IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi feibb!

Thanks, am glad to have found this forum! I guess because of the fact I'm at home all day long my imaginations will start running wild. I become very sensitive over any symptoms esp those I had but suddenly disappear. I've not tried fitting into my pants yet but I guess with the bloatedness, I won't be able to fit in too. It's the only time I don't mind being fat.. hahaha

Hi Cale, is yours a fresh cycle or FET? The last time I saw a sac and heartbeat at 6 weeks but it varies. Heard that some heartbeat can only be detected at 8 weeks but at 6weeks+, all of us should be able to see the sac and the embryo.

Hi Feibb, I did my BT on 15dpt instead of 17dpt cos I tested positive since 12dpt and heard from Dr Zou that we can call KKH and check if we can do a BT earlier. They say yes so i went down and my HCG level was 397.1 on 15dpt. Wonder if it's ok cos I have heard so many stories of biochemical and ectopic pregnancies. Wonder if the initial HCG level will be able to detect this??

Hi Rose,
My symptoms are sore boobs and nausea. Nowadays I can't eat as much as I want. Yesterday nite after dinner I had bad nausea that I had to take gaviscon to ease my reflux. Well at least give me few hours of peace to sleep which then wake up again feeling nausea and have to take the gaviscon again. In the morning I drank ginger water with sugar to help ease my nausea and its working. I really hope its a good sign of showing viable pregnancy.

Marlenna,
My lower abdomen seems to be bigger but my upper part is even bigger especially after meals. Tomorrow is your 2nd scan, I hope you will be able to see 2 flickering hb. And don't forget to rest more.

Hi MaybeBaby,
take good care.

Hi Merlenna,
Thank you, very comforting to hear reassuring words from you gals, really. Hopefully things will go smoothly during this another 2ww haha....you take good care and all the best for your scan 2mr. BTW, wat was ur beta at tat time?

Hi Ms Hae,
I oso went to the site and see, they really have a lot of classes, i'm am quite keen on quite a few of them, esp prenatal exercise (yoga) cos i was doing yoga b4 IVF and I oso always have sore muscles so think simple yoga would help during preg

I had sent them an email regardng to enquire, cos i'm not not which stage of preg to go which class. You had not started any class yet?

Hi Imel,
Wow, you very on leh kekeke....but its great to know that ur beta results increasing so your mind is more at ease
All the best for your scan on wed!

Hi Cale,
Ya loh, like wat Merlenna advise, must relax and be happy
BTW, I went bk to work this Am, but came bk again shortly, cos they are doing painting in the office and i think its not safe to inhale the fumes, I dun care, just told my Head i need to go off. But even then oso she buay ge yan, ask me to bring 2 reports home to vet leh, sickening....
Oh ya hor, 5 of has scanning dates very near to each other, Fibb on the 10th, me and mikojade on 12th, you on 13th

Hi Mikojade,
I do have sore boobs when i wake up every morning, but during the day is not so bad. I oso feels an urge to stretch my body everyday, cos they seems like so stiff now. Think gentle stretch should be ok, just be mindful not to over-strain urself.
I am oso going for my 1st scan with dr loh on 12/09, so coincidence

You not working now? Me took 3 wks of HL and suppose to start work today, but like I was telling Cale, i came bk after a while cos they doing painting in the office. I got nausea after i inhale the paint fumes, yucks....but i got no problem travelling in cars etc, only feel my embies protesting when i over-exert (will start to cramp if i'm too tired). All the best for your scan

Hi Mikojade,
I haven't been going out much either. Will only go out once a week. Now gettting more and more restless at home. Sigh....especially when theres no more olympic to entertain me. My first scan is this coming wednesday, hoping to hear hb by then. This is my 2nd cycle.

hi mikojade,
woah, freedom for the boobs.. whatever you describe are symptoms of being pregnant. if we read online, its the same description abt the boobs over and over again. but then again, i believe its not necessary we must experience it right? oh what happen to your visit at the 24hr clinic? maybe u can share. i'm currently under doc sadhana. so if anything i'll just go back to her.

hi cale,
this is my experience. did my scan at 7 weeks. saw 2 sacs, 2 fetus.. although only see one heartbeat. it feels surreal when you see that heartbeat pumping so vigorously on such a tiny being. hehe.. there is no audio at that time. not sure is it because you can't really hear coz baby is still very small.. or they just don't use the equipment to hear at that time. so don't worry, i'm sure yours will be fine..

Hi Mikojade,

U oso go to Dr Zou at AMK? Me too! She was the one that encouraged me to do HPT on 14dpt, I dare not test at that time.....scared another -ve. 397 is a good HCG level for 15dpt! But we can't tell whether ectopic and/or biochemical pregnancies until the 1st can, becoz KK does not do 2nd blood test, so we all just have to wait until 1st scan. I am very tempted to go other private gynae for another bloodtest for HCG, but keep telling myself don't rush into things, there must be reason why KK do scan on wk 6 and not earlier, so just wait it out....

Hi Rose,
Congrats to you. Your beta results very is high. How many embies did you put in? I oso did with dr Loh on kkivf.
I oso tested BFP on 29th Aug. But i oso had light pink and reddish spotting 2 days b4 my beta, was super anxious and thot AF coming. But lucky it stopped after a day. The nurse told me its normal but it means must rest more and cannot walk too much. Must monitor, if get lesser then dun have to worry, if spotting increase then must go A&E.
I'm on duphaston i tablet 2 times a day.

hi imel,
hehe same!! during the morning its not that obvious but come evening, my tummy is rounded already. haha.. after eating don't mention lah.. so obvious.. thanks for the encouragement. i hope so.. but do feel nervous a little..

hi maykel,
my beta reading on 17dpt was 1776. but that is like 5 weeks ago.. now i hope is much, much more.. haha..

Hi Maykel,
Welcome back to your home. Hehehe....ya lah the smell of chemical painting can be dangerous leh. Even Dr. Loh told me not to go to crowded places and to avoid inhaling smoke. My nausea is on and off but at nite is the worst. Can't tahan that i have to take gaviscon. You know I got the craving to eat instant noodle and "wu can rou" now, but I know my mil doesn't like me to eat that stuff. Luckily my bro is coming to town on wednesday, so I got reason to go back to my parents house and eat hahaha.

dawn,
how do u get rid of the new rubber smell of your mat? I got mine over the wkend. Very nice and bright.
but still has the smell after a few days.

Hi Maykel,
Just recovered from a bad case of nausea and giddiness. Felt a sudden chest pain and had to lie down for a while but feel better now after a big burp -D
Wow, you are also seeing Dr Loh on 12/09! My appt is in the evening, what abt yours?
I quit my job last year just before my 1st cycle cos I'm in sales and my hubby don't think it;s good for me to run around too much and also get stress trying to hit quotas.
Try to avoid inhaling the paint fumes too much okie and be more careful during lunch time knowing how blind some ppl are when they are walking,,,

Hi Imel!
I kind of miss the olympics now that it's over cos it was kept me occupied during the 2ww. I know what you mean by getting more and more restless... sigh... I'm calling my hubby once every hour asking him what time will he be home... poor hubby, think he now more stress than me.. keekee.. All the best for your scan:)

Hi feibb!
Yup, been seeing Dr Zou for abt 6 mths now. I didn't want to test so early as well but that morning (12dpt), I woke up to go to the toilet and saw some light pink blood. Was so afraid that my AF is reporting so I tested on 2 kits and kind of saw a very very light positive. Went to see Dr Zou later that day and she told me it's confirm and she gave me some medication for the spotting which stopped later that afternoon.
I also very tempted to have another HCG test done and even go see another gynae just to scan cos every day seems to pass by like 100 years so from now til my 1st scan, it's going to feel like 1200 years! Oh gosh, how am I going to survive til then.. keekee.. Is it true that for biochemical pregnancy, the HCG level is very low? When is your 1st scan?

Hi Merlenna!
Just so tired of sitting around the whole day that I'm spending my time feeling if I have this symptom or that symptom or not... Sigh...

During my last cycle which was my 1st, I started spotting on 16dpt and when my BT results came out the next day, my HCG level was abt 1450. was told to rest which I did but the spotting was increasing everyday so every other day I went down to the 24hr clinic to see the doctor. Everytime I'll tell them that I'm pregnant thru IVF and the spotting was getting more. And their only advice to me is whatever medication Dr Loh has given me, it's sufficient. I felt quite odd cos I remember that there's a jab they can give me to stablise my condition. Being my 1st time being pregnant, i thought ,as doctors, they should know best til I came to this forum 1 week later and some MTBs here told me to head straight down to see Dr Loh at TPS instead which I did and was admitted straight away. The next day early morning, I woke up to my bed filled with blood! I thought that was it!! Dr Loh asked for a scanning to be done and could se 1 sac still there so he suspected I miscarried 1. I stay in the hospital for another 4 days and on the day of my discharge, I saw BB's hb. I was so overwhelmed with relieve that I started crying and crying. But sadly, bb didn't make it past 7 weeks.

What disgusts me was- I felt the doctors at 24hr Clinic took my case very lightly. For ladies going thru IVF, our pregnancy is very precious to us and seeing that I'm going in to see them every other day with the spotting increasing, they could have done something for me, maybe they could have contacted Dr Loh. Imagine if I had not seen Dr Loh, I would have been bleeding at home! I will never step into the 24 hr clinic again. They just make me lose my confidence in them.

cale,
normally by week 6 you should see a sac and sometimes a heartbeat. but if you don't see a heartbeat yet, don't worry as it might appear during week 7 or 8.

during my scan at 6wks, i can see 3 sacs and 1 heart beating. and when i came back the following week, the other 2 are beating already so don't worry ya!

just got home from the doctor. the doctor advised if possible, don't eat any other medications unless really cannot tahan. maybe today i will just take once and then i will just drink lots of warm water to clear my throat

imel,
i am also craving to eat maggi.had it for dinner last night and am having it for lunch now. lazy to cook. but i will still drink my anmum milk and tons of water lah.

BTW, my girlfriend just told me to get this book 'What to Expect When You're Expecting' (Price: $24.16) from Kinokuniya. She says that there's a lot of info in it that's very helpful thru out the pregnancy. I just order it online:)

Hi Mikojade,

Are you the lady who used to sell car, and then quit to do IVF? If yes, then I know who you are....heehee

Hi mikojade,
Yes, this is my 1st fresh cycle. Congrats to you too! Your beta reading looks good at 15dpt!

May i know how do you calculate how many weeks are we in now? Is it using today's date - ET date or ER date har? Do we need to take into the consideration embryos days when we do the transfer? When did you do your ER/ET?

Sorry to hear about the past experience and thanks for sharing with us. After reading what you had been through, it's certain not a good idea to seek women 24 hours treatment. If possible should try to request to see our own doctor.

Great that you recovered and got pregnant again. Try to rest more and relax, i am sure you will be doing good this time round

Hi Marlenna/Miss Hae,
Thanks for the reassurance. I am trying to prepare myself
. I scare if i didnt heart heartbeat by then i will panick, hee.

Now, i understand liao, thanks so much. At least must see a sac. Heartbeats can be later on as some may have it slightly later. Keep my finger cross to have it earlier, so that i can have a peace of mind earlier

Marlenna, tomorrow is your 2nd scanning, i also feel excited for you. Pray things go smoothly for you. Jia you!

Miss Hae, did you take vitamin C? I think it can help to boast up your immune, it's especially good for cough or throat related infection. It's best if our body can fight the virus/bacteria naturally. Now, pregnant every must be extra caution. Take care ya.

Hi Maykel,
I also decided not to buy the prenatal multivitamin first and wait for doctor's advice. I afraid it's not suitable after i buy and wasted the money. Regarding the class, can you send me the URL? I may also interested to join le.

I think your boss already on the verge of passing the workload to you, and who knows you got to go home again. She must be mad la, if she didn't get to pass down some work to you, think she cannot stomach it..haha.

Hi feibb,
I think as long as no fresh blood bleeding or bright red spotting, our baby should still be safe inside us. All of us looks like getting paranoid, before the first scanning. Hang in there, am sure all of us would be blessed with wonderful result.

Hi Imel,
I just opposite. Recently i eat quite a lot le. Getting hungry easily. Suprisingly, even i eat more compare to last time, my weight still about the same. I guess may be right now our metabolism rate is higher, and it burns off the extra calories that we took. Did you gain any weight so far?

Hi Bebecraze08,
Did not hear from you recently. How are you doing? When is your first scanning?

Hi Cale,

Thanks and congrats to you too:) Your scanning is just one day after mine:-D

You can go to this website to calculate- http://ivf.ca/calcu.htm
If I'm not wrong, your EDD should be 04 May 2009!

I looking forward to seeing us all graduate together!!

Hi mikojade,

Yes your scanning date happens to same as Maykel, so i will hear your good news first

Thanks for the calculator. It did not have a field to specify how many days embryos that we transfer? So do you know what is the assumption when the date is proposed?

Hi cale,

Really keeping my fingers and toes cross now! My nausea seems to be getting from bad to worse....

I believe you go according to the date proposed. It does not matter how many days embryos you transfer. They will only count from retrieval/Ovulation. For example for my FET this time, my embryos were already 2 days old plus 1 day of allowing it to thaw and develop, they are 3 days old. My ovulation was on 10/8 and they only transfer on 13/8 which in natural conception, my embryos will also be 3 days old. Not sure if I've explain it clearly:p

mikojade,
ur experience is frightening but luckily you went straight to dr loh. when is ur first scan? must count down ya! whenever i feel worried or having cramp like pains which i have never felt before, i just head down to a gynae near my place. a female gynae and she's very nice. she talked through all my nerves and is more than happy to do a scan. she is also excited seeing the triplets. i don't like going to dr adrian at sengkang. i went to see him last week since i was at compass point. waited for over 1 1/2hours, having pains and when i see him, it's just less than 5minutes! when he scan also, he just say, all have heartbeats then done. even when he gave me the scan picture, i don't know what was taken as i can't see my triplets like how my own gynae and my PT gynae gives me. that's the last time i see him.

cale,
ya, maybe i lack vitamin c. but maybe also because i hardly drink water. is it ok to take all the redoxon, as featured in the mother and baby magazine? it's like a tablet form and just have to add in to 1 glass of water.

i can't wait for this coming Monday. must tell my gynae i miss him. hee3! I'll be 4 months pregnant already and can't wait to see the triplets again!

Hi Miss Hae,
I am excited for you too. I can imagine how it feel to see all the babies dancing in front of you

Are you currently working now? Are you with KK too? Who is your official gynae? Are you currently on any maternity package?

Hi Cale,
I was like you, eat so much, but since last week I started to feel indigestion and bloatedness. Now my mood really foul coz I want to eat but I can't eat much and the feeling of nausea always there. Tink I lost weight now hahahaha.

Hi Miss Hae,
At least you can eat your maggie mie. Hic hic hic,....I can't coz my mil and I live with her. Well too bad, have to control my crave till my bro come.

cale,
i'm not working now. thought of getting a part time work but i don't think so as i think i need the rest when they get bigger. i'm with nuh, p c wong is my gynae. maternity package? what is that? is it the one that we sign up after 20weeks or how? i'm not sure of the maternity package. very blur. :p

imel,
if i stay with my mil and mum, CONFIRM also cannot eat one! hee3! now im staying on my own so i just eat what i want.

Hi Cale, Most welcome!:)

Hi Miss Ha, it was very frightening and they are so insensitive! Like the houseman in my ward when I was hospitalize, when he discharged me, just wanted to be assure again, I asked him BB is alright and guess what's his answer!!! "Your BB haven't DIE!!" I almost wanted to $@#!%@&#* but hold back not wanting to affect my mood. I really looking forward to my scan and was also just wondering if I should see another gynae concurrently. When's your EDD? You must be so excited and looking forward to their arrival:-D

Hi Merlenna
Im like you, stomach already buldging much. Can't hide anymore...Wanted to wait after 3 mths then let friends know that Im preggie but can't hide now,haha.
Update us on your scan tmrw, hope you can see the flickering hearts of your twins.

Hi Miss Hae
At which month did you do your NT scan?

Hi Mikojade
Wow,3 wks without leaving the house? That must be difficult but for the sake of our little ones, must endure ya. I remember my gynae advised me to have complete rest (can't cook, no housework etc) during the 1st trimester.
Hope you can see the flickering heartbeat of your bb on your 1st scan.

Hi Cale and Imel
I was like you, on my 5/6 wks, I ate a lot and always hungry till when I hit my 7 wk, I can't even dare to look at any food (but hubby 'forced' me to eat..hehe)till last wk (10 wk), my appetite slowly return but appetite still so-so.

Hi Merlenna,
Wow, ur initial reading was very high. Dun worry, its going to be much more now! ;)

Hi Imel,
Thank you, but even now i am doing work at home. Am very stressful cos i was told to vet some reports and my colleagues are so uncooperative, i have to keep calling bk office to check with them. And my sickening Head just threw everything to me the moment i step into office, can't she just give me a break?? I stress until i got cramp now, very sad....
My colleagues said painting finished, but the smell still strong, dun know if its safe for me to go bk work 2mr....
Aiyo, of all things, you craved for 2 of the most unhealthy food, haha....tahan hor, dun eat too much of them

Hi Mikojade,
Poor thing, hope you are ok now. Tink cos we have too much gas inside. I oso find that i have shortness of breath if i talk or walk too fast.
My appt with dr loh is 4.10pm

Ya, ur hubby is right, too much walking is not good. Even though i got no quota to hit, but starting work today is already very stressful....

Me now came bk home to work liao, dun wana stay in office. Talking abt blind pple, this Am i went to buy b'fast, got 1 auntie holding kopi and talking to someone, then suddenly turn bk and nearly kena me, lucky i siam.
Oh, thanks for the book suggestion.

Hi Cale,
Yup, i think better wait for advise 1st, else wait the multivit not suitable.
You can see the classes from this link

http://www.birthandbeyond.com.sg
BTW, i also has the calculation link and i am 5wks0day today, EDD is 4th May 2009 heehee....

Ya lah, today already started passing me work liao. I say wana go bk and she still ask me to bring the work bk to do, so now i'm still struggling with the reports. Ya, she wait til i can't stomach it then will throw her resignation letter.

Imel - I do have a bi of nausea but i think it is bec of the medication there are giving us. I do have cramps that last for 30 -45 secs and it goes away. Do you get that too? I have no spotting for now after my increasing my dosage. I really hope everything is ok.

Myakel - I put in 3 embies in a medicated FET. Wishing you the best.

Gd luck to all you ladies going for their scans.

Hi Emma!
Thanks:) For the sake of my little one, I will endure... which at times it's quite difficult cos I'm used to moving around.
You are entering your 2nd trimester soon:-D

Hi Maykel!

My appt is at 5.20pm.... Maybe we can bump into each other there:) knowing how long his waiting time can be sometimes..
Your EDD is just one day after mine :-D

After a few Loud burps. I'm feeling better now,Thanks!

I am just wondering what happens at our first scan? Is it a vaginal or abdominal scan?
Do they take any blood and urine for testing?

Hi Rose,
May i know wat is medicated FET?
Nurse told me that 1st scan is abdomen scan, but bladder no need to be full full like ET, just take 1 cup of water and wait can already. I dun think got blood test, but not sure abt urine leh, maybe the other sisters can help

Hi Mikojade,
Oh, our timing quite near, ya, got a feeling by the time you come, i am still waiting to see him haha....
heehee...our EDD super near. Oh, but then again, that calculation is for singleton, if twins or triplets is abt 1 mth earlier.
At least you burp from front, not so bad, mine keep coming from the back, esp at nite kekeke....

Hi Rose: the last time when I went for my 1st scan, it was a vaginal one so I'm not too sure. Are you going to TPS? They will take your weight, height as well as have you pee on something which til now I'm not sure what is it for.

Hi Maykel,
For my HCG level, most probably it will be a singleton, but of cos the more, the merrier... haha.. but max is 2 for me cos only 2 of my 3 embryos survive the thawing. Me too got let go from the back and it happens at nite too... haha... Lucky not much smell..

Hi Maykel,

My Chinese Physician was telling me one of her patient's HCG was only 199 and she was pregnant with twins.. So there's hope for us! :-D

Hi Mikojade,
Huh, really?? 199 very low wor...the last time i got low beta was 272 and i had an ectopic tat time....
BTW, i read ur 1st experience and dun mind i ask you hor, tat means last time you stored 3 embies in freezer then left 2 so you did a frozen embryo transfer and got positive is it? How long after ur 1st round b4 you did this round? I oso left 3, preparing for the worse case...

Hi Maykel,

Yeah, that's what I thot too.. 199 is very low for a singleton already and she had twins!

When did you realize you had an ectopic? Any symptoms?

Yup, I stored 3 embies and after thawing, only 2 make it. This is my 1st natural FET and it's a positive again! I rested and did TCM for 6 mths before trying again. Why I miscarried the last time was maybe due to my insufficient progestrone so this time I'm taking TCM even during my 2ww and now.

Each step is never easy for us, i was worried that none of my embies will survive and thereafter will it be a positive and now, will I see the little one's hb....

I know what you mean by preparing for the worst but your beta this time is quite good :) Can't tell you not to worry too much cos I'm worrying as well:-(

Hi Miss Hae,
Understand, especially you are carrying triplets now. You stomach will be bigger also. Need to take extra care. May be can consider to take unpaid leave when you start to feel more difficult to cope? Not sure if this will impact the matenity leave or not?

May I know last time when you tested +ve, what is your beta reading har and tested on which day? Is it very high?

Actually i not too sure about the maternity package also. I thought previous gynae at the east shore did have this pre-natal/matenity package which includes the scanning and delivery, but i am not too sure in details. I thought gov hospital may have something like this to offer too. It could be cheaper. I will ask the nurse when i go for my next scanning

Hi Maykel,
Thanks for the link. I will check it out

Yes, we are just one day different from each other, think will sure have chance to meet each other again at KK

Regarding your boss, bo chap her la. Dun let her or the work affect your baby. It's not worth it. Just do what you can, if really can't take it liao, just throw the letter to her face, hehe.

Hi Imel/Emma,
The appetite can change on har. I didnt know, though will continue to be hungry throught out :p. Now my appetite also slightly different from last time, now i dont like to eat sweet thing like cake or bread. Hope this wouldn't last long, coz most of the time i am eating bread for breakfast le.

Hi Rose,
When is your first scanning? Who is your gynae at which hospital?

Hi mikojade,
Looks like it's not conclusive based on the beta reading to determine singleton or multiples hor. While we are praying for multiples, i think as long as the baby is healty, singleton or multiples also great news to us

Hi everyone, feeling a bit down today. Had dull aches on and off around one of my ovaries today, hope nothing is wrong.... Anyone experienced this?

Hi Mikojade,

I am the one you asked whether was the gal that I spoke to at KKIVF Jxxxx Foo, both of you used to fly together. Any way she oso tested positive today! So many sucess story at KK recently!