IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

dawn,
Yes, i'm getting the 2100x1400 mat. Finally got DH to agree...
Thx for the bb fair tip...i'm thinking of getting the medela bottles but 6 bottles seems too many to replace cos i just bot 3 at the taka fair. Maybe i can find someone to share. Can i ask how much r ur bbs drinking now? mine have been maintaining at 110ml for very long already...have u started using the large bottles yet? maybe i'm wasting money by buying the 150ml ones if they suddenly increase their intake now...

twinnies
Hi! new nick? trying to catch up on all the postings. Abt the -ve comments, just ignore ur friend cos no one really knows what's it's going to be like having twins except other twin mums, and not to mention that ur fren also preggie so maybe she cld be hvg mood swings? Just take it with a pinch of salt. I found myself more sensitive abt everything when i was preggie...haha, not very easy for my DH. Whatever it is, just think of how precious it is to have twins, it's not something that u can get if u want, so always think positive. To me, I've always been fascinated by twins, so i really don't care what others say. It's tough in the 1st couple of mths, but it gets better as we learn. So chin up, ok? Abt the shawl, i bot one but haven't used it till now, cos end up i never really direct BF, much less bring bbs out in their first few mths. So became white elephant. :p Thinking of selling it.

Hopes,
Congrats!! You've popped! Must be so happy to be able to carry ur bb in ur arms!

Deasy,
Saw a combi BP being organised. Not sure if cheap or not.

Hi Petals, ya Im more sentative now. hehehe.. Hmmm which shawl did u buy? How much u willing to sell? hehehe thats my concern I dont want to pay like $40 bucks n not use it.

As the days go by Im getting more n more excited, cannot wait for detailed scan end of Sept than might go for 4D scan in Oct(still thinking, dont want to spend to much).

Ladies those who went to Cheong Choon @ Chinatows, which part of chinatown is it at? near chinatown point or near Otrum MRT? I dont wnat to walk all around to find it. hehee
Might pop over on Sat, itchying to see what the store has.

Twinnies/nicole, CheongChoon is very very small, not much things to see,only small items. but if u have anything u want to buy, they have brochures of the strollers/toys/exersaucers of many brand/models. check out the stuff at shopping centres then, u can just call them to ask the price n send to u straight if above $150. no need to go down. btw. it is near chinatown mrt, the block just behind the OG...u know the round round carpark there?

petals, mine on 120ml to 130ml till they were 6 months nowadays, oni one or two feeds per day is 150ml or 180ml (usu last feed). in the morning they no appetite these few days oni take 40 to 60ml...can faint! total intake is still very low about 500ml to 600ml per day for 4 to 5 feeds( they take one meal of solid food liow), a far cry from the 800 to 900ml intake during the 2nd or 3rd month. heee hee....u wun regret getting the mat one, i thinking of getting the biggest one now as they crawl a few seconds will get out of the small mat liow.

Hi Hopes,
Congrats!! ur bb seems quite fat weighing a good 3.6kg. Yes do post ur bb photo here so that all of us can take alook at ur cute bb.

Hi Imel,
I think the prune juice really helps but i think i took abit too much....eehh...so gotta abit of diarrhoea . Hows ur diarrhoea?

Hi Merleena,
Wow ur first trimester is ending soon leh thats good i think spotting will stop once u r in ur 2nd trimester right? U like sweets?? I tot pple will like sour more than sweet. Whenever i feel nausea i'll take some sour stuff. Its good that u feel sleepy only in the evenings at least u can work properly during the day time.

Thanks for the info Dawn. than I wont bother to go down. will check out the stores and call them for priceing if I see anything I like at the shoping centre.

Ladies, Im looking for the binder to use after u give birth. Did any of u use it? Im wandering if I can get from the pharmacy at Gleneagles or SGH. Thanks.

Hi Bebecraze,
My diarrhoea is better but Im having my nausea rite now. Tomorrow is your big day, the day to see your babies and hb. All the best to you.

dawn, deasy, twinnies, petals, babecraze..

Thanks for ur well wishes

Mine's a baby boy..

Will update pics once i have the time...hehe.now still very busy learning how to cope with this new addition to the family.. hehe..

my breast milk supply is very low..
and my baby just refused to latch on for long..coz i think he must be very tired suckling for so long and yet nothing much came out.. poor thing

i've been trying to pump out the BM but i've pumped till my nipples are so sore and yet only get abt 1 to 1.5 oz each time.. so depressing..

hopes, 1 oz is a good start!!!
just keep latching....dun make the same mistake as mine. I tot i pump and see how much, so that i feel better. actually juz latch as much as possible. Actually i felt very down with the 1st day i was discharged back home (think Day 3) when i pumped very very little milk so the confinement lady told me that i have no milk so subsequently always feed the babies FM, she also din make any soup for me to increase milk supply, just telling me n my mum (when my mum asked her) that "she no milk one....do anything also no use". Always telling me stories of how much milk she has for all her 4 kids.
luckily my mum ignored her and bought all the stuff needed and boiled the soup for me. Now thinking back, she is just plain lazy, thinking like that no need to boil soup for me and when babies cry she just feed with FM so they will be fuller. if carry to me to feed, she can't rest properly the whole day and need to be v patient to wait for the supply to come in. Apparently after 2 months when i checked with a few frens, their CL also did the same thing, insisting they have no milk v early. i think milk takes some time to come in, esp for C section.

u may want to try Goats'Rue or More milk Plus...this worked v well for me....i also tried Mother's Milk Tea and GNC funugreek. The GNC fungreek din help much , the Mother's milk tea increases supply visibly but the best is Goat's rue!!! but that is really ex! so i oni bought 1 bottle.
oh yah, also take those traditional papaya n fish soup, pigtrotters and peanut soup, heard black beans also helps. Jia you!

morning ladies.

having a very bad cough. is it ok if we just take Peppermint Cure off the shelves or better to see a doctor? the cough has been making me want to puke more. luckily nothing came out.

i am starting my 14th week now. nausea still there. when will it go away. struggling at work everyday at work because of this. and feeling so sleepy.

Hi Miss Hae
Oh dear, do take care! Better to consult GP for your cough ya. Weather has been bad recently.

Hi yck
Bad MS! I have been suffering since 61/2 wks (am 10 wks)and dunno how long we are going to 'tahan'this MS.

Went for my 10 wks scan and did a 3D scan, can see both babies moving their limbs, it was such an amazing sight...
1674963.png

i have been missing in action for quite awhile due to heavy workload
i have been suffering from rashes on my face..my skin turn dry and start to peel and it is red..anyone has the same experience? any solution to the problem?

dawn..

thanks so much for the tips!!

where to get the goat's rue huh?

vanilla pod..

yah... time really flies..hehe.. finally holding my long awaited bb in my arms... such a great feeling..

ladies ..

hope to hear more good news from everyone soon ya!! jia you!!

Hi Ladies!

Just went thru my 1st natural FET and I had my HPT last Sunday (12 dpt) with BFP (Decided to test cos I had dark brown/light pink spotting when I woke up which only lasted half a day). On 15 dpt, called KKH and they told me that I can go down for the blood test and the results was 397.1. Was told it's a good number...

But I think I'm starting to become a paranoid. And here's why...

I was pregnant the last cycle which was my 1st IVF but ended up in a m/c at 8 weeks. I was spotting the day before I went for the blood test all the way til my 7th week and it suddenly stop. During this time, I was hospitalize, saw bb's heartbeat, etc. I was quite tramatise during this period.

This time round I had no spotting and had quite a easy 2ww. What happened yesterday was- My 8 year old nephew attempted to boil some water using the stove which I told him I'll help him after using the toilet. When I'm done and walked into the kitchen, he was standing in front of the stove and told me he was ready. I said,' Oh, ok' and in a flash, he started the fire! I think he has on the gas for quite some time cos when he light up, there were some fire that spread in the air. I had a fright! Immediately I turn it off and during this time I inhaled some gas..

I'm not too sure if this is alright, the fright and the inhaling of the gas...

Appreciate if anyone could advise me on this.

Hopes: Congrats!!! Enjoy motherhood:)

hi Emma,
Woah a 3D scan?! that must be such a nice sight. i must be a week behind you. On week 9 now. Next tues going for my scan again. i wonder how the babies will look like then.

hi miss hae,
why don't you get yourself checked? get something for that cough. i was told much earlier to stay away from people who are sick. whenever they start sneezing and coughing, get yourself miles away!

hopes, last time i ordered online from SMO BP thread. then vivo has a shop that sells but it has closed down recently. I heard TMC or Cadem pharmacy sells the More Milk plus...since same brand as Goat's rue, should have too...

I just did my beta this morning. Confirmed pregnant liao! My beta result is 1445.7.
Hope i could join you all to share my MTB journey

I did my beta yest and was confirmed pregnant, but result oni 605....must wait for scan 2 wks later to see got how many, i put in 3 embies. Does any of you ladies have similar reading? And are you able to know preggie with how many with beta results? Thank you.

Hi Cale,
Thanks for the link heehee....

Same thing here, also eager to find out if any of you are having the beta reading close to mine and are you getting singleton or multiples? I also hope to get twin but would only know 2 weeks later like Maykel. Another 2 weeks wait for us.
I have put in 2 embryos this round.

Maykel and myself just graduated from the IVF support thread

emma,
ya. the continuous rain dampened my mood to go out too but i love sleeping in! almost everyday wake up at 11!

merlenna,
i wanted to but didn't at the end. i just drank lots of warm water and now i am better. i think i didn't drink enough water. speaking of staying away, i totally forgot all about that! luckily i have been fine and healthy since i started this pregnancy journey, only now having cough. i am more concerned about being near those who have chicken pox or others.

btw, the mother and baby seminar was quite a bore. i was one of the 5 ladies who came alone. others all came with their spouses. hee3! luckily my husband didn't come or else he would have slept! and there was also a human jam so bad that the escalators weren't functioning! i had to climb up the escalator twice with so many other people! very, very tiring.

cale and maykel,
congrats and welcome to the thread!

Hopes

Congrats on your little bundle of joy!!
1677222.gif

Re increasing BM supply... keep on pumping every 3hrs... if your boy doesn't like to latch on, pump to stimulate the milk glands. The nipples will definitely feel v sore, but regular pumping will regulate the supply. Massage b4 pumping... BF is really hard work... Don't give up.

Try this soup (which works well for me): raw peanuts+pig trotter+garlic. Just take the soup in intervals throughout the day...

Lastly, enjoy bonding with your baby!

BTW, you still having your doggie?

HI Mimiko,

Congrats! Yr beta is high! Likely twins! Have u called to change appointment? My original scan date was 13 Sep, I called to change to 10 Sep. Everyday they have ppl changing appointment, so you can call every day to check. C u in MTB!

Hi Juju,

Congrat! Tell us yr HCG after yr bloodtest on Mon!

Hi Gals, I hope it is ok that I join you on this board. Had my 5dt on Aug 14, and got a BFP recently (beta 1100 13dp5dt). I'm so happy, but anxiously awaiting my scan in one and a half weeks time. Wishing everyone a Happy and Healthy pregnancy

Forgot to ask, anyone doing a second beta? They nurse told me not necessary, but of course I can't help but worry... sigh ... it's going to be a long 1 1/2 weeks until scan.

hi cale and maykel,
congrats to the both of you! welcome to the thread! haha.. alot of us here are in our first trimester.. some graduated to second already.. haha.. my beta reading was 1776. and thru my scan both embryos implanted and expecting twins. although only one heartbeat is detected at the moment. will scan again on tuesday and see how.

hi miss hae,
yeah i know chicken pox and all that, of coz.. but simple cough and sneeze also u must jaga! haha don't go near them!

hi maybebaby,
nope, i didn't take second beta. coz immediately after waiting 2 weeks, during your first scan you can see the progress of your pregnancy already. its when you start having problems, like excessive bleedings and cramps, i assume they'd wanna check your hcg level to see if the pregnancy is still on-going..

just an update.. been having twitches and tugging in my lower abs these few days. need to rub the area, then it eases.. any reason why? my spotting has lessen. still dark brown. *cross fingers* hope everything ok.. went to watch wall.e yesterday.. for a movie with minimal dialog (both characters kept saying each others' name only) towards the end, i wanted to cry.. haha.. hormones i believe..

hi merlenna, thanks for the info. Can I ask how far along are you? My tummy has been having weird feeling too, for me I think it is gas, feel so bloated all the time. I also felt like crying yesterday when my dh was slightly short w/ me, must be the hormones! I myself turning into a big baby.. hee hee. All the best for your scan tues

Hi Ms Hae, Feibb, Imel and Merleena,
Happy to join you gals here

Imel,
How are you? When is ur scan day, soon right? I'm very anxious to know abt ur scan cos my result is similar to yours heehee....take care and rest well

Hi Merlenna,
Thank you. Actually i'm still worried and dun think i can be convince until i see the scan, but another 2wks more of waiting....cos last time i got +ve twice, but both times cannot see anything in the womb, cos 1 is ectopic and 1 is biochemical preg. Very disappointing. Actully i did ask the nurse whether there is a possibility of +ve beta but they can't scan anything, but she say not possible.
Hope that your next scan would goes well for you, maybe the other twin is smaller, thats why can't hear for the 1st scan
Take good care.

Hi Maybebaby,
I am oso new to this thread
Tested positive 2 days ago, my scan is 2wks later, oso very anxiously waiting

I think they will oni ask us to do 2nd beta if the result is low, but urs quite high, so dun worry too much.

Hi Ms Hae,
I read that you went for babycare class, may i know where to get more info on tat? Is it from outside or in individual hospitals? When do we need to start attending these classes? Thank you.
Please take good care adn hope you feel better real soon

Hi Maybebaby,
Welcome to the thread. Im feeling bloated especially after eating. Been having nausea and gastric.

Hi Maykel,
My scan will be on wednesday. Start to feel worry liao. Btw when you had +ve last time, what is your beta number? Is it higher than this one?

I have been having nausea and gastric these few days. Can't really eat much, when I eat too much, my stomach will be very uncomfy like as if theres food stuck at the top of my stomach. Last nite after I went to toilet to urine, I had intense cramp at my lower abdomen that lasted about 10mins I think. Really uncomfy and scared the hell out of me. In the morning I began to feel short of breath like as if Im in the closed room without any air and of course accompany with gastric. Anyone feel the same? Is it part of m/s?

I got a BFP on 28/08/08 a hcg of 1549. I am 4 wks 5 days now.

I have been spotting light brown tinges in my cm. Is thsi normal?

Hi Imel,
Dun worry, trust that things will turn out great for us
Wat was ur beta when you took it the 2nd time? If it goes up then dun have to worry. Cos last time during biochemical preg, i took beta every 2 days and the results just go down and down rapidly.
Last time when i had the ectopic, my beta is only 272 and my doc said that i was already around 5-6wks preggie. So i guess my reading now at 4wks is 605 shld be better news right....?

Hi Maykel, congrats on your positive result!!!

Hi Imel, thanks for your welcome. I too having stomach problems, I asked my nurse about it last week and she said it is very normal w pregnancy. Actually for me, I don't even feel like eating, which is strange cause usually I love food
But I force myself to eat small portions for the baby

Hi Rose, that's a really high Beta Congrats! I also have light spotting and I'm 5 weeks along.

hi maybebaby,
i'm in my 9th week. tuesday is my second scan. i think mostly its really gas too.. need to burp then i will feel better. as long as i don't burp, that's it, the stomachache remains.

hi maykel,
don't think into it too much. it won't help you at all.. just relax. let baby grow.. wait patiently for the 2 weeks. trust me if you don't think about it, it'll be quite fast. must stay away from too much thinking and worrying.. stress no good!! understand your situation.. you've always got this thread to share your worries k? btw, yeah the other twin is slightly smaller.. but i leave it in the hands of fate.. really..

hi imel,
i've been feeling short of breath sometimes too. even when lying down.. just tell myself, to take deep breaths and don't panic..

hi rose,
if its light spotting shouldn't be a problem. i've been spotting since week 7. read online if it doesn't accompany with pain, and not bright red, then don't worry. just need to rest more.. for mine, its been very dark brown i assume its old blood.. usually in the mornings.. i just use pantiliners to monitor the spotting.. sometimes i do feel frustrated why the spotting doesn't stop.. sigh.. but what to do, just have to remember not to exert myself.

Hi MTBs!

Just wondering if anyone doesn't have sore boobs cos I don't seem to have it this time whereas the last time it was quite bad...

And any idea if it's ok to stretch my legs and body while on the bed when I wake up in the morning? I tend to wake up to a real sore body...

Thks everyone feel more reassured. I wish the best for all of you.

I am with Dr Loh,KK. And he told me to increase my duphaston dosage to two tablets twice a day now. Is this what you are taking?

btw, do any of you have a list of all the type of procedures we need to go for the entire pregnancy by weeks? Does KK provide this?

merlenna,
i think it's because our uterus/womb is expanding. i have been having cramp like pains too but occassional and short ones. my PT gynae told me not to worry unless you feel the pain every few minutes. she also emphasized on putting lots of stretchmark cream. now i can feel my tummy stretching. even if i breathe in, the bulge doesn't move. just take short rests when you feel the pain.

maykel,
thank you. i just surfed and saw a Birth and Beyond website. saw they have baby care class so i just signed up for it. would be good for my husband too. im now looking for antenatal class, not sure if NUH has them.
m

hi Ashley!!

long time no see!!

thanks for the recipe!! will definately try it out!

baby just refused to latch on.. no choice.. gotta pump it out..

sometimes i wonder if expressed breast milk will lost it's vitamins and nutrients. any idea? or is it as good what the baby will get if he latch on?

yes yes!! i still having my doggy with me.. so far.. he's still quite ok with the baby around.. phew.. and baby has not shown any allegy to it too.. (touch wood)..

glad that i did not send him away bcoz of the baby...

Hi Rose,
Welcome to the thread. Im with Dr. Loh too and next wed will be my first scan.

Hi Maykel,
You can't believe it that I did blood test every week. Both increases in the right directions, but the last one the doubling time increases. Anyway at least they increase. However, scan will give a more definitive answer.

Hi marlenna/miss hae/imel/feibb,
Thanks! I finally can officially join all of you here. I am very happy. It's going to be a long journey and am glad that i can share and get support here

Hi Maybebaby,
Welcome. I also just joined the thread. Just tested BFP on sat. Your beta looks very high le. I think high chance you can get multiples. How many embryos did you put in during your ET? You are currently under which gynae at which hospital?

Hi Marlenna,
It's good that your spotting become lessen liao, hope it totally gone by next week. I am sure your next scanning on tue will turn out fine. Dun worry too much ya. Relax and stay happy, so your baby can feel your joy too

Hi Maykel,
Until we see the sac and heartbeat, i think we will keep worrying if it's a viable pregnancy. Really hope that we would able to see strong heartbeats by then. There is nothing much we can do now except to stay relax and happy, meanwhile wait for our next appointment to see our baby. Jia you!

Hi Cynthia,
I also dun experience any sore boobs. Just sensitive nipple, constipation and some cramps occassionaly. I think different ppl will have different symptoms, dun too worry about that. How many weeks you are in now? Have you done your first scanning?

Hi Rose,
Welcome. Currently i was prescribed 1 tablet of duphaston twice a day by the nurse, haven't got a chance to meet the doctor yet. Appointment is given only 2 weeks later. How come you can see Doc Loh right after you got the result +ve? Did he explain to you why he ask you to take 2 tablets instead?

Hi Imel,
Understand your anxiety to make sure that the baby is growing fine, like i tested every days since my 11dpt to reassure myself
. May your next scanning go smoothly with viable sac strong heartbeat. Stay happy and Jia you!

Tks for welcoming me in this thread.

Imel - Gd luck with the scan. All will be fine. Do you have any symptoms for now?

Cale - I emailed to Dr Loh to let him know my problem. He did not think spotting was a problem. He reverted to me and told me to increase the dosage for now.

Hi Cale - Congrats on your BFP!!! I'm with TFC. We transferred 2 5 day blasts. Initially wanted to transfer 3, but doctor and embryologist advised me 2. After I thought about it, I agreed to just 2. They froze the 2 remaining blasts. This is my 3rd attempt, finally got to see a BFP

hi miss hae,
yeah, that's what i thought. i hope its becoz of the womb expanding. i have a bulge already also.. at the moment if i wear my normal tees, it looks like i've eaten way too much.. haha.. i'll take those rests lah.. plus continue rubbing the area wherever that's aching..

hi cynthia,
i do experience sore boobs. especially while lying in bed. shifting positions are a torture. i've resorted wearing sports bra in bed. no choice.

hi cale,
thanks for your encouragement. yeah i hope the bleeding stops too!

Hi Cale: I'm 5 weeks today and will be scanning with Dr Loh on 12/9. It feels like forever! Hubby don't allow me to step out of the house at all so I've been mopping around the house for the last 3 weeks. Just wondering if there any MTBs who went back to work as usual? The symptoms I have now is bloatedness, Nausea on and off thru out the day, poor appetite(unlike my last pregnancy which I was always hungry), headaches and feeling dizzy esp when travelling in the car (Anyone has this as well?). Not so much of cramping after i took the 'an tai' medicine from Dr Zou, not sure if the medicine is helping with the cramping? And my body aches when I wake up and I have to stretch my legs and body (not lifting my hands) every morning, just wondering if it's ok to do so? When will you be doing your 1st scanning? Looking forward to all of us seeing the sac and a strong heartbeat!

Hi Merlenna: I'm staring at my breast whenever I'm in the toilet to see any changes. I remember the last time I notice the darker skin around the nipple, the areola, increasing in diameter and getting deeper in color and it remain even after my m/c so this time round, I can't really tell.... Never go out so never wear a bra for 3 weeks so maybe later I should go try to see if it fits..keekee.. Take care and rest well! Don't walk around too much and if necessary, you can look for Dr Loh at TPS if you need to see him. Never go to the 24 hr Clinic, I had a very very bad experience there when I was spotting the last time.

Hi Mikojade,

Welcome to MTB! I am like you, very worried before my 1st scan on 10 Sep, now counting everyday. I worried over many things : Bloatedness dissappeared, HCG increasing or not, no nausea symptoms, will any sac be detected on scan day etc etc etc.....but I am working, so it really helps me to forget abt these questions, and time goes faster too.....I cannot wear my pants already, have to wear maternity pants (those has elastic waist band one)

I have managed to change my appt to 13 sep. A lot of us are around the same first scanning date like maykel, feibb, mikojade and maybebaby. Good luck to all of us

I have a question, during the first scanning at 6 weeks+, are we expecting a to see a sac + heartbeat already? Any ladies can share your experience?