Ron, natural FET. All the best for you!!

iwantahealthybaby, u check your ovulation regularly? I really dunno how to use the opk, I used it long long time ago, never able to detect ovulation and give up. The worst thing is this FET cycle, i was ask to detect ovulation using opk on my own, go straight away go to KK when positive. Making me more stress up.

@bbblues
Noooo dont think its implantation am only d17
And i beleive i ovulated d14
We ve been ttc every day or 2nd day since d6!
For sf Loh he did not specifically give the dates but cny is a friday And he said i take as everybody plus 1 extra day
He Didnt want to stress me out so he just said i would be fine and he would be here
You want to see him of course !

sukif, yes i do check my ovulation previously when ttc, for months its at d16/17 sometime d15 where i detect double line in my opk, means lh surge. normally after lh detected, you will ovulate anytime in the next 36hrs or so. so this month i use back just to make sure my system dont go crazy after all the stimulation drugs. you got idea will you be ask to inject the trigger shot after your opk detected? cause i am thinking natural fet still need to trigger shot?

bb_blues, i hope dont o so late as i am doing endo scratch too so i was thinking if o late then timing of the scratch may not be optimal too. hope withing this two days able detect.

hope2bb, 15 is quite a good number, since got 9 fertilised is your doc cultivating to d5 before transfer. you can start drinking isotonic drinks now to reduce bloatedness. all the best.

Tsf0205 they are all the same just different in brand. Me use before puregon alone also use before menopur alone and finally both menopur and puregon combine also got use before hahaha. Diff people react differently and doc might change if you fail your cycle. It's really a try and error. Personally puregon easier to inject they have a pen like instrument to use.

Hi tsf I tried gona f before and failed my fresh so now doc let me decide whether I want to use puregon or gona f. I am confused too. I asked the nurse, they told me usually iui patients use puregon and ivf use Gona f. Which have u tried b4?
Any other ladies can advise?

Menopur is synthesised with a mixture of human hormones.

GonalF and puregon are purely synthetic versions of the stimulation drug. GonalF uses a alpha (a) version and puregon beta (B) version. As iwantahealthybaby mentioned, gonalF and puregon is supposed to hv same effect but as their synthesis differs some ladies do find onw better than the other. I have also used both, no difference in terms of no of follicles, growth rates, etc.

My 1st iui was purely puregon, 2nd was menopur then ivf they started me off with menopur but in higher dosage compare to my 2nd iui and later combine with puregon during last few days of injection as my follicles growing abit slow. Have not try gonal f.

Hi tsf I tried gona f before and failed my fresh so now doc let me decide whether I want to use puregon or gona f. I am confused too. I asked the nurse, they told me usually iui patients use puregon and ivf use Gona f. Which have u tried b4?
Any other ladies can advise?
Hi nervous babe, during my first fresh, I used elonva and puregon. - failed
My fren used purgeon first fresh, failed. 2nd cycle use Gonal f- succeeded. I think dosage is similar

went to scan today, only 10 follicle detected. Dr said expect to retrieve 7-9 on ER day....will be ER on mon.....
does this range normal ? will the no. of follicle increase these two days before ER day ? still 3 more days to go........lining only 8mm leh now ..... worrying..... :(

went to scan today, only 10 follicle detected. Dr said expect to retrieve 7-9 on ER day....will be ER on mon.....
does this range normal ? will the no. of follicle increase these two days before ER day ? still 3 more days to go........lining only 8mm leh now ..... worrying..... :(

will increase till er day not to worry. lining also will continue to increase. all the best vivine.

Went to see prof for review today. Saw some ladies holding bb in their arms.... I am so envious. When is my turn to carry my bb in my arms? :(

It is frustrating that I can't start dhea yet, coz after my er failed last week, prof did an iui just in case the eggs are hiding somewhere, and also don't waste my hubby's troops. So I am also in my 2ww now, but my definition of 2ww is to wait for prof to clear me from pregnancy test, then I can quickly start dhea.

I also have to continue with the crinone gel insert. Sigh... cycle failed already still need to do so much things :(

Wondersss, im with roland at peh. doing accupuncture at rochor centre. Haha dr din recommend endo scratching but I think my key issue is the lining since I got 20+hcg on d8pt. During fet, wanted to do but dr says no need so I didnt do. This time rd he diam diam just let me do haha.

Ur lining will continue to grow. 8mm is minimum for ET day. So if yours is 8mm today, should be able to grow to 10mm or more by ET day so no worries. My lining was 9.2mm 7 days before ET my gynae already said pass.

will increase till er day not to worry. lining also will continue to increase. all the best vivine.
thank you for your reply. but how about the no of follicle ? will it increase as well ? bcos i have total of 10 only, but Dr said by the day of ER, some are too big to retrieve liao..... so cant know whether got egg inside till the ER day , right ?
sisters, pls enlighten me :(

Yes vivine, for my case follicles did increase. Even small follicles grow till quite good till it contains eggs inside, that explains my high no. Of eggs retrieved. Last scan doc told me looking at 6-7 eggs out of 17-18 follicles and expect 2 more smaller one to grow well too. As for lining I not sure as the day of et itself no u/s was done. But by right they do increase daily even not a lot still will increase so don't worry too much. Anything above 8 is quite good already. You still got few days to go.

thank you for your reply. but how about the no of follicle ? will it increase as well ? bcos i have total of 10 only, but Dr said by the day of ER, some are too big to retrieve liao..... so cant know whether got egg inside till the ER day , right ?
sisters, pls enlighten me :(

Hi vivine lee
the number of follies cannot increase no its not right
it is possible that the doc does not see all your follicules at the beginning (i don t know if he showed you but it s quite tricky to count!!) but the number you have at day 2 remains the same - it is particularly the case for OHSS girls they have many many follies so impossible to give perfect exact counting
prof shall not be wrong
and anyway your number is good above 8 is great so dont worry keep cool :) good luck

Yes vivine, for my case follicles did increase. Even small follicles grow till quite good till it contains eggs inside, that explains my high no. Of eggs retrieved. Last scan doc told me looking at 6-7 eggs out of 17-18 follicles and expect 2 more smaller one to grow well too. As for lining I not sure as the day of et itself no u/s was done. But by right they do increase daily even not a lot still will increase so don't worry too much. Anything above 8 is quite good already. You still got few days to go.
ya thank you , iwantahealthybaby, 17-18 follicles is quite a lot leh... mine only 10 , so few :(

It is frustrating that I can't start dhea yet, coz after my er failed last week, prof did an iui just in case the eggs are hiding somewhere, and also don't waste my hubby's troops. :(

hi babygrin
of course you can start dhea anytime why not? but start slowly (not like me) 1 x25mg for a week then 2x25mg for a week then 3x25mg
and dont worry so much keep positive :)

Hi vivine lee
the number of follies cannot increase no its not right
it is possible that the doc does not see all your follicules at the beginning (i don t know if he showed you but it s quite tricky to count!!) but the number you have at day 2 remains the same - it is particularly the case for OHSS girls they have many many follies so impossible to give perfect exact counting
prof shall not be wrong
and anyway your number is good above 8 is great so dont worry keep cool :) good luck
oh... thank you for your reply gigi31, bcos not every follicules contain egg.... some more by the day of ER, some are to mature to retrieve liao.....
so not many choices liao.... that is what i concern...... haizzz.....

I don't know also vivine, the scanning all the way nurse only record down 16-17 follicles and it's sizes. So for the 3-4scans it just show the size increasing and no. Remain at 16-17 but maybe like what Gigi say the smaller one they don't record. But during retrieval I got 34 eggs so I guess the smaller one does contains egg inside too for my case. And when doc told me to stop injection during last scan, she say looking at 6-7 eggs which is good looking size.

hi babygrin
of course you can start dhea anytime why not? but start slowly (not like me) 1 x25mg for a week then 2x25mg for a week then 3x25mg
and dont worry so much keep positive :)
Prof said because of the iui, he wants to make sure I am not pregnant before I can start dhea. Otherwise it will harm the embryo (if there is any).
I just grinned at him, and in my mind I was thinking: the iui won't work lah. I don't even feel pregnant, and no symptoms at all...

Btw, when will AF come after a failed cycle?

I'm new to this forum and hopefully we could share & encourage each other in this journey to become mum-to-be.

Well I just did my first ever attempt in IVF, started early this month (Jan '2014) and did my egg retrieval procedure yesterday (Wednesday, 15th Jan 2014). The Dr was only able to retrieve 2 eggs and apparently both didn't mature as expected. The embryologist called today and said the eggs are not progressing to the next level and as such its not worth fertilizing them. We have been told to visit the hospital tomorrow so the Dr could explain and probably advise on our options.

To be honest we are basically heartbroken! I'm not sure how many attempt it generally takes for a successful pregnancy. We are thinking of trying for another round and this time not put any expectations. I hope you ladies out there could share some of your stories like how many attempts you did or what to expect?

Btw we conceived our 1st baby naturally back in 2010 but she was delivered prematurely in 26 weeks. Shortly after she was born and after a long 4 months struggle in NICU, she passed away in my lap while bottle feeding. It was said that she passed away due respiratory failure as her lungs were not fully developed. Both my husband & I was devastated..it took us over 2 years to just let go and move on with our lives. We were living back in KL at that time...and since our home and the environment there brings a lot of painful memory we decided to relocate permanently to Singapore. Also as we were thinking with this change, perhaps god will be generous enough to grant us another chance. We were told by some close friends & relatives to opt for IVF but I suppose we didn't try much earlier b'coz we were worried that what if it'll be history repeating itself.

However as time past-by and after much encouragement, support from family & friends...we decided to give IVF a try. It seems like our 1st attempt did not work as planned. And so after both of us (hubby & myself) expressed our sadness & disappointment in our own ways..we picked-up our "shattered piece of heart" and decided to give as many attempts it takes to see a success story at the end of the road. Will keep you ladies posted on our update tommorrow...

Hi hopeful_40, heartbreaking to read about your first child. All of us have our own journeys to walk to reach parenthood. Teaches us lessons & to cherish the important things in life.

Proud of you to take the step towards IVF. It will not be easy and you'll read from here that many sisters have it hard. Wishing you success soon.

Hopeful40, I am so sorry to hear that... you have been through so much...
Please keep us updated tomorrow. Just want to let you know you are not alone. We are here to encourage one another as well as sharing knowledge.
Let's persevere together :)

Hope40, so sad to hear your heartbreaking story, and it really takes a lot of courages to start ivf programme and as what babygrin said we are all here to support each other. We will success one day as long as we try.

Vivine dont worry about your follies number, you do have a good number, during my d2 stim scan I have 10 follies and d4 I had 9 follies but on d8 scan I have 16 follies all the way until er date but prof manage to retrieve 17 eggs. So it is possible the smaller follies do contain egg.
I know sometimes when you see dr, all the questions in your head are gone. I write on the paper what do I want to ask and take out that paper when I saw prof, hehe. All the best for your er.

I don't know also vivine, the scanning all the way nurse only record down 16-17 follicles and it's sizes. So for the 3-4scans it just show the size increasing and no. Remain at 16-17 but maybe like what Gigi say the smaller one they don't record. But during retrieval I got 34 eggs so I guess the smaller one does contains egg inside too for my case. And when doc told me to stop injection during last scan, she say looking at 6-7 eggs which is good looking size.

@i want a healthy baby !: they cannot count so many follies they watch in 2D something in 3D - you can find 3D scan abroad but its much more expensive and above a certain number anyway doesn t make a difference - you have eggs or not if you have 17 follies of course you have eggs so docs are happy with that
my case i only have 4 follies so easy to count and to not get it wrong ;) but now am taking dhea so it can improve odds but only at the beginning of the cycle not during the cycle (follies come out day 1 then new ones will come out day 1 next cycle again etc)

Prof said because of the iui, he wants to make sure I am not pregnant before I can start dhea. Otherwise it will harm the embryo (if there is any).
I just grinned at him, and in my mind I was thinking: the iui won't work lah. I don't even feel pregnant, and no symptoms at all...

Btw, when will AF come after a failed cycle?

:p prof doesn t beleive in dhea anyway! :rolleyes: my doc says i can take anytime particulary while ttcing seeee

I'm new to this forum and hopefully we could share & encourage each other in this journey to become mum-to-be.

However as time past-by and after much encouragement, support from family & friends...we decided to give IVF a try. It seems like our 1st attempt did not work as planned. And so after both of us (hubby & myself) expressed our sadness & disappointment in our own ways..we picked-up our "shattered piece of heart" and decided to give as many attempts it takes to see a success story at the end of the road. Will keep you ladies posted on our update tommorrow...

omg hopeful_40 welcome in this forum - you made the right decision to come and tell us your story - we all go through a lot here and we also have successfull stories you ll see :) we are here to support each other when we want when we can when we feel it
take care and don't hesitate to go through all previous postings to know us better (just click on our names)

you have not mentionned your doctor and hospital?? I realised singapore is like a small town you know so you dont have a lot of good doctors - go through the threads to find your way and ask questions like the rest of us

take care
gigi

Hi all, I had my son thru IVF, trying for #2 with FET. Does anyone know if we need to stop breastfeeding for FET? If yes, must we wait a few months after stopping breastfeeding, or can try immediately?

Straw, enjoy your stay at bintan!!
Vivien, ET can proceed if lining is >8mm, so you're good to go.
Your follicles size sound decent, should be able to retrieve quite a few. I recall sizes above 16 or 18 mm is good, so even if the biggest grow to 20 or 21mm (which mine did), I think still can use. So no worries.

Hi hopeful_40, Tks for sharing your story with us. Good that u had lots of support from family n frens. You'll find lots of support here at this ivf thread. Keep us updated aft yr chat with the dr tmr and may u experience sweet success soon.

Oh
Thank you for your reply. Will wait and see how first on mon.

Hope40, so sad to hear your heartbreaking story, and it really takes a lot of courages to start ivf programme and as what babygrin said we are all here to support each other. We will success one day as long as we try.

Vivine dont worry about your follies number, you do have a good number, during my d2 stim scan I have 10 follies and d4 I had 9 follies but on d8 scan I have 16 follies all the way until er date but prof manage to retrieve 17 eggs. So it is possible the smaller follies do contain egg.
I know sometimes when you see dr, all the questions in your head are gone. I write on the paper what do I want to ask and take out that paper when I saw prof, hehe. All the best for your er.
Hi thank you for your reply and support. Hope everything goes smoothly .... Praying .....

Straw, enjoy your stay at bintan!!
Vivien, ET can proceed if lining is >8mm, so you're good to go.
Your follicles size sound decent, should be able to retrieve quite a few. I recall sizes above 16 or 18 mm is good, so even if the biggest grow to 20 or 21mm (which mine did), I think still can use. So no worries.
Hi pumpkin_pie thank you for ur reply. Feel a little bit release now . Will wait and see how as it comes

Hope40, like your nick there are always hope in this world. I can feel your pain for the lost of your bb. She will always have a place in your heart. Is good that u have overcome sorrow and move on. Its a huge step forward n I am sure u will be rewarded.

Ivf is not an easy journey n we need to have perseverance to go through it. Not everyone succeed on their first try. Some ppl just need to do few more times before they succeed. So hang in there, first round didn't do well, second cycle will learn n improve on it.

I started my cycle with 225 Menopur on 11 January 2014. Went for a scan on 15 January with 4 follicles (2 of 10mm and 2 of 8mm) and was asked to increase to 300 Menopur. Anyone starting a fresh cycle this month as well?

Hi which doctor are u with? I only use lucrin and puregon for injection . ER on mon

Hi Gigi31, thanks for the support dear.

Well I'm consulting with Dr Sadhana @ KKH. I selected her as she is the Director of KK-IVF center and I read she has a lot of successful cases under her belt. She is also a very fact based..she never sugar-coat her diagnostics, very realistic and talking to her you can know the years of experience backing her.

Also based on my research I understand that KKH has the best facilities for any complicated issues...even if I go thru any private hospitals and in the event an complication occurs and if they don't have the facilities or the skills, they will route the case to KKH. KKH will only accept such cases if they have vacancies as first priority is for their own patients.

Having said that I believe my case is "High Risk Pregnancy" category...so I felt its best to go straight to KKH for consultation.

omg hopeful_40 welcome in this forum - you made the right decision to come and tell us your story - we all go through a lot here and we also have successfull stories you ll see :) we are here to support each other when we want when we can when we feel it
take care and don't hesitate to go through all previous postings to know us better (just click on our names)

you have not mentionned your doctor and hospital?? I realised singapore is like a small town you know so you dont have a lot of good doctors - go through the threads to find your way and ask questions like the rest of us

take care
gigi

Hopeful_40, you are a strong lady. Having come so far, continue to stay strong and fight and go all out to achieve your dreams to having a bb. We are all here to listen to you, we may not able to feel how you feel inside, but we definitely are here to listen, to share, to comfort, to advice whatever we know or learn from others. Have faith and continue to cycle, this cycle fail, go for the next. I am sure your doc will fight alongside with you :) we will all graduate from this thread and move on to the next! It's a matter of time! Jiayou ladies!

Hi all, I had my son thru IVF, trying for #2 with FET. Does anyone know if we need to stop breastfeeding for FET? If yes, must we wait a few months after stopping breastfeeding, or can try immediately?

I was same situation as you. My gynae advised me to stop BF before starting FET. She explained that BF naturally causes a tightening of womb. You won't want that after FET as it may not be conducive for implant. I stopped BF 3 months before FET. Took almost 1.5 months to dry up completely.

Thank you for replying! May I know if your gynae told you to stop BF for 3 months? Did you do natural or medicated FET? I am still BF but already have period... I am cutting down on BF gradually.

Thank you for replying! May I know if your gynae told you to stop BF for 3 months? Did you do natural or medicated FET? I am still BF but already have period... but I am cutting down on BF gradually.

My period came back at 8m post partum. I BF till 18m. She only said to stop before FET but cuz I went to her for review in Sep'13 when she told me. I started total weaning in Oct'13 took me 10 days of enduring a crying boy. Be warned, a deep sense of regret and loss may hit you no matter when you weaned.

Edit: I opted for natural FET.

My period came back at 8m post partum. I BF till 18m. She only said to stop before FET but cuz I went to her for review in Sep'13 when she told me. I started total weaning in Oct'13 took me 10 days of enduring a crying boy. Be warned, a deep sense of regret and loss may hit you no matter when you weaned.

Edit: I opted for natural FET.

It's great that you BF your son for 18 months. Yes I feel guilty, but I need to try for #2 asap for certain reasons. Oh I see you've a blog, I'll go check it out!