IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

btw bodhi, i just went to but a few pieces of girdle to help me get back to shape! i wasn't vey diligent at binding my tummy area during confinement... only do it if i remember. ai yo... think i must be more disciplined at doing it now!

btw, my twins are 9 weeks+ already and doing fine. how time flies and i will be going back to work after CNY! just 2 more weeks to go...

dodo,

I stop bf after 3 weeks due to medical conditions. You have to be very strict to your diet while you are bf especially when you get back to work. What you eat, will be wat your bb(s) will be eating. Therefore be mindful on your choice of food.

I guess looking after 2 require alot of your energy. I think is due to the hormone that demand more food but i took alot of meat and drink alot of soup that actually help to decrease the "hunger feeling". I describe it as a "feeling" because i dun think we are actually hungry we just feel "empty" inside. The body try to replace it with food!

wah..9 weeks. That's fast. Are you trying for another round of Twins :)

Dodo, Dawn,
Can I check with you...Did you buy newborn-sized clothes for ur twins when u gave birth? Or shld we buy S-size (0-3mths) instead? Cos i'm wondering how long the NB-size will be useful. Any suggestions?

bodhi, i guess it is easier for you cos you stop bf... ;) ya, i am very mindful of what i eat and am trying to eat as healthy as possible. i guess the best i can do is to try to reduce carbo lor... i cannot cut out completely due to bf la. haha.. wa, another round of twins would really really be a handful!! well, see how's things... keke...

petals,
are you having twins as well? if yes, NB-size would be useful cos twins tend to be smaller than singletons. for my twins, the girl was 2.2kg and the boy 2.8kg.

but dun buy too many, just a few will do. buy more S-size cos they grow very fast and will outgrow their clothes before you know it!!

Petals,
like what dodo says, need to buy NB size clothes cos twins tend to be smaller. mine 2.65kg and 2.27kg some of the NB clothes still too big for them these 2 weeks. the mittens and booties also keep falling off as their hands and feet r too small. think have to wait 1 more week when their weight catch up, then will be fine. but those cheap 6 for $10 NB clothings, cos they easily dirty their clothes. plus they r usually swaddled up, so i realise those nice clothes i buy also cannot see , haha!

bodhi and dodo...u all trying for 2nd one/twins so fast? ;) i think i have enuff for now....was telling my hubby we will keep my left over 9 emybryo for one year to see of we want anymore.

Stacy, u still SAHM? ;) how's ur boy doing?

Dodo, Dawn,
Thanks for the comments...there's nothing better than getting advice from experienced mummies like u...cos to me, everything looks so nice, but dunno which size to get. Moreover, prob won't bring babies out much in 1st couple of mths, so maybe will stick to basic pieces in NB size first. Can buy the bigger ones slowly. Where to find the 6 for $10 clothes? Even the basic white pieces in kiddy palace not cheap.

petals, i know many gals go to one shop near the Si Ma Lu Guan Yin Temple to buy. I am lucky, i have one shop near my flat (Kovan) that sells these babies clothing at 6 for $10.

dawn,

I am still nursing my back if too soon my back is going to break!

Petals - You can get 10 for 6 at almost all heartlands. Toa Payoh, Tampines, Ang Mo Kio...almost all market you can see the shops selling. I think you dont have to buy large quantities. I suggest you get more mittens, if you dare not to cut the nails for your newborn so soon.

I also wish to suggest you to get Swaddle. I feel is very useful for newborn. They can sleep very comfortably with the wrap. I think is selling S$20+ at departmental store.

petals,
for mittens, you can get the trolly joy brand. i think it is more fitting at the wrist so will not drop so easily.

btw, I second Bodhi's recommendation to get Swaddle. It is very useful, esp when you need to bring them out. It keeps them snug and warm.

hi, i m back!!

had c-section on 28/01 n i would say dr loh s really fast. he just came in n saY hi then chit chat with me for a while but dun knw doing what, e next moment i heard my babies crying already.
babies were much better than we expected. 1st boy 2040g, came out only can bottle feed already. 2nd one s e gal, 1050g, smallest but able to breathe on her own although we thought she might hav prob coz of e lung mass. and she was e only one open her eyes big big when pushing out to nicu. 3rd s boy again, 2060g, same as korkor, v hungery n bottle fed once was born.
wil post their pics once sort out. boys wil stay in scn for a few days more coz need to gain more weight n also to make sure they dun develop jaundice during these days. galgal need to stay in nicu for at least a mth coz too small.

cant bf them as they r nt with me. only able to pump out whatever i hav n then bottle feed them. supply nt much but in a increasing trend, so i wil cont to do it although it's extremely painful.

WeiWei,
Good to hear tat yr babies are doing very well than expected..this must be the most special new yr for u. Can't wait to see their photos!
Take care in the meantime.

Petals,
Do u intend to get the SwaddleMe? Me thinking too..if u have cheap lobang let me know k? I heard some pple just buy those white nappy cloth to wrap the babies.

congrats weiwei!!!! was waiting to hear ur good news! yah, dr loh is very fast when delivering hor? really peifu him. happy to hear that ur kids are doing well, u rest more since they not back yet, so that ur wound will heal faster.

cant wait to see their fotos! ;)

Weiwei,
congrats!! Glad to hear everything went well. Rest more during these few days, and update us when u r free. Or maybe u not free from now on liao....

Nano,
Saw one of the BP thread selling it at $25, but not sure if robinson/jl sale will have it and at what price. But must also see which size to get. Think using nappy will be diff to wrap and may keep coming out when babies move?

Petals,

Wait 4 the 20% discount at department stores sales. Swaddle products are control price products. The price will not go any further down. I waited 4 half a year during my time to see whether the retail price will change. It has not!

Swaddle Premie Size is for pre-mature bb. I bought a M for my son. After 1 month, too tight 4 him liao and i bought another Large size.

Dont use nappy cloth to wrap lah...will not snug very well and not neat.

weiwei,
congrats! so happy for you that everything went well... ;)

meanwhile, take good care of yourself and rest more. once your babies are back with you at home, you will be super busy!!

Bodhi,
For the SwaddleMe, did u use M size for yr newborn son at tat time?..or when he is bigger? cos thinking how come so fast outgrown...thinking which size shd i buy then...

Also, how many shd we buy?

Petals,
Think i will likely buy SwaddleMe, seems very useful..will chk out the pr at dept store.

Bodhi,
Thanks...wah, outgrow in 1 mth...hee, then have to keep buying all the sizes?

Nano,
Think I'll buy later...must see babies' weight first. Let me know if u find out the px at dept store. If have 20% off, will be cheaper like what bodhi says. Did you go for any consultn recently? What is ur baby's weight now?

Congrats WeiWei
Glad to know everything goes on well and smooth. You must be busy pumping milk and sending to hospital for bb's feeding.
1234902.gif
REmember to wear more clothing when you go to visit your bbs. I know it is not easy .... think your bbs will be back home soon
Do you manage to get downgrade?

Nano,

I bought a M for my son. He was 3.8kg at birth and he is quite long. Hence, after 1 month, one side of the velco cannot reached the other side well.

If finance allow, i suggest you buy 2 because if the bb urine on it, you have to wash it liao. I wrapped my newborn almost every day and night and he slept very well (bb no scare!). You can free up his hand when the bb is about 3 weeks or so.

Bodhi,
Thks for the info. Wow..yr son 3.8kg at birth, quite big hor, must be a strong baby.

Petals,
Will let u know if i chked the price. Have u go for yr glucose test? How is it? Mine is 800gm when i chked on 24th wk. Wat abt yrs?

wei wei..

Congrats!! Sorry for being so late...hehe..

You babies arrived in time for CNY...so nice!!

Congrats again, looking forward to see their beautiful pics!!

I am new to this and I am hope to get some advice.
This is my 2nd try.I went for FET on 10th Jan.And till date Doc can only see 2 sacs.Can any1 tell me when am I able to see the bb or hear the heart beat?I am really worried cos the 1st try only can see the sac but not the bb and had to do a D&C.On 2nd Feb had some light brown discharge and went to a doc.She says it's alright as long as it is not bright red.
By the way,my IVF was done in Thailand,BKK as I am staying there now.(Husband working there)

i recovered quite well after e c-section. wound s healing with mild pain only. my milk supply has gone up n it almost can reach my 2 sons' requirement. and i m v active during this wk, walk up n down in e house, all my visitors said i dun look like one doing confinement. heehee...

my elder son came home yesterday.
i started him on BF last night. it was a super tiring night for both baby n myself. we r all adjusting n trying to accept e new life. he s still not use to BF n i can hear his stomach singing even after feeding. no choice had to feed him more frequent n luckily he manage to suck better this morning. phew...... my younger son s coming back tmr, wil b another challenge for me n my mummy to look after 2 babies at same time. some time later, we wil hav to learn to take care 3 babies at one go once my little gal come home. actually not so bad, at least i can adapt to e new life step by step. cant imagine if all 3 of them come home together........

stacy

we only managed to downgrade e babies to B2 but not C. we tried to appeal but still not approved as they kept on saying we already covered by ivf insurrance. we r getting medical social worker's help n again she wil only b able help us after CNY.
seems we cant downgrade further...

would like to seek some advice from you. Does anyone also have dry skin during pregnancy?
Are you using any brand of Moisturizer that is safe for pregnancy?

Hi AhGirl,
On FET day, u r counted as 2wks already. Usually around wk6/7 (ie. 4/5 wks aft ur FET), u shld be able to see their heartbeats. Do let ur gynae know if u have any spotting, maybe he can give u some meds to help. Rest well. All the best!

Weiwei,
Glad to hear from u...u sound like u r coping well. Now u have time to slowly adjust to babies one by one... Wondering...is it difficult to breastfeed? Does ur baby automatically know how to suckle?

Nano,
Yours is 800g...wow, quite big. Mine are approx 600-650g at 24wk. Not too sure as they don't calc for us at ADC, so i used some online calculator to calc. Going for my test this wk.

Petals,
Oh..din know there is online calculator for wt. Can let me know which website? Yr babies wt gain is very gd. Actually u can ask Dr Loh to chk the wt for you. I was told mine is avg size but when i chked the babyctr website it shows 600gms is the avg wt leh.

Do u find yr tummy getting heavier? Starting fr 2 days ago, suddenly i feel tat my tummy getting heavier, when i walk too long not so comfortable. Before tat i dun feel the wt even when i walk long...think can't shop too long leow.

All the best for yr test tis wk!

Rabbit,
My skin is also abit dry...these few days getting itchy again. Maybe u can try QV skin lotion, it is quite mild, even suitable for infants.

Petals,
Oh..din know there is online calculator for wt. Can let me know which website? Yr babies wt gain is very gd. Actually u can ask Dr Loh to chk the wt for you. I was told mine is avg size but when i chked the babyctr website it shows 600gms is the avg wt leh.

Do u find yr tummy getting heavier? Starting fr 2 days ago, suddenly i feel tat my tummy getting heavier, when i walk too long not so comfortable. Before tat i dun feel the wt even when i walk long...think can't shop too long leow.

All the best for yr test tis wk!

Rabbit,
My skin is also abit dry...these few days getting itchy again. Maybe u can try QV skin lotion, it is quite mild, even suitable for infants.

petals

it's difficult for me to BF my babies as they were bottle fed during their hospital stay. it's easier for babies to suck frm bottle then mummy's breast. babies knw how to suck since they r born. it's just BF hav to suck harder n more tiring for babies. i wil BF my son 1st followed by bottle feed him EBM. dun want to force him to adapt to BF so fast as he s premature n getting enough milk s more important than anyth.

Nano,
Thanks. Could only find one website that used difft formulae, depending on how many measurements (betw 2-4) u enter. You can try it.
http://www.gestation.net/efw/efw_object.htm

My tummy was heavy quite a while back already...now even more so. :p Feel tired after walking 15min then need to sit for a while. I think becos our babies now undergoing growth spurt so getting heavier quickly.

weiwei,
Oh i see, at least ur boy can do both BF and EBM n doesn't reject one. Musy be a nice feeling to finally hold them in ur arms after waiting 9mths.

Hi sistas,
Happy New Year to everyone!! Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Dawn,
Yeah, both clips very touching... How r u doing? So this CNY you'll be confined at home?

hi Ladies..

I'm down with a flu..

anyone can advise what kind of flu medication is safe for pregnant ladies to consume?

Hi Hopes,
Hmm, can go see a GP and let them know u r preggy. They will know what to give u for flu. Last time, I actually emailed dr loh to check with him if the meds were suitable b4 taking. Hope u get better soon. Drink lots of water too.

happy chinese new year mommies and mommies to be.....

feeling energized today, so posting my twins to greet all of you a happy chinese new year.

\image {my twins.jpg}

c-section was done last sunday, feb 3, so fast, came home at feb 6, both babies came back together with me. baby boy on the left side is big bro, 3,145kg and baby girl on the right side is mei-mei, 2,085kg.

i was admitted into ICU for 2nites because i was having symptoms like epilepsy. i scared a lot of people at tht time, even my gynae was in shock, hihihi... i myself also shocked to find out why i woke up in different room i entered before. thank God nothings wrong, if not mistaken i was calcium deficiency condition and probably the epidural was too strong for me.

weiwei,
cant wait to see your triplets.

hopes,
drink more water, consume oranges and fruits. dont eat counter medicine, babies are precious, if you really cant stand, better go to doctor. if you go to GP, let him/her know tht you're pregnant, or better if you go to gynae.

Deasy,
Congrats! But cannot view the pics leh..

Petals,
Metro having 20% for SwaddleMe. Not sure whether u interested. I bought mine.

Nano,
Thx, think will wait cos i don't know what size to buy. Which did u buy, S or M?

Deasy,
Congrats! Take care and let us know how it goes...so ur babies are born in the yr of the Pig. Think u didn't complete uploading ur picture. Can't see it.

Deasy,
Congratulations!
Your babies are of good weight,yah?

Pls try posting bbs pics again.... am super curious!

Petals,
From the package, it states tat there are only 3 sizes; preemie, small or large size. I bought S size. I also bought the cloth napkins as an alternative.

Nano,
ok, i thot got M size? I saw KK selling at full price $29.50 but didn't see the sizes. How's ur tummy? Mine a little uncomfortable these 2 days esp when i lie down and try to change sides... think it's the ligaments stretching at the sides, tummy feels heavy too. but babies kicking harder...so cute.

Petals,
Funny leh..mine no M size. I bought the same one tat they sold in the bulk purchase(kiddopotamus brand)...saw the bulk purchase also no M size leh. S size is 3.17 till 6.35kg, afterwhich L size is 6.8 to 9.98kg. Anyway, paid $23.60 after disc. Only Metro n OG got disc, Robinson n taka dun have.

My tummy feels ok, the discomfort seems to goes away these few days. But i will still wake up a few times at nite either to pee or chg side. Hee..yr two babies must be busy stretching themselves. Have u went for yr glucose test?..how is it?

finally can post, stupid me mistaken the instruction, hehehe... korkor on the left side, meimei on the right side. if not mistaken, tht was taken on the first day after the nurse cleaned the babies.

this morning when korkor was having tan, he could turn his body by himself oredi, we're all so amazed. God really so good to us. Meimei is now upgrading her meal size and time, hunger so fast, thanks God her appetite is really helping her building up.

Deasy,
So sweet ur babies!! Ur boy really boyish looking and ur girl so feminine... hee...

Nano,
Oh i c, maybe the stores have diff sale periods that's why not every one is 20% off. Now, I'll just call the stores to check if their nursery section is having sale before i go down, else waste my trip cos i get tired more easily. My test result borderline, but need to see dr during next appmt to see what he says. Hopefully it's not serious and I don't need to make much changes to my existing routine.