hihi sisters

I started my 1st IVF in october in a govt hosp but failed miserably as there was only 1 follicle seen.
did not adopt doctor's suggestion to try IUI and abandon the ivf cycle.
as this stage is considered the 1st cycle, govt co-funding does not apply according to the nurses, n i have to fork out $4000+ !!
I wonder if anyone has such experience, and do u paid out as much as i did?

i am considering seeing kkh as i'm really disappointed with how the prev doctor handled my case :<

hihi sisters

I started my 1st IVF in october in a govt hosp but failed miserably as there was only 1 follicle seen.
did not adopt doctor's suggestion to try IUI and abandon the ivf cycle.
as this stage is considered the 1st cycle, govt co-funding does not apply according to the nurses, n i have to fork out $4000+ !!
I wonder if anyone has such experience, and do u paid out as much as i did?

i am considering seeing kkh as i'm really disappointed with how the prev doctor handled my case :<

Yes I encountered that. My first cycle produced 1 follicle only. Worse still, the doc (btw it is not the doc i am under, it's a random doc) actually suggested going for egg retrieval still!! I had to bring up abandon cycle myself. Govt co funding will not apply in this case, and yes u have to pay cash. I paid $3000.

However, gd news is, it is your first try right? Maybe the medication or dose was not suitable. Hence, next try may be better. 2nd time I did the medication was changed and I had 7 follicles. Not great, but better than before. And embryos gd quality. So though it was not successful (again), at least I know I can respond to something. Gd luck to u :)

Yogababe, u can opt to pay thru medisave instead of cash in ur case. I didn't take that option.
Btw, i was with KKH.

hi_mei, tks! I saw dr zou yesterday and now going too. Glad she said can do still.
My diet is pretty much the same as before. But I avoid cooling veg and eat more fish. I also just started taking ensure milk and chicken essence 2 days agk only..very late I know. But I only came to know abt it after my ET when I have a lot of time to google.haha.

Are u doing FET or fresh? Wish you all the best in ur cycle!! Baby dust to all of us!!

Hi princess, haha ya just take the tww to watch all the movies and shows u want to watch and rest! :) how many days after transfer r u now?

I am doing fresh, prob 1-2 mths from now.

If wait for Dr Tan to come bk, then, it drag me 3mths liao..... bcos this around they already drag me 1 mth liao....... i really dun want to wait leh....
ya, i am not familiar with Dr Lau, but he is at consultant level deh.... should be ok bah.....but i seldom heard about him ..... even i search fr internet, cant find too much info. about him.... realll know him very little.................. i m thinking whether there any doctor can help except Dr Lau leh......
hi gals, any experience with Dr Lau Matthew ya ?

Yes, actually Dr Matthew Lau is okay...and a very nice guy. I did my 1st IUI - BFP and 1st IVF by him - BFP cos Dr Tan was not around. Actually, it's the same.
I don't think he's only a consultant......maybe you call the nurse at kkh to check....

so sad.. My BBT is diving down. Most likely a fail cycle this time. Doubt can tahan till BT nxt Monday.

Hi Lynx r u taking progesterone? If u r, then BBT is not accurate, so a dip doesn't mean anything.

I believe u are trying ur best... Don't think too much abt outcome...

hi_mei, ya I am on progesterone (pessary insert). But I heard progesterone can keep body temperature high. Mine not high leh.

Yes, actually Dr Matthew Lau is okay...and a very nice guy. I did my 1st IUI - BFP and 1st IVF by him - BFP cos Dr Tan was not around. Actually, it's the same.
I don't think he's only a consultant......maybe you call the nurse at kkh to check....

hi thank you for your reply Budian13. Dr Lau sounds not bad then....

Yes I encountered that. My first cycle produced 1 follicle only. Worse still, the doc (btw it is not the doc i am under, it's a random doc) actually suggested going for egg retrieval still!! I had to bring up abandon cycle myself. Govt co funding will not apply in this case, and yes u have to pay cash. I paid $3000.

However, gd news is, it is your first try right? Maybe the medication or dose was not suitable. Hence, next try may be better. 2nd time I did the medication was changed and I had 7 follicles. Not great, but better than before. And embryos gd quality. So though it was not successful (again), at least I know I can respond to something. Gd luck to u :)
Hello hi mei i find your message very encouraging thanks you ... May i ask on the 1st day of stimulation how Many follies you had each Time ??

hi_mei, today is is 6th day after ET. I started with dr zou meds 2x daily. She said its for "bu". She also said my womb is very "cold" and need to warm it up. I bought a hot water bottle to use and also instant red dates tea. Hope it helps.

Good luck for ur fresh! U can strengthen ur body now so will be more receptive. I regret not doing so before fet.

Hi_mei, i decide let Dr lau to follow my case when dr tan is on leave. Just dun want to wait Liao ....
Dr lah sounds not bad according to some sisters' feeback here.... Can give a try lah. How about u ?

ladies, I saw that some of you are commenting high cost of IVF. just to share, I did my IVF in 2010-2011. 2 fresh cycle and 1 frozen. What I did to make full use of the co-fund my Government is I only used Co-fund scheme when I did fresh cycle. I paid my Frozen cycle without the co-funding scheme as it is much cheaper (About Over 1K in cost only ) for frozen cycle as compared to using fresh cycle (About few k to 10k). In this way, you will not be 'short-changed" of another chance of doing fresh IVF. (During my time then, the ruling was that co-fund is limited to 3 times usage for IVF treatments). I am not sure how IVF charges now or how the rules may have changed. My example may be a good reminder to those using co-funding from Gov Hosp. Anyway, do check your options and consider carefully. Baby Dust to all of you! Jia You!

Hi gigi, glad that it encouraged u! First time was one follicle all the way, plus a really tiny one later (useless). Second time was seven follicles from the start at every scan, except on the last scan before ET an eighth follicle came up (but was too small anyway). First time was with puregon, second time with pergoveris (supposedly good for poor responders like me). But to be honest, even with low no. of follicles, still possible to strike as long as the embryos are good. So we all should keep hopes up even if we don't respond well.

Princess, yup just keep taking warm food and drink warm water. It is supposed to help. I find her acupuncture sessions relaxing too, cuz you are forced to lie there and rest... So won't think of anything :)

Vivine, ok! Let me know how is Dr Matthew Lau too? I might consider since the ladies here have given him good reviews. Hope you can strike this time with him :) all the best babe!

ladies, I saw that some of you are commenting high cost of IVF. just to share, I did my IVF in 2010-2011. 2 fresh cycle and 1 frozen. What I did to make full use of the co-fund my Government is I only used Co-fund scheme when I did fresh cycle. I paid my Frozen cycle without the co-funding scheme as it is much cheaper (About Over 1K in cost only ) for frozen cycle as compared to using fresh cycle (About few k to 10k). In this way, you will not be 'short-changed" of another chance of doing fresh IVF. (During my time then, the ruling was that co-fund is limited to 3 times usage for IVF treatments). I am not sure how IVF charges now or how the rules may have changed. My example may be a good reminder to those using co-funding from Gov Hosp. Anyway, do check your options and consider carefully. Baby Dust to all of you! Jia You!

Hi royal, if i am not wrong they changed the rules qt recently, so now we have co funding for 3 fresh and 3 frozen cycles :)

@hi mei
Thanks for sharing :) the thing is that we should start our protocoles only when we get sufficient amont of follies i mean no need to start injections if only one follie if not iui only
As you can see follies number vary from one cycle to another this is very positive indeed i wish you the best
Take care gigi

so sad.. My BBT is diving down. Most likely a fail cycle this time. Doubt can tahan till BT nxt Monday.

Lynx sea, bbt is not an accurate measure of pregnancy esp after ET. I was like u on this cycle, attempted to take bbt all the way, but somehow after ET, temp seems to be dipping and I gave up. Everyday with the dipping temp, I had to tell myself it's becos I din cover blanket that's y low temp until 1 fine day I gave up. No point stressing urself over this to see pregnant or not.

hi_mei, thks for sharing yr experience. This is my 1st IVF, n I was not aware that I could fail at the stimm stage, n having to pay so much. Well, will b using medisave, but it's still a lot of $$ :(
When I ask the doc (random like urs as my designated doc not available tt day) if increasing the dose or even changing the drugs help, she was uncertain....

Anyway I have lost hope in them. Hopefully KKH is better

Which stage r u at now?

Hi gigi, glad that it encouraged u! First time was one follicle all the way, plus a really tiny one later (useless). Second time was seven follicles from the start at every scan, except on the last scan before ET an eighth follicle came up (but was too small anyway). First time was with puregon, second time with pergoveris (supposedly good for poor responders like me). But to be honest, even with low no. of follicles, still possible to strike as long as the embryos are good. So we all should keep hopes up even if we don't respond well.

Princess, yup just keep taking warm food and drink warm water. It is supposed to help. I find her acupuncture sessions relaxing too, cuz you are forced to lie there and rest... So won't think of anything :)

Vivine, ok! Let me know how is Dr Matthew Lau too? I might consider since the ladies here have given him good reviews. Hope you can strike this time with him :) all the best babe!

hi_may, ya, i will update you..... hope everything goes somoothly with you to....... jia you........

hi_mei, thks for sharing yr experience. This is my 1st IVF, n I was not aware that I could fail at the stimm stage, n having to pay so much. Well, will b using medisave, but it's still a lot of $$ :(
When I ask the doc (random like urs as my designated doc not available tt day) if increasing the dose or even changing the drugs help, she was uncertain....

Anyway I have lost hope in them. Hopefully KKH is better

Which stage r u at now?

yoga_babe, you do have mental preparation lor..... dun put so much hope on KK too.........

Noted bbcomecome. Thks :)
Lynx sea, bbt is not an accurate measure of pregnancy esp after ET. I was like u on this cycle, attempted to take bbt all the way, but somehow after ET, temp seems to be dipping and I gave up. Everyday with the dipping temp, I had to tell myself it's becos I din cover blanket that's y low temp until 1 fine day I gave up. No point stressing urself over this to see pregnant or not.

Hi sisters,

Just wanted to know how you coped from IVF failure? As I shared previously, I just completed my first fresh cycle but it did not succeed. And it is affecting me a lot more than I thought I would. Going to work helped at first as it got my mind off everything. But then I started to feel that everything is meaningless, I felt like quitting my job to focus on baby making. And then counting down impatiently to my review so that I can quickly start on my next cycle. Before I started my cycle, I was full of hope but now I am so down...

hi i am new here, read some of the recent threads. currently starting my 1st ivf long protocol with kkh (dr jerry chan), a lot of mix feelings, i actually hesitate to start this treatment but after few months of -ve results i decided its time (before kkh close on the last 2weeks dec). anyone with dr jerry chan? doesnt seems to have much info of him in this forum. but i heard from nurses he is very busy running to and fro hospitals giving seminar or research. so many thoughts across my mind, wonder if the lucrin stage will pass, then whether 2nd stage will i be able to produce the right amount and quality of eggs from the injection. whether if even after et will i have a sticky bean. (suffer chemical pregnany few months back from iui).
Welcome iwantahealthybaby, this is your first IVF and surely there are alot of uncertainties in this daunting journey. Well, I would say just take this step by step, milestone by milestone and don't worry too much. More importantly is to stay positive! And if you have any queries, do ask here. The ladies here are very helpful.
Sorry to hear about your chemical pregnancy, hope this coming IVF will be a success for you! :)

Hi sisters,

Just wanted to know how you coped from IVF failure? As I shared previously, I just completed my first fresh cycle but it did not succeed. And it is affecting me a lot more than I thought I would. Going to work helped at first as it got my mind off everything. But then I started to feel that everything is meaningless, I felt like quitting my job to focus on baby making. And then counting down impatiently to my review so that I can quickly start on my next cycle. Before I started my cycle, I was full of hope but now I am so down...
Hugs, mustardseedbb, I have been there and done that. I also feel everything is meaningless after I failed a cycle. But hey, we are only humans, it is normal to feel down at times. But I believe that if we persevere, we will succeed one day. Are you starting a new cycle soon? You should look forward to this cycle. Some people need a few cycles to succeed and moreover first cycle is often a trial and your dr will know how to adjust the dosage or protocol for your next cycle. New cycle new hope.
I have failed 3 cycles and have not given up yet, my drs haven't given up on me so why should I give up on myself.
So how I coped with failures is to look forward to the next cycle. All the best to you and may you succeed soon! :)

Hi sisters,

If u feel too stress at work, is better to quit ur job Bcoz after u start the injection a lot of hormone changes, I quit my job coz I can't stand the workload I even work till almost cry plus I was doing the ivf my ex colleague tell mi to quit she say I can't be so stress up if I want to have baby.

hi i am new here, read some of the recent threads. currently starting my 1st ivf long protocol with kkh (dr jerry chan), a lot of mix feelings, i actually hesitate to start this treatment but after few months of -ve results i decided its time (before kkh close on the last 2weeks dec). anyone with dr jerry chan? doesnt seems to have much info of him in this forum. but i heard from nurses he is very busy running to and fro hospitals giving seminar or research. so many thoughts across my mind, wonder if the lucrin stage will pass, then whether 2nd stage will i be able to produce the right amount and quality of eggs from the injection. whether if even after et will i have a sticky bean. (suffer chemical pregnany few months back from iui).

Hi, it is a new milestone in your journey, take it positively! Dr Jerry Chan seems to have gotten some service award so he should be pretty good. Have faith in him :)

Hi sisters,

Hi mustardseed there are ups and downs in the journey... Some days I look forward to the next cycle, some days I am so depressed and crying on the bus. Most of the ladies here have done it multiple times so you are not alone. Don't give up hope. I would suggest don't quit job unless you are stressed at work. Otherwise ur mind will be 100% baby making which may be much worse. Just think of your tww the last cycle, did you find it ok? If ok mb u can quit job, but for me, I cannot tahan after two days. My job is stressful but nothing compared to stress of IVF. So, stay strong, you can do it :)

Ladies, can I ask if you all wear tummy warmers (ie. Belly bands) or just place hot watter bottle over uterus area as and when it feels cold. Was wondering if hot water bottle will affect the embryos negatively. But of course I dont put boiling water in, and I also place it over a few layers of cloths. But everytime after I use hot bottle, my uterus area will feel warmer than usual (not hot). Is that normal? Dunno if I shld switch to tummy warmer instead..

Hugs, mustardseedbb, I have been there and done that. I also feel everything is meaningless after I failed a cycle. But hey, we are only humans, it is normal to feel down at times. But I believe that if we persevere, we will succeed one day. Are you starting a new cycle soon? You should look forward to this cycle. Some people need a few cycles to succeed and moreover first cycle is often a trial and your dr will know how to adjust the dosage or protocol for your next cycle. New cycle new hope.
I have failed 3 cycles and have not given up yet, my drs haven't given up on me so why should I give up on myself.
So how I coped with failures is to look forward to the next cycle. All the best to you and may you succeed soon! :)

Hi bb blues u are so strong!!! Really admire your spirit. My husband told me he don't want to try after 3 cycles. I am so worried abt it cuz next round is the 3rd time and not a baby in sight!! I really don't mind trying more than 3 times and I pay fully for it. But how to convince him? :(

BTW after eating the DHEA I feel super horny. At work keep having this feeling of orgasm though I am in boring meetings 8 to 5. Haha. Any tips on seducing hubby?

Hi sisters,

Hi mustardseedbb,
I also failed my first cycle in aug. till now I still have not fully recover the failure. First week after af arrive was very terrible. Crying and very sad. As all went well for the ivf procedure but why I still fail. Hubby was very sad too. We actually sob and days pass, hubby console me that if I really can't take the roller coaster of this emotion and also health concern, he rather don't want to try again.

The girls here are all very tough and brave one. Can get a lot of advise and support from here. Have went for my review and also know what doc planing to do for the next fresh cycle. Doc encourage me to try again. Suppose to start my 2nd attempt of fresh this month but my af still not reporting. I am also hesitating as dont know am i fit enough to go through one more time. but I am getting stronger each day. Learning to let go and I guess I will be able to try next cycle after cny. Af should be reporting anytime this week. Don't know timing wise still can proceed or not. So I am actually giving myself excuse not to do it this November.

I just take it easy and time really is the medicine for my wound.

Hi bb blues u are so strong!!! Really admire your spirit. My husband told me he don't want to try after 3 cycles. I am so worried abt it cuz next round is the 3rd time and not a baby in sight!! I really don't mind trying more than 3 times and I pay fully for it. But how to convince him? :(

BTW after eating the DHEA I feel super horny. At work keep having this feeling of orgasm though I am in boring meetings 8 to 5. Haha. Any tips on seducing hubby?

Lol i had this too when i started dhea hb was super happy now it s as usual (i started taking dhea 3 weeks ago)

hi vivine_lee, i will try not to pin too high hopes on KKH. but from wat i read, KKH seems quite popular, esp Dr Tan HH.

for ladies taking DHEA, may i know if it's recommended by the fertility doctor to take?
does it help with producing more eggs?

@hi_mei, i thot men r naturally horny, n need no seducing........hee hee

hi mei, all the ladies here are strong and brave. We brave through injections, scans, procedures and the dreadful 2ww. So give ourselves a pat on our back, ladies!
I think your hb heartpain you and don't want you to go through the hardship and pain. Maybe you can tell him that you do not want to look back and regret not trying. Seriously, I hope you do not need more than 3 rounds.

Was telling my hb that ladies in the forum took dhea and feel horny. He brightened up and ask what about me. I say no leh, hahaha, he ask me to increase my dosage..lol
BTW, whats your dhea dosage?

Dear sisters,

Thanks all for your words of encouragement and support I feel so much better. All of you are brave warriors who fight for what you desire. Jia you everyone. Let us support one another through this journey.

bb_blues, you are indeed a very strong and positive woman. i like the positive thinking. i always wanted to tell myself to relax when it comes it comes but whenever i take a step forward those weird thoughts just come into my mind. but yes since i already took this step i will try to keep a relax mind. my husband also keep saying not to think just relax. so you starting your next ivf cycle too?

hi_mel, yup heard he is climbing up fast and well in kkh from the nurses there, think recently he just promote too. the nurse say he has alot seminar and researach to attend. so just hope when its my day to et he will be there to follow up or some other experience doctor.

hi mustardseedbb, i know how you feel, i guess time will heal the disappointment we have, meanwhile the best and only way is to keep a positive mindset and know we will one day be mummy too. its a matter of time. not easy to be positive after some disappointment or failed attempts but well when you know you will reach there your ultimate goal, smile and keep moving.

all sisters in this forum going through all this process, lets work hard and stay POSITIVE! no matter how difficult, we got to be strong and continue to walk every step to our goals.

Ladies, can I ask if you all wear tummy warmers (ie. Belly bands) or just place hot watter bottle over uterus area as and when it feels cold. Was wondering if hot water bottle will affect the embryos negatively. But of course I dont put boiling water in, and I also place it over a few layers of cloths. But everytime after I use hot bottle, my uterus area will feel warmer than usual (not hot). Is that normal? Dunno if I shld switch to tummy warmer instead..

Princess, I used belly warmers during the 2ww. Am still using to now. Actually for me, I din feel any warmer while using the belly warmer, just to prevent wind from going to the tummy.

Hi yogababe and bb blues, my hubby is very difficult to seduce. I usually have to be the one to initiate (ahem) fun, and 50% of the time rejected by him (btw, it's not like i initiate every day, more like 1x a week). Anyway I bought a vibrator to take care of my needs liao.

Dhea dose currently is 50mg. But don't see any bad side effects (yet).

hi mei, all the ladies here are strong and brave. We brave through injections, scans, procedures and the dreadful 2ww. So give ourselves a pat on our back, ladies!
I think your hb heartpain you and don't want you to go through the hardship and pain. Maybe you can tell him that you do not want to look back and regret not trying. Seriously, I hope you do not need more than 3 rounds.

Was telling my hb that ladies in the forum took dhea and feel horny. He brightened up and ask what about me. I say no leh, hahaha, he ask me to increase my dosage..lol
BTW, whats your dhea dosage?

Yeah I really hope so too :) thanks for your encouragement!

Hi ladies... I'm new here... jus started on my ivf program since tue... kinda worried... frm my 1st scan, there are 39 follicles... worried on oversimulation n chances of pregnancy... is there anything I shld look out for... hope to seek ur advices... thx thx...

hi_mei, thanks for sharing the article. Hope our willingness to suffer pain will get us what we want.

Hmm, you actually bought a vibrator huh! Your hb really don't know what he missed. Lol..

Hello, I'm new here. I'm scheduled to start my first IVF cycle in Jan'14. Really looking forward to it but at the same time feeling worried coz I have very low ovarian reserve. Am afraid that I may not even have eggs for retrieval :(

Hi ladies... I'm new here... jus started on my ivf program since tue... kinda worried... frm my 1st scan, there are 39 follicles... worried on oversimulation n chances of pregnancy... is there anything I shld look out for... hope to seek ur advices... thx thx...
Wow, who is your dr? And what did he suggest? Meantime eat more egg white and drink more isotonic drink such as 100 plus. This can help reduce OHSS symptoms. Some ladies try immunocal, which is a protein supplement.
If not wrong, the symptom of OHSS is sudden weight gain, breathlessness. If you experience this, please call the clinic immediately. All the best!

Hello, I'm new here. I'm scheduled to start my first IVF cycle in Jan'14. Really looking forward to it but at the same time feeling worried coz I have very low ovarian reserve. Am afraid that I may not even have eggs for retrieval :(
Welcome babygrin, may I know whats your AMH level? I too has low ovarian reserve but I still manage to make it to ET phase. Don't worry too much and take this journey one step at a time. Most importantly is to stay positive. Which clinic are you with? Meantime, you can start to take some supplement, such as coq 10, conceive well and folic acid. During stimulation phase, eat more protein such as egg white, fish, chicken to boost egg growth. Do you believe in TCM? You can also try acupuncture to promote blood circulation to increase blood flow to your uterus and ovaries. :)

Hello girls
Hi mei cant beleive it lol my hb would be upset if i got a vibrator :eek: lucky you !;)
@Babygrin we are many with low amh here give us more info And keep positive