IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Nicole, better to get electric one....handpump, u will be damn tired...
I tried manual avent and maual medela.

I have a 2nd hand Medela Swing...only v v lightly used as it is a back up for another pump. I use Medela Lactina and it broke down in april....so i used the Swing to "dong" for 3 weeks while it was sent for repair. Anyboyd interested just PM me.

I went to the Medela Service centre....u all can actually loan from them any model for 5 days or up to a few months if u not sure which brand/model is good for you. The centre is at Jurong...near IMM.

wow ms hae, 4D pic....can upload n share with us? i never seen 4D b4....oni my 2D...hee hee

emma , jia you n take care!

Hi Nicole, i did not try the manual pump before, bought a medela mini electric plus (single) but the result was bad and the suction was not good enough. Gave up after two weeks and in the midst of my confinement i went out to buy the Ameda Dual pump. I could get double the amount in half the time! If you want to try, you could rent the Ameda set from moms-in-mind. Else, i think you can loan from Medela also if you want to try. Even with electric pump, i still use my hands to do compression so that i can squeeze more out (really like cow) and my thumb really hurts. Cannot imagine if you manual pump with one hand, and the other doing compression/massage, and then the other side leaking! Breastfeeding is tough but must persevere!

Ms Hae, how does 4D pic look like? can post? during my detailed scan, the dr want to do a 3D scan for me, but too bad the umbilical cord was covering the face so could not get a good 3D shot. what a waste!

Emma, rest a lot and take good care!

Hi Mummy-to-be

I am from the IVF support group. Currently on Lucrin and will be starting the puregon on Sat. Just want to check if anyone of you who has recently conceived from IVF, has any injection needles left over. Based on my own counting, I am only about 2-3 needles short and it will be a waste of money to buy a new whole packet of needles.

Anyone can help?

Hi Dawn how much u selling ur Medela Swing? I will also check with the service centre how much they charge to rent for a few months.

Hi Michelletan, I will check with moms-in-minds. How much did u pay for ur Amenda Dual pump?

Thanks for all ur help ladies.

ping, i have 5 more injection needles, can give u. was wondering whether to throw away last time, lucky decided to juz keep it in the fridge...
just nice for you.....

i also have Utrogestan (2 boxes) and duphaston tablets (20) ...anybody who needs it, let me know...

nicole, m selling $180 on the WTS thread currently... will PM u..

Thanks Dawn I got ur PM. I will think about it ya. thanks again.

I had unlimited needeles from SGH. I was using the injection needles. Same or not? But I return everything to them when I went for my ET. KK need to pay huh?

Kind of silly rite??? without the needles how are u suppose to inject?? Strange how they make $$ pay for things that shld come along with the medication. But Im sure its not too ex rite?

Ping, hope to see u here ya soon! Jia Yoh!!

FREE "Shower Gift Pack" worth over $100
Gifts for Baby :
1) Similac Follow-On $3 off voucher
2) Similac Follow-On 400gm
3) Similac Milk Warmer Bag
4) Similac 100% Cotton T-shirt
5) Hwa Xia Baby Swimming/Massage Voucher
6) Hwa Xia Half-Price Bean Pillow Voucher
7) Mustela Physiobebe Non-rinse Cleanser
8) Mustela Vitamin Barrier Cream

Gifts for Mummy :
1) Similac Mum $5 off voucher
2) California Fitness Membership Card for 3 Free Sessions
3) Mustela Post-Partum Restructuring Gel

heee hee..........pl sign up here:
http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/mumcentre/new_mom_sign_up.asp

Hi michelle,
glad to hear from u again. How's your baby doing?
Think i have the same problem with the uploading of photo. anybody can advise?
Re breastfeeding...
i feel so lousy after reading all your posts. It seems like all of you worked so hard to breastfeed. I gave up breastfeeding after 3 weeks as my milk supply was extremely low. I tried Avent manual pump but usually get only about 40 to 60 ml from both. I gave up eventually..
My boy was hospitalised for UTI twice.Once after his 1st month and one after his third month. Poor boy had suffered so much with all the tests and intibiotic jabs.
All these could have been prevented if i insisted in breastfeeding.
Anybody can advise if i can carry on breastfeeding?I could still see drops of milk when i squeeze.

Pls pls advise

dodo, hihi...yes still on NPL..going back to work soon in oct...*sigh* dun think will be able to log on once i start work. how did u feel when u first went back to work after ur leave? tks for ur help on the chinese medicine on the other thread...maybe i will try next time when they going to start to cough....now their cough is full blown...v serious, better take the angmo medicine.

nicole, maybe they will have some other better deals/promotions for 2009 babies!

emma...haahaa...mummies must help one another. not easy bringing up kids nowadays...very ex!

needlephobia, u dun accept PM?

I am tested positive for pregnancy yesterday. My stomach is very bloated. Cant even stand up straight after lunch and get worst at night. Any1 can share their experience?

When will the bloatedness subside? I think i need to get some maternity pants cos my pants are getting so tight and some cant even fit. Pple in office have been speculating if i am pregnant but i dun intend to tell them so fast as i am only 4 weeks in pregnancy and its still not stable. Will be going for the first scan in 2 weeks time. Worried if i can see the sac...

Hi Merleena,
Going for first scan on 19 Aug (Tues)? So you still dun know how many are u pregnant with lor?

Hi Miss Hae,
So good to hear that all your triplets are doing well....you first trimester going to end soon! Good for you!

hi bebecraze,
according to my beta reading, i'm carrying multiples. i put in only 2 embryos so high chances its twins. the scan on Tues will confirm that reading. at the moment, i'm content with the idea of twins. i think the scan will help to rest the mind right? plus, it will support the high beta reading i got. so yeah, can't wait for the scan on Tuesday..

Like similarly in your case, did the nurse tell you how many u expecting? By your blood test result? They will just give you an assumption, they don't exactly confirm right? so the scan in 2 weeks will help to reassure your pregnancy lah..

hi bebecraze08, welcome! n CONGRATS!!!!
the bloatedness will go away in 1 to 2 weeks time bah...it is due to the high level of the hormones in ur body..try drinking lots of water.
my first IVF my waistline also increased 5 inches within 4 days, looking 4or 5 months preggy. luckily i was on leave, otherwise how to explain to colleagues why i suddenly look so pregnant? hee hee....it subsided after a few days

Petals, Weiwei, Deasy, Dawn , Michelle, Nano

Hi! how you gals doing? it's a while since I've been MIA... Seiously, I'm not having any easy life with my 2 gals...

My gals discharged after 3 weeks in SCN but between den and now, they have been in and out of hospital 2 times... it was really very tiring taking care of them... there's nothing much we could do but to monitor them closely in the ward.. Both hubby and myself were techinically hospitalised as well.. To make things worst, both gals are colicky as well... it's really painful to see them suffering so much as such a tender age...

Both gals landed up in hospital was due to some irresponsible acts of my 2nd Confinement lady. Since delivery, I have not had a chance to sleep for more den 3 hours a day.. I was totally exhausted.. imagine during confinement I have to wash my own clothes, my babies' and hubby's clothes. Not to mention, I have to wash and sterlise all the milk bottle when hubby is at work.. I've even got to go marketing on my own just bcos the CL refused to go... Imagine I have to pull a trolley loaded of heavy stuff while my wound is still healing? Some occasions I excerted too much force that I bleed quite a bit.... I've been in contact with cold water most of the time.. Doing the laundry and washing gave me insufficient time with the babies during the day.. At nite, I have to take care one of the babies while the CL handle the other..

MIL and my mum didn't bother to help in any way... totally left alone to deal with my new life... Both just told me to leave everything to the CL, which I have no choice becos I'm really too exhausted to work round the clock.. Which eventually resulted my gals to be ill.

Of course all this episodes have ended me up in post natal depression... honestly,,, I totally avoided my babies for the past few days... I couldn't bring myself to see them... even the loudest cry have not weaken my heart... I'm not cut off to be their mum...so I think it's better I stay away from them...

Hi Merleena,
Dun know leh nurse say cant tell how many from the hcg level. But i suspect singleton lor cos my hcg level is only 760+. So i think chance of multiples not high right? But i do wish it will be a twin cos its not easy to get pregnant. Who knoes when will i get pregnant again wo.

Hi Dawn,
I hope it will go away soon but the nurse told me to expect more bloating as the baby will release more hormones.....so she say that continue bloating is good. But its so suffering and i have to bend myself a little forward to walk as the stomache is tight. Walking like an old lady. Dare not go back to my mums place for dinner as they will definitely see the bloat. My stomache looks more like 4 months pregnant than 4 weeks pregnant. Cos dun wana to tell them that i went for IVF cos dun wana my busy body relatives to know.

congrats bebecraze08! don't worry. your bloatedness will surely go down soon.

merlenna, do update us on your scan ya!

sorry but i can't post the 4d scan picture here. kena warning by my mum not to put it up. don't know why but i better listen lor.

i am breezing through right now. i will only see my gynae next month for the scan with him and also the fetal anomaly scan. can't wait for both and i miss them already.
i hope to gain more weight in the next few weeks b4 i see my gynae.

needle..

nice to hear from u again.. but..hmm...what's UTI huh..? sorry for my ignorance.

tigger..

how come ur CL is so irresponsible? isn't she supposed to look after both ur babies?

have u tried telling ur mum ur problem..? how abt ur hubby..? feel very heartpain for u..
pls try to relax , dun stress urself out ya!!

hmmm...just some update on myeslf..i'm currently on leave already..waiting for the big day to come

oh dear mrs teng, how can the confinement lady not wash your clothes? n isn't sterilizing the bottles their job too? then what is her job scope ? u really have suffered! i can imagine how terrible n overwhelmed i would have felt without all the help given in the 1st 2 months.

Can ask your mum or mil to come n help ? think u really need some time off from the kids. do take care n come into the thread more often to vent, it helps. after the kids r 4 months , i feel that life is slightly better, wun feel so overwhelmed n tired. do hold on.

Mrs Teng, u shld tell ur CF lady off.. Y are u paying her when u doing most of the work on ur own. Dont be too hard on urself ya, ur babies know ur tired. Just take one day at a time. Mayb u shld tell ur mum ur troubles. Im sure she will be able to help u out.
Big Hugs to u ya.

Dawn, yuppers hopefully.

Hopes, when ur EDD? Dont 4get to post ur baby pic up ya.

BebeCraze, Congrats! Dont worry the bloatedness will sure go down. I went thru it. It went down within 2 weeks or so... I bought maternity clothes to use but after a month, I can use my old clothes... But maternity more comfy as Im carrying Twins. Plus Im not slim slim b4 I was preggy. hehehehe.

mrs teng

OMG!! u've suffered a lot a lot.... hugz**

hav u told ur hubby ,ur mum or ur mil about e CL prob? if both grandmas dun want to help, at least u can ask hubby to take a few days leave to ease ur stress n help u solve CL prob but not letting u suffer alone. hav u feedback to e agency about her attitude? should at least wash clothes n sterilize bottles for u. cant u request e agency to change another one for u? or just fire her n get a new one? u r more stress with her presence! re food, talk to ur mum n mil, see they can help to cook for u or not. maybe they r not aware of ur difficulties? if sadly to say, no one s helping, then just order confinment food tat will deliver to ur doorside. pls take care of urself, ur gals still need u to encourage them to grow stronger.

and yes, do come in here n vent out all ur unhappiness n frustration, we ivf mummies r for each other. if u need any help, can email me: [email protected]

hi, need some advice.

what are the things that i should prepare for the triplets? i want to get my list ready and go for a see-see-look-look first before i really go ahead and buy them.

weiwei and other triplets mummies, do appreciate your thoughts!

Hi Merlenna
Update us on your 1st scan tmrw.

Congrats Bebecraze08!

Hi Miss Hae
Still not putting on weight now that you are 3 mths plus? Now that you are in ur 2nd trimester,how often do you need to go back n see your doc again?

emma,
i'm not sure yet. i haven't weigh myself since i last went for my scan. i'm 13weeks today. i'm seeing my gynae again next month, which will be 4weeks since the last visit. next month,i'll be meeting him to find out the report of the nt scan(which i know already, all are normal) and the growth of the babies. at the end of sept, i'll be going for a fetal anomaly scan to check on each one of them. can't wait! my appetite is still so-so but it's ok lah as i don't want to gain weight too fast.

Aiyo, after the happiness (knowing that I am pregnant).....now i start to worry if i will be able to see the sac in 2 weeks time. So scary. Every step in pregnancy is just so scary!!

Needle, sorry to hear about the UTI. It is surely not your fault so dun blame yourself on not providing BM! Much research has gone into FM so it is good too! I am a pro BF person, but to tell you honestly, I too have minimum supply, about 80ml per pump session only (not enough for my baby drinking 100ml now) but I give as much as i can in a day and supplement with FM (nite feeds). Even if i have only 20ml, i know my boy is getting something good from me. If you want to resume BF, i suppose a good way to start is to latch your son on and try if it starts to regulate and then pump 2hrly/3hrly. Hope you succeed, but even if you decided not to BF, it is perfectly fine! Take care.

Oh dear, Tigger, I am so angry after reading your post! how can your CL be so irresponsible!! You need to rest a lot and not do so many things. How about your maid, you got a maid rite? leave the marketing to her... anyway, CL do not need to be around only for the 1st month, you should get another one now for a month so you can resume your proper rest, and at the same time your gals get good care. I think you can also call the KKH Home confinement service. you need to relax and start to feel happy again! My CL just left on Sun and already I am feeling the stress of having to do everything myself (bathing and all). Imagine you had twins and a C-sect wound to nurse! Come in here to vent if you cannot find support else where. Hope you remain strong cos that's what we mummies are for the sake of your precious little gals... Stay posted...

michelle, i was like u....low supply but i keep pumping. but now looking back, i realised i should have latch more instead of pumping, it will have induce more milk, so sharing with mtbs, latch and latch n latch!!!!!!!! i guess i was insecure, not knowing how much they drink when the latch n usu juz pump so that i can see how much milk.
haha...dun make same mistake

nicole..

my EDD is end of this mth.. but i took advance leave to rest first.. dun want my waterbag to break in the office..hehe...

needle.

urs is boy or girl..? sorry i've forgotten.. but from what i recall ..should be boy right..?
boy also will get UTI?

tigger..

yah..think u should fire ur CL.. or tell her off.. dun suffer in silence ya!!

btw ladies..

the new baby incentives seems damn good.. 4 mths maternity leave.. better baby bonus.. even subisdy for IVF..hehe.. hope i can qualify for it.. dunno when it will take effect leh..biting my fingers now.. haha..

Hi Mrs Teng,

So sad to hear what you have been going through during your confinement period. You should be resting and at most taking care of babies and the rest should be left to be done by extra hands. Since your mum and mil is not helping you out maybe try to get friends or part-time maid to help out, any extra hand at this moment is defintely crucial.

I can know how difficult it is if your babies are colicky. One of my twin boy was colicky since the 1st month and lasted until he is 4 mth old, luckily my girl is not. I have the most terrible evening during these month, my boy would screamed and cried non-stop for 3 hours and that would irritate my girl and eventually both of them would cried. Did you give them "Infalco"? My doc always advise try not to give "Infalco" unless necessary but i just can't bear to see him suffered and i gave it to him only once most of the evening when the colic hits him and he will stop crying almost immediately. How old are your twins now? Hang in there and definitely things will turn better once they hit 4 mth, they will be more manageable but you still need an extra pair of hands to help you out, it is not possible to handle twins on your own.....

Take care and may God gives you comfort and strength to go through this period of time.

Dawn, I made the same mistake!! first few days cos baby sleepy so latch on and he will fall asleep. I was so worried he does not have enough to drink so I pumped out for him.. then it started to bother me about the qty of this milk per feed so i keep pumping so i can monitor the amount instead of latching him (and then worry he does not have enough bcos i can only pump this much). I am beginning to latch him again for day time and pump early in morning and nite. Hope my supply will keep increasing! so MTBs, dun make the same mistake.. never worry about latched on babies not having enough bcos there is always enough milk! and i also learnt that baby suction is much stronger and efficient then any pump you can buy so I echo Dawn: LATCH and Latch and latch!

Hi Hopes, so nice u will u ur baby soon.... I think details will be released within this week. thats what the today paper said!! What is sad is the IVF treatments. we paid already so cannot claim la but happy for the rest of the mummies la.. This would help those who want kids n cost is too high!! About time they helped us!!!!! I was hping for them to provide free Education and Health Support till children are 12yrs old!! Its only rite they look after there citizens welfare.. Anyways am happy with what is given so far but Paternity leave didnt happen

Thanks for the tips Dawn & michelletan. I will latch latch latch!! Will sure feel like a cow man!! hehehehe
Im so excited and worried at the same time but its only natural rite to feel this way! hehehehe

Hopes, its your turn soon!!i forgot urs boy or gal? keep us posted on your labour story. meanwhile, enjoy ur baby kicking u cos that's wat i miss now!! think u will qualify for 4 mths maternity leave?

re baby bonus
I HOPE THEY BACK DATE FOR MY BABY BONUS - I JUS SUBMITTED THE FORM!! hee hee....

Hi ladies! Long time no write...so many new MTBs! Congrats all who just turned MTBs!!

bebecraze,
Congrats on your BFP!! You can try getting those yoga pants with waistband that folds down under your belly. Very comfy and were my faves...lasted me thruout my pregnancy. There are cheap yoga pants at carrefour abt $20, but i wasn't that slim so I bought a few pairs from Spring Mat that had larger sizes. They have it either long or 3/4 pants...think around $45-$60, can't remember. The Spring ones are made of quite gd stretchy fabric so it doesn't look like sprortswear so u can prob wear it to work...also doesn't really look like maternity pants so can wear after give birth. I prefer these compared to those maternity pants with the extra cloth over belly and adjustable elastic band, which I find doesn't help as the pants keeps sliding down my belly as I walk. :p Abt ur bloatedness, just let ur doc know if it gets too unbearable. You can try taking more egg whites and drink more water to reduce it. Shld subside in a few wks.

merlenna,
congrats to u too! Must be excited abt ur first scan today...
I remember how happy I was when I saw the hearbeats at wk6...made my pregnancy seem more real at that point. Oh, the bhcg results can't show if u r carrying multiples as the range is v wide.

tigger,
oh dear, sorry to hear u r going thru so much! With twins, u really need gd support. Your CL sound terrible n heartless. How can make u go mktg n carry heavy stuff! I had a lot of help n i still felt overwhelmed at times in the 1st 2 mths. You need some time off, even one hr away fr bbs, will make a diff. Can get ur mum to come by to help for a few hrs? Must tell ur hubby, don't go thru this alone...hugz...

hopes,
haha, u shld hold on until they confirm the maternity leave then give birth! :D Jiayou...u'll see ur bb soon! Still remember when we were cycling together...v happy we succeeded

michelle, dawn,
ya, me too...started pumping cos bbs too small to latch on n were bottlefed in hospital. After that, didn't reaaly latch them on much. Now milk supply dropping...But i still latch them on to help clear my blocked ducts...v effective... :p

had my first scan today. i was nervous as i was preparing for it. i had some bleeding last night. and that was the reason for my nervousness. anyway, two sacs were detected. both with fetus in them. however, only one fetus has a detectable heartbeat. i was speechless when i saw how fast the little one's heart was beating. and then, looking on the other side, there was no similar movement coming from that baby. i was stumped. i was hoping that both babies be ok but at the moment, only one heartbeat was detected.

my doc wasn't too reassured that the baby without the heartbeat will continue to survive. she said, if i continued bleeding, its a failing pregnancy and i could miscarry that one. but at the moment, i am told to concentrate on taking care of the baby whose heartbeat is strong.

i'm very torn at the moment. must keep thinking positively but at the same time, i'm sad knowing that one may not survive. i'm keeping my hopes up, my fingers crossed that by my next scan in two weeks, that there is a heartbeat in the second twin. at the moment, i'm praying no more bleeding. and of coz, keep myself at rest as much as i can.

wish me luck, ppl!

Hi Merlena, pls be positive oks, keep eating well and resting. dont worry ya, some ppl dont detect heartbeat until 8 weeks so mayb ur other twin is still growing and will beat like beats of drums for u n doc to see in the next scan..

hi Nicole..

yes.. really can't wait to see my baby..but at the same time.. hope that he comes out just in time for the new incentives..hehe

i've got no more frozen embies.. so if next time i wanna try..i might need to go thru the whole cycle again.. so the IVF subsidy might benefit me too... hehe.. so happy..!! actually they should have done that long ago lor..

Michelle..

mine's a boy..
i heard from my friend they will usually backdate it to national day for the baby bonus scheme.. dunno whether true or not.. let's keep our fingers crossed..

Petals..

yah ..i will try to hold on as far as possible.. one more mth of leave.. really means alot to me leh..hehe..

really..we've been thru so much to reach this stage.. but at least there is a light at the end of the tunnel for us.. i'm really very thankful

Hi Merleena,
Dun panic. So are you on MC now? Better to rest in bed to ensure highest chance of success for the other baby. I'll pray for you.

merlenna..

i was in a similar situation as u too.. was initially diagnose with twins but one of the fetus ended up not developing well and just disappeared ..

i was quite disappointed then.. coz i wanted twins quite badly.. and i miscarried both my twins at last time .. and i was so worried that it might happen again..

but luckily.. i still managed to keep one this time round.. and for singletons.. they really gained weight fast..
at least it's a consolation for me. one healthy one is better than none..and u can always try again for another one next time..

stay calm and take care of urself at this point of time ya..! u'll never know..the weaker one might just make it!!

merlenna,
i have the same situation too as you have read in my previous thread. at first got triplets then downgrade to twins. also accompanied with bleeding.

just take very good care of yourself and bedrest as much as possible now. i will pray for you and your babies too.