congrats!

Hi Feibb
Have Faith! Stay positive and hope you will see your bb's heartbeat on your next scan,ya.

Hi Mikojade
Think light strolls are fine as long as you dun do strengnous walks. When is your scan?

Hi Bakaholic
You will 'get used' to proluton after a few jabs..Think Dor always squeeze bit of my fats and inject in, so it's quite ok. Maybe you can ask your GP to do the same.
The bloatedness could be due to the hormone jabs during ivf process, mine went down when am 7 wk preggie.

Hi Merlenna
I just went for my NT scan (to check defects of bbs) yday. My doc din give me an option but to tell me to do it leh. FA scan will be in 22 wk of pregnancy. Like what Miss Hae mentioned, it's good to have these scans for reasurrance as well as decision to make before the bb is born if found to have any abnormalities (touch wood).

Hi Miss Hae and YCK
When is your FA scan?

Bakaholic,
most ppl become bloated if they become pregnant in that fresh cycle due to all the injections but will go away in abt 2 weeks time, then start to grow again slowly.

Merlenna,
the 11 to 13 weeks fetal screening test (NT scan) is done through ultrasound with measurements being picked up at the fetal neck areas. they will then generate a chart base on the measurements and maternal age and calculate the probablilty of having a down syndrome baby. if it is found to be in high risk range, then doc will advise to do further testing call " amniocentesis"; that is the one you mention. Process involving collecting a sample of the amniotic fluid through your womb with a needle. Read from somewhere for maternal age greater than 35, they will skip the NT scan and go straight to amniocentesis for accuracy. NT scan only gave a risk percentage whereas amniocentesis will have a yes or no answer.
I think the one that ms hae went for is also NT scan right?

Emma,
I think mine will only be scheduled somewhere in early October.

Feibb,
Dont worry too much at the moment. Wait for the next scan first.

rose,
FA Scan = Fetal Anomaly Scan aka Details Scanning
It is an ultrasound to be carried out between 18 to 22 weeks pregnancy. The fetal anomaly scan is to reassure a woman that her baby has no structural abnormalities. The ultrasound scan will include an examination of the fetal head shape, spine, abdomen, pelvis, arms and legs.

It is also the time which the gender can be known.

Hi Emma,
Just got my jab at the GP just now. You are right. Not as bad as the 1st time.

Thanks yck! I will just get 1-2 pieces of larger clothes for the time being.

you know if you have any recommendation for part time helpers? i need one to come to my place a few hours a day, a few times a week.

can't do any more vacuuming and mopping liao. im toot tired already.

Hi mikojade,
Really hope i can hear the heartbeat, cos by 2mr is 6wks 4 days, by right can hear liao, if cannot i sure flipped....so you and i have the same problem ar, he oso suspect i got 1 ectopic, hiaz...now i know why he wanted me to put 2 instead of 3 during ET...Anyway, its our choice, so watever happen, we have to be strong. But think mayb my chances is higher cos i had history of ectopic....
Oh, by the way, I'm taking the same dosage of duphaston as you
he oso increase it last week after i have spotting.

Hi bakaholic,
Wat is the emulsion jab for? Sorry, i nvr hear b4 leh...How are you feeling today? Better when not orking right? keke.....

Hi Imel,
Thanks, I tried putting honey on my subsequent cups of ginger, taste better
but i realise that it oni makes me feel better for 1-2hrs oni, after that i nausea again. Think oso cos i got constipation, thats why my tummy can't digest fast enough thus leading to nausea, you think so?
Glad to hear that ur gastric and nausea better...

You still got the peeing pain after so long? Me got no pain, but i find that there is always a residue after i pee and i have to sit for quite a while more before pushing out the rest, wana ask Dr loh if its normal, cos i worried may lead to infection if prolonged. Try not to tahan ur urine leh. Do you have constipation? Mine is so bad and i had tried everything, from water to yakult to Lactulose to papaya, but eventually they causes my tummy to be painful but still constipated
any solution? I scared to drink too much yakult oso cos we can't drink too much cold right...?
Ya, i oso intend to ask abt stretching for my back, cos can't tahan leh....ya, i'm so excited abt 2mr, time really passes very fast for me this week cos no work stress

Hi Rose, Yes, I too have been having acid reflex. I spoke w my nurse today and she said very common in pregnancy. To avoid spicy foods, citrus juices, gassy drinks, etc. Also try not to eat near bed time. And to sleep in more of an inclined position w/head higher then normal. They told me to take mylanta, but better check w/ your own doctor to confirm it is ok for you. Hope you start feeling better soon. I know how uncomforatble it is.

Feibb, I can understand your sadness, sending you a big hug, but remember, you still got 50% chance. Hope u see the heartbeat on the next scan. I'm praying for you.

Hi Cale, my next appt is on Wednesday. Your scan on sat, right? Good luck to u!

Hi Maybebaby,
Happy to hear that! Hope I can tell you gals good news 2mr too
heehee....i calculated that if mine is successful, my EDD is 4th May, very near urs.

Hi Cale,
I dun dare to walk too much, but sit around 30-40mins oso must get up liao. I keep rubbing the part thats painful, hopefully it does not affect the baby indirectly. Oh, good to hear that ur back is better
hope mine would be too heehee...
Oh dear, think we have come 2gether to the nausea stage, initially was Am oni, but gradually its throughout the day. Me too, appetite reduced these few days, but i drank milk to ensure that at least there is some nutritious, are you taking any maternal milk? Me taking Anmum Materna now, quite nice. Hope our nausea would go off soon....

Hi Josephine,
You mean the nurse from TPS told you the room got no U/S machine or other clinic nurses? haha...i think maybe the nurse oso blur lah.
Yup, my 1st appt in TPS, they are open throughout, just that different docs see patients there at different time. I think Dr Loh sees patients there certain days PM, rest of the time he's in clinic D. Last time my doc oni sees every tues PM in TPS, so diff to get appt. At least dr loh got more days in TPS, better for us
I got appt 2mr at 4.10pm.

Hi merlenna,
Oh ic...thanks

I agree with regards to the nausea, think we have to tahan and hopes that it will go away soon

Usually gynae would ask women who are 35 yrs and above to do the amniocentesis, cos they believe that women these ages are at higher risk of DS babies. However, the miscarriage risk is low and it depends on the skills of the doc doing it. The reason for having miscarriage is due to infection during the procedure, but the risk is low. Have you done a blood test yet? Cos in kkh they would ask us to do a blood test 1st to see ur risk, and if results shows that you are high risk, then they would suggest you do the amnio.
I think it all depends on you. Cos for me, my initial thot is wat i want to do if amnio shows that my baby is DS, would i want to keep it or not? If you decide to keep ur baby no matter wat happen, then some pple may choose not to do it, but then again, knowing can allow you to be prepare. For me, i think that no matter how diff it i for me to have a baby, i may terminate if they have any long-term abnormalities, cos i dun want the child to suffer next time....sorry i talk so much...

Hi feibb,
May i know how many wks are you today? Cos i understand that sometimes until 8-9 wks then can hear heartbeat. Plese dun despair ok, there's still hope *hugz*

Hi Ms Hae,
May i know which area you staying? I have a fren staying in punggol who has a wkly helper to do housework. But she oni do that area and east i think. I can help you ask.

Hi emma, will be doing my scan 2moro... No more spotting but there's some light yellow discharge n mild smell, possible I hv an infection?

Hihi Maykel, dun worry, am sure ur bb's heartbeat will b saying Hi to u 2moro :)

hi yck,
so the fetal screening test is actually just a scan? if you're at high risk then they do the amniocentesis? if its just a scan, i'm ok. but i kinda fear the other one. at the moment i've just turned 30, so i hope the risk for me is lower than the norm. coz the way my doc puts it is as though it will be done..

hi maykel,
yeah, i believe to each his own. although it would definitely reassure me that baby is ok.. i keep thinking of the risk. one in 300 pregnancy is the statistics.. that's quite high. i've already had to go thru so much to get here, to think of deliberately terminating the pregnancy if that option comes up is very hard to consider. but let me sit on it for another week before i have to make that decision again..

thanks ladies, for your views.. will do more reading up and asking around..

Hi Maykel,
Yup, the nurse at KKIVF told me. She book my 1st appt at Clinic D and I ask whether i can change it at TPS. Hahahaha :D

Wish you all the best for tml scan.

merlenna,
yes. it is an ultrasound. you are only 30, dont think they will ask u to go straight to do amniocentesis.

mikojade,
good to hear that your spotting has stopped. must still remember to rest alot.

josephine,
usually 6+ weeks on 1st appt.

I got a big scare yesterday on the way home after work. Suddenly i just bleed without any warning, no cramps no pain, with fresh red blood. I quickly rush to KK 24 hour clinic with my hubby to see doctor.

Doctor scanned for me and can already see 1 sac with a heartbeat. I am so happy and excited to see this
. At the same time i am very worried about my bleeding condition. Today i still have the bleeding, but the flow has become lesser already. Doctor asked me to increase my duphaston dosage to 2 tables each time, twice per day. I was given MC for today to rest.

Pray that my bleeding will stop very soon. Tomorrow I will still stick to my appointment to see Dr Loh.

Any ladies experience bleeding, and usually how long it last? Anything that i can do to help stop the bleeding? Can share with me? Thanks!

Hi Maykel,
I am currently still drinking the ensure milk that bought before the ER. It's finishing soon. I will go buy the Annum milk. I saw there are 2 flavours right? Which one did you buy?

congrats to all new MTBs!!

Anybody wants frisomum milk powder? I have 3 tins which can I give away.... else will have to throw away so wasted..

Hi Mikojade, Maykel, Rose,
Good luck to your scan today. May you see a beautiful sac and heartbeat. Keep us updated.

Hi Imel &amp; Josephine,
Thanks, looking forward to see bb's heartbeat again:)

Hi yck,
Thanks, would like to check with you how long did you rest for and did you go out at all. Trying to convince hubby coping me at home the whole day is no good for me.. keekee

Hi Cale,
I just had the same episode on Sunday. The doc didn't admit you? i was admitted for 3 days and for observation and my spotting finally stopped yesterday. I will suggest you email Dr Loh to inform him. Most likely he will ask you to go down to TPS today. Meanwhile, bedrest is very important till the bleeing goes off.

Hi Maykel,
The emulsion thingy is proluton solution which is synthetic progesterone to support the pregnancy. Are you having some form of progesterone injection? I guess different docs have different porotocols.

Hi Maykel, Mikojade, and Rose - Wishing you lots of luck today on your scan, I will be thinking and praying for you. Hope to hear the good news later today.

Cale, that must of been so scary for u, but reassuring that you saw the heartbeat, how beautiful isn't it. In the meantime, please get plenty of rest. Take care, k.