Hi wannaBBs, I think the chemical used in mani/pedi could affect the process. When I did my 1st cycle at nuh they said mani/pedi have to be removed before I start. Now am doing 2nd cycle with kkh and the nurse told me the same thing.

Hmm.. staff frm kkh only informed me to remove my mani&pedi on the day of ER.

Hi wannaBBs, I think the chemical used in mani/pedi could affect the process. When I did my 1st cycle at nuh they said mani/pedi have to be removed before I start. Now am doing 2nd cycle with kkh and the nurse told me the same thing.
@Babygrin .. But there's pregnancy safe manicure products in the market.. They're toluene, camphor, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin and DBP (dibutyl phthalate) free.. I think I'll feel nail "naked" without my mani/pedi.. lol..

wannaBBs really?? Hmm... Not sure why they asked me to remove before start of stim...

rachelt, wow... I didn't know that, but I think they will still want you to remove even if you tell them the product is pregnancy safe. Think this is part of their protocol.

wannaBBs really?? Hmm... Not sure why they asked me to remove before start of stim...

rachelt, wow... I didn't know that, but I think they will still want you to remove even if you tell them the product is pregnancy safe. Think this is part of their protocol.
@Babygrin .. If only before ER like what @wannaBBs says, then still ok.. If thruout oso cant do mani/pedi I'll faint.. lol..

FYI, brands that's pregnancy safe are:
OPI - free from DBP (dibutyl phthalate), Toluene and Formaldehyde
Zoya - free from toluene, camphor, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin and DBP (dibutyl phthalate)

OPI has got lotsa fakes in the market selling at a fraction of the price so still have to be careful.. For myself, I only use Zoya nail polish right from day 1 when we TTC till now.. Hope the above helps :)

I was also wondering abt the same thing!

I'm on day 3 of Stimulation and was thinking of rebonding my hair this week.
My hair is a mess and the weather is not helping at all. You guys think it will affect my chances?

@Babygrin.. You're very much welcome :)

@deardyan.. I think all these are not scientifically proven.. But maybe dont take the chance now?.. Wait till firm and successful than go do? Cos rebonding/perming will take alot of chemicals.. Btr be safe than sorry later?.. Duno, that's my take tho.. :oops:

Hihi, saw a number seeing dr tan. Can I check on some of the processes there? Im changing to kkh frm pte..how often do we get to see dr tan? I heard just once when we are abt to start cycle? This is when he determine the dosage? Then once started, if we are not seeing him anymore, does it mean that dosage will stay the same throughout? Also, all the scans are done by nurses? How do they determine the time for er? Sorry...abit lost...need your advice.

Also, anyone have any detox 'recipe' after bfn?

Yes u see him for first consult n he will determine your dosage. Once your AF come u call kkivf n go down for scan. Scanning is by sonographer. After scan u need to wait for review dr n he or she will access on your dosage. If any problem or issue review dr will highlight to dr tan. U will only see him during ER n ET. Review dr will determine your ER timing.

ER IS a procedure which requires full sedation. Though is a simple process, as now as is a procedure w GA involved, there's still a risk. So, is treated as a normal op where Mani n pedi have to b removed. In case, something happens during the procedure, our nails r the first sign of our general well being. If all painted how to see?

Anyway vanity vs a child, which is more impt?

Hello all. Was reading your posts on hair colouring before stims. Just to share that i did get my hair coloured a week before i started stims. I didnt know abt any implications of hair colouring or nail polish that time cos i just wanted to look good with family and friends' weddings coming up. Lol!! Well just to share that i did BFP on my first fresh ivf (although my pregnancy ended up in miscarriage at 8+ weeks). Anyway, sharings on nail polish and hair treatment noted for my next cycles.

Hihi girls
Can I check anyone has done ivf with Dr Loh at tmc ? Any success cases?

Also have a qn to ask. Say if I'm keen to start in June and I will make appt on first day of my menses to go down on 2nd day to see Dr loh right? Then he will give me jabs n I will go back to continue with jabs n medicine for 14 days Then wait till July to start with procedures such as egg and embryo transfer?
did I get the procedure right? :)

I am equally confuse like u with regards to the food to eat. I think I just started on my stim without knowing what to eat. Hope everything goes smoothly.

1. can anyone advise when is the last appointment to see doc for him to advise on the trigger jab before Egg retrieval? Eg for your experience, if ER is on Wed, when is the last date you see doc to advise on this? is it 2 days before the proc will be the last time seeing doc, until ET then see doc again? Can GP help to jab this for us or we jab ourselves for the trigger jab? understand that trigger jab is done in the evening if the proc is scheduled in the morning, where the clinics are closed in the evening..

2. anyone has seen a TCM that has successfully helped to improved sperm quality and quantity?

3. For ladies who have successfully bfp, can share on what food that you recommend to take
a) during stimulation
b) ER to ET period
c) 2ww period

I have heard of egg white which you sisters have shared about, but I also read on red dates, durian,ensure milk etc but is confured on which interval should be eating what. will be great for sisters who have successfully bfp to share on this. Thanks in advance.[/q

can i check if e appt with dr tan is on a CD20 of my cycle (28days cycle) to discuss all e BT and SA result done.. is it possible to start ivf cycle the following week when af is due?
the SA test avail slot is a month later! will missed May cycle and if cant start a week later after consultation.. i'll miss 2cycles b4 i can start... sighz.

can i check if e appt with dr tan is on a CD20 of my cycle (28days cycle) to discuss all e BT and SA result done.. is it possible to start ivf cycle the following week when af is due?
the SA test avail slot is a month later! will missed May cycle and if cant start a week later after consultation.. i'll miss 2cycles b4 i can start... sighz.
How about going TMC for the SA test? My hubby did his at TMC in Dec and Dr Tan uses that results, didn't ask us to redo another one..

@hopeful13, yup confused over wat food to take at each stage of e ivf cycle to aid conception
@rachel,thks for recommending yr tcm. i read somewhere from interbet that there is a tcm call tan kian sing at clementi who specialise in male infertility. wonder which tcm to go to. any sisters tried tan kian sing? any feedback?

for ivf cycle, see doc is duriing d2,d7 and day? of the cycle before egg retrieval? need to plan leave for for doc and clinic appt, any advuse is appreciated. when will we last see clinc to advise on trigger jab before egg retrieval?

How about going TMC for the SA test? My hubby did his at TMC in Dec and Dr Tan uses that results, didn't ask us to redo another one..

oh really? i worry they want all kkh report.. in tt case i may go pte clinic to do e check.. anw, how long from 1st consultation (discuss results and option) till start cycle? 1 week possible?

Yup.. that's how ours work.. pte clinic dont do SA.. u hvta go to fertility centre.. we called to make appt for SA and when there tell them to send the report to ur home.. cost about $60 if i remember correctly..

Thomson Fertility Centre
Novena Specialist Center
(Next to Novena MRT Station)
8 Sinaran Drive #07-02to07
Singapore 307470
Telephone: (65) 6252 7766

I went to Dr Tan for my first consult oso to discuss options.. Had my pap smear, 3 blood tests and scope done.. See him for next appt in 3 weeks.. I think the next appt will be to discuss protocol based on all the test results and if we're firm to go ahead.. after that will be the full swing.. counseling.. sign papers.. wait for af.. jabs.. etc etc..

sA results no need to take one mth. No slot required too. Just deliver the SA specimen to kkh will do. Results will b out a wk r 2.

Ur appt is one mth later most likely coz dr tan is going on leave in may!

Anyway, there's no need to rush. It doesn't mean u wan to do in may u can even when results r out. This is kkivf. Not tmfc

its the SA appt from kkh, next avail is 1mth later. they alrd gave me e container, i aso tot juz deliver specimen will do? dont understand y need to make appt.

ivf cycle aso need to queue? usually need to wait long? yep trying to calm myself nt to get too anxious too..

Yup.. that's how ours work.. pte clinic dont do SA.. u hvta go to fertility centre.. we called to make appt for SA and when there tell them to send the report to ur home.. cost about $60 if i remember correctly..

Thomson Fertility Centre
Novena Specialist Center
(Next to Novena MRT Station)
8 Sinaran Drive #07-02to07
Singapore 307470
Telephone: (65) 6252 7766

I went to Dr Tan for my first consult oso to discuss options.. Had my pap smear, 3 blood tests and scope done.. See him for next appt in 3 weeks.. I think the next appt will be to discuss protocol based on all the test results and if we're firm to go ahead.. after that will be the full swing.. counseling.. sign papers.. wait for af.. jabs.. etc etc..

thanks rachel for e info..appreciate it. which stage are u at now? so far so gd?

You're welcome :)
We've only just started seeing Dr Tan.. We dont have any regular gynae now.. So it's at the very preliminary stage.. Just to see what's the best option for us.. Apparently IVF is the way to go due to hubby's sperm quality and my age.. After much discussion, praying, talking to friends.. We've decided to go for it.. So next appt we'll confirm our interests and will proceed on.. What about yourself?

You're welcome :)
We've only just started seeing Dr Tan.. We dont have any regular gynae now.. So it's at the very preliminary stage.. Just to see what's the best option for us.. Apparently IVF is the way to go due to hubby's sperm quality and my age.. After much discussion, praying, talking to friends.. We've decided to go for it.. So next appt we'll confirm our interests and will proceed on.. What about yourself?

i also juz started seeing dr tan last week, gone thru all e tests n scheduled to see him next appt, i guess shud b starting ivf cycle pretty soon. a year ago we checked aso hubby's count and morph no good..think our situation quite similar? did u do e hsg to check blocked tubes? read alot here many gone thru tt test.. i wonder if its compulsory or bt test will reveal something?
im very scared of needles..i need lotsa strength to go thru this to have our baby...wish both of us best of luck...

i also juz started seeing dr tan last week, gone thru all e tests n scheduled to see him next appt, i guess shud b starting ivf cycle pretty soon. a year ago we checked aso hubby's count and morph no good..think our situation quite similar? did u do e hsg to check blocked tubes? read alot here many gone thru tt test.. i wonder if its compulsory or bt test will reveal something?
im very scared of needles..i need lotsa strength to go thru this to have our baby...wish both of us best of luck...
I did my HSG 3 years back at TMC when I was still seeing gynae, Dr WK Tan.. my tubes are clear.. 3 years ago Dr WK Tan suggest we do an IUI, but now cant liao.. hubby's SA was 11mil.. now 5.5mil.. So chances veri low plus I'm 39 already.. so Dr HH Tan says go straight for IVF.. i oso hope the hormone blood test results will come out good leh.. if 2 may appt with Dr Tan goes smoothly, i'll most prob start the procedure in June, if got slots la.. my boss will be away for 2 months sabbatical.. my best time cos can be away from office without worries.. fingers crossed.. when's ur 2nd appt with Dr Tan? maybe we'll both start in the same month.. can be buddies liao.. hehe..

Hi Connie, I used to see Dr Tan Kian Sing at clementi for almost 2 years. There are many couples who conceived under him but me & hubby just don't have the luck. He is a good TCM. When we were there he treat us on other ailments as well. But maybe we are not fated to conceive under him. Sometimes see him see until paiseh as see him for 2 years. His treatment is not that cheap too. But he is a nice TCM doctor. Be prepared to wait for quite long esp on weekends. Dr tan is good with male infertility like what other sisters said. My hubby is much older than me & he has insomnia & I think Dr Tan did help to correct his insomnia problem & he has so far maintained better sleep pattern. Lack of sleep or poor sleep quality can affect the sperm. For Dr tan he works with CARE ivf centre for ivf treatment.

@hopeful13, yup confused over wat food to take at each stage of e ivf cycle to aid conception
@rachel,thks for recommending yr tcm. i read somewhere from interbet that there is a tcm call tan kian sing at clementi who specialise in male infertility. wonder which tcm to go to. any sisters tried tan kian sing? any feedback?

for ivf cycle, see doc is duriing d2,d7 and day? of the cycle before egg retrieval? need to plan leave for for doc and clinic appt, any advuse is appreciated. when will we last see clinc to advise on trigger jab before egg retrieval?
Ccc

Hihi, saw a number seeing dr tan. Can I check on some of the processes there? Im changing to kkh frm pte..how often do we get to see dr tan? I heard just once when we are abt to start cycle? This is when he determine the dosage? Then once started, if we are not seeing him anymore, does it mean that dosage will stay the same throughout? Also, all the scans are done by nurses? How do they determine the time for er? Sorry...abit lost...need your advice.

Also, anyone have any detox 'recipe' after bfn?

He will see you before you start your IVF cycle. After that, everything will be done at KKIVF. Scans are done by the sonographer and there will be doctors on duty to monitor/review your case. You only see Dr Tan during ER and ET. If you BFP/BFN, you will see him after that too.

1. can anyone advise when is the last appointment to see doc for him to advise on the trigger jab before Egg retrieval? Eg for your experience, if ER is on Wed, when is the last date you see doc to advise on this? is it 2 days before the proc will be the last time seeing doc, until ET then see doc again? Can GP help to jab this for us or we jab ourselves for the trigger jab? understand that trigger jab is done in the evening if the proc is scheduled in the morning, where the clinics are closed in the evening..

2. anyone has seen a TCM that has successfully helped to improved sperm quality and quantity?

3. For ladies who have successfully bfp, can share on what food that you recommend to take
a) during stimulation
b) ER to ET period
c) 2ww period

I have heard of egg white which you sisters have shared about, but I also read on red dates, durian,ensure milk etc but is confured on which interval should be eating what. will be great for sisters who have successfully bfp to share on this. Thanks in advance.

1. If you are doing your IVF at KKIVF, then the trigger jab is decided by the doctor on duty based on the sizes of your follicles. If the jab is done at night, you will have to go to KKH O&G to take the jab. The nurse will jab for you. If it is done during office hours, you will go to KKIVF to take the jab.

3. a & b) 4 egg whites, 1 egg yolk, red dates & wolf berries tea, red bean soup, fish, TCM/day
c) 1-2 egg whites, 1 egg yolk, red dates & wolf berries tea, fish, durians, chicken essence with cordyceps, TCM, Similac Mum milk/day, alternate days red bean soup

Faithfullyyours, I jus saw dr tan and will only do ivf 3 mths later. Does it mean I wont see him again till er? So scary haha...but he did prescribe the dosage already...

I don't think so because you need to attend briefing, counselling session and sign all the paperworks before you commence. Also you need to see if KKIVF has slots for you depending on your protocol (long/short). Each month, KKIVF has quotas for long and short protocols.

1. If you are doing your IVF at KKIVF, then the trigger jab is decided by the doctor on duty based on the sizes of your follicles. If the jab is done at night, you will have to go to KKH O&G to take the jab. The nurse will jab for you.

3. a & b) 4 egg whites, 1 egg yolk, red dates & wolf berries tea, red bean soup, fish, TCM/day
c) 1-2 egg whites, 1 egg yolk, red dates & wolf berries tea, fish, durians, chicken essence with cordyceps, TCM, Similac Mum milk/day, alternate days red bean soup
Wow.. Thanks for sharing @faithfullyyours.. Very informative and important to know :)

Faithfullyyours, I jus saw dr tan and will only do ivf 3 mths later. Does it mean I wont see him again till er? So scary haha...but he did prescribe the dosage already...

Huh...no need to be scared lah. I saw him in 2012 and I saw him twice in 2013. I started my first IVF fresh cycle in Jan 2014. I only saw him again during ER and ET and subsequent follow-ups.

Just have faith. Everything will be fine. :)

faithfullyyours, y u see him so many times? But now that I informed him that Im doing in 3 mths time and he has referred me to ivf centre, does that mean that I won't see him again till er?

Rachelt, I dunno abt schedule yet but chose 3mths later cos I just bfn last wk haha, rest 3 mths den try again

THe wait to do ivf fresh cycle was previously 6 months during sf loh time. Now? Depending on the no of patients on the waiting line to start. THere r only just thosr drs and nurses, and kkivf has many more patients than pte ivf centres. Got to wait for yr turn. During sf loh time, he wrote a memo to KKIVF to start me on my month of preference. Last time, he was director and head of kkivf and reproductive med. All kkivf staff are scared of him so they will accomodate his request. Now is run by dr tan hh and dr S. the latter has the most say and she goes by the book!

Last time, i call sf loh's office can talk to his assistant directly and asked her to speak to sf loh. Now i called dr tan's office, i get redirected to general hotline and to leave a msg. WHEn the person return my call, is not even his secretary, didn't even check w him. Just give me politically right ans.

Sf Loh is a workholic. Can work till 11pm and his nurses dare not make noise but got to support him. Now? totally different management style.

I can tell kkivf i wan more mc coz am pregnant after 2ww hl is over. They refused to give me. Asked them to ask dr loh to sign, nobody dared. Well, i walked to sf's clinic, and asked hkm directly. No need to q to see him or pay consultation. His nurse will pass me a mc signed by him.

I can walk in anytime to see him, without an appointment. Just need to wait, he will see me.

Is that possible now? ANyway, luckily i completed my family planning.

faithfullyyours, y u see him so many times? But now that I informed him that Im doing in 3 mths time and he has referred me to ivf centre, does that mean that I won't see him again till er?

Rachelt, I dunno abt schedule yet but chose 3mths later cos I just bfn last wk haha, rest 3 mths den try again

I was supposed to start in Nov 2013 and I was on long protocol but the nurse at KKIVF calculated for me and said if I did it in Nov 2013, my ER would clash with their lab closure during last 2 weeks of Dec 2013. So I postponed to Dec 2013 then the nurse told me that Dr Tan would be on leave during CNY 2014 during my ER unless I don't mind another doctor to do the ER but I prefer Dr Tan to do it for me, so I postponed to Jan 2014. As to why I did not start before Nov 2013 since I started seeing Dr Tan in 2012. It wasn't because there wasn't any available slot but because mine is a special case and a lot of preparation work needed to be done before I can start my IVF. Without those preparation work, I can never start my IVF. Yes and it takes almost one whole year to get these preparation work completed but the wait is worthwhile. :)

In a way, you're right to say that you won't get to see him until ER.

Need some help...

For wolf berries and red dates drink. Can i just put some of them in mug and pour hot water den wait a while and drink or do i need to boil it? Do i need to eat the red dates too? How about the wolf berries eat or throw.

And for red bean soup, need to soak and let the red bean break first before boiling? Coz i just boil it but around 45 minutes the red beans is still so hard.

@ faithfully yours, thanks for your reply! Its very appreciative on the food to take etc, cos reali lost as I think its like walking alone in this journey as we do not intend to tell our friends or parents as worried it will create more stress to the already stressful procedure. The trigger jab will be advised is it 3 to 4 days before ER? or is it only zhun zhun 2 days(36 hrs) before ER than we will know when to come down for the jab?

All the best to you and may all the good blessings be with you.

@ hopeful13, thanks for the TCM advise on DR Que. Is Dr Tan Kian Sing medicine brew type or ready powder type? How much avg to pay a month for both hubby and you? Previously, we went to a TCM from Yu ren sheng but it got the hubby results worse instead, so we stopped..
so will a bit more careful on selecting another TCM cos money also not much as TCM also not cheap..

Babydust to you for your this cycle, shun shun li li!

@ faithfully yours, how much is Dr Que's consultation? I understand he can give convenient packet medication. Do you know is he good at improving male SA and morphalogy besides treating womans conditions?

Also considering TSB but understand she is quite ex though cheaper than Yu ren sheng..