dear all, very happy to join this grp finally.

bn wanting to go for IVF consult since end of last yr but my hub wasnt keen on the idea at all, took many talks, arguements & even quarrels to get him ard to the idea.
and finally we are gg for our 1st consult next mth, felt like forever

just curious but any older ladies here? am alr 38 and read that my chances of conceiving even with IVF is pretty low (like 15% success rate only). juz looking at e stats is really disheartening & depressing at the same time but regardless, its something i really wanted & at least i will give it a try & if its not really meant to be such then at least i know we have tried.

babydust to all trying here
cheers!!

Miaoling rest well!

I have learnt that symptoms are not good indicatives so best is don't read into them once you have bfp. My two mcs I didn't have spotting. One stopped at week 13 (my ms was still strong throughout) and one was empty sac (no symptoms from day1).

It seems like our worries really won't end...

Me and hubby are cautiously happy abt the pregnancy. Yes I tested positive 8dp3dt but no peace of mind. Constant worry if beanie still surviving in there. Hcg mite rise progesterone mite rise but after hearing sisters sharing their short lived bfps...... no peace of mind....

Lol.. i think we are the same...

Welcome dramaqueenie. Once you've set your foot into ivf, don't analyse the stats anymore. I'm in my 40s just completed one ivf. If natural conception didn't work, then you're paying for a probable higher chance of conception in ivf, regardless the percentage. That's just one reason to go for it. Stay positive.

Mesara, no spotting. Got morning sickness and bhcg was the highest among all 3 pregnancies.

The body will continue to produce bhcg if it is under the inpression that there is pregnancy. SO, even if the embyro stops growing or there's a miscarriage, the body will continue to produce bhcg to support, it will only stop or decreases when it realises that is gone.

Yah... this is what i found out from all my readings too..

My dh always say 'one step at a time'... and 'dun think so much'. But i am such a worry wort. How not to think?!?!

jklim, really huh? i googled & came across this IVF success calculator based on my age & medical history & only got back like 15% :(

anyway, maybe at e 1st consult, e doc can share more insight bah

That calculator is not accurate. My success rate was in tt range too when i used it. But i always bfp in all my attempts. 3rd attempt at 38 then i succeeded. I delivered at 39

redvel, thanks for e welcome!

nice to know u.

wow, so u r in the 2wks wait now?

i sincerely wish u all e best. :)

btw, is there like a FB chat grp for this subject, wanna join if there is one :)

bn wanting to go for IVF consult since end of last yr but my hub wasnt keen on the idea at all, took many talks, arguements & even quarrels to get him ard to the idea.

just curious but any older ladies here? am alr 38 and read that my chances of conceiving even with IVF is pretty low (like 15% success rate only). juz looking at e stats is really disheartening & depressing at the same time but regardless, its something i really wanted & at least i will give it a try & if its not really meant to be such then at least i know we have tried.

cheers!!
Hi @dramaqueenie.. Me me.. I'm 39 in 2 months.. Which hospital and doctor u going to?.. I had my 1st consult in Apr and follow up with blood test results earli May.. Had my briefing yesterday and will be starting procedure in Jun cycle..
Dont worry about the "published" success rate.. I was also told I have only 15% success rate during my 1st consult.. But my blood test shows good AMH level and my chances has been increased to 30%.. So stay positive.. :)

jklim, thats great to hear...

encouraging to hear abt success stories from older moms. :)

yes, im gg to keep positive... thats e only way i can move fwd

maybe this qn has bn asked to death but roughly how long after 1st consult before the actual IVF procedure?
It depends on where u r doing it. If u do it at kk, they have to look at the available slots to schedule u. May be a couple of months after all the admin n blood work.

Of cos if u go tje private centres, things may run a lot faster.

cheers!!

Hi drama queenie,

I'm 38 this year too! I'll be starting my cycle early June. This is my 3rd ivf. :)

Hi Dramaqueenie, nice to meet you here. I have sucessfully did my IVF in KKH with Dr H H Tan.
Most important, you must stay positive rest on bed. Wish you all the best!

redvel, thanks for e welcome!

nice to know u.

wow, so u r in the 2wks wait now?

i sincerely wish u all e best. :)

btw, is there like a FB chat grp for this subject, wanna join if there is one :)

Thanks for the well wishes. My af came before my scheduled bhcg test. Anyway was then tested negative on the blood test and i will be back at kkh next Friday for the review with my doc.

@rachelt, nice to know u too :)

will be trying at KKH & gg with dr tan HH. my hub took many rounds of "discussions" to finally agreed to go to e first consult with me. am praying he wont change his mind midway thru it all cos i cant do this alone... our story is prob diff from most at this grp so he had alot of reservations. wanted to go pte but hub wanted as minimal costs as possible so after looking thru e limited govt hosps, we decided to go for KKH mainly for ease of convenience since its nearer to us. what abt u?

wow, so u will be gg for the actual IVF in jun? thats ard 2 mths after ur 1st consult ya...

am excited for u. all e best ya :)

A big congrats to those who had BFP recently! Take good care of yourselves during the next 8-9months and you will have a little one to receive ang pows for CNY 2014! And you will be entitled to the jubilee baby gift too!! Hehe!!

I'm finally starting my cycle early June. Now finishing my last 3 days of hormone pills and hopefully menses will report by end of next week and I'll officially start cycling in June! Can't wait man! Especially seeing so many BFPs, really hope mine will be a success too! Hehe! Let's jia you together!!

Hi Dramaqueenie, Dr Tan H H is a good Dr. he did the IVF for me on March this yr and i got twins. But i can't stand the waiting time to see him.....

As for my age, i've gone through the injection for 10 days and had my egg taken out on day 12 and embyo trf on day 14.
Remember to stay positive. Hope to hear good news from you soon.

ivytan, nice knowing u here too

and i will be seeing dr tan HH at KKH too! what a coincidence!

so ur IVF was a success? big congrats!! here's to a safe & smooth delivery ya

is it critical to hv complete bedrest during e procedure? am a sahm so kinda diff to do bedrest at home wo much disturbance... also staying with my parents & wanted to keep this whole IVF thingy private lor. they would prob suspect sth is up if i kept lying in bed...

@redvel, am so sorry to hear... think i would be totally devastated if its me. anyhow, i hope u dont give up & keep e faith gg ya... heres hoping gd things come to those who waited

Dramaqueenie, my advise to you is "YES" i know a IVF frd in KKIVF and she just go out everyday n din rest well. the reason i advise you to rest well on bed because you need to insert the medicine into your vinginal three times a day. I'm just sharing my experience with you cause i failed my IUI 3 times in 2010 with my private gyne and i realise that i din rest well and i went back to work next day.

@ivy_tan_mf, ok thanks for sharing. this is referring to e 2ww after embryo transfer right?

in e worst senario, gotta ask my hub takes half day or time off during this period to help out bah... anyway, still a long way to that stage i guess... im thinking too much liao

@rachelt, nice to know u too :)

will be trying at KKH & gg with dr tan HH. my hub took many rounds of "discussions" to finally agreed to go to e first consult with me. am praying he wont change his mind midway thru it all cos i cant do this alone... our story is prob diff from most at this grp so he had alot of reservations. wanted to go pte but hub wanted as minimal costs as possible so after looking thru e limited govt hosps, we decided to go for KKH mainly for ease of convenience since its nearer to us. what abt u?

wow, so u will be gg for the actual IVF in jun? thats ard 2 mths after ur 1st consult ya...

am excited for u. all e best ya :)
@dramaqueenie.. I'm oso with KKH and Dr Tan too :) Went to him cos of good reviews and also recommended by my TCM Sinseh.. You've made the right choice.. You'll enjoy the govt co-funding for those below 40.. Dont worry.. Pray hard and bring him along to all the consult so he'll know more..

Yup.. cos needa do blood test and see THH again for review.. than decide when u wanna do and also must see got slots anot.. plus needa do briefing prior to that.. alot of waiting time.. i booked for briefing right after my 2nd appt and hvta wait 20 days for the first available slot..

Rachelt, yes i agree with you on the waiting time. He is a super busy Dr until no time to attend to my case when i was warded last mth. i was warded to KKH again on last Saturday when i saw my urine got flesh blood and i had choosen to B2 class this time and i got better treat from other lower Dr. this is my own bad experience in KKH

Hi Dramaqueenie, Dr Tan H H is a good Dr. he did the IVF for me on March this yr and i got twins. But i can't stand the waiting time to see him.....

As for my age, i've gone through the injection for 10 days and had my egg taken out on day 12 and embyo trf on day 14.
Remember to stay positive. Hope to hear good news from you soon.
hi ivy, was e doc assigned tp you by kk or did u named him? if u named him, is there still co funding by govt? wat injection is bribg administered by kk? do i have to take contraceptive pills prior to injection at kk?

Rachelt, yes i agree with you on the waiting time. He is a super busy Dr until no time to attend to my case when i was warded last mth. i was warded to KKH again on last Saturday when i saw my urine got flesh blood and i had choosen to B2 class this time and i got better treat from other lower Dr. this is my own bad experience in KKH
Oh.. Dr Tan's away for 3 weeks.. Back end of the month..

So how are you feeling now?..

happymtb, nice to know u

did u manage to conceive with ur 2 earlier IVF attempts?

I was lucky with my first try in 2009 and delivered my girl in 2010. I failed a natural cycle ivf last Oct and this Jun will be my 3rd try. I have prob with egg quantity and I guess quality too....

Oh.. Dr Tan's away for 3 weeks.. Back end of the month..

So how are you feeling now?..
Rachelt, I'm currently following up with Dr Tan HH best frd and his senior who practice in private now after i found one of my twins bb got no heartbeat.

I've got better treat by my gyne now by inserting medicine into my virginal twice and a days and oral med 2 tablets 3 three times a day cum injection. I feel that i'm super weak now.

Rachelt, I'm currently following up with Dr Tan HH best frd and his senior who practice in private now after i found one of my twins bb got no heartbeat.

I've got better treat by my gyne now by inserting medicine into my virginal twice and a days and oral med 2 tablets 3 three times a day cum injection. I feel that i'm super weak now.
Ivy, my gynae stop me from virginal inserts when I start bleeding n admit hospital. He said no point n makes it messy than subsequent prognova aso stop ard wk8. just purely duphaston n the progesterone oil jab on alternate days for 2 weeks plus. I rem I went back see him 29 apr on my bday, he said placenta is taking over the job so no need all the progesterone pills liao.

Dolly, after i insert the medicine into my virginal the bleeding stop and i got my progesterone oil jab and duphaston 2 tablets 3 times a day.

you know i just completed my duphaston last tuesday but i contiune with the virginal insert the bleed is back. in the end i was warded to KKH for a progesterone jab n 2 nites stay. :(

nice to know a few of u are with THH from KKH...

@happy_mtb, nice! can i chk w u? so 1st consult is just "talk" only to understand medical history & e likes right? no test done hor? so blood tests etc is during e 2nd consult or even later? on e avg, how many testss do one go for? they take blood test ya. they also chk on qty of eggs right? will they do any tests on dh? i read abt long & short protocols & understand e doc would decide which is best suited for u but anyone knows why got long and short procotols?

nice to know a few of u are with THH from KKH...

@happy_mtb, nice! can i chk w u? so 1st consult is just "talk" only to understand medical history & e likes right? no test done hor? so blood tests etc is during e 2nd consult or even later? on e avg, how many testss do one go for? they take blood test ya. they also chk on qty of eggs right? will they do any tests on dh? i read abt long & short protocols & understand e doc would decide which is best suited for u but anyone knows why got long and short procotols?
Hi drama queenie, for my first consultation, just talk talk to the Dr and did a vaginal scan to check the uterus. No blood test was done on hubby and me. Blood test was done on the briefing day. But I think it differs with individual couples....

Redvel, never give up. stay positive. Do you fully bed rest after your embyro trf? did the dr gave you the medicine to insert 3 times a day to secure the embyro?

Thanks gal. I'm always keeping my faith. I don't believe in overly worrying. Come what may.

Nope I was out and about after 1.5days of bed rest after ET. That ivf failed could be due to one or two reasons but we'll never know if non bed rest was the culprit. I've seen handful ivf success cases whereby they didn't strictly bed rest. Nevertheless hubby told me I'm grounded in next ivf. Hurhur. I will try something different then by lotsa bed rest! Yes I was on progesterone pressaries 3x a day.

Hi Sarah, nice to know u! Gd luck on ur 2ww.

So u manage to hv blood test on ur 1st visit? Just curious, was urs e morn session? Our slot was 230pm so not sure if we still hv time for blood tests etc??

I don't know if I hv taken e rubella vaccine before! Is there a way to find out?

Thanks for e many advices.

This is our 1st IVF consult n we hv not seen any doc or do any tests previously so there's no medical records so to speak. Only did a pap smear last mth at kkh.

May I know what is SA?

How to do blood test before 2nd consult? Thru kkh or do it ourselves thru pte ?

Hi Sarah, nice to know u! Gd luck on ur 2ww.

So u manage to hv blood test on ur 1st visit? Just curious, was om e morn session? Our slot was 230pm so not sure if we still hv time for blood tests etc??

I don't know if I hv taken e rubella vaccine before! Is there a way to find out?
If you're Singaporean you should have had your vaccine.. It's compulsory for Singaporean..
Thanks for e many advices.

This is our 1st IVF consult n we hv not seen any doc or do any tests previously so there's no medical records so to speak. Only did a pap smear last mth at kkh.

May I know what is SA?

How to do blood test before 2nd consult? Thru kkh or do it ourselves thru pte ?
SA = Semen Analysis..