IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Despondent,

now I m at the honeymoon stage so better pack as much as I can. I just sort out bb clothes and things I need for confinement just in case I deliver before I move house.

Also thinking of the layout for my kitchen. What to put in the cabinet so that my maid can do the unpacking. By then I will be to tired to do so.

Nctgrace,

my MS ease from 12 weeks onwards but I did vomit a few times after that. Now it has stopped. I do feel nauseous once in a while if I m on my feet for too long.

Hope u feel better soon.

Ntcgrace, when was ur last visit to dr loh? Some pregnant ladies experience MS m motion sickness through out their pregnancy.. No choice. It does not mean after 1st trimester it will go away. That is why some find it tough to work n quit their jobs. Can possibily to be on HL or MC throughout 40 wks. Where got so many leave right?

There is really nothing much for the doc to fo other than give u mc n rest at home

nctgrace,
bb more important than office. ur health more important than office.
i used to be a workaholic, then it changed when i was pregs & after bb born.

singapoh,
i also got turned off by oily food during preggie, until my last few weeks. i finally felt well & brave enuff to binge on hawker food the nite before popping!

singapoh, hazel, juju,

my last visit to Dr Loh is on 10/02/10. Next appt 24/03/10. Have email him with regd to my condition and requesting for letter to apply unpay leave, if nec. Unless he gg to give me MC/HL. I thought MS shld have ended but dunno why keep feeling giddy and bad motion sickness that made me feel so sick. And lastly i can walk much also, if not i will be panting like hell.

nctgrace,
jus call tps appt hotline & bring fwd ur appt.
when u see him, ask him for mc/hl, unless u prefer to take unpaid leave. then ask him to give u letter.
dun tahan!

Nctgrace,

are u taking any med for MS? eat more carbo food. I read it can ease MS.

My SIL too had MS till she delivered. Eating bread make her feel better. Now her son loves breads.

Nctgrace, once a while I will still feel giddy and vomit after a car ride. I was at my hubby's function 2 days ago, and coz it was v lousy and a bit stuff (too many people ard), I felt giddy and vomitted...had to rest in his office for an hr before I felt better....

Hazel, u gog for ur check up at camden this Friday? Are you excited that you may know the gender of ur baby then?

Singapoh, u r making me feel guilty of being a glutton...I've bought famous amos cookies yesterday...yummy...

Yumyum, y were u staying in KKH? Feeling beter now?

juju,

If he dun response i will call TPS for an early appt becos i juz came back from 2days MC.

Singapoh,

I felt worse after taking Obimin & Natal Care Plus (Multivit) thus i stoppeed the med myself. But I have no appetite for carbo food.

Soon-to-be, my situation is even taking 10 min bus ride also make my head spinning.

nctgrace, I'm 19weeks tomorrow, and I'm still having ms on off. Still vomit few time a week and nausous either when I'm too full or hungry. I've only gain about 1 to 1.5kg so far, but tummy is getting bigger. Like someone mention, some women have ms throughout their pregnancy though most will end around 13 weeks. Dun worry, it will be ok

Soon-to-be, actually I dun hv much emotions now. Too tired n no energy.. Hv been down with flu since last wk.. N one night dunno wake up how many times to pee...

Not necessary can tell bb sex at 14wks..

Ntcgrace, u know bb's sex last visit at dr loh when u r 14wks?

berrybaby,

i also hope that all this MS will ease soonest possible. Making me very sick & frustrated. Im already Wk 16, hope i will be getting better.

Nctgrace, I m 14 weeks and occasionally will still puke and feel giddy. One major difference ever since I got preg is I feel tired very easily. In the past, I used to take overhead bridge on the way home from work. Now just halfway through the bridge, I will be panting like hell too. I noticed your next appt is about 1mth+ time huh...me too leh! I was scheduled to see Dr. Loh again in 2mths time ever since my 9th week.

yumyum, I'm carrying twins and I already can feel the 'changes' in me so I can imagine and understand how much you went through. U same as me, I also dun really like to use KKH shower and toilet facilities when I was hospitalised twice for OHSS.

Singpoh, I told Dr Loh about my bad MS when I just got preg. He prescribed vitamin B6 to curb my MS, but I think it's not much help to me. I still vomit like nobody's business even till now. Wonder what I am lacking in my body...

Ntcgrace, I m 14 wks. Dunno if can't tell tomorrow though...

If everything is on track, dr loh wun keep seeing us. The next wk will be close to 20 wks when we need to do the golden scan. During tt scan, all the bb's organs will be checked. Once tt is clearerd, bb is usually quite safe Leow..

Hazel,

You so efficient, found name for both gender liao. I will only do all the nec when i cfm the gender, much more easier, cos of my condition really no mood to do anything.

bbhp,

i also same as you, easily get tired, cant walk much if not panting like hell. And the med/multivit that ws prescribed to me make me feel worse. I have stopped taking w/o gynae acknowlesgement. I was schedule such late appt becos i need to do a detailed scan on Wk 20

Nctgrace,

those are not med but vitamins. Take only when u dun feel nauseous anymore. They can make yr MS worse.

Bbhp,

Dr Loh gave me another type of med for my MS. Causes drowsiness so take only b4 zzz. By right to be taken 3 times a day.

Nctgrace, ur bb is doing fine n stable. That is why u only see him at wk 20 coz only then the organs Can be checked. Tt is a compulsory scan.

btw, though I dun hv MS n morning sickness, I do feel tired n I pant easily also.. N I wake up many times a night. My friends told me that is nature way of preparing us for bb's arrival... Life will only get worse when bb arrive..

So u r not alone. Is a tough journey we hv to go through if we want to be parents. In fact, pregnancy is just a start. It will be worse since we r working mtbs. Thus, some took no pay leave in the initial growing up yrs of bb coz they really can't cope,

I think u hv to really change ur outlook n mentailty. It wun help if u keep feeling tt is tough n u can't cope. U need to find a solution. Coz this will drag on till bb is born till bb is a few yrs old. Is not something tt will stop after delivery. When bb is born, u will feel even more shack n tired though MS n motion sickness r gone

Tt is why some said, hv kids earlier when we r younger. Coz we wun hv the stamina when we r older.

I hv back problems. So am prepared for backaches n pains in pregnancy. I can't carry heavy stuff. But, tt does not mean I wun carry bb n when he or she is a toddler next time.

Not pregnant. I can go for massage, I can take any kind of medicine when am sick. Now all I can't. I hv not taken flu tablets though am sick since last wk.. I feel lousy n super tired.. But still, need to get on with work n life.. My dh is more understanding now coz he knows is all for the bb

babyhopepath, anyfood that you can hold in the system? i was lucky about the ms part but it also resulted in alarming weight gain. happy tt you are carrying twins. if you already tire easily,avoid too much walking till week 16. hydrate hydrate... nothing lacking, just lots of hormones in your system that is impt for bbs' growth.

singapoh, i find it tough sleeping on the left side. dr loh repeated himself that i must do so. otherwise i cut off blood circulation to bbs. scare me so much. did you get the pregnancy pillow and is it useful? now i use 6 pillows and 3 small cushions and has made dh sleep on the floor.

hazel, will open the account next time. i took b2 class in case anything happen to bbs, they are subsidised. also it is only for observation. also i like company and b2 class has experienced mummies. all i hve met are having their 2nd child and above. i am already quite lonely at home. a class is the only single bed room with sofa bed.

b2 has no tv, centralised aircon, shower room with hot water. for toilet, if you have malay mummies, take note that they are accustomed to washing so for those who are fussy abt wet toilets, try not to be annoyed. no bath towel or face, toileties or toothbrush, slippers. yes, can borrow hairdryer if you need one.

no tv can be plus point, you get to sleep more. 3 meals a day plus 2 snacks. milo is rather sweet so for diabetic mummies, do take note. nurses are nice and not like my mum's days altogether

soon-to-be, according to doctor's obervation, i had round ligament strain. muscles on the bottom side of the belly. it came with intense pelvic pains so i went to delivery suite to see doc. first time mummy - kanchiong loh :p

Yumyum, ic.. Coz u r having triplets mah.. Wise decision

I will stay in single room since my is a singleton n if everything is fine for delivery. Coz, then dh can keep me company n not restricted by the visiting hrs. He can also stay over

Ntcgrace, my dh works in the east, near home, so morning he sends me to the nearest mrt so tt I dun hv to wal 8mins to get there. In the evening, he knocks off early than me so he will brave the traffic n come to town to pick me. Actually, not very economical considering petrol cost n the numerous erp gantries he will hv to go through.. But no choice...

Hazel,

as u hv not experience MS before, it's easy to say all that la. MS can be worse than taking care of baby by yourself. Can weaken the toughest person.

Juju, u r right. So is a tough journey ahead.. This is just a start.. But we r mothers, the greatest!! We can make it!!

Yumyum,

I m using 2 regular bolsters. I hv seen 1 nursing pillow for twins at Mums & babes. Can be used as pregnancy bolster and bf 1 baby $120+.

I find it impossible to zzz all the way on my left side. I will change to back and right then go bk to my left side. It also depends on my nose blocked.

How many weeks are u now?

singapoh,

i noe that is multivit, i already stopped taking liao.

hazel,

you are lucky that u did not go thru MS, you will nvr understand how suffering when you are having giddyness, vomitting even drinking water and bad motion sickness. Of course, talking is much more easier than done. I already tried my best to endure but this round i really must surrender to it.

Singapoh, then how? We started the journey of having kids without knowing if we will get MS or motion sickness. Bbhp has twins! She has ohss also on top of MS n she is working but still she learns to cope. If not how? There are only a few soln, take no pay leave, quit or etc!

She stays in woodlands n travel to town every day to n fro. U ask her how tough it is.. I know is defintely tougher than me.

But still, she tries to cope. We chat offline also. Her spirits r admirable. She rarely complains to me unless I ask her how she is. But tt shld be the way coz we want to be mothers!

All I am saying is tt. We r not alone. Others hv been through tt n I hv seen some even worse! Vomit until dehydrated n has to stay in hospital n lost so much weight.

N u can't say taking care of bb is not as bad either coz u r not a working mum. No matter how late u sleep or how many tines ur bb wakes up a night, the next day u can still steal sleep here n there n some stuff like housework, u can dun do if u r really shack! Or too tired, just dun teach the bb as much..

But for working mums, we can't stop work in the day n steal sleep. U hv the flexibility tt working mums dun hv..

So u r also there in the positions of working mums. So u can't relate how bad it can be too

Hazel,

as sisters we can only offer our supports and encouragement to nctgrace. Some advice can "worsen" MS. :p

nctgrace,

I vomitted when I brushed my teeth! I can't imagine what u are going thru everyday. Must not give up yeah

Hazel, I am thinking that you may be able to find out at camden coz it's a detailed scan...Oxidised aso found out hers when she went to camden...With Dr Loh, may have to wait till wk 18......

Ladies ladies, let's not start the day arguing...i think all these are v individual...but they are all good pointers for all of us; whether we are working, SAHM, have or dun have MS...having singleton or twins or even triplets...

Hazel,

u hv never been a SAHM without help before. It's tougher than u can imagine. I hv gfs who went bk to work after being a SAHM before. All prefer working than taking care of bb whole day.

Pee also no time. Do u think I hv the time to nap? Even if I wanna nap, do u think I can zzz? It's not that simple Hazel.

At work u can hv a proper lunch but not SAHM.

When u hv the experience as SAHM, then u can compare la. Peace~

Singapoh, i'm going to do maid shopping at Bukit Timah early next mth...hubby's fren suggested that we look at transfer maid so that we can do face-to-face interview with them, and aso talk to their ex employers....

Singapoh, u hv a hard journey when pregnant too.. With no helper previously.. U hv scares from scans too. But u dun voice out ur grievances also. Ur spirits r admirable too. I am not there either. But I m trying to learn. Like I just told soon-to-be that I dun hv much emotions for the scan tomorrow. Coz I can't change anything at all

I know we hv to give support. But u know me, I m just being frank.. For working mum, this is really the start.

Yes, I do hv family support n can farm out the taking care of bb at night to my parents. But I will try very hard to cope coz this is my bb.. If I dun wan to take care then wat for I hv kids right?

I am an auditor. Is a very demanding n stressful job. But still, I chose the path of motherhood. I started off the ivf journey feeling scared of the pain n side effects coz am my threshold is really low. But the injections n surgery were painless for me..

I still get constipation a few times a wk, apple juices, fruits etc does not help. But I hv accepted it since I can't take any medicine. Wat to do right?

Soon to be,

yeah some problem lies with the employer. Too fussy and high demand. U can get those transfer maid.

If problem is the maid's attitude, better siam.

Singapoh, yeah yeah...a lot of people giving us tips now....i told my MIL that I'm bringing her along to do the selection after we have shortlisted some...now I'm a bit worried that she's the fussy one....so I'm trying to slowly slowly change her mentality...hehehehe

Yumyum, wat did the doc said? Jiayou hor...last 3 mths plus to go only....8)

Hazel,

my MS in my previous pregnancy was much milder. Considered a smooth pregnancy.

This time it's more challenging. With bad MS, carrying twins and taking care of my son. My maid came after my 1st trimester.

I usually suffer alone. I keep a lot of things from my parents. Just few days ago I had problem with my dh. I cried for 2 days till my eyes ache. Yesterday my son was so cranky and cried for very long. I lost my temper and cried with him. I thot I was going crazy. But still I got to carry on. I m not a child anymore. I hv big responsibilities now.

Constipation is nothing compare to MS lor. I do get constipation once in a while. AJ doesn't work for u. Could it be u dilute it with water?

U are lucky u have parents nearby who are always there to help. Mine are in Malaysia and my mum is weak. Can't depend on my dh's previous mum.

Hazel,

my SIL is an investment manager, another very high rank in education sector. All also very demanding and stressful. My dh's job is worse. His is one of the most stressful job in the world. Sometimes he got to skip meal coz he has so much work.

He's having a bad cold now but still has to work.

nctgrace, what u can makan or has craving, eat loh. suck on sweets ok? my mum n mil told me they vomitted like nobody business, giddy etc. heard from sisters here tt there is those ms bands that you can wear to help reduce ms. oso, rinse after u puke, dentist told me acid not good for teeth. be careful though, in case rinsing also makes you puke.

like singapoh, i oni vomitted water n ocassionally dinner.